March 28, 2024, 05:17:04 PM

Author Topic: Mekeil Williams Thread  (Read 42637 times)

Offline Dutty Love

Re: Mekeil Williams Thread
« Reply #60 on: September 30, 2015, 03:05:10 PM »

« Reply #61 on: October 12, 2015, 01:58:33 AM »
Williams happy with role in Warriors’ back four
By COLIN BENJAMIN (NEWSDAY).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago defender Mekeil Williams is keen to continue learning and growing in the role as left-back, even as he prepares for the national team’s friendly versus Nicaguara tomorrow evening and TT’s opening round World Cup qualifiers in November against Guatemala and United States.

The 25-year-old, who recently joined Guatemala first division side Antigua GFC, was known predominately as a central defender during his days at DIRECTV W Connection.

Speaking on Saturday evening at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, during the “Soca Warriors” first training session since returning from Panama, Williams articulated how he has been adjusting to the role.

“Left-back is a role I have played before and I’m accustomed playing, as a few times at club level and when I was a youngster,” said Williams.

“My team-mate Daniel Cyrus who plays right-back for the national team, despite also playing centrally at club level with me in our W Connection days, has given me some tips as to what coach wants in the role, so I am enjoying it.” National coach Stephen Hart first deployed Williams in the aforementioned position during the 2015 Gold Cup group match versus Cuba, and the versatile “two-footed” player noted he has no burning desire to play centrally for the national team.

“I’m fine continuously playing at left-back if Coach Hart requires that, I have no urgent need to play center-back. Overall, I’m just keen to continue growing and learning the role at international level, and for us a back four defence to get a better understanding of playing together.”

Since taking over as national coach in 2012, the left-back position has been the most unsettled position among the defence- with Joevin Jones, Aubrey David, Sheldon Bateau and Justin Hoyte used there at various points in Hart’s tenure.

Hart felt in four games so far, Williams has adapted well to what has been asked him.

“So far he’s been fine, we know he can play centre back but I like his two-footed ability and the more he gets accustomed to it, he will get better.” Hart continued: “In the situation, I can’t go out a buy a left-back like club football, so it’s great to have players like him that can play more than one position, because outside of goal-keepers, versatile players are going to be an asset for us heading in the qualifiers.” Hart concluded by stating he was grateful for these two friendlies to work on any kinks in the defence he observed during the Gold Cup and the Panama friendly.

“The back-line progression has gone well overall. We have not really had them as consistently as a group since the Gold Cup, for obvious reasons, so I’m very grateful for these games to work with them- to experiment and perfect tactical aspects of their play.

“We had had some problems defending out wide against Panama, but it’s best we have those problems now than later on,” concluded Hart.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #62 on: October 17, 2015, 03:30:34 PM »
Mekeil live now in a must win vs Guastatoya http://futnacionalgt.blogspot.com/p/canal-3_28.html

« Reply #63 on: October 17, 2015, 04:53:16 PM »
I think this is the most yellow cards I ever see one team get.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #64 on: October 31, 2015, 03:25:04 PM »
Mekeil live vs Malacateco (Britto's former team) now: http://www.guatedecorazon.com/p/blog-page_17.html

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #65 on: December 10, 2015, 07:43:43 PM »
LIVE Mekeil Williams and Antigua GFC​ vs Comunicaciones in the Apertura 2015 first leg semifinal: http://www.guatedecorazon.com/p/futbol-espanol-ingles-champions-league.html

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #66 on: December 13, 2015, 11:05:38 AM »
Second leg live in 25 mins. Will Antigua make a historic final after 15 years? http://www.chapintv.com/envivo-7

« Reply #67 on: December 13, 2015, 12:22:14 PM »
Second leg live in 25 mins. Will Antigua make a historic final after 15 years? http://www.chapintv.com/envivo-7

that league  has good crowd support

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #68 on: December 13, 2015, 01:37:11 PM »
It's Latin America, of course it does

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #69 on: December 13, 2015, 03:49:54 PM »
They are through. Antigua in the final for the first time since 2001.

« Reply #70 on: December 14, 2015, 02:12:53 PM »
Well done Mekeil. No doubt your solid defense work contributed to this landmark achievement
Keep soakin' in all these experiences so that you become an expert at defending against Central American teams.
Happy for you. Stay healthy and see you in pipin' hot form against Haiti on Jan 8, 2016 ... having accomplished another milestone .... having been paid by the new TTFA.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 07:34:32 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #71 on: December 14, 2015, 02:49:17 PM »
Williams has the potential to be a boss player. His intimidating height will have any forward thinking twice about going in on 50/50 challenges.

Its a matter of time before he moves on to greener pastures. MLS?

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #72 on: December 14, 2015, 09:34:30 PM »
Good interest in MLS for Mekeil

Offline Majestic

« Reply #73 on: December 15, 2015, 07:16:12 AM »
Dutty Love, thanks for yuh consistent coverage of these men.
He Is Highly

« Reply #74 on: December 20, 2015, 02:58:32 PM »
Defender Mekeil Williams has won the 2015 Guatemalan Apertura Championship with Antigua GFC. This is Antigua’s first championship in its history, and now they have qualified for next year’s CONCACAF Champions League. Though Mekeil was suspended for the return leg of the final, his contribution throughout the season as been immense.

« Reply #75 on: December 20, 2015, 04:28:21 PM »
campeon!

« Reply #76 on: December 20, 2015, 05:02:03 PM »
Enjoy your football baller :beermug:

« Reply #77 on: December 20, 2015, 06:22:14 PM »
Well done Mekeil!
Tasting gold like this in a foreign country is a damn good habit.
Good for your CV. Your value is going up and yuh pipin' hot for Haiti on jan 8th if these kakaholes in TTFA get their act together
and doh sabotage our football.

« Reply #78 on: December 21, 2015, 06:18:52 AM »
Congrats to the player.  :beermug: He is thought highly of in Guatemala.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #79 on: January 16, 2016, 08:01:28 PM »

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #80 on: January 24, 2016, 10:39:38 AM »
mekeil williams vs municipal in 45 mins kick off http://www.chapintv.com/envivo-7

« Reply #82 on: January 27, 2016, 12:35:00 PM »
Niceness!!

« Reply #83 on: January 27, 2016, 12:56:20 PM »
Great news, all the best Mekeil!

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #84 on: January 27, 2016, 01:51:47 PM »
Playing in central america seems to have benefitted our players. I noticed that Williams, Plaza, Marshall & David have the same agent. Hopefully some of our other players with Pan American Calcio take advantage of the Central American avenue instead of having their mind set on Europe.

« Reply #86 on: February 01, 2016, 11:51:31 AM »
Wow ppl seem really upset that he's gone , in the comments section .
btw do you think we should post this info in the rapids fan site , because I don't think that they know .
« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 11:55:10 AM by Quags »

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #87 on: February 01, 2016, 01:23:49 PM »
http://www.burgundywave.com/2016/1/27/10845290/rumor-rapids-after-fullback-mekeil-williams

Not sure where they get that he wasn't a starter in Antigua...

Also I am afraid they confuse the Guatemala league with the National team. Two different things. Antigua with Mekeil was better than the Rapids last season in terms of quality

« Reply #88 on: February 01, 2016, 01:30:29 PM »
Wow ppl seem really upset that he's gone , in the comments section .
btw do you think we should post this info in the rapids fan site , because I don't think that they know .

Nah. Leh dem find out fuh deyself.

« Reply #89 on: February 02, 2016, 09:05:07 PM »
I ent see nutten about it on any rapids site or on their ig feed. i really hope he is here though as it is another incentive for me to go their games, haven't made it to one yet