April 18, 2024, 07:22:07 AM

Author Topic: TTFF tries to divorce its past  (Read 3868 times)

TTFF tries to divorce its past
« on: February 09, 2012, 07:30:37 PM »
TTFF tries to divorce its past.
By  Lasana Liburd (wired868).

... Wired868 talks to football's present chieftains

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Acting President Lennox Watson, who was the football body's longest serving vice president until his sudden promotion last October, could not answer many questions at this evening's press conference at the Harvard Sports Club on Serpentine Road, Port of Spain.

Watson said he did not know whose Dundonald Street building the TTFF has been renting since the last millennium. He was in the dark too about how much World Cup revenue was received by the TTFF in 2006—the contentious issue that led to a suit filed by the 2006 World Cup players and resulted in a court-appointed marshall removing everything from its headquarters that was not bolted down.

He never spoke to the players about the $4.6 million interim payment that they should have been paid last October; the same month he took the reins. And Watson said he had not spoken to Works Minister and ex-TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner either about the calamitous situation that he placed the football body in.

One thing Watson did know, though, was that the present TTFF Executive was not going anywhere; not willingly at least.

"I feel we have the moral authority to run football," Watson told wired868.com. "We will try as best as possible to carry on... We may not operate at full capacity but we will carry on."

The press conference was set up in what felt like an open air canteen at the amiable and old-fashioned Harvard Sports Club. The setting sun poked peered in and sometimes reflected brazenly into the eyes of the visitors while a gentle breeze brushed between the small assembled media team.

Watson, a former prisons officer, sat alone, with his back straight, on a makeshift media table that could have held four officials and stared directly at his questioners.

There was little emotional connection between his body language and his words; apart from a hint of frustration at an oft repeated question. One such enquiry regarded the owner of their headquarters at 43 Dundonald Street.

"I don't know who the owner of the building is," said Watson.

It was reminiscent of former TTFF President Oliver Camps' claim, in 2005, that he had no idea who owned Simpaul Travel; even as he announced the travel company, later revealed to be owned by Warner, would have exclusive rights to all 2006 World Cup tickets.

"Well isn't the TTFF Executive here at the moment since you are holding an emergency meeting?" asked Wired868.

"Yes," he said, after a brief pause.

"So can you ask someone who does know like (General Secretary) Richard Groden?" Wired868 asked.

"No, I am the person who is here to answer questions," Watson replied.

"So, who owns it?"

"I don't know," he said, with more emphasis.

Anthony Harford, chairman of the TTFF Normalisation Committee as well as their marketing manager, did know though.

Once Watson left, Harford, the All Sports Promotion chairman and a former television news presenter, hastily addressed the media.

"I have just spoken to Mr. Groden," said Harford, "and the TTFF is renting the building from Mr Warner... I can also confirm that the rent has not been paid for quite some time."

Read More...

« Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 04:20:13 AM by Flex »

Re: TTFF tries to divorce its past
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 07:42:03 PM »
ANOTHER BIG FAT WET STEUPSSSSSSS

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 08:08:31 PM »
It seems that the building belong to Jack. He must have changed the deed over to his name. TTFF rented the building from him. TTFF used to be on St Vincent  near to Bishops up to the late 70's/early 80s. Then I heard they bought a building and was named the Football House. So did Jack take his money and buy the building. What going on here. And how does Watson not know who owns the building. He is the longest running VP in local football and don't know that. He gots to go. Sorry!!!!!!!

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 08:12:38 PM »
It seems that the building belong to Jack. He must have changed the deed over to his name. TTFF rented the building from him. TTFF used to be on St Vincent  near to Bishops up to the late 70's/early 80s. Then I heard they bought a building and was named the Football House. So did Jack take his money and buy the building. What going on here. And how does Watson not know who owns the building. He is the longest running VP in local football and don't know that. He gots to go. Sorry!!!!!!!

Here's the bit about having to vacate St. Vincent St in 1979

http://ttfootballhistory.com/node/500

"PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, Sept. 17:

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, with a debt of TT$200,000 overhead, have been asked to vacate the upper St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain headquarters they have been occupying for the past 20 years, and to seek a new venue to hold their meetings.

This announcement was made by the 'BOMB' tabloid newspaper in this week-ends publication. The paper, confirming reports that the Association's officials have been told to get out of the premises of the late DR. ALDWYN FRANCIS, said Dr. Francis' wife Lorna Francis again called on the Association to 'move'. Mrs. Francis made the demand while the Association was in session at the 110 St. Vincent Street premises."

edit:
A month later Warner announced they were withdrawing from World Cup competition and there's a claim the office was broken into and $200 and documents went missing.

http://ttfootballhistory.com/node/3746

"PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD (AP) -- The Trinidad-Tobago Football (Soccer) Association announced their withdrawal from next year's World Cup Tournament preliminaries due to a lack of funds, a spokesman for the sports association said on Friday.

Another problem faced by this Caribbean nation's football association is that they do not have a place to meet since they were evicted from their rent-free premises, association secretary Jack Warner said.

The Trinidad-Tobago Football Association, which has produced several internationally-rated players, will not participate in the senior and junior Caribbean, the Union Nations Cup or the Pre-Olympic (Moscow) playoffs against Surinam scheduled to get underway last weekend as a result of the financial difficulties they are facing, Warner said.

The football association offices were broken into on Wednesday night or early Thursday morning where approximately $200 and documents were stolen or burnt, the Trinidad police said.

Warner said the association met with Trinidad-Tobago President Ellis Clarke this week asking for his help in a bid for the construction of a football headquarters near the Jean Pierre National Sports Complex in the capital city.

A series of monthly money-raising functions will be held to help the association clear it debts, the football association leader said."
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 08:17:40 PM by E-man »

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2012, 08:27:36 PM »
yeah TTFA and TTFF on Dundonald St long. long time now Deeks yuh lorsing it or wha?  Like yuh need some curry tabanca???

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2012, 09:55:53 PM »
yeah TTFA and TTFF on Dundonald St long. long time now Deeks yuh lorsing it or wha?  Like yuh need some curry tabanca???

Tabanca!!!!!. I just get my dates mixed up. But I knew when they were on St. Vincent. We used to go there sometimes for transportation to go South. The article says that they were on st. Vincent street for 20 years.

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2012, 10:15:08 PM »
Lennox Watson - Longtime Vice President of the TTFF
Kenneth Lay - Former ENRON CEO
Jeffrey Skillings - Former ENRON CEO and President

Kenneth Lay when questioned by Congress insisted that he did nothing wrong and that he did not know what was going on at Enron. Upon further investigation new documents showed that Lay personally approved a controversial deal that was used to hide debts. Lay was indicted of other crimes as well.
Jeffrey Skillings when questioned by Congress said he was not aware of any inappropriate financing arrangements designed to conceal liabilities or overstate earnings. Skillings was eventually indicted for fraud and a host of other charges that landed him 24 years in prison. His good friend Ken Lay killed himself.
Lennox Watson when questioned by Lasana Liburd stated that he did not know who owned the building at 43 Dundonald Street and he did not know how much revenue the TTFF generated in 2006.
The similarities between these three gentlemen are difficult to ignore. They all serve in one capacity or another for more than 10 years.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 10:24:20 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2012, 11:34:40 PM »

Kenneth Lay when questioned by Congress insisted that he did nothing wrong and that he did not know what was going on at Enron. Upon further investigation new documents showed that Lay personally approved a controversial deal that was used to hide debts. Lay was indicted of other crimes as well.
Jeffrey Skillings when questioned by Congress said he was not aware of any inappropriate financing arrangements designed to conceal liabilities or overstate earnings. Skillings was eventually indicted for fraud and a host of other charges that landed him 24 years in prison. His good friend Ken Lay killed himself.
Lennox Watson when questioned by Lasana Liburd stated that he did not know who owned the building at 43 Dundonald Street and he did not know how much revenue the TTFF generated in 2006.
The similarities between these three gentlemen are difficult to ignore. They all serve in one capacity or another for more than 10 years.

TTFF EXCO meets on latest matter.
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2012, 04:12:01 AM »
TTFF EXCO meets on latest matter.

Acting President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Lennox Watson, on Thursday, addressed the media on the latest action against the local governing body prompted by a ruling of the High Court, following a meeting of the Executive Committee of the Federation which lasted for just under two hours at the Harvard Sports Club, St James.

Watson stated categorically that the Federation, though not in smooth sailing, would continue to run the operations of local football, particularly as it pertains to the participation of National Teams on the international stage.

Watson was quizzed by the media, responding to some of the questions. He indicated that there was no recent contact from the FIFA regarding the latest development. He also stated that no moves were being initiated to remove any member of the TTFF staff from its technical to administrative department.

Marketing chief of the TTFF Anthony Harford also addressed the media following Watson’s statement and Q&A. Harford did not withhold any particular information and responded to a previous question by the media about the ownership of the property at which the TTFF’s head office is based on Dundonald Street, Port of Spain. Harford’s response that was the property belonged to Jack Warner and the TTFF had been renting the premises.

Harford also stated that he was already in communication with some of the TTFF’s current and future sponsors on the matter, bringing them up to scratch. He added that there were sponsors who had already pledged support and intentions to come on board with the TTFF to support programs that had been outlined since last year.

Harford also said, that in his capacity as an official attached to the TTFF, that he had been in discussions with members of the 2006 World Cup squad as well as had been holding discussions regarding outstanding monies being owed  to former national coach Russell Latapy and others.

He indicated that he did in fact speak to Brent Sancho on Wednesday, adding that the players were exercising their legal rights. Harford mentioned that he has been involved in efforts to raise the necessary funds, not just to meet outstanding  payments but also to facilitate football related programs for the TTFF.

The T&T Under 23 Men’s team departs for Tobago on Sunday for a one-week training camp where they will play two matches including one against Guyana on Thursday at the Dwight Yorke Stadium.

The T&T Under 17 Women’s team also goes into a training camp this weekend while the Senior Men’s team will travel to Antigua/Barbuda for an international friendly on February 29th.

The Men’s Olympic team will also travel to Costa Rica and Orlando for training camps ahead of the CONCACAF Final Olympic qualifying round in March. Other development programs organized by technical director Anton Corneal will also go on as scheduled.

« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2012, 04:31:46 AM »

The only thing is ENRON happened in a real country with a good wukking judicial system.  TTFF exists in a green fig republic.  Ah mean instead of running like the cockroaches they are, yuh eh see Watson and dem operating normel, normel like nutten eh happen.....dey only good for souring vomit!!!!.....

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2012, 05:27:06 AM »
Without the TTFF, Lasana will have nothing to write about.
Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2012, 05:31:11 AM »

So on behalf of Lasana let me thank u for an unlimited supply of info.

« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2012, 05:32:59 AM »

Offline president

• ...Walk and don't look back...
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2012, 07:41:45 AM »
...After clamouring for their collective head, Watson and Company were preferred by a 2:1 majority of the Eastern FA clubs to the opposition led by Look Loy in the late 2011 fight for democracy in that zone. People are now hoping for intervention by FIFA - we Trinis always look for a saviour; its easier than saving ourselves - but in the final analysis, no matter who FIFA appoints to any Normalization Committee, it will always come down to an election for a permanent, new, leadership. Even if the mandate of said Normalization Committee included introducing new statutes for the TTFF, it is the CLUBS that will have the final say. Would they be prepared to break with the past and to strike out on a new course? This is not a matter of having new faces fill the void. It is a question of grassroots democracy, guided by the clubs that comprise the TnT football. Time will tell...

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #14 on: February 10, 2012, 07:59:59 AM »
Thanks Lasana ! You don't miss a trick! Imagine Watson trying to keep a straight face saying he does not know who the Landlord is and he is The  acting President ! Then up comes Harford a second after saying it is Jack Warner  who is the Landlord and he only recently assumed as marketing Manager! No one can trust Watson, he must be doing JWs bidding! He has among other things the rent bill over his head! Complete loyalists!
We like him will have to wait until next week to see their next move but I think the pressure is building on persons like him and Groden to step down ! We cannot move forward with these untrustworthy guys! there will be no corporate support! People are reading the plays!

« Reply #15 on: February 10, 2012, 11:11:07 AM »
I kinda surprised Harford break from the script 10 seconds after watson leave.

Ah could well imagine de kinda talk pass de nex day.

« Reply #16 on: February 10, 2012, 11:52:51 AM »
I must commend Hartford so far, at least he's making an effort to reach out to the players and public and I feel like he's honestly answering questions and giving information within his capacity.

« Reply #17 on: February 10, 2012, 12:37:42 PM »
I must commend Hartford so far, at least he's making an effort to reach out to the players and public and I feel like he's honestly answering questions and giving information within his capacity.

Lipstick on a pig!

« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2012, 01:36:13 PM »
I've heard all sorts of arguments why FIFA may ban TTFF and why they won't. All I wish to add to this debate is the following:

Since around August last year, Govt only gave funds to TTFF through ALL Sports for specific projects such as WC matches, U23 campaign and womens U17 campaign.

No money for salaries, utilities, phones, accomodation, meetings etc

The only income TTFF have is the FIFA development money. What developments have they made in the last 6 months? None. It is reasonable, therefore to assume that this money has been used for the above expenses. Tony Harford said that the rent to Warner had not been paid. We can presume the same for Mr Grodens accomodation, provided by TTFF.

But T&TEC, WASA, TSTT must all still be paid. And when the bailiffs tried to take the pot plants, they were told that these were rented too!

So, are we sure that FIFA are happy that their development grant is being spent on propping up a federation that provides no development? I'm sure that there are certain caveats procluding this grant from being frittered away.

I feel sorry for the TTFF secretaries and office staff. I see that no one will lose their jobs. But are they needed? 6 office staff to do what, exactly?

I feel FIFA should be requesting a 2 year business plan from TTFF and if it shows that they cannot fulfill their obligations "For the good of the game" then they should be dismissed.

I recognise that the democratic process means that the zones etc must vote for a new executive. However, if FIFA appoint a 12 month normalisation committee, perhaps the zones will vote those people in when the elections come? Certainly, the executive should fire the senior management such as Groden. He has overseen the demise, so he has no right to be retained.

Once a normalisation committee start running TTFF professionally, surely the zones will have a positive view?

« Reply #19 on: February 10, 2012, 01:41:42 PM »
Question: So why couldn't Harford say that in Watson's presence?
Answer:  So Watson retains what is called "plausible deniability" as he was not there when Harford spoke.  He can still claim, "Ah doh know."

All a bunch of liars and con-men!

« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2012, 02:03:27 PM »
He doesnt know who owns the building? Un-fkng-believable...

« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2012, 02:34:08 PM »
I've heard all sorts of arguments why FIFA may ban TTFF and why they won't. All I wish to add to this debate is the following:

Since around August last year, Govt only gave funds to TTFF through ALL Sports for specific projects such as WC matches, U23 campaign and womens U17 campaign.

No money for salaries, utilities, phones, accomodation, meetings etc

The only income TTFF have is the FIFA development money. What developments have they made in the last 6 months? None. It is reasonable, therefore to assume that this money has been used for the above expenses. Tony Harford said that the rent to Warner had not been paid. We can presume the same for Mr Grodens accomodation, provided by TTFF.

But T&TEC, WASA, TSTT must all still be paid. And when the bailiffs tried to take the pot plants, they were told that these were rented too!

So, are we sure that FIFA are happy that their development grant is being spent on propping up a federation that provides no development? I'm sure that there are certain caveats procluding this grant from being frittered away.

I feel sorry for the TTFF secretaries and office staff. I see that no one will lose their jobs. But are they needed? 6 office staff to do what, exactly?

I feel FIFA should be requesting a 2 year business plan from TTFF and if it shows that they cannot fulfill their obligations "For the good of the game" then they should be dismissed.

I recognise that the democratic process means that the zones etc must vote for a new executive. However, if FIFA appoint a 12 month normalisation committee, perhaps the zones will vote those people in when the elections come? Certainly, the executive should fire the senior management such as Groden. He has overseen the demise, so he has no right to be retained.

Once a normalisation committee start running TTFF professionally, surely the zones will have a positive view?
Interesting viewpoint but does anyone know exactly what FIFA's rules are in cases like this?

« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2012, 02:46:29 PM »
"I don't know who the owner of the building is," said Watson.

Question: So why couldn't Harford say that in Watson's presence?
Answer:  So Watson retains what is called "plausible deniability" as he was not there when Harford spoke.  He can still claim, "Ah doh know."

All a bunch of liars and con-men!

He has notice with respect to ownership of the building.

« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2012, 03:02:11 PM »

:heehee:

« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2012, 03:11:06 PM »
Interesting viewpoint but does anyone know exactly what FIFA's rules are in cases like this?

*sigh*

Let's accept for argument's sake that the FIFA "development" money has been wasted (although that is very arguable)... has FIFA ever banned/suspended a federation for wasting its earmarks?  In my opinion there is far too much handwringing about a potential looming ban that is not likely to come, and not enough focus on ways to salvage the best from this bad situation.

« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2012, 03:20:26 PM »
Brown Sugar......souring vomit?.....hhmmm ....I couldn't said it better myself.

Last year, the so called honourable minister Mr. Roberts, paid the TTFF just over a half a million dollars for something they supposedly did. That is very questionable in my book.

As far as FIFA granting the jokey TTFF $250,000 to assist in the development of the game is concerned, the rule is that every member association must have a technical director in place, in order to be eligible to receive that funding, that is why Jack Warner's, aka Sherlock Holmes, trusted sidekick, Mr. Watson, went out and hired, your one and only Anton, the prodigal son, Cornmeal as your technical director. Capeche?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 03:27:40 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2012, 03:31:53 PM »

8)  clean bowled!

« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2012, 04:01:38 PM »
You ain't divorcing from a damn thing. Who you fooling.
The more things change the more they remain the same. You didn't know?

Now you may have a lot of people fooled but not everybody. You ain't fooling people like me. Now mind you I am one of those brothers who have a low tolerance for bullshit. Wait, I lied. A very low tolerance for bullshit.

Now, I was on Flatbush Ave the other day and saw a sign pointing to a voodoo woman on the second floor of this building so I decided to pay her a visit at my own risk. So after she invited me in she asked me what she could do to help me. After giving her a picture of Watson and his boss jacko she told me "doe worry my yute, dem ras good as wuk, ah go do for dem ras, now go an watch an be patient my yute". And with that I walked out with a smile on my face. I am hoping Watson grows donkey ears and Groden turn into a fat rat, a real fat rat and the rest of the TTFF croonies turn into the "three blind mice".
« Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 04:11:04 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2012, 04:05:37 PM »

*sigh*

Let's accept for argument's sake that the FIFA "development" money has been wasted (although that is very arguable)... has FIFA ever banned/suspended a federation for wasting its earmarks?  In my opinion there is far too much handwringing about a potential looming ban that is not likely to come, and not enough focus on ways to salvage the best from this bad situation.
Sorry Bakes, I wasn't referring to us being banned or not. I was just wondering what are FIFA's rules for handling a situation where one of it's member organisations (TTFF in this case) is in danger of folding and what are the rules/procedures for it being replaced should that happen?

« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2012, 04:13:52 PM »

*sigh*

Salvage the best??  Bakes, the first thing that has to happen is these encumbents must go!!  And since dey look like dey eh going anywhere it eh have no best to be salvaged......