April 23, 2024, 10:34:47 PM

Author Topic: Coaches hail symposium...Rougier calls for Corneal support  (Read 3170 times)

Coaches hail symposium...Rougier calls for Corneal support
« on: January 25, 2012, 06:11:21 AM »
Coaches hail symposium...Rougier calls for Corneal support
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

The recently held  Elite Coaches Symposium hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has been hailed by a series of local coaches including some past national players who have given a thumbs up as it relates to the way forward for coaching development.

Among some of the participants included ex-nationals Anthony Rougier, Clint Marcelle, Leonson Lewis, Peter Pierre, Marlon Charles, Stephan De Four, Angus Eve, Kevin Jeffrey, Derek King, Hutson Charles, Rajeesh Latchoo, Izler Browne, Dion La Foucade and Anthony Streete among others. Technical Director  Anton Corneal who was instrumental in setting up the symposium mentioned that the opportunity will also be presented to those currently outside of T&T to be part of the program such as other ex-national players like Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Dennis Lawrence and others.

Rougier, a former national captain who played professionally in England and Scotland said he was enthused by what took place during the three-day symposium at the Larry Gomes Stadium last week.

“I was really impressed with what I saw here and moreso with the lecturers in  the likes of Alvin Corneal and Edgar Vidale and Even Pellerud  in terms of the information that was presented to us and I think I can speak for all of us local coaches who were invited. The experiences that they (lecturers) spoke to us on was invaluable  and one of the things I realized is that I don’t want to go through what they did and I still think they were successful in all of that,” Rougier told TTFF Media

“We do need more time and more symposiums like this.  I know for a fact that we can go to the next level and this is the right approach in setting out on trying to achieve success. “

The former Reading FC player noted that Corneal was now in the hot seat as Technical Director  and would need the right support round him.

“The appointment of Anton is  a good move despite the feeling that that a lot of people may not like him or like the appointment  or people may not like those who were appointed to come here but we have to take in the best interest of T&T football. I want to say to the people … let’s take  pause and see what we can do to take our football forward.  From the Government  perspective with  the honourable  Anil Roberts to the Permanent Secretary   Mr Creed . Let’s s see how we can do this. We need to do what is best for Trinidad and Tobago. I don’t think there is a better time than now even if I wasn’t here. There is a lot of opportunity here that I hope by the grace of God we don’t miss out on,” Rougier added.

And Charles, who led the national senior team in Sunday’s 3-2 loss to Finland, was an assistant to Corneal when the team qualified for the 2007 FIFA Under 17 Men’s World Cup in South Korea.  Charles believes Corneal is capable of charting the way forward.

“I’ve worked closely with Anton in recent years and there is a good understanding between us. In his new position now as technical director I think once he has the right support around him then he can play a big role in helping our football go forward,” Charles said. “It’s going to take time but we are in a rebuilding stage and I feel once the support is there then things can happen.”

Re: Coaches hail symposium...Rougier calls for Corneal support
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 06:47:47 AM »
Rougier tongue all de way up Anton ass.

He still not getting ah job with de TTFF.

Rougier is such an ass licker he calling Anil Roberts "honourable".....  :rotfl:

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 11:59:31 AM »
Hey Sam- Add Charles to your list,

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 12:45:59 PM »
Sean Fuentes getting paid to write this crap! I understand this model of symposia is the same one Alvin Corneal is using in the smaller Caribbean territories! Is this Alvin.s ideas and he is using his son as a front? What would people do to eat ah food! But doh try and fool the people? Trinis are up to all schemes now! Will the real Technical Director stand Up?

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2012, 01:11:03 PM »
Rougier tongue all de way up Anton ass.

He still not getting ah job with de TTFF.

Rougier is such an ass licker he calling Anil Roberts "honourable".....  :rotfl:

COSIGN !!!!!

« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2012, 02:35:38 PM »
So what constitutes an "Elite Coach"? An invitation to this symposium?

« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2012, 06:59:46 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/yo9sY1cdZOY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/yo9sY1cdZOY</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/L4o9BsMHm8w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/L4o9BsMHm8w</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sbD4TSBsF9U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sbD4TSBsF9U</a>

Marcelle endorses TTFF elite coaches symposium
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2012, 12:35:27 PM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Former national midfielder Clint Marcelle is another local coach who endorses the recent Elite Coaches Symposium hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation.

The former Barnsley player who has also been an assistant coach with the T&T Olympic team, was selected to be among a group of local coaches by the TTFF and shared in the indoor and outdoor sessions over three days at the Larry Gomes Stadium last month.

“It’s been an exciting experience for us. There are a lot of coaches here with great qualities and also those in the panel. Persons like Alvin Corneal and Edgar Vidale are icons in our football and we are striving to be just like them. There’s been a collective group here just brainstorming and sharing ideas over the three days spent at the symposium,” said Marcelle who also runs the Clint Marcelle academy in Trinidad.”

He spoke on the benefits of such an effort being overseen by technical director Anton Corneal and coach education officer Jamaal Shabazz among others. Corneal also intends to invite other past stalwarts to make contributions in the development program.

“This effort is going to benefit us once we do it collectively and come together maybe once a month and share our ideas for us going forward. The past has gone and now we are heading into the future and we are the future of coaching in Trinidad and Tobago,” Marcelle said.

“Meeting new people and getting new ideas and heading in a different direction than we were in the past and this can only make me a better person and a better coach. We had coaches in the past who had big egos and we have to move away from that and share things and hold more open discussions on our football,” added the 43-year-old former Hull City and Stevanage Borough player. Marcelle also played in Portugal. One of the high points of his career in England was him scoring the goal at Wembley against Bradford City in April, 1997 to secure Barnsley’s promotion to the Premier League for the 1997–98 season. That goal is down as a legendary moment in the club’s history.

« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2012, 01:27:52 PM »
Okay Shaun we get the idea, everyone who went to the symposium endorses it.

Is this not why these selected few were invited in the first place.  ::)

« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 02:18:00 PM »

shhhhh endorsement is a path to National team coaching

« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2012, 03:38:51 PM »

shhhhh endorsement is a path to National team coaching
     Ah mean that's so obvious. :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline tempo

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2012, 04:29:46 PM »
Those fellas really have no pride or self respect. Is "endorse" a euphemism for "kissing ass"?

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2012, 06:00:39 PM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Former national midfielder Clint Marcelle is another local coach who endorses the recent Elite Coaches Symposium hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation.

The former Barnsley player who has also been an assistant coach with the T&T Olympic team, was selected to be among a group of local coaches by the TTFF and shared in the indoor and outdoor sessions over three days at the Larry Gomes Stadium last month.

“It’s been an exciting experience for us. There are a lot of coaches here with great qualities and also those in the panel. Persons like Alvin Corneal and Edgar Vidale are icons in our football and we are striving to be just like them. There’s been a collective group here just brainstorming and sharing ideas over the three days spent at the symposium,” said Marcelle who also runs the Clint Marcelle academy in Trinidad.”

He spoke on the benefits of such an effort being overseen by technical director Anton Corneal and coach education officer Jamaal Shabazz among others. Corneal also intends to invite other past stalwarts to make contributions in the development program.

“This effort is going to benefit us once we do it collectively and come together maybe once a month and share our ideas for us going forward. The past has gone and now we are heading into the future and we are the future of coaching in Trinidad and Tobago,” Marcelle said.

“Meeting new people and getting new ideas and heading in a different direction than we were in the past and this can only make me a better person and a better coach. We had coaches in the past who had big egos and we have to move away from that and share things and hold more open discussions on our football,” added the 43-year-old former Hull City and Stevanage Borough player. Marcelle also played in Portugal. One of the high points of his career in England was him scoring the goal at Wembley against Bradford City in April, 1997 to secure Barnsley’s promotion to the Premier League for the 1997–98 season. That goal is down as a legendary moment in the club’s history.

The thing about it is, was Marcelle the assistant coach for the T&T Under 23 team, they kick he tail out and he still here kissing ass..

When will they learn.

« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2012, 08:31:51 PM »
Yessa boss. Anything you say massa sir. You is right massa sir.

« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2012, 09:23:28 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sGSn6A2T3DY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sGSn6A2T3DY</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Q45Bi4ic0w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9Q45Bi4ic0w</a>

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2012, 11:46:06 AM »
People really dissing the idea of a symposium or is just bcz Anton Corneal running it.

Using some common sense a symposium works best with an optimum number. Is not like 150 coaches were going  to be invited.

I understand where the concept of the "ass lickers" might come in.

But when it comes to technical advice, Alvin and his son usually have good ideas.
I think CM and Roug trying to work with what has been given to them. It way too early in the game to call them ass lickers.

Remember AR was kicked off the TT side in 2001  because he had the class and dignity to confront the Coach about his alcoholism around the players when others didn't.

Some of you may be right but I'll wait to see.

If it was up to me, I'd have put Latas as TD and Gally as Youth TD.

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2012, 12:07:32 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sGSn6A2T3DY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sGSn6A2T3DY</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Q45Bi4ic0w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9Q45Bi4ic0w</a>

I hope this was after lunch or something like that and not a main part of the symptoms  symposium

Offline Insider

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2012, 09:49:10 AM »
Time to revist this and see if Rougier feels the same now.