April 27, 2024, 10:01:32 PM

Author Topic: National footballer's fiancee and beauty queen brutally assaulted  (Read 9764 times)

National footballer's fiancee and beauty queen brutally assaulted
By Lasana Liburd (wired868.com)

W. Connection Football Club captain and goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, 27, will try to maintain his team's Caribbean Club Championship hopes tonight while his fiancée, Candice Worrell, literally fights for her life at the St Clair Medical Centre in Port of Spain.

Worrell, a Health and Safety Officer at Jenexcon Engineering as well as a model and beauty queen, was brutally assaulted outside her work place in Montrose, Chaguanas on January 20 and is yet to regain consciousness. She should turn 29-years-old on February 8 but, according to Williams, doctors gave her just a 50 percent chance of surviving her injuries.

Williams, a member of Trinidad and Tobago's 2001 Under-17 World Cup squad and the national senior team's reserve goalkeeper, is distraught by the incident. The young couple lives together in Couva and has a 10-month-old daughter, Nevaeh—heaven spelt backward.

“If anyone in the world deserves this, I don’t think God will pick out Candice,” the W. Connection goalkeeper told Wired868. “Not that what happened to her… I’m trying to believe that everything will take care of itself in the end.”

Worrell, whose smile appears on Digicel billboards nationwide and was Trinidad and Tobago’s delegate for Miss Tourism Queen International 2009 in China, was found lying unconscious in a pool of blood, two weeks ago. Her jaw was broken in two places and her cheekbone was also shattered while doctors initially suspected brain damage.

Her white Blackberry Curve cellular phone and wallet were missing and presumed stolen. No one has been arrested as yet and Williams has not heard from the police since the incident. Worrell is yet to regain consciousness.

READ MORE...

Re: National footballer's fiancee and beauty queen brutally assaulted
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 08:53:02 AM »
horrible

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 08:56:09 AM »
Dat is craziness!  >:( Hope she survives and has a speedy recovery...

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 08:59:05 AM »
all that for a cell phone and wallet? stueps shameless.

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2012, 09:02:56 AM »
Good God!  I pray for a full and speedy recovery... and justice for the person who did this.

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2012, 09:04:21 AM »
Shocking. Jan is a really nice guy.

I'm so disapointed that this didn't make big news, and even more frustrated that football hasn't come together to give him support. The TTFF and ProLeague should be ashamed.  Football could use this issue as a way of shaming the criminal fraternity and the inaction of the police. And it sounds as if her co workers were not too supportive either.

I pray she pulls through.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 09:06:07 AM by Football supporter »

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2012, 09:16:21 AM »
Shit!

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2012, 09:31:25 AM »
Shocking. Jan is a really nice guy.

I'm so disapointed that this didn't make big news, and even more frustrated that football hasn't come together to give him support. The TTFF and ProLeague should be ashamed.  Football could use this issue as a way of shaming the criminal fraternity and the inaction of the police. And it sounds as if her co workers were not too supportive either.

I pray she pulls through.

Agreed. This is horrible.

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2012, 09:32:34 AM »
What de f**k??? This is just crazy!!

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2012, 09:38:18 AM »
 :o :o

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2012, 10:14:40 AM »
You know i read this thing this morning and up to now i don't know how to respond,ah mean what this place coming too,from the reports even if she survives it's a life destroyed,all i want to say to Jan is "stay strong Breds".

« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2012, 10:15:20 AM »
This is why I cant go back to T&T to live, is either I kill somebody or somebody kill me.

Real assholes in T&T sah.

Over here in de US have crime to yea but atleast de police does do they job more than  in T&T.

In T&T is overall yuh doom...

Sad to say, but T&T is really falling apart, especially Trinidad.

Good luck to Mrs Williams (Candice Worrell), get well soon.

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2012, 10:37:20 AM »
I'm so disapointed that this didn't make big news, and even more frustrated that football hasn't come together to give him support. The TTFF and ProLeague should be ashamed. 

Shamefull indeed!!!!!

Jan is a real cool brother. So sorry this happened to his fiancee. I pray that she pulls through and makes a full recovery. Blessings!

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2012, 10:51:00 AM »
wha de F#CK man ???

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2012, 10:54:39 AM »
 >:( :( :cursing: Lost for words! Hoping for a miracle!

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2012, 11:19:13 AM »
No Joke I getting to the point to hate the country of My birth I really cant take the senseless crime against innocent ppl.. Police allyuh facking wutless pieces of shit do something nuh man.. Wish the best fi di girl I will pray for her and hope she pull through this ........
Warmonga

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2012, 11:25:57 AM »
Prayers with you and your family Jan. 

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2012, 11:52:18 AM »
Prayers and Healing - My brother. Jan 20th it happened , this demonic act someone under the influence of the devil and no arrest as yet. No wonder folks think that they can get away with murder,

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2012, 12:01:19 PM »
sad. hope she pull thru.

i used to stay in montrose. it was never so...but then whole ah trinidad was never so.

« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2012, 12:16:13 PM »
Just shocking and deplorable at the same time. I hope and pray that Candice recovers through this and whoever is responsible, pays the price.

« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2012, 12:25:36 PM »
Just shocking and deplorable at the same time. I hope and pray that Candice recovers through this and whoever is responsible, pays the price.

dais de problem right there.Yuh could do ah crime and get aware with it in Trinidad. Hope this young lady pulls through.Come on TTFF and ProLeague dis is ah time to show publicly yuh care !!!!

« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2012, 01:00:19 PM »
real sad news, my prayers are with his fiancee... :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2012, 01:59:42 PM »
I struggling to understand how this thing could happen from a simple mugging... especially with the victim being a woman.  Who will break ah woman jaw and mash up she face over a phone and ah wallet??  Part ah me suspect it might be more to it than we know.

« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2012, 02:07:48 PM »
Sadly, I'm not even a little surprised by this.

This is life in TT.

She's a pretty girl. I wish her the best and hope she recovers.

« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2012, 02:16:38 PM »
There is a certain element in T&T that have become more akin to wild beasts than human beings  >:(.

So a wallet and a blackberry is so important that one would have someone's innocent blood on his or her hands.

My prayers are with Williams and his fiancee's family.

« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2012, 02:43:53 PM »
I struggling to understand how this thing could happen from a simple mugging... especially with the victim being a woman.  Who will break ah woman jaw and mash up she face over a phone and ah wallet??  Part ah me suspect it might be more to it than we know.

Yeah, but then again, wha good reason it have tuh break a woman jaw and mash up her face?...... yuh know?

Whether or not there's more to it, yuh probably still end up trying to make sense out of senselessness...

It real sad. 

« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2012, 02:54:01 PM »
This girl is my cousin's cousin and yes it was a robbery. She was unwilling to part with her stuff and tried fighting him off, but the robber wanted it more than her and decided to teach her, who is borse.

« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2012, 06:15:35 PM »
This girl is my cousin's cousin and yes it was a robbery. She was unwilling to part with her stuff and tried fighting him off, but the robber wanted it more than her and decided to teach her, who is borse.
How do you know this if she is still unconscious and there were no witnesses to what happened? Let's not jump to conclusions...

« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2012, 06:46:46 PM »
Jan baby looking just like he.....

« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2012, 07:10:27 PM »
God Bless this young lady. Hoping she recovers well. Do your job Jan.Just take care of your lady and your lil baby boo!!!