April 20, 2024, 12:27:12 AM

Author Topic: Prophet Benjamin Thread  (Read 2803 times)

Prophet Benjamin Thread
« on: February 09, 2012, 06:42:43 AM »
Prophet Benjamin: Rastaman ready for soca big stage

Source :Trinidad Guardian

Thursday, February 9, 2012
Bobie-lee Dixon

He first penetrated the local entertainment scene in 2005 singing Pretty Boy Fella. The song, reggae influenced, was an instant hit and dominated local urban frequencies for quite some time, making the then 25-year-old Point Fortin resident a seemingly overnight success. With follow ups like Delilah On The Loose, Rude Boy Rudy, Usual Suspect and Love But Na Blind among others, Devon “Prophet Benjamin” Samuel, proved to all he was no one-hit wonder. This year he’s got them talking again with his notorious Throw Wine soca smasher. The song which he describes as “just a fun song,” is receiving love from every corner of the soca arena.

So well received, it has also earned him a place in the finals of the Digicel International Power Soca Monarch Competition. Yep, this rastaman who is of the Bobo Shanti Order will get loose come February 17, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. “This song was just designed to be a fun song for the singer and listeners. It was to bring a joy and I think I accomplished that because everywhere I go people stop me to share their feelings about the song,” disclosed Samuel. It might be the first time the 33-year-old father of three is in any final revolving around soca, but Throw Wine is not his first attempt at the genre. Samuel has had a couple—one being a collaboration with Bunji Garlin titled Ah Want To Bun A Fire, the other called Fire Finger. Both were also successful.

Spreading his message

Addressing the talk by some that Bobo Shanti should not sing soca, Samuel said people are entitled to their own opinions, but it’s just their opinion. “I don’t believe anyone should make decisions for anybody on what they should or should not do. My leader is Christ and if He say go ahead then rasta hold back for nobody.” He said he entered the competition because he felt it was the only opportunity he had to bring across the message he intends to. “People love the song but they have formed their own opinions of it. But all I can say the story will be told through my performance at the finals.”
« Last Edit: January 06, 2016, 10:50:26 AM by Tallman »

Re: Prophet Benjamin: Rastaman ready for soca big stage
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 07:14:58 AM »
De Prophet have plenty good chunes over de years, and is ah good lyricist. He could tell ah story.

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 07:43:32 AM »
What's your favourite...coming from Morouga or Stop Jockin   ;D

BTW...Stop Jockin is he best tune to date
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 07:47:57 AM by Touches »

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 10:22:47 AM »
smaddy embed this fi mi nuh please. Di prophet gwan good but Squeezy is mi artist frm long time..
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MGTeGp4f5XY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MGTeGp4f5XY</a>
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 09:49:40 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2012, 02:38:59 AM »

Ah next big chune..real lyrics

http://youtu.be/ni-khEXldJg
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2012, 06:32:22 AM »

Yeh, dat Stop Jockin chune have some classic lyrics. When ah fuss hear it ah nearly dead laughing.

Some of meh favourties, in no particular order:

Love Is Love
Delilah's On The Loose
Field Ah Weed
Coming from Moruga
Mary Anna
Pretty Boy
Pension Plan
Thousand Arrows
Take Yuh Time
What's Next
Talk Na

Prophet Benjamin's Windy Hill
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2016, 09:03:19 AM »
I don't know where to post this, so here it is. I might have to start a Prophet Benjamin thread. The fella gone clear.

Prophet Benjamin - Windy Hill (TriUnity Sound Track)

Written By Devon Samuel
Executive Producer: Harande Elie
Producer: Vincent Deleon

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tRHBmnr4rkY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tRHBmnr4rkY</a>

Re: Prophet Benjamin Thread
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2016, 07:54:26 AM »
Look ting!

I say I should start a thread and one magically appear from the past.

If I say I should win the lotto, when should I check my bank account?

Re: Prophet Benjamin Thread
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2016, 09:20:52 AM »
Look ting!

I say I should start a thread and one magically appear from the past.

If I say I should win the lotto, when should I check my bank account?

If yuh hoarding, yuh might be in luck.