April 26, 2024, 07:19:08 AM

Author Topic: 2012 Soca Monarch  (Read 3810 times)

2012 Soca Monarch
« on: February 16, 2012, 03:42:38 PM »
I now watching the semi-final videos on youtube. I eh sure nah...
But then I realize Hard Knoxx in the final. This should be interesting...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RDBZ5_ifbC4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RDBZ5_ifbC4</a>

Re: 2012 Soca Monarch
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 06:13:38 PM »
What is the line up??  I know JW and Blaze on first for Groovy and ah think Kerwim coming on last....in fact ah think the line up to the end is

Machel, Kes and Kerwin in that order......I stand to be corrected......but that line up is........  :drool: :drool:  Kerwin last but he have to follow Machel.....that tough.

Same for Blaxx....for the past few years this man have some real good songs but he always somehow ends up coming on after a real tough act.....this year ah think he coming right after Iwer......poor fella......another time he came on right after Faye Ann....the year she surf the crowd on the surf board.....pressure.....

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 11:14:16 PM »
Link to view SM live!

Power category just coming up: http://www.livestream.com/onedropsound

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2012, 01:35:53 AM »
Thanks Pro....it look like Iwer have the edge so far!

« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2012, 01:49:45 AM »
Prophet Benjamin throwing wine for so....he in the top 3 so far...could even pip machel and Iwer!

« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2012, 01:58:30 AM »
Just give the bobo he $2 million let him go back in the bush!!

Bess performance from de prophet!

« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2012, 07:33:46 AM »
Machel does the double..

After he bring Tan Tan and Saga Boy and then follow up with flying out the judgement stadium, there could only be one winner.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/E6MzX8ByCiE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/E6MzX8ByCiE</a>

« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2012, 07:34:48 AM »
My personal favorite from last night... The prophet get on BAD!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iIzaHhBEOIA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iIzaHhBEOIA</a>

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2012, 08:02:44 AM »
Didnt think (and still dont think) Machel had the songs to win either title......BUT....the bitch gave a performing lesson. Love him or hate him, Machel is a bosssss....and i DO NOT like him.

Real talk.....the only person who could beat Machel is Superblue

Who say comeback?? How yuh does satrt ah online petition for dat?

« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2012, 10:21:47 AM »
performance not withstandin, anybody who tort Machel was not winnin was delusional...............dat was in d script last year and it was in d script this year......all he has to do is sell it and he is a master performer............

« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2012, 12:50:58 PM »
Machel does the double..

After he bring Tan Tan and Saga Boy and then follow up with flying out the judgement stadium, there could only be one winner.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/E6MzX8ByCiE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/E6MzX8ByCiE</a>

Well yes!!
MM fly off to the moon to put up his flag dey yes!!
That was the show stopper right dey!!
Give him the million or whatever the first prize is for that!!  :beermug:

I wouldn't of liked to see the look on Iwer face when he see Machel flying off to the moon with another million!!   :devil:

« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2012, 11:33:39 AM »
Machel does the double..

Well yes!!

I wouldn't of liked to see the look on Iwer face when he see Machel flying off to the moon with another million!!   :devil:

Yes for real that took it right there, my boy went outta space :applause:

Allyuh think he come back yet?

« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2012, 11:54:23 AM »
Machel does the double..

Well yes!!

Yes for real that took it right there, my boy went outta space :applause:

Allyuh think he come back yet?

He might come back on carnival Monday and Tuesday for the Road March!

I feel he go land on the QPS stage!!   ;)

« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2012, 02:52:32 PM »
dat bitch iwer will start singing

If yuh know dey rub meh the last 2 years
Put yuh two hand in the air
Jab Molassie

« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2012, 04:29:40 PM »
Wait,wait, wait......now I was cussing the camera work whole ah Friday night and watching this clip with Machel reminds me of why I was cussing so much....

Dey coulda zoom in on Machel as he gearing up cuz kill me dead it wasn't he who actually fly off de stage but a stunt double or something so......it was really Machel who flew off the stage??  ???.....and if yes, how was he able to continue singing and fly the thing at the same time??   ???  I had this argument with somebody that it wasn't Machel himself that took off but some one else.....all yuh help mih out nah.....watching the clip again now it looks like Machel himself....

I hate Pump Yuh Flag but watching the clip again.....wow!!!....Sorry Iwer but Machel deserved the win.....Eh know what you could do to beat the king.....

« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2012, 04:40:49 PM »
My personal favorite from last night... The prophet get on BAD!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iIzaHhBEOIA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iIzaHhBEOIA</a>

I think Benjamin's performance epitomized someone who was under no pressure to win anything and was just enjoying him self.....

Of the many parts that kill me was

"Iwer allergic to diesel"...... :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ah love it!!  (c) Andre Samuel.....

« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2012, 06:42:46 PM »
how was he able to continue singing and fly the thing at the same time??   ??? 

Ent! And sounding crystal clear whole time.
Half them performances look like them was making noise on the mic and "singing" on a track.
I think the whole thing was poor. What is the point of this thing? To promote Soca? To see who could do the most outrageous stunt? To see who could shout and wave harder?

To me, Benjamin had the best performance hands down. The skit didn't overdo it, no setta pyrotechnics, and I could understand what he was saying. And I doh even like the song.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2012, 11:48:38 AM »
Wait,wait, wait......now I was cussing the camera work whole ah Friday night and watching this clip with Machel reminds me of why I was cussing so much....

Dey coulda zoom in on Machel as he gearing up cuz kill me dead it wasn't he who actually fly off de stage but a stunt double or something so......it was really Machel who flew off the stage??  ???.....and if yes, how was he able to continue singing and fly the thing at the same time??   ???  I had this argument with somebody that it wasn't Machel himself that took off but some one else.....all yuh help mih out nah.....watching the clip again now it looks like Machel himself....

I hate Pump Yuh Flag but watching the clip again.....wow!!!....Sorry Iwer but Machel deserved the win.....Eh know what you could do to beat the king.....

BrownSugar it was most definitely a stunt double. Added to which it was a direct copy from an artist he considers to have had an influence on his career.

Watch from 7:05 onwards
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4cUEL7NLxsY&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4cUEL7NLxsY&amp;feature=related</a>
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2012, 04:09:57 PM »
@ Aviator, Machel himself did that at one of his early AC concerts some years ago......anywho it was indeed mind blowing, again.....the song is still ah shit song.....

@ Bitter, the worst perpetrator of singing along with tracks was Swappi....."Bucket" was supposed to be big.....people even had him in the top 3 before the contest.....but clearly he eh ready for the big stage.....a recording studio yes, a stage no.....dais why I cyar like he.....blasted pretender......steups!!!

« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2012, 12:40:19 PM »
@ Bitter, the worst perpetrator of singing along with tracks was Swappi....."Bucket" was supposed to be big.....people even had him in the top 3 before the contest.....but clearly he eh ready for the big stage.....a recording studio yes, a stage no.....dais why I cyar like he.....blasted pretender......steups!!!

The first mistake yuh first mistake by listening to Swappi...

« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2012, 01:03:57 PM »

wham like Swappi come last or what?

« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2012, 01:56:44 PM »

Swappi is now selling bucket on Charlot Street in punishment for that song!  :rotfl:

« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2012, 04:27:53 PM »

Swappi is now selling bucket on Charlot Street in punishment for that song!  :rotfl:
:rotfl: that could be a profitable business. Last time I went home, I turned on the pipe only to find out that water gone :rotfl:
A bucket would've come in handy then.

« Reply #23 on: February 23, 2012, 07:47:22 PM »

« Reply #24 on: February 23, 2012, 08:21:52 PM »