April 25, 2024, 11:26:18 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (29-Feb-2012).  (Read 11618 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua Game (29-Feb-2012).
« Reply #30 on: February 22, 2012, 08:18:49 PM »
Tallman, wha is dem two creatures on dey logo? Dey dey fuh style or dahis something indigenous to Antigua? Best I can tell all Antigua have is mongoose (which apparently have a hindleg stylee). 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Antigua_and_Barbuda

Thx eh. Who knew? Frankly, that was one of my guesses based on the antlers but it seemed to run against the grain, especially since I've always viewed our Trini deer population as somewhat of an aberration. [Maybe our historian in residence might be able to determine if our deer are the product of something similar to the Antiguan experience (see below).]

According to a blurb on google books, Antigua and Barbuda is the only country in the eastern Caribbean with a deer population. I had NO idea. Said to have been brought to the island from England in the late 1700s, they then multiplied like rabbits ... nah, well like deer  :) ... numbers got in to the 3,000 range quick ... and for a place the size of Antigua that was problematic ... threat to vegetation ... so they were handled and the numbers diminished. Apparently, now not present on Antigua per se, but present on Barbuda and a lil island called Guiana Island. Hmm, well with de number of Guyanese living Antigua right now ... look de next move right dey.  ;D

Well T&T has its own deer population that has nothing to do with introduced deer, they are actually native to T&T and SOuth America, Raihaana Ali wrote a book/study while at UWI discussing the feasibility or farm raising and breeding these red deer.... Mazama Americana Trinitatis or The Red Brocket Deer.  Locally called Biche or deer.

AN introduced animal is the Corbeaux, brought by the French and the indian mongoose to control rats.

Our deer are native.

« Reply #31 on: February 22, 2012, 08:33:26 PM »
Jay Carlson of the USA even brought people to Trinidad to hunt our deer on a kinda Safari yes...

« Reply #32 on: February 23, 2012, 11:08:56 AM »
wey meh squad ??

« Reply #33 on: February 29, 2012, 01:01:59 PM »
This match will start in an hour and 45 minutes (to accomodate the English-based players who are flying out after the match)

« Reply #34 on: February 29, 2012, 02:50:13 PM »
play de fitball

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #35 on: February 29, 2012, 03:16:03 PM »

« Reply #36 on: February 29, 2012, 03:18:11 PM »
SQUAD??????

« Reply #38 on: February 29, 2012, 03:23:33 PM »
Live link : http://tunein.com/radio/ABS-Radio-620-s69051/
hearing anything?

Yes, I am listening right now. T&T controlling the game but the score is nil nil.

« Reply #39 on: February 29, 2012, 03:27:56 PM »
30' 0-0

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #40 on: February 29, 2012, 03:29:14 PM »
Good going Che! Give us an update as the game progresses! Thanks!

« Reply #41 on: February 29, 2012, 03:30:09 PM »
Penalty T&T after Griffith takes down Carter in the box

« Reply #42 on: February 29, 2012, 03:30:47 PM »
Penalty for T&T missed .
Commentator says it was a very poor kick. He did not name the player thou.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 03:32:28 PM by che »

« Reply #43 on: February 29, 2012, 03:31:37 PM »
Penalty saved, apparently a poor penalty...commentators couldn't mention the player's name.

EDIT: Jorsling missed it
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 03:34:01 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #44 on: February 29, 2012, 03:43:37 PM »
Half time, 0-0

« Reply #45 on: February 29, 2012, 04:01:38 PM »
2nd half starts

Not 100% sure on this but I believe this is the T&T line up

T&T - Phillip (c), E John, Elcock, Power, Cyrus, Leon, Guerra, Carter, Neaves, Jorsling, Roy.

ANT - Molvin James, Marvin McCoy, Anton Blackwood, Keiran Murtagh, Justin Cochrane, Quinton Griffith, Dexter Blackstock.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 07:07:07 PM by Flex »

« Reply #46 on: February 29, 2012, 04:08:25 PM »
52' James again saves Antigua, saving from Guerra

« Reply #47 on: February 29, 2012, 04:14:11 PM »
59' Goal T&T, Jorsling I think

« Reply #48 on: February 29, 2012, 04:18:35 PM »
finally...

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #49 on: February 29, 2012, 04:21:40 PM »
Gie dem tempo!

« Reply #50 on: February 29, 2012, 04:24:13 PM »
68' T&T hit the crossbar

« Reply #51 on: February 29, 2012, 04:25:17 PM »
70' 2-0, I think its Jorsling again

« Reply #52 on: February 29, 2012, 04:33:10 PM »
78' Jorsling gets his hat trick, 3-0

« Reply #53 on: February 29, 2012, 04:36:28 PM »
81' 4-0, Substitute Willis Plaza with the goal

« Reply #54 on: February 29, 2012, 04:48:58 PM »
Game over, 4-0

« Reply #55 on: February 29, 2012, 04:55:51 PM »
Well played TT, seems like we start turning the corner keep building for the Caribbean Cup and the Gold Cup,rude awakening for Antigua.

« Reply #56 on: February 29, 2012, 05:14:59 PM »
Well played TT, seems like we start turning the corner keep building for the Caribbean Cup and the Gold Cup,rude awakening for Antigua.

I hope is not d same corner d WI team turning since 1995. Dat is a serious roundabout.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #57 on: February 29, 2012, 05:23:42 PM »
Im happy we won but honestly i dont wanna see half of them players wearing a T&T shirt again. I would have been happier if a younger lineup won this game 1-0 than this 4-0 result. I understand that man had visa problems and stuff but if we are rebuilding then we don't need Seon Power, Cylde Leon and Josling playing. Josling just scores against inferior teams in friendlies and sadly Power and Leon probably have one Gold Cup left in them. Im not sure how old John, Elcock, & Roy are but if they are older than 25 i would probably not play them anymore. Phillip ,Cyrus, Guerra,& Neaves are the players (on this roster) i believe can contribute in the future. Ill be very disappointed if this team is playing in the Caribbean cup, let the U-23s mesh with the overseas players for that tournament.

« Reply #58 on: February 29, 2012, 05:51:22 PM »
Im happy we won but honestly i dont wanna see half of them players wearing a T&T shirt again. I would have been happier if a younger lineup won this game 1-0 than this 4-0 result. I understand that man had visa problems and stuff but if we are rebuilding then we don't need Seon Power, Cylde Leon and Josling playing. Josling just scores against inferior teams in friendlies and sadly Power and Leon probably have one Gold Cup left in them. Im not sure how old John, Elcock, & Roy are but if they are older than 25 i would probably not play them anymore. Phillip ,Cyrus, Guerra,& Neaves are the players (on this roster) i believe can contribute in the future. Ill be very disappointed if this team is playing in the Caribbean cup, let the U-23s mesh with the overseas players for that tournament.

When last Jones scored against that same weak Caribbean opposition?

It is obvious that we are way superior in talent and ability to Guyana and Antigua, yet we are at home and they have moved on.   Jorsling is a decent player.  Jones will be captain and start ahead of Molino and Jorsling and any other striker we have at present..sad eh?

« Reply #59 on: February 29, 2012, 06:06:42 PM »
By the way, MOST of our forwards score against weaker competition, recently we could not even do that!

Maybe we should have started Jorsling against Guyana and we would be in the semis all now.