March 29, 2024, 05:00:46 AM

Author Topic: Why FIFA must be enlisted to change T&T football.  (Read 3674 times)

Why FIFA must be enlisted to change T&T football.
« on: January 23, 2012, 07:38:49 AM »
Why FIFA must be enlisted to change T&T football.
By Lincoln Phillips.

FIFA recently announced an extraordinary incursion into Caribbean football administration with the creation of a Normalisation Committee per Article 7 of the FIFA Statutes.

While some would characterize, FIFA’s move as an overreach of its organizational powers, at best, or the introduction of European neocolonialism, at worst, I am of the opinion that FIFA has a legitimate role to play in reforming Caribbean football administration; not because FIFA is the paragon of best administrative and ethical practices; as recent events have suggested they are not.

Rather, FIFA’s responsibility is, in part, an opportunity to redeem itself as much as it is a duty to help clean up the mess they partly created. However, there must be unapologetic call to urge FIFA to respect Caribbean administrators and society.

Self-determination and the right to autonomously manage the crisis cannot be bargained away. However, as the parable holds “to whom much is given, much is expected in return.”

Our Caribbean administrators must rise to the occasion and take heed of the opportunity presented to create administrative models that recognize the vital importance of all stakeholders connected to the football family. Be it players, coaches, officials, fans, media, or administrators. Everyone involved in the game must possess the proper level of mutual respect and support.

Nowhere does this new paradigm meet its greatest challenge than in Trinidad and Tobago. As a result of the tremendous challenges posed by its own making, the TTFF is in need of a Marshall-plan type approach to not only fix the damage and reverse the abuses done over the years but to better ensure the TTFF and CFU by extension become a beacon of the best practices of sports administration.

In keeping with that view, I am of the belief that FIFA has a responsibility to adhere to the "Pottery Barn Rule" made famous by Colin Powell in explaining why invading Baghdad was a bad idea. In essence, the rule is " you break it, you fix it".

Several reasons support this approach.

First, if FIFA is truly interested in helping its member organizations embrace transparency and good governance, they have an obligation to play a key role in repairing the TTFF.

Second, FIFA, through its own omission and/or collusion failed to engage in proper oversight of millions of dollars earmarked for football development to benefit the whole of Trinidad and Tobago.

Third, neglectful oversight of the TTFF enabled the festering of poor administrative, accounting, and ethical practices within the TTFF leading the organization to its present state of turmoil.

There will undoubtedly be howls of imperialism from those who want to maintain the status quo and a clamor of empty promises claiming that change is coming. However, recent events suggest otherwise when one hears about the arbitrary dismissal of the Olympic team manager and assistant manager. Such actions demonstrate the ethos and spirit of the old TTFF is firmly embedded in the marrow of the new leadership.

Without a substantive change in the current TTFF constitution, any attempt of real reform that will provide the professional and amateur clubs their rightful stake in football affairs and to invite competent administrators and other resourceful Trinbagonians to the table is likely to fail.

The crisis currently facing T&T football can become the greatest opportunity to build anew, reject the practices of the past, and engage in proper stewardship of the game. The only way such a vision will come to fruition is if everyone from Port of Spain to Zurich, who claim interest in the betterment of the game, demand better performance and accountability from policy-makers while acknowledging their own responsibility in the stewardship of the game.

As a guideline for those seeking a clear path to reform, a Declaration of Good Governance and Accountability In T&T Football is offered to not only illustrate why reform is needed but also to provide a litmus test and pledge of deliverables for anyone seeking access to policy making roles within the TTFF. One cannot expect the current TTFF leadership to willingly alter organizational by-laws that would expose them for possible replacement.

Wishful thinking and fairly tale endings have no place in tackling the most substantive crisis to ever face T&T football. It is time to make a new social contract and demand from those who earn the privilege of guiding the TTFF accountability and a promise of good governance.

Declaration of accountability and good governance in T&T Football

WHEREAS, The present national governing body of football in Trinidad and Tobago as recognized by FIFA and CONCACAF and known as the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has inefficiently, neglectfully, and with little to no accountability operated football matters in Trinidad and Tobago,

WHEREAS, The current state of football in Trinidad and Tobago as influenced by the present national governing body is in an unacceptable condition,

WHEREAS, The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation is presently and will be for the foreseeable future operate at or near an insolvent level,

WHEREAS, Further dependence on the present national governing body will result in continued deterioration in the condition of all aspects of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Declaration of accountability and good governance is offered to publically affirm and formally request FIFA and CONCACAF to install, per Article 7 of the FIFA Statutes, a Normalisation Committee for the purpose of removing the Executive Board of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation; and any entity or individual that assumes a policy making and/or executive role on its behalf, and replace the current Executive Board with a local group of individuals dedicated to transparency, accountability, and good governance.

It is further noted that policy makers within the reconstituted national football governing body shall be expected to commit to the following resolutions:

1. Resolved, to repair and reconstruct the present Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Constitution and Statutes to properly reflect, serve, and represent the needs of all facets of the football family in Trinidad and Tobago.

2. Resolved, to establish direct discussions with players from the 2006 Senior Men’s National Team who remain engaged in legal dispute with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation for the purpose of ending their plight and incorporate their valuable resources to assist in the development of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

3. Resolved, to create a series of committees for the purpose of analyzing and addressing areas of vital interest in the development of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

4. Resolved, to reinvigorate robust support from all sectors of the Trinidad and Tobago Diaspora for the growth and development of football in Trinidad and Tobago.

5. Resolved, to work toward the goal of having both the Men’s and Women’s Senior National Teams achieve no less than a top 50 mark in the FIFA ranking of national association teams.

6. Resolved, to establish Trinidad and Tobago as a destination point for international clubs for the purpose of providing both player development and commercial opportunities.

7. Resolved, to establish a formal association with Transparency International to ensure the ideals of this declaration are adhered to and respected.

8. Resolved, to rebrand the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation in a manner that is representative of a new spirit and direction.

9. Resolved, to develop commercial opportunities and multiple revenue streams that will provide both a favorable return on investment to the stakeholders and opportunity to properly capitalize programs and initiatives that fall under the auspices of the national football governing body.

10. Resolved, to utilize various means of traditional and digital communication in order to establish a robust and substantive level of information pertaining to matters associated with national programs and initiatives.

The undersigned, shall without reserve and with malice toward none, declare the current incarnation of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation to be an entity that has squandered the confidence of its constituency and as such does not hold the level of legitimacy required to properly conduct its affairs.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 04:06:00 PM by Flex »

Re: Why FIFA must be enlisted to change T&T football.
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 08:35:42 AM »
Was this published in the press?

Before anything new is put in place, all administrators in TTFF should be issued a job description in which they are made accountable for certain performance levels of achievement. There is no accountability, therefore no one can fail. They can all blame other people. These same people have been failing the nation for over 20 years but there is no mechanism to remove them. Same with the ProLeague. How long can we be forced to tolerate ineptitude and failure?

People must be made personally accountable, otherwise its just a job for life.

Salaries should be cut and become performance related. You only earn big money if you achieve. Lets see who's there for passion and pride and who just wants to rock back on a 6 figure salary. 

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 08:58:04 AM »

Before anything new is put in place, all administrators in TTFF should be issued a job description in which they are made accountable for certain performance levels of achievement. There is no accountability, therefore no one can fail. They can all blame other people. These same people have been failing the nation for over 20 years but there is no mechanism to remove them. Same with the ProLeague. How long can we be forced to tolerate ineptitude and failure?

Salaries should be cut and become performance related. You only earn big money if you achieve. Lets see who's there for passion and pride and who just wants to rock back on a 6 figure salary. 

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 09:01:50 AM »
Tonight tonight somebody getting ah bull pistle....

Nice and brilliant work Lincoln.

Offline tempo

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2012, 09:40:31 AM »

I think you are missing the point of the article. Who in T&T is going to make the TTFF executive step down or as you say develop job descriptions? The TTFF is accountable to no one but FIFA. You can't even say pressure could be placed on TTFF sponsors because there are none and if the government attempts to impose the changes you suggest, FIFA will declare interference of a third party. The emotional approach to issues surrounding the TTFF should stop because that is how the likes of Warner, Watson et al are able to outmaneuver their opponents.

Job descriptions can come after an interim board is in place and a new constitution is created. Only FIFA can make this happen.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 09:48:33 AM by tempo »

Offline socalion

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2012, 11:03:49 AM »
Brilliant, Brilliant ....without doubt a well defined and an inciteful article written by you Mr  Lincoln Phillips ..!! you are to be commended for an objective well written article for whats required to take the beautiful game of football in productive ,  upward direction which has over the past serveral years deteriorated into something not so enterprising throughout all of trinidad and tobago as is clearly apparent for all to see .......... and if i  may add with the exception those responsible for the present  state the game has fallen into..!!! Mr. Lincoln  Phillips  again thanks ....... hopefully by definition  the call made by you , will be heeded by fifa in order to repair the ills , and injurous wounds thats presently hurting our beloved game of football in Trinidad / Tobago .........I join you, Mr. Phillips   in calling upon  fifa in good faith  to come forward in order  to make  the radical changes thats needed with a proper housecleaning @ ttff .....  hopefully soon rather than later..... the time has come for transparency and accountability by all  .....@the ttff the time is now .......Calling on Fifa ....do the right thing..!!

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2012, 03:26:14 PM »

I think you are missing the point of the article. Who in T&T is going to make the TTFF executive step down or as you say develop job descriptions? The TTFF is accountable to no one but FIFA. You can't even say pressure could be placed on TTFF sponsors because there are none and if the government attempts to impose the changes you suggest, FIFA will declare interference of a third party. The emotional approach to issues surrounding the TTFF should stop because that is how the likes of Warner, Watson et al are able to outmaneuver their opponents.

Job descriptions can come after an interim board is in place and a new constitution is created. Only FIFA can make this happen.

Sorry, I may have not made it clear, but when I said "Before anything new is put in place" I meant before the new version of TTFF is elected. The FIFA commission must put in place infrastructure to ensure accountability. Even if the same people were voted back in, and thats entirely possible, they must work under a strict structure that demands accountability and rewards performance. They'll be gone in 12 months!!

Offline tempo

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2012, 03:27:18 PM »

Sorry, I may have not made it clear, but when I said "Before anything new is put in place" I meant before the new version of TTFF is elected. The FIFA commission must put in place infrastructure to ensure accountability. Even if the same people were voted back in, and thats entirely possible, they must work under a strict structure that demands accountability and rewards performance. They'll be gone in 12 months!!

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2012, 03:54:21 PM »
I don't know if you all realize how the TTFF operates,no one walks in and gets a position just like that,when ever you see any changes taking place it's not anybody new,these guys have been involved with the administration in some capacity either player,Coach etc for years,it have nothing new/different to look forward too because Jack and Camps gone, it's the same old brigade carrying on the same way those that left did.
While i think LP article is a good one,i don't think there is much FIFA can do for T&T Football at this point in time,we have to get our house in order on a domestic level if they have to step in,FIFA is out to make money and right now Football in T&T dead,the man who used to initiate everything for us on the world stage is there no more,no World Cup,no tournaments,quality teams don't want to come to play us,our domestic leagues not getting any support from the public/sponsors.   

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2012, 05:20:36 PM »
So Coops what you are saying is that we have maxed in our leadership capacity and any stereotype placed on our country and football will be considered fair.  If that's the case then KJ could be the last of the big players for T&T. 

« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2012, 04:49:11 AM »
Appreciate what Lincoln doing here, unfortunately the TTFF is very hard to break and FIFA don't seem to care especially when it comes to T&T.

LP should send this letter to FIFA.

« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2012, 07:19:37 AM »
Appreciate what Lincoln doing here, unfortunately the TTFF is very hard to break and FIFA don't seem to care especially when it comes to T&T.

LP should send this letter to FIFA.
       :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2012, 08:40:19 AM »
So Coops what you are saying is that we have maxed in our leadership capacity and any stereotype placed on our country and football will be considered fair.  If that's the case then KJ could be the last of the big players for T&T. 
         Well Breds in a nutshell what i want to say is the attention CFU and T&T got from FIFA will not be the same any more because we don't have anyone in position there at that level who they respect.
         What's really fair,Football is a ruthless business and it's the big guys who surviving in this game,how often does a small country qualify for a WC?today it's not ability that gets you there it's all about the politics in the game,that's why Jack got in trouble everything is corupt,tell me the good guys in FIFA.If FIFA don't have fair elections how could they tell the TTFF to have fair elections.
         Besides KJ are there any T&T players on the horizon to play on any Premiership team in any of the big leagues in the world.

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2012, 08:51:27 AM »
This is a very good article.

But until FIFA cleans it owns house, expect more or less the same TTFF.

If the TTFF is corrupted, then FIFA is 10 times worst.

Well they get involved with T&T, I highly doubt that, so all these good information is just a breeze passing through, unfortunately nothing will come out of it.

What LP and other serious men need to do is to actually go down to Trinidad and challange for the Zones, if LP and Keith Look Loy were ememies, they now need to come together and fight for the zonal football.

Like it or not, these men need to work together, they have experience and they know the TTFF first hand, they must lead the way to save or football and they should also combine with the Shaka, Kelvin, Sancho, Flex, Tallman, the Welch guy etc, together, everyone will play important roles.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 08:54:44 AM by Errol »

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2012, 09:51:28 AM »
This is a very good article.

But until FIFA cleans it owns house, expect more or less the same TTFF.

If the TTFF is corrupted, then FIFA is 10 times worst.

Well they get involved with T&T, I highly doubt that, so all these good information is just a breeze passing through, unfortunately nothing will come out of it.

What LP and other serious men need to do is to actually go down to Trinidad and challange for the Zones, if LP and Keith Look Loy were ememies, they now need to come together and fight for the zonal football.

Like it or not, these men need to work together, they have experience and they know the TTFF first hand, they must lead the way to save or football and they should also combine with the Shaka, Kelvin, Sancho, Flex, Tallman, the Welch guy etc, together, everyone will play important roles.
       Breds our ship not sinking yu know, it already sunk,with the exception of Sancho and Look Loy all those guys you mention reside abroad,our problem is how many of them willing to make that sacrifice for Football in T&T,trust me it eh worth it,to do what you talking about there a person have give up the life they have and come home,if or when the Soca Worriors get their money you will not here from those guys.
       Knowing the TTFF and having the experience to deal with the issues/problems our Football have is two different things,what experience most of these guys have more than playing the game,that word "together" is a strong word in T&T Football,it's years we have been trying to achieve some form of togetherness with no success,it's the reason we can't have a Players ,Coaches ,Referees assoc etc all the zones and TTFF admin have problems,to sort T&T Football out it have to be full time.
       These days you seeing and hearing a lot of so called great speaches and articles by various individuals,i respect everyone's contribution to the symposium run by the MOS,what i am not seeing is follow ups/action,if we can't agree or come together for the betterment of Football in the country the ship will remain under water.
        Where is Look Loy?what's he up too these days?new job etc etc     

« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2012, 10:05:34 AM »
Good post coops.....

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2012, 10:59:00 AM »
The big bad wolfe speaks.

Call; 1 800 who cares

The TTFF is encrypted and cannot be removed.

FIFA is not interested in a small worthless country and without Jack they are even more worthless. Now FIFA does not need T&T, so why should they listen.

Like the Combine, this letter is worthless and gives the average reader nothing more than just a read.

I remember oneday Jack had LP calling him sir.    :rotfl:

Dont bit the hands that fed you Pal.

Someone is talking but no one is listening.

This guy quoting Colin Powell.   :rotfl:

The thing about is, Lincoln was there when Jack reworte the TTFF constitution and did nothing, now he wants to talk.

Jack will raise again !!!!!
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 11:34:44 AM by Jack Horner »
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2012, 11:16:20 AM »
Let me breakdown this mile high pile ah shit yuh jes posted!

The big bad wolfe speaks.
How can anyone characterize a humble peaceful man like LP a Big Bad Wolf?
Call; 1 800 who cares
I want to call yuh mammy.

The TTFF is encrypted and cannot be removed.
The TTFF is encrypted?   Yuh is ah f**king imbecile or wha?  And how yuh dunce ass come to the conclusion that IT cannot be removed?  Ent it was de TTFA before..how dat turn out?  Yuh ka=ka hole.

FIFA is not interested in a small worthless country and without Jack they are even more worthless. Now FIFA does not need T&T, so why should they listed.

Why should FIFA listed?  More evidence ah yuh dotishness! LISTED???  And why de f**k yuh eh move to Angola if yuh feel T&T is a small worthless country..what worthless is yuh fadder and mammy for breaking de cardinal rule of siblings mating!  Look wha dey make!

Like the Combine, this letter is worthless and gives the average reader nothing more than just a read.

Kyat hole, letters are meant to be read....it was not written for the average reader either yuh cunnie hole!  It was written for those who have at least an iota of common sense.  Talking about Combine I feel dey combine ah asshole and ah finger and make you!

I remember oneday Jack had LP calling him sir.    :rotfl:

Steups!

Dont bit the hands that fed you.

Bit the hand that fed you?  As I remember the TTFF never paid one cent to LP, it was the Government du jour...more evidence dat you is not a whole load jes ah bit.

Someone is talking but no one is listening.

Obviously yuh listening...why yuh responding?  Cunnie?

This guy quoting Colin Powell.   :rotfl:

Who he should quote?  The Dalai Lama?

The thing about is, Lincoln was there when Jack reworte the TTFF constitution and did nothing, now he wants to talk.

Yuh so misinformed it eh funny.  When was the TTFF constitution re-written?  What year and where was Lincoln that year?  Yuh sucking Jack bamsee so much he shit gone to yuh brain or wha?

Jack will raise again !!!!!
Jack soon out the PP Government too..IJack could only raise again with some Viagra the old prick!

« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2012, 06:50:29 AM »
Allyuh good we !!!!!!!!!..... I thought I de crazy....  :rotfl:

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2012, 02:48:38 PM »
Great piece by Lincoln! Has it been sent to the Press and to FIFA? Until there is a complete transformation and individuals come forward who are committed to  taking us back to where we were once , dog eat we supper! I like the idea of association with transparency International! A lot of people need to answer to the population for the degradation of T and T football!
Lincoln let us know where it is going, many bloggers want to know!

« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2012, 03:03:56 PM »
Great piece by Lincoln! Has it been sent to the Press and to FIFA?

Somebody submitted it to Change.org... got an email about it in my in-box this morning.

Offline tempo

« Reply #22 on: January 25, 2012, 07:26:26 PM »
I also received a notice from Change.org. FIFA received both a letter in December and a copy of this most recent article and declaration. At this point, it would be up to the more respected individuals involved in T&T business and sports to be approached. Perhaps, Transparency International can be the rallying agent and platform that can be used to help mobilize LP's declaration into a viable campaign for change.

« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2012, 02:48:39 PM »
excellent article by LP, but I have said this from way before this article, that we need a local group of individuals that are invested in our football and have the know how and ability to re-brand tt football.

i have great respect for LP but the local group must take the first step, fifa will not take the first step in regards to tt fooball, caribbean football yes.

it is time for the football fraternity to come forward instead of waiting for fifa to do something. like i have said on many occasions before, start a new federation and get everything in order, then make that call to fifa and show them we have an alternative.

fifa needs to see an operational group that is the alternative, that are transparent and ready to lead, right now its all words and waiting idly by for fifa to fix our problem, i prefer the proactive approach
« Last Edit: January 28, 2012, 02:50:12 PM by Controversial »

Offline tempo

« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2012, 09:15:13 AM »
http://newsday.co.tt/sport/0,154489.html

That is a slap in the face. Why didn't they publish the whole thing.

I tell you, without de SWO no one have a voice in T&T, everybody fraid.

Thanks to the SWO man could let their voice be heard.