March 28, 2024, 07:23:08 AM

Author Topic: Cordell Cato Thread  (Read 23728 times)

Re: Cordell Cato Thread
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2015, 09:28:47 PM »
WATCH: Cordell Cato scores a brace in San Jose Earthquakes’ 5-0 rout of Sporting Kansas City. Cordell’s goals can be seen at 0:24 and 2:19.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/jBz9RcNC36o?start=24" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/jBz9RcNC36o?start=24</a>

« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2015, 12:50:33 PM »
Tallman yuh like that word brace eh.

Cato's second was a nice finish.

« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2015, 01:38:59 PM »

Yuh still remember dat?  :rotfl:

« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2015, 02:50:26 PM »

Yuh still remember dat?  :rotfl:

As though anybody could forget it!  ;D

« Reply #34 on: September 10, 2015, 02:16:29 AM »
Cato’s on top of his game.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

United States-based forward Cordell Cato is enjoying the best stint of his career and at age 23 he still has a whole deal to look forward to.

The San Jose Earthquakes player was a first team starter for T&T at the Concacaf Gold Cup in July, scoring against Guatemala and he was also involved in T&T’s 3-3 draw with Mexico in Utah last Friday.

Cato said the belief in him from head coach Stephen Hart has helped pave a way for his international career.

“I mean it’s been fun coming into the national team and being able to start after watching on for a while under the different coaches like (Jamal) Shabazz and they. Hart really believes in young players and it definitely helps us. The international stage is a lot higher than the club level. The level of everything intensity, quality of play, you always take that back to the club and it’s been working so far I’ve been getting a bit more goals in recent games. Everything has just been working out lately for me,” Cato said.

Cato, who did not play a season in the T&T Pro League before making the jump to Seattle Sounders, was previously a member of San Juan Jabloteh and Defence Force. He was also part of the T&T Under-20 team during the 2011 Concacaf U-20 World Cup qualifying campaign.

His advice to upcoming players is to be in tune with the game and to keep themselves ready for when opportunity comes knocking.

“It’s a little bit difficult at first but the most important thing is being prepared for that one opportunity when it comes,” said Cato.

“Everybody is so into school football which is good but again you have to see yourself playing in the European Leagues and all the other leagues and prepare yourself for that so you’re ready when you go out there.

“So much of our countrymen go out and they come back. You just have to go out and show the team what they exactly want. And as long as you figure out that then trials become easier. As a striker, you go on a trial you have to go and score goals and as a defender you have to do the opposite.

“As Trinidadians you know we’re laid out well like myself, I am laid back, You jut have to do the extra work, not just training with the team, but do the extra work, either on the beach or whatever it takes to make it out and then everything can fall into place because then you have things going for you whether it be the coaches or the right facilities to build you game which has proven well in my case.

“My game has jumped a lot in the couple years . I will say to any player trying to go on my path it’s not a problem not playing in the T&T League, you can skip past it but you just have to be ready.”

« Reply #35 on: September 10, 2015, 04:43:18 PM »
WATCH: Catching up with Cordell Cato

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/teLTEOdUYKs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/teLTEOdUYKs</a>

Cato prepared for the biggest game of his career against the USA
« Reply #36 on: November 16, 2015, 06:15:42 PM »
Cato prepared for the biggest game of his career against the USA
By Paul Dewhurst (sjearthquakes.com)

Growing up, Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato would make the 10 minute trek from his Carenage home down the road to Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, the heart of soccer in the country’s capital.

In the same stadium he once paraded around as a fan and aspiring professional, Cato will suit up for Trinidad and Tobego in Tuesday night’s highly anticipated FIFA World Cup Qualifying match against the United States.

For 23-year-old midfielder, ‘highly anticipated’ may be a bit of an understatement.

“It’s going to be the biggest game of my career, especially on the international stage,” Cato said Monday morning. “Especially if we come out victorious. To [get a win against the United States] in front of our fans, this is something that they’ve been waiting to experience for years now.”

The seaside, 23,000-seat venue is expected to be sold-out in anticipation of Tuesday’s bout. The Soca Warriors have always challenged the United States at Hasely Crawford Stadium, but considering their recent form, they could be due for one of the most memorable matches at the country’s storied stadium.

“The anticipation and support is beyond what we expected,” Cato said of the host nation's support. “There’s just so much behind this game for the fans and it’s exciting for them to come out and see a game of this magnitude. It’s going to be a packed stadium, so it’s going to be a fun environment. We’re going to give them a good game.”

Cato and the Soca Warriors kicked off their qualifying campaign Friday with a 2-1 win against Guatemala. Coming on as a substitute in the 65th minute, Cato, along with teammate Kevan George, ignited a second half push that led to their two second half goals.

“When you talk about Guatemala, they’re always a tough team to face at home,” Cato explained. “We managed the game pretty well. Halfway through the second half we found space, started playing better football and started creating a couple scoring opportunities. In a tough situation and a tough country against a good team, we came up with a 2-1 victory.”

After back to back wins against a stout Guatemala side and a glowing 2015 Gold Cup cameo this past summer in the United States, Cato and the Soca Warriors are soaking in this golden era of soccer in the Caribbean.

“The chemistry has never been better,” Cato said. “Some of the other guys have even said they’ve never been a part of a closer group than what we have now. We just want to win. We play for each other, we have fun together, we love each other, and we have fun every time we step on the field.”

Sure, the Soca Warriors' top form on the field perfectly aligns with Tuesday’s home match in Port of Spain, but they’ll have a lot of work to do in coming up victorious against Jurgen Klinsmann and the United States.

“We are going to expect a tough game against a tough team,” Cato said about Tuesday’s clash with the U.S. “For us, we’re home. We just have to be ourselves and be comfortable. We’ve been playing well so we just have to continue what we’re doing. If we go out and play our game, we will be tough for the U.S. to beat."

« Reply #37 on: November 16, 2015, 06:58:50 PM »
Growing up, Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato would make the 10 minute trek from his Carenage home down the road to Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, the heart of soccer in the country’s capital.
Cato must have been a real ball ho to leff Carenage midnight on a Sunday to go to de Crawfie.

10 minutes?  :o :)

« Reply #38 on: December 04, 2015, 06:27:47 AM »
Cato helps feed families in San Jose.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National forward Cordell Cato joined with members of his San Jose Earthquakes team to distribute food items to 3,000 families for Thanksgiving at the Avaya Stadium in San Jose on Tuesday.

The San Jose Earthquakes football team, the workers from Cityteam Ministries and an army of 600 hearty helpers put the 8-month old stadium to excellent use as a food distribution center that served thousands of grateful people happily getting boxes and bags of food for this week's traditional holiday meal, the Contracosta Times reported.

As for the presence of the Earthquakes, the very first player on display was the popular Cordell Cato. The smiling, whippet-thin, midfielder was packing groceries at the head of a pair of superefficient distribution lines moving through the belly of the 18,000-seat stadium, which opened in March. The only “person” to upstage Cato was the famed Quakes mascot.

“I always notice when I see families that look like they are struggling,” said Cato, 23, who worked alongside the fuzzy, blue mascot. “My childhood was not so great, so I want to use today to help make sure that these people have a good Thanksgiving.”

« Reply #39 on: December 04, 2015, 08:37:49 AM »
Bravo Cato  :applause:

« Reply #40 on: December 04, 2015, 11:37:38 AM »
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Earthquakes sign midfielder Cordell Cato to new contract
« Reply #41 on: February 04, 2016, 07:52:38 PM »
Earthquakes sign midfielder Cordell Cato to new contract
Earthquakes Media Relations

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that the club has signed midfielder Cordell Cato to a new multi-year contract.

Cato, 23, is coming off a career year in 2015, where he set career highs in games played (28), starts (18) and minutes (1,814) and tied his career highs in goals (three) and assists (two). He notched his first multi-goal game in a 5-0 win over Sporting Kansas City on August 19 and tallied the third goal for the Quakes in their 3-1 win over rivals LA Galaxy during the California Clasico. Cato was also the only player on San Jose last season to make at least one start at four different positions – left back, right back, left midfield and right midfield.

“Cordell is an excellent young player and we believe he has a very bright future ahead of him,” said Earthquakes general manager John Doyle. “It's easy to forget that, given all the experience he already has, Cordell is only 23. We are delighted to secure his services and look forward to seeing him in a Quakes jersey for a long time to come.”

Cato originally signed with Seattle Sounders FC prior to the 2012 season, appearing in eight matches during his first season in MLS. He was then traded to San Jose on March 1, 2013 for the Quakes final selection in the 2014 MLS SuperDraft. Cato has appeared in 83 matches, making 44 starts, with seven goals and seven assists to his credit over the past four seasons. He is also a regular with the Trinidad and Tobago National Team and recently helped his country earn a point against the United States in 2018 World Cup Qualifying with a scoreless draw last November.

Transaction: San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) – San Jose Earthquakes sign M Cordell Cato to a new multi-year contract.

« Reply #42 on: February 04, 2016, 08:43:58 PM »
Congrats Cato :beermug:

« Reply #43 on: February 04, 2016, 09:28:58 PM »
Well done, Cordell.

Quite correct re: his youth v. experience. However, precisely what we need other players to amass: a credible body of experience, early out the gate.

Would like to see his decision-making match his speed on the park. Would also like to see deliveries connecting from wide and advanced areas.

Dahis yuh homework (NT, if not club) Cordell.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 09:59:48 PM by asylumseeker »

Cordell Cato excited for next chapter in Earthquakes career
« Reply #44 on: February 09, 2016, 03:28:41 PM »
Cordell Cato excited for next chapter in Earthquakes career
By Mike Keegan (sjearthquakes.com)

Cordell Cato has one word to describe signing a new, multi-year contract with the San Jose Earthquakes:

“Amazing,” the 23-year-old midfielder said.

The new deal caps an eventful and successful year for Cato in which he made a career-high 18 starts, scored three goals and provided two assists. He also represented Trinidad and Tobago in a 0-0 draw against the U.S., 10 minutes away from where he was raised, and welcomed a new baby boy into the world.

It also provides the versatile former Seattle Sounder with an opportunity to further establish himself as a fans favorite at Avaya Stadium.

“To know that I am somewhat secure and I am going to be moving forward with the Quakes for a couple more years is amazing,” Cato added. “This is my fifth season and it has been a journey.”

When announcing Cato’s new deal, San Jose general manager John Doyle pointed out that, despite appearing in 83 matches, time is on his side.

And the player agrees.

“Yes, I have experience but I am still pretty young,” he said. “There is definitely work there to be done.”

Cato was speaking from the Quakes preseason training camp in Tucson, Arizona. He will be part of a squad that takes on South Korean outfit Seongnam FC on Tuesday morning, before heading back to California on Wednesday. The final scores haven’t gone the Quakes way in their first two matches in the desert against the New England Revolution and Houston Dynamo, but the team is beginning to gel as the regular season approaches.

“The results haven’t been for us,” Cato said. “We have created a lot of chances – we just need to take them and then things will change."

Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato has hamstring strain
« Reply #45 on: February 24, 2016, 11:17:09 AM »
Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato suffered a hamstring muscle strain in a game last weekend and is expected to miss two to three weeks, coach Dominic Kinnear said Tuesday.
http://www.mercurynews.com/sports/ci_29553510/earthquakes-winger-cordell-cato-has-hamstring-strain

« Reply #46 on: September 29, 2016, 07:06:43 PM »
San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato made his 100th appearance in Major League Soccer during a game against Montreal Impact at Saputo Stadium, Montreal, Canada on Wednesday, September 28th 2016.

« Reply #47 on: September 29, 2016, 07:12:53 PM »
Good Go, Cordell! Good Luck in the future.

« Reply #48 on: February 07, 2017, 07:28:35 PM »
WATCH: Cordell Cato wraps up preseason in Tucson, Arizona with a goal for San Jose Earthquakes in a 1-0 win over Seattle Sounders

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ChilkAGhkQM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ChilkAGhkQM</a>

why do we insist on cordell Cato?
« Reply #49 on: March 28, 2017, 10:47:04 PM »
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players all the time, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

could the coach please leave this guy on the bench and use him sparingly only to help out the defense close out games after we gain a lead by trying to protect it because Cato is no offensive threat, he's just a waste of a a good playing position.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2017, 10:52:29 PM by pull stones »

Re: why do see insist on cordell Cato?
« Reply #50 on: March 28, 2017, 11:02:40 PM »
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

could the coach please leave this guy on the bench and use him sparingly only to help out the defense close out games after we gain a lead by trying to protect it because Cato is no offensive threat, he's just a waste of a a good playing position.

While your assessment might be correct on some of the things you mentioned, I rather have him on or as a sub. I don't think his first touch is bad, but he do make some bad plays. But he asset is that he comes back and help the defense a lot. But he needs an offensive minded coach to work with one on one with his offensive flaws. like improvement on his crosses. Develop or improve on quick shot when he is close to the box.  His short corners are a waste. He should mix them. Some short. Some long. We cant afford to dash him under the bus. We need players like him and JJ.

Re: why do see insist on cordell Cato?
« Reply #51 on: March 29, 2017, 06:05:32 AM »
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

While your assessment might be correct on some of the things you mentioned, I rather have him on or as a sub. I don't think his first touch is bad, but he do make some bad plays. But he asset is that he comes back and help the defense a lot. But he needs an offensive minded coach to work with one on one with his offensive flaws. like improvement on his crosses. Develop or improve on quick shot when he is close to the box.  His short corners are a waste. He should mix them. Some short. Some long. We cant afford to dash him under the bus. We need players like him and JJ.

Improvement is one thing, non-existence is another. They are not even on an endangered species list.

Disagree on his touch being bad. Agree with most of the prior comment. However,  he has undeniable ability. The challenge is getting him to hone his decision-making to mesh with the conditions.

Cato is a handful. He made Mexico uncomfortable, but he is never a 90 minute baller. He is an "Energizer bunny" that creates situations but he doesn't capitalize on enough of them before running out of steam.

Still not hard to see the mirror image qualities he provides with Joevin.

If both players are on song, we are potent.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 06:08:23 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #52 on: March 29, 2017, 08:46:49 AM »
I wish Jomal Williams would step up to the plate and show massive improvement. Our mid field ran out of ideas when the fast break was not present.

« Reply #53 on: April 14, 2017, 03:58:14 PM »
WATCH: 90+ featuring Cordell Cato

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZrMZ8uLgnzQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZrMZ8uLgnzQ</a>

Cordell Cato makes case for San Jose starting spo
« Reply #54 on: May 02, 2017, 01:41:55 PM »
Cordell Cato makes case for San Jose starting spot after shining vs Minnesota United
By Jeff Rueter(MLSsoccer.com)

The San Jose Earthquakes used a tidy defensive performance in Minnesota this weekend to snap their six-match unbeaten streak, but it was made all the more impressive by the fresh face at right back.

According to head coach Dom Kinnear, regular right back Nick Lima picked up a dead-leg injury in training during the week leading up to the match, leading to winger Cordell Cato moving back to fill in. For Kinnear, the Trinidad & Tobago international more than held his ground.

“The one thing about Cordell is that he can play a lot of positions,” Kinnear said. “He attacks well from deep, he defends well, so I thought he had a good game for us.”

Cato kept Minnesota’s wide players at bay all day, containing compatriot Kevin Molino and also pressing up the right-hand side. He also moved around the pitch to great effect, giving the Loons headaches all over the pitch.

“I’m an attacking player, so in playing defense, I was trying to be simple,” Cato explained “I pressed forward in the attack, tried to create chances and be dangerous. I thought I did that tonight.”

Cato also generated what was likely the best chance of any player on the field in the first half, curling a left-footed shot that beat the goalkeeper and struck the underside of the crossbar only to bounce away from goal.

His captain and teammate Chris Wondolowski was impressed. MLS's leading-active goalscorer appreciated the additional spark that Cato provided.

“Cordell did really well,” according to the US international. “We played a new lineup in a 4-2-3-1 in a sense. Cordell was at right back with a lot of ground to cover. He’s so quick and dynamic with the ball. He provided a nice spark for us.”

Lima eventually subbed into the match for the last nine minutes, but he came in at left back. Given Cato’s strong performance in Minnesota, Kinnear is keeping his fullback options open.

“It’s possible [Cato] starts next week [Saturday vs. Portland Timbers],” said Kinnear. “We’ll see ... lots of stuff can happen between then.”

« Reply #55 on: May 02, 2017, 05:00:34 PM »
This man is going to be key to our campaign. He has all of the attributes to be one of the best players on our national team. He continues to improve bit by bit. I think this is the year that he makes his mark. . for club and country.

« Reply #56 on: June 16, 2017, 01:57:42 AM »
Cordell Cato scored the 2nd goal vs San Francisco Deltas in the U.S. Open Cup Fourth round, Wednesday, June 14, 7:30 PM, Avaya Stadium

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XLBEaP9aids" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XLBEaP9aids</a>

https://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2017/06/14/cordell-cato-doubles-quakes-lead?autoplay=true

« Reply #57 on: June 16, 2017, 01:11:16 PM »
This man is going to be key to our campaign. He has all of the attributes to be one of the best players on our national team. He continues to improve bit by bit. I think this is the year that he makes his mark. . for club and country.

He'll be remembered this year for sure..... :whistling:

« Reply #58 on: June 19, 2017, 08:24:39 AM »

He'll be remembered this year for sure..... :whistling:

I still say we missed him these last 2 games.  Is too bad he lost focus and had to be disciplined.

« Reply #59 on: June 19, 2017, 08:44:05 AM »
too bad he lost focus

That's correct!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACuzbzcw4HI
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 08:46:28 AM by Deeks »