April 18, 2024, 04:31:22 PM

Who would you like to see replace the old Exective Committe?

Only local members
3 (30%)
Both local and foreign members
7 (70%)

Total Members Voted: 10

Author Topic: Everald "Gally" Cummings Thread  (Read 12552 times)

Re: Gally talks on 2014 World Cup, Warner and bonus-gate.
« Reply #30 on: August 21, 2014, 07:32:52 AM »
Allyuh is real jokers, oui. All the coaches get a King's ransom,  but allyuh insist that Gally should volunteer his services. Allyuh friggin nuts!!!

How?

Ent King and Charles getting paid?

Why would we want Gally to work for free?

Gally want to come in public and talk, then take talk back.

« Reply #31 on: August 21, 2014, 07:37:00 AM »
Any coach who gets 8 goals from El Salvador in an important intense regional competition cannot have my respect! It shows he is lacking in technical and tactical ability. Canada gets rid of him and TTFA thinks he represents a certain sector from which they will get funding .But that sector not that gullible. And government not giving PNM Tim Kee money just so . So they in a monkey pants! Bad decisions all around! Check and see how low key everything is now! Nothing to excite the population . I  wish all of them luck. They catching at straws! 

Its Honduras not El Salvador.

And every coach have bad days and yes, 8 goals is unacceptable, I woulda get vex to.

So who you sugesting we hire?

Because it dont matter who we bring Gally go still find a problem.

And yes, ah hate de low key thing, I remember Gally was very low key to while Jack was still riding him.

« Reply #32 on: August 21, 2014, 07:52:58 AM »
And every coach have bad days and yes, 8 goals is unacceptable, I woulda get vex to.

Allyuh! Remember this statement by Sam. Everycoach has a bad day, sometimes. Even the great Scolari!

« Reply #33 on: August 21, 2014, 08:04:01 AM »
But Gally head hard, he still vex with de TTFF and Jack from 20 years now, he have nothing good to say

Sam, your head just as hard as Gally. And do you have anything good to say about Jack after all the years you reading things about him.

Look, I have no issues with allyuh not wanting Gally to be coach. You all pointed out certain defficiencies he has. No credentials or coaching badges, etc. OK. But results is what counts. He did as good a job as most coaches who have coached TT. Right now, all TT coaches are being measured or will be measured against Beenie's achievement. That is the yardstick. And a good one too. Qualify the team for WC or you just another dud.

« Reply #34 on: August 21, 2014, 08:26:34 AM »
And add Bertille St Clair who took de under 20 team to de WC.

Add Zoran Vranes who did de same.

And Anton with de Under 17 team.

Gally, did very good but he never achieve. Gally does act like he is de best and no one eh come close.

He was also one of Jack boys, but things get sour and now he sour for life, you think Jack studying he?

« Reply #35 on: August 21, 2014, 09:26:22 PM »
Any coach who gets 8 goals from El Salvador in an important intense regional competition cannot have my respect! It shows he is lacking in technical and tactical ability. Canada gets rid of him and TTFA thinks he represents a certain sector from which they will get funding .But that sector not that gullible. And government not giving PNM Tim Kee money just so . So they in a monkey pants! Bad decisions all around! Check and see how low key everything is now! Nothing to excite the population . I  wish all of them luck. They catching at straws! 

yea the cad players threw the match, what does that have to do with Hart? just like when our players throw the match against guyana to get back at the ttff...

« Reply #36 on: August 22, 2014, 06:30:32 AM »

yea the cad players threw the match, what does that have to do with Hart? just like when our players throw the match against guyana to get back at the ttff...

Contro, How you know they throw the match? You have evidence.That team was not prepared properly. Otto complained about players going to Asia. Jack embroiled with his FIFA problems, which had an effect on the preparations. No warm up games. Oh! I forgot, we played India.  You talking some crock dey Breds.

That whole WC campaign was heading down-under from the very start. You know that very well. But you just want to get at Gally. At least Gally get them to that final game. Otto team failed in the group stage. And he got plenty money. How much Gally get. Not blaming Otto because he was between a rock and granite when he accepted to coach TT. But he failed big time.

« Reply #37 on: August 22, 2014, 06:34:59 AM »
And add Bertille St Clair who took de under 20 team to de WC.

Add Zoran Vranes who did de same.

And Anton with de Under 17 team.

Gally, did very good but he never achieve. Gally does act like he is de best and no one eh come close.

He was also one of Jack boys, but things get sour and now he sour for life, you think Jack studying he?

Again Breds. What is you measuring stick. We dealing with the senior team. Not dissing junior WC. Gally was not in charge of junior football(correct me). Is senior football we talking bout.

« Reply #38 on: August 22, 2014, 12:43:23 PM »

Contro, How you know they throw the match? You have evidence.That team was not prepared properly. Otto complained about players going to Asia. Jack embroiled with his FIFA problems, which had an effect on the preparations. No warm up games. Oh! I forgot, we played India.  You talking some crock dey Breds.

That whole WC campaign was heading down-under from the very start. You know that very well. But you just want to get at Gally. At least Gally get them to that final game. Otto team failed in the group stage. And he got plenty money. How much Gally get. Not blaming Otto because he was between a rock and granite when he accepted to coach TT. But he failed big time.

get at gally??? have i ever attacked gally??? i support gally but not that garbage he write there about SH, that's pure bull.. the warriors throw the damn game... just like the CAD players, i know people very close to the team...

otto was a good coach, the players were embroiled in the jw battle, they throw the match... it was plain to see... birchall and dem didn't care.. i call them out for their comments and one big uproar on here with people making excuses for their failure... trinis too happy...

Now Gally wants Strike Squad $$
« Reply #39 on: March 18, 2016, 06:25:17 AM »
Now Gally wants Strike Squad $$
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Twenty-seven years after the successes of the Strike Squad, its players are still clamouring for monies and medals owed.

Coach of the team Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings said yesterday that the players were promised $600,000 for the infamous November 19, 1989 match against the United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in 1989, which they lost 0-1. The agreement was made between the technical staff, led by Cummings and then manager Oliver Camps and T&T Football Association’s chief cook and bottle washer Jack Warner, and the outcome did not matter. 

The funds were to be shared among 22 players and the five-man technical staff which comprised Cummings, assistant coach Neville Chance, trainer Ken Henry, physiotherapist Lester Osuna and Camps, but Cummings said yesterday they have not received a cent to date. 

He lamented the disrespect meted out to the team months before the match, saying the team was awarded the Chaconia Silver Medal for its achievements in 1989 but when he went for the medals with his captain Clayton Morris at the President’s House, they  received only one medal.

Cummings said he was shocked and disappointed as the players had to share the disappointing news.

“How can they give us one medal for an entire team?. The players have been asking for their medals, which they rightfully earned as well as the monies promised to them,” Cummings said. The issue, he said, was raised with President Anthony Carmona in 2014. 

The Guardian was reliably informed the issue surrounding the money was discussed at a meeting of the Board of Directors of the TTFA last month and attempts are underway to obtain Cabinet Notes for it, since it was expected to have been paid by the former government.

It is understood the amount with interest has reached a whopping $8 million which, then was listed under accounts payable in the TTFA. The Guardian learnt the embattled football association has sent this matter, along with other questionable payments under accounts payable, to its corporate lawyer Sheraza Khan for advice.   

Cummings said he has fought to get the money over the years but was not taken seriously. “People were side-tracked by other issues, such as the result of the match, the over-selling of tickets, the progress of Warner after the match and other matters and we were totally forgotten” he explained.

He was also told by successive leaders of the TTFA that they did not know anything about the payment. He described the now famous Strike Squad as the best team ever to wear the red, white and black of T&T, adding it would be nice if they can all get the medals and money owed to them during the coming Independence Day celebrations in August. He noted while he prefered the TTFA to have been fair and honour its commitment, it did not work out that way.

He reminded all that monies owed to the Soca Warriors were paid by the previous government.

Re: Now Gally wants Strike Squad $$
« Reply #40 on: March 18, 2016, 11:20:57 AM »
« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 07:13:19 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #41 on: March 18, 2016, 05:37:24 PM »
I can't hang my head low enough with this one. 

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #42 on: March 18, 2016, 06:41:00 PM »
The problem in T&T is bigger than we care to admit!!

« Reply #43 on: March 19, 2016, 05:30:34 AM »
Gally, go and sleep nah, Why de hell yuh didn't sue Jack? Ent he is de one who owe you?

These people just so f00cking dotish in T&T, is like them eh having nothing to do, they have to much free time.

Jack control T&T for over 30 years, yuh now come with this.

Ah hope yuh eh get a black cent or medal.

De thing is, these men were all Jack puppets and now, they get strength.

Gally, remind me of de women and them who say Bill Cosby drug them and f00ck them 30 years ago, but they come out now.

« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 05:32:53 AM by Sam »

« Reply #44 on: March 19, 2016, 07:31:28 AM »
dey should have a statute of limitations on Gally dotishness ..... this is not the first time with Gally. He did everything wrong on November 19th and still have a serious tabanca after over 2 decades.   
« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 07:33:29 AM by royal »

« Reply #45 on: March 19, 2016, 08:20:35 AM »
The only thing dotish move is he didn't go the media, bachanal route in the past, cause that's the only way to get results in TT, embarrass everybody , and yuhself loud loud, maybe he think he have to much class for that....and the tabanca must be toted, if yuh see yuh can't get yuh 600,000/ 22.. But millions paid to individuals.

But typical of we.. Screw he, he and he players serve we and lost..not a reward..winners here is everything..yet we want development. Yet we wonder why ppl not encouraged..maybe they scared of wasting their time and being wasted, cause there is always more losers than winners, though in many cases, the many losers sacrifice and work just as hard if not harder than the few winners... But ppl who don't even bother to try,give or sacrifice will NEVER know, and talk ah setta shit..nothing given, nothing lost..winning or wining on the backs of others.

« Reply #46 on: March 19, 2016, 09:11:23 AM »
Let's see what becomes of this

Launch of Gally's Football Finishing School (GFFS)
« Reply #47 on: May 02, 2016, 04:17:18 AM »
Launch of Gally's Football Finishing School (GFFS)
Gally's Football Finishing School.

On Wednesday May 18th, 2016, Football Legend Everald" Gally "Cummings will launch the Gally Cummings Football Finishing School at Trotters Restaurant on Maraval Road.

According to "Gally" the forerunner to this project took place in 2002 when he staged a live in camp at Halyconia Inn in Cascade.

Most of the participants then came from upscale neighbourhoods in Manhattan, New York where he was based at the time. It gave the participants an opportunity to experience our culture and establish friendships with some of the youngsters from Trinidad and Tobago.

Fifteen years later after calls from countless citizens to 'start his own thing' he has now established a non -profit company Gally's Football Finishing school (GFFS) to develop an elite group of skilful, technically sound and goal scoring proficient football players (boys and girls) within the age group of 9 - 16 years old while addressing their social, psychological, emotional and physiological needs.

He himself exhibited his football prowess as a 9-year-old youngster at Richmond Street Boys elementary school in POS in the primary school football league, a standout in Fatima College and instrumental in the school winning its First Intercol. He also started representing Trinidad & Tobago’s Senior National Football team at 16 years old.

Gally, the only Footballer to date to have won the prestigious Sportsman of the Year Award (1974), Individual of the year Award (1990) and two National Awards, in 1974 and 1989, would like to ensure sustainability of our natural and indigenous style of football which has won him international recognition as a player and coach.

His programme is nationwide and begins in Port of Spain and then moves to Chaguanas, Tacarigua , San Fernando, Siparia and in Tobago starting in the first week of July 2016.

Interested persons can contact us by email at gallysffs@gmail.com and check us on Facebook at Facebook/gallysffs and website gallysffs.com

Re: Launch of Gally's Football Finishing School (GFFS)
« Reply #48 on: May 02, 2016, 08:18:49 AM »
Wonder why non profit , he could charge a small enrollment fee ,and also gave free sessions if you qualify.

« Reply #49 on: May 02, 2016, 09:30:56 AM »
Wonder why non profit , he could charge a small enrollment fee ,and also gave free sessions if you qualify.

Non-profit doesn't mean that you don't make a profit, it's what you do with the profits.

« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2016, 08:32:05 PM »
Wish him and his organization the very best.

T&T is poised to enter a football renaissance of sorts.

Hopefully it will be sustained and won't be short lived.

Re: Interview with Everald "Gally" Cummings
« Reply #51 on: June 03, 2016, 02:55:29 AM »
Gally has set up a finishing school in the past 2 months;

http://www.gallysffs.com/

Gally’s Football Finishing School is a recently established (March 2016) non-profit organization whose main goal is to develop an elite group of “Total Footballers” within the 9 to 16 age group and utilizing the camaraderie, joy, positivity and confidence gained from the fine-tuning of their technical attributes to strengthen values and counteract delinquency.

The concept behind the naming of my soccer academy, "Gally’s Football Finishing School" (GFFS) stems from the fact that as a player I was always exceptional at “finishing” (goal scoring) from anywhere on the football field. As a coach I have also moulded some of the best goal scorers in Trinidad & Tobago’s football history but an important understanding from this phrase is also borrowed from the classical meaning of "Finishing school" which focuses on helping the youth defy delinquency, develop positive attitudes and behavioural characteristics while promoting order & discipline in life.

« Reply #52 on: September 08, 2016, 03:51:28 PM »
Youngsters pursue goals with ‘Gally’
bpartofit.com.

Hundreds of young budding footballers in T&T, boys and girls, have improved their chances of making it to their school, club or the national team after their involvement in Gally’s Football Finishing School (GFFS), put on by former national coach Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings and designed to create well-rounded individuals through the sport of football.

The programme, supported by the blink | bmobile Foundation, was held during the August holidays, starting with approximately 60 young players at St Mary’s College Grounds in July and making keys stops at the Eddie Hart Grounds in Tacarigua, Lange Park Recreation Ground in Chaguanas and Guaracara Park, Pointe-à-Pierre where participants received certificates of participation.

TSTT’s Chief Marketing Officer Camille Campbell praised Gally for the work he has done, noting his initiative is synonymous with her Company’s goal to assist in the development of our young people and thereby guiding them in the right direction for the future. She said it was because of this similarity that her Company grasped at the opportunity to support, and further explained that through the avenues of sport, culture, education and health, the blink | bmobile Foundation will continue to seek to chart the way forward for our youth.

At Guaracara Park, the players between the ages 7-16 years were put through basic goal-scoring drills before being asked to put that training into practice, in game situations.  Participants at the clinics were exposed to the fundamentals of the game by a number of former national players turn coaches, including Ron La Forest, Selris Figaro, Curtis Orr, Michael Grayson, George Romano and Allister Ramdoo, and received words of advice from former football greats Brian Williams, Shaka Hislop and Sammy Llewellyn among many others.

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith made an appearance on the opening day at Serpentine Road, St Clair having represented St Mary’s College, under Gally’s coaching in 1991, and advised players to use the opportunity wisely and find a blend between the sport and academics.

Gally said the academy was confirmation of the enormous talent that exists in T&T that should be nurtured and put to use in making the country proud. He said the clinic has been a tremendous success, but GFFS directors must now decide on the way forward, having received numerous requests for his coaching in other Caribbean islands.

“I have also been working on forming partnerships with the New York Cosmos, the Club I played for in the US, and Tiburones Rojos de Veracruz, the Club I represented in Mexico, to take the clinic international, but before that we have to conduct a session in the sister-isle of Tobago, as we also have a request from them as well.” Gally said.

Before the distribution of certificates, little Maya Wong, a 12 year old who attends St Peters Private School in San Fernando said the clinic has been a huge help for her as a striker. “I have been learning how to score goals better and it will help me when I am playing for my school. I particularly like the game situations at the camp because I received so much more experience playing” Wong said.

Another young player Ronaldo Adolphus, named after the famous Brazilian footballer ‘Ronaldo’, said he is using the training at the clinic to enable him to make his school team at East Mucurapo in the new school term. “I think Gally is a very good coach and from him I have already seen improvements in my game. I am a utility player but I like playing in the midfield more” Adolphus said.

Gally: Local coaches can do the job.
« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2017, 05:01:03 AM »
Gally: Local coaches can do the job.

Everald “Gally” Cummings, the former national player and coach has said the country does not need a foreign coach to turn around the fortunes of T&T football.

In the wake of Tuesday’s resignation of national coach Tom Saintfiet from Belgium, the ex “Strike Squad” coach said, “We have the technical capacity right here among our local fraternity, but the problem is that they have been fighting and undermining each other for decades and has created a space for others to exploit.”

He called on local coaches to stop and take stock of themselves. Cummings who guided the T&T “Strike Squad” to within a point of qualifying for the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy, believes the T&T Football Association (TTFA)under president David John-Williams has been throwing away money by the hiring and firing of international coaches.

“We cannot be throwing away money, especially in times of scarce financial resources and with the TTFA in debt.”

According to Cummings: “This is not 2005 as there is no Dwight Yorke or Russell Latapy.

“It was Russell who changed the momentum and gave us that chance after his outstanding game against Guatemala.

“Before that coach, Dutchman Leo Beenhakker had suffered a 5-1 away loss to the Guatemalans.”

“Gally” is calling on the TTFA to appoint people who understand the players; know intuitively their special traits; our style and turn the team into an attacking dynamic and cohesive force in a few weeks time, saying he did it back in 1987 in a space of two weeks, when the country had lost to the United States.

He believes the time has come for locals to remove themselves from the shackles of colonialism and have confidence their own strength and talents.

He explained the country has been making the same mistakes for the last 20 years and more, yet expect different results.

“We need to ask whether we are getting the best technical advice and to let the population know what is the vision for football,” Cummings asked.

Offline dtool

« Reply #54 on: January 13, 2017, 06:54:51 AM »

« Reply #55 on: January 13, 2017, 06:59:55 AM »
That 5-1 loss was under Bertille. Gally stop talking shit

« Reply #56 on: January 13, 2017, 01:38:09 PM »
He does have a point though..I feel if Gally, Bertille, Jan, Dick Furlongue, Latapy, Hutson  Charles, all work together , in a perfect world the result would be positive.

(not Shabazz)

Re: Everald "Gally" Cummings Thread
« Reply #57 on: October 12, 2017, 01:47:34 AM »
Now lets put things in place—Gally, Barber.

It was 28 years ago that the American football team turned a sea of red shirts at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo into a river of tears, after a hurtful 1-0 win prevented what seem a certain passage to the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy for T&T’s Strike Squad which at the time needed just a draw.

Heartbroken players and fans struggled to cope with this memory any time a TT/USA encounter appeared at any competition.

But on Tuesday night at the new home of football at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Balmain Couva, this ghost was finally put to rest, not only because of an impressive 2-1 win by the Soca Warriors over the USA, but because the victory prevented the CONCACAF giants from qualifying for the world cup for the first time since 1986.

The US football fraternity has since struggled to cope with this loss, as one commentator described it as a catastrophe. Strike Squad coach Everald ‘Gally Cummings and midfielder Hutson ‘Barber’ Charles refused to joined the euphoria and instead called for a serious development programme to be introduced by the T&T Football Association.

Both expressed satisfaction with the result but preferred the implementation of a system that would prevent TT from finishing bottom of the standing, as it did in spite of the win.

In a confident showing in front a bare crowd in Couva, T&T snatched the lead when striker Shahdon Winchester got the slightest of touches to direct a right-side Alvin Jones cross past US goalkeeper Tim Howard for the lead in the 17th minute.

But it was Jones’ thunderous right footer from some 30 yards out that confined the US to fifth on the standing with 12 points, as their nearest rivals Panama and Honduras won their respective encounters against Costa Rica and Mexico respectively.

The ex national coach and his player said they were happy for the win in the midst of a failed campaign, but believe the sport had made very little strides since the famous November 19 match.

“What we should focus on now is our position in the CONCACAF region and our achievements in the Caribbean over the past few years.

“We finish bottom of the table in the campaign and after 28 years in which so much has happened, still we are in need of improvement” Cummings said.

He joined with Charles in calling for coach Dennis Lawrence to build his team from home here in T&T, saying the core of the team should be based here in T&T and only include international players who could add value to it for key tournaments.

This team, they believe, should focus on dominating regional football as it did in the past first, before it can consider Concacaf achievements.

According to Cummings, authorities should consider selecting an all-local staff that consists of knowledgeable coaches who are aware of the type of football that will be best suited to the country, as well as a technical committee to critically analyse matches.

Charles called on Lawrence to make use of all the FIFA breaks by having international friendly games and urged the TTFA to support him in this venture.

« Reply #58 on: October 12, 2017, 08:55:50 AM »
Real innovative. really ? Excellent local coaches who have no foreign expertise, reminds me how I studied computer programming, 30 years ago, it still on my resume, yet I now trying to learn C#, Java, .net.. hey I was good at fortran and typing the cards.
And what happens as locals get good, offered real money foreign, like many JA players, they go, so yuhbring in replacements, what happens when yuh reach 3rd and 4th string replacements due to work, injuries, age, life..do you pick yuh best team or best players you presently working with locally, and when we win, do we not celebrate cause we serious now, and when we loss, do we get vex, because of the weaknesses of the players cause of the localization of the game, blame players, coach, admin, and flip the script once more, "last time, we promise " but we need to blah, blah blah.. they say a lot, but hear and see no one, not even themselves.. all experts in outta timing

I played in a game with A bunch of world stars, does that mean i'm a world star ? What if they were in their 40's and 50's and I was 18. I handled them in spite of their experience ? Did US have a mostly local team, Lott sa technology, money, GPS system, facilities, etc
Mexico, Panama, Honduras.. what they had ? Where they better players played or playing, where coaches from, everybody else move ahead cause they pull together, especially when things get tough.. we does want to pull apart MORE, and expect more positive results..

Let Lawrence ask for help when he needs, but support him, even if he don't, even if yuh disagree with his method, even if he fired, yet learn from his mistakes, but if you already know everything you could and have nothing to learn, then you cannot preach or teach development , you can only preach your accomplishments and your greatness. And oh gorm, per capita we have so many great ones. It is no coincidence that many top coaches in sports were not the greatest players themselves. Maybe Egos gets in the way, I dunno. All ah we is experts, ent

I ain't finish my noise, cause is just noise. I will stop here doh, cause I might mess up my paragraphs. I hope Lawrence listens to everybody and develops himself, and makes the decisions to better our football, in spite of our deficiencies. Our Natiional issue doh isn't just our football, it's might be and i'm not saying it isn't, but could it be our attitudes ? Cause, I see many more critical issues in the way we live together. We have evolved to a "just do it" society, all about the I and I. The rest of my opinion will be expressed over the beers I laugh or cry over, these days I don't have that many (beers) in front of me. Life gets in the way. When I support TT, when we win anybody or any positive event, be it sporting, political or cultural, I have a moment of hope not just for that event, but for our country, 2 islands, many peoples, different backgrounds, ONE nation.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 10:49:47 AM by maxg »

« Reply #59 on: October 12, 2017, 08:34:16 PM »
He joined with Charles in calling for coach Dennis Lawrence to build his team from home here in T&T, saying the core of the team should be based here in T&T and only include international players who could add value to it for key tournaments.
Had Kevin Verity adopted that approach, perhaps Gally, Barclay, Tony Douglas, Archibald, Steve David etc would not have been on the 1973 World Cup qualifying squad in Haiti

Matter of fact, Verity definitely would not have been coach and some other deserving, excellent. -and knowledgeable local coach would have been in charge of that squad.

Doh even talk about the 2005/06 soca warriors that went to Germany.  Shabazz or Stuart Charles-Fevrier woulda coach dem to Victory there for sure.

And of course that team would have been without Shaka, Lawrence, Dog, Carlos Edwards, Avery John, Birchall, Yorke, Latas, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Evans Wise, etc too
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 08:38:41 PM by palos »