April 27, 2024, 07:59:53 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (29-Feb-2012).  (Read 11643 times)

Offline jonny

Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (29-Feb-2012).
« on: February 02, 2012, 05:06:48 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda game on the 29th of February 2012 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with unnecessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

1. Chat Room.

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated.

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

T&T Team:

Goalkeepers: Marvin Phillip (T&TEC), Cleon John (Jabloteh).

Defenders: Elton John (Jabloteh), Jamal Jack (Jabloteh), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Rodell Elock (Defence Force), Seon Power (North East Stars), Daneil Cyrus (unattached).

Midfielders: Kevon Neaves (T&TEC), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Kevon Carter (Defence Force), Ataullah Guerra (Caledonia AIA), Andre Toussaint (T&TEC), Keon Boucher (St Clair Coaching School).

Attackers: Kerlon Ferguson (T&TEC), Willis Plaza (Jabloteh), Richard Roy (Defence Force), Devorn Jorsling (Caledonia AIA).

Antigua Team:

Goalkeepers: Keita de Castro (Antigua Barracuda FC), Molvin James (Antigua Barracuda FC), Tahari Lewis (All Saints United), Olson Forde.

Defenders: Marvin McCoy (Wycombe Wanderers), George Dublin (Antigua Barracuda FC), Luke Blakely, Ranjae Christian (Antigua Barracuda FC), Brian Edwards (Bassa Sports Club), Akeem Thomas (Antigua Barracuda FC), Karanjah Mack (Antigua Barracuda FC), Troy Dublin, Gavin Lewis, Dave Carr (Antigua Barracuda FC).

Midfielders: Aston Blackwood (St Albans City), Keiran Murtagh (Cambridge United), Justin Cochrane (Boreham Wood), Eugene Kirwan (Hoppers FC), Quinton Griffith (Antigua Barracuda FC), Lawson Robinson (Antigua Barracuda FC), Tamarley Thomas (Antigua Barracuda FC), Ken Pennyfeather, Kemoi Alexander (Antigua Barracuda FC), Rolston Phoenix, Jamie Thomas (Bassa Sports Club).

Attackers: Dexter Blackstock (Nottingham Forest), Peter Byers (Los Angeles Blues), Gason Gregory (Antigua Barracuda FC), Stephan Smith, Kerry Skepple (All Saints United), Randolph Burton (Antigua Barracuda FC), Lloyd Jeremy.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 04:59:24 AM by Flex »

Re: Feb 29 friendly - T & T vs Antigua & Barbuda
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 05:21:58 PM »
Where yuh see dat? Ah see dat Bermuda was lining up tuh play dem on dat date?

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (29-Feb-2012).
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2012, 11:04:44 PM »
Just so, no announcement nothing!  :o

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 11:32:26 PM »
Its probably not official yet, but jonny is usually right.

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2012, 12:23:35 AM »
My beef is not with jonny, it's with the TTFF.

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2012, 12:25:29 AM »
Right but its likely not their fault either as the match is likely not official yet.

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 12:28:09 AM »
Right but its likely not their fault either as the match is likely not official yet.
OK cool, so jonny give us some inside info, good looking out jonny, my bad worm.

BTW, is this on a fifa date?

Offline jonny

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 04:05:47 AM »
My source is Antigua FA.

The friendly will be played in Antigua.

« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2012, 04:58:11 AM »
 :yawning: :yawning:

« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 08:10:44 AM »
OK cool, so jonny give us some inside info, good looking out jonny, my bad worm.

BTW, is this on a fifa date?
Yes it is, I would expect Antigua to bring in their England-based players as they prepare for World Cup Qualifiers
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 06:03:21 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2012, 11:48:59 AM »
It's official. The game is listed on fifa.com.

« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2012, 12:14:33 PM »
Antigua doin what dem need to do.

We could definitely learn from dem

« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2012, 01:20:40 PM »
Alyuh know Antigua invented de steelpan.

« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2012, 07:55:17 PM »
Alyuh know Antigua invented de steelpan.
You believe that bullsh!t too??  :o  just like some fool said that trinidadian invented reggae when in fact reggae slowly evolved from skar to rock steady to reggae.

ah really hope yuh was being sarcastic. for your sake.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2012, 10:27:40 PM »
Im assuming that this will be basically the same U-23 team that played Finland, but does anyone know whether they will use this opportunity to call up Kevan George?

« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2012, 04:11:56 AM »
Im assuming that this will be basically the same U-23 team that played Finland, but does anyone know whether they will use this opportunity to call up Kevan George?
Who said anything about the U23 team? i would want tuh believe since it's on ah fifa date they are talking bout the mens senior team, but i could be wrong.     ah hope not though.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #17 on: February 04, 2012, 09:25:57 AM »
Who said anything about the U23 team? i would want tuh believe since it's on ah fifa date they are talking bout the mens senior team, but i could be wrong.     ah hope not though.

I just dont think the ttff will spend the money to bring KJ, Peltier, Hyland, Thomson, Boucard and all the MLSers home for an insignificant friendly vs Antigua.And at this point there are really no locals older than 23 who must be in the squad besides the two GKs.

« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2012, 09:31:03 AM »
Dynamite Warrior, that will make to much sense to bring in our Pros. The TTFF dont think that far ahead.

They will prepare a local team, call back the Pros to play in the Caribbean Cup a week before it starts and Grenada go buss we ass again, T&T will fail to qualify for the Gold Cup 3 times in a row.

And then they go fire de coach, Anton go get promoted and we here go bash de players.

That is the story of T&T football.

« Last Edit: February 04, 2012, 09:34:29 AM by Sam »

« Reply #19 on: February 04, 2012, 11:33:19 AM »
Dynamite Warrior, that will make to much sense to bring in our Pros. The TTFF dont think that far ahead.

They will prepare a local team, call back the Pros to play in the Caribbean Cup a week before it starts and Grenada go buss we ass again, T&T will fail to qualify for the Gold Cup 3 times in a row.

And then they go fire de coach, Anton go get promoted and we here go bash de players.

That is the story of T&T football.

I don't understand why people are so obsessed with T&T Football when they don't support it,they don't support the administration,the Technical Director,the Coaches,the players unless is players they like,nobody goes to see our teams play any more,national,College or domestic leagues, these guys playing in front of empty stadiums.
      It have nothing good to be said about our Football,they trying to have symposium after symposium i guess they are to sort out where our problems are,people are finding all kind ah faults with it.Bring in Pros for what?what we need Pros for and we getting the same results,it's better we develope/improve the locals those guys have more heart for T&T Football,what Pros Grenada and Guyana have and they cutting we arse,we like too much short cuts and patch work,if we could just sacrifice may be a year and build our programs those locals will be able to give us some joy but we just don't have the patience everything is about instant results.
     All the talk we talking about Jamaica right now also look at Haiti,these countries qualified for the WC finals years before us,the same people still controlling Football in those countries,they have local Coaches etc etc Sam, this thing is simple,we can put the blame on who we want but our foreign based players are not interested in playing for T&T,my senses tells me when these guys experience and live real professional lives with the clubs and leagues they play in overseas it's difficult for them to adjust to playing for T&T in these tournaments we play in,the environment,treatment etc is not encourageing,it have places you go to play fields either have too much or very little grass,well don't talk about hotels and transport that always have problem,these things affects players.         

« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2012, 05:39:22 AM »
Curtis relishes first friendly
By Neto Baptiste (Antigua Observer)

Head coach of the senior national football team, Tom Curtis, is looking forward to the country’s International friendly against Trinidad & Tobago’s “Soca Warriors” scheduled for February 29 here in Antigua.

The fixture, according to Curtis, will be the team’s first since successfully qualifying for the semi-final round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup and should afford him the opportunity to have a look at a number of players.

“It’s the first time we can get a squad together since the Haiti games. Many of the home-based players have been playing domestic football so I have had a good chance to look at them in an Antiguan environment, but I think what the game is about really is moving forward and looking forward to the international games on June 8 and 12 which are our next two competitive games so we are prepared and are looking forward to that,” he said.

“I think we will be able to bring a couple of players from overseas, maybe a few players we haven’t seen before as well, and maybe give chances to some of the players who have done well in the domestic league,” Curtis added.

The former professional player added that he expects a tough fixture against T&T who are still ranked above Antigua & Barbuda.

“They will be a tough side and I think they are still ranked above us in the Coca Cola FIFA Rankings so it is going to be a really tough game for us and it is a great opportunity for players to stake a claim for the national squad moving forward so it is a booked game and we are looking to organise friendlies going forward and we are pleased with what we have got at the moment,” he said.

Asked what the plans are following the conclusion on the ongoing domestic leagues, Curtis said they will first assess the needs of the players before making any decisions.

“I think we are going into camp for around seven days for the game on the 29th and we are then going to do a bit of screening and player medicals and fitness tests to assess the needs of individual players because I think it would be wrong to give a sort of blanket judgement and say that everyone needs a couple of weeks off or that everyone needs to come in and do some hard aerobics training. So what we are going to try and do is assess the needs of the players and then make a decision after that,” he said.

A venue and time have not yet been announced for the match as arrangements are still being finalised. The senior national training squad is however already hosting sessions.

« Reply #21 on: February 15, 2012, 05:59:24 AM »
^^^^^^^  hhhhhhhmmmmm...... ??? :-\

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #22 on: February 15, 2012, 06:02:13 AM »
It'll be cancelled by next Tuesday.

« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2012, 03:44:45 PM »
whats up with this game ???

ABFA names squad
« Reply #24 on: February 22, 2012, 07:04:10 AM »
ABFA names squad
By Neto Baptiste (Antigua Observer)

A 31-member senior national football training squad has been named ahead of Antigua & Barbuda’s International Friendly against Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors slated for February 29 at Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds.

The training squad includes five England-based players – Justin Cochrane, Marvin McCoy, Keiran Murtagh, Ashton Blackwood who is formerly of Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspurs, and Dexter Blackstock of Nottingham Forest.

The locally-based line-up comprises goalkeepers Molvin James, Keita DeCastro, Olson Forde and Tahari Lewis, defenders George “Sowa” Dublin, Luke Blakely, Brian Edwards, Akeem “Leppy” Thomas, Karanjah Mack, Troy Dublin, Gavin Lewis and Dave Carr.

Midfielders Eugene Kirwan, Quinton Griffith, Lawson “Boy Blue” Robinson, Tamarley “Ziggy” Thomas, Ken Pennyfeather, Kemoi Alexander, Rolston “Lexi” Phoenix and Jamie “Taliban” Thomas are also included, while strikers Ranjae Christian, Peter “Big Pete” Byers, Stephan Smith, Kerry “Arab” Skepple, Randolph “Etty” Burton, Gason “Bubbler” Gregory and Lloyd Jeremy complete the line-up.

Antigua & Barbuda is slated to jumpstart their preparations for the semi-final round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup with the finals slated for Brazil.

Benna Boys will take on the USA on June 8 in their Group A opening fixture before tackling Jamaica and Guatemala later that month.

Following their friendly encounter on February 29, the senior national players will turn their attention to representing the country’s lone professional outfit, Antigua Barracuda FC, in the 2012 United Soccer Leagues (USL) season as they continue preparations for June’s semi-final opener.

The Trinidad contest is slated to begin at 7 pm and carries an entrance fee of $20 per adult and $10 per school child. Children 10 years old and under and accompanied by an adult will be allowed to enter for free.

« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2012, 10:49:04 AM »
Tallman, wha is dem two creatures on dey logo? Dey dey fuh style or dahis something indigenous to Antigua? Best I can tell all Antigua have is mongoose (which apparently have a hindleg stylee). 

« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2012, 11:04:38 AM »
Tallman, wha is dem two creatures on dey logo? Dey dey fuh style or dahis something indigenous to Antigua? Best I can tell all Antigua have is mongoose (which apparently have a hindleg stylee). 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Antigua_and_Barbuda

« Reply #27 on: February 22, 2012, 11:23:04 AM »
look like two ram goat

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #28 on: February 22, 2012, 12:34:28 PM »
i well looking fuh a steel pan on the logo
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #29 on: February 22, 2012, 02:04:03 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Antigua_and_Barbuda

Thx eh. Who knew? Frankly, that was one of my guesses based on the antlers but it seemed to run against the grain, especially since I've always viewed our Trini deer population as somewhat of an aberration. [Maybe our historian in residence might be able to determine if our deer are the product of something similar to the Antiguan experience (see below).]

According to a blurb on google books, Antigua and Barbuda is the only country in the eastern Caribbean with a deer population. I had NO idea. Said to have been brought to the island from England in the late 1700s, they then multiplied like rabbits ... nah, well like deer  :) ... numbers got in to the 3,000 range quick ... and for a place the size of Antigua that was problematic ... threat to vegetation ... so they were handled and the numbers diminished. Apparently, now not present on Antigua per se, but present on Barbuda and a lil island called Guiana Island. Hmm, well with de number of Guyanese living Antigua right now ... look de next move right dey.  ;D