April 19, 2024, 01:56:06 AM

Author Topic: TT Super League Thread  (Read 4057 times)

TT Super League Thread
« on: June 09, 2007, 12:35:27 PM »
Thread: Everything Super League..feel free to add

jus heard that Harvard beat 1st palced Defence Force 2-0...so thye like 2nd now
« Last Edit: January 25, 2023, 12:56:40 AM by Flex »

Re: Request: super league fixtures
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2007, 09:51:52 AM »
flex, tallman....all ya dont have this link to these fixtures??

would be appreciated a lot..thanks

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2007, 07:24:05 PM »
flex, tallman....all ya dont have this link to these fixtures??

would be appreciated a lot..thanks

CLICK HERE for the 2007 National Super League Fixtures.

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2007, 10:13:15 AM »
CLICK HERE for the 2007 National Super League Team Rosters.

Re: Thread: Everything Super League..feel free to add
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 06:06:47 PM »
just hear that Harvard beat 1st placed defence force 2-0..they like 2nd now then(harvard that is)

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2007, 08:26:31 PM »
havent seen much but i think ratty is doing really well for joe public

« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2007, 08:06:11 PM »
any scores from today???

« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2007, 08:17:49 AM »
Next question. Does the Super League...SPFL and PFL use a promotion/relegation system involving each other?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2007, 08:49:37 AM »
wayz..like i d only one really takin on super league...small ting yes

yeh they do
but it more complicated than that...u can come first but not go PFL..is a money ting too...promotion to Super league is d same ting...Carenage didnt make the first 2 in the qualification for the leageu this yr but they sponsored by ALCOA so...they good to go now

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2007, 08:51:31 AM »
Well...if the leagues and their relation to each other were a bit more straight foward...along with wider awareness...then that might change. Plus if you watch..PFL teams eh so well supported...so much less leagues that are seen as "lower" in status if you understand what i mean.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

WASA FC keep Super League lead
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2007, 07:49:47 AM »
WASA FC keep Super League lead
Trinidad Express

A 90th minute strike by Kern Harris on Sunday at the Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya kept WASA FC atop the standings in the bmobile National Super League.

Harris' effort earned WASA a 2-2 draw against early season leaders bmobile Joe Public, who remained fourth as they shared the points at home.

Joe Public were leading 2-0 in the second half when Devon King struck in the 59th, after Rennie Britto opened the scoring in the third minute.

WASA answered in the 76th through Ochieng Abosi, and Harris found the net to maintain WASA's one-point advantage in the League.

Joe Public now host 1976 Phoenix today from 4 p.m. as they try to inch higher in the standings.

Defence Force will look to better their third position against Carenage United at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, after Sunday's 2-0 victory over Harlem Strikers at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Former St Anthony's College striker Kevin Pierre opened the Army's account in the 59th, his seventh goal in eight matches this season, and he leads the League's goal scorers to date. Curtis Smith made the Army win sure with a 74th minute item.

Strikers, currently sixth, will try to rebound when they face Caroni FC at the Frederick Settlement Recreation Ground, Caroni.

And second-place M&M Harvard challenge WASA for the lead at WASA Ground.

Harvard have 15 points, one less than WASA, and are better than Defence Force only on goal difference.

Harvard grabbed their fourth victory with a 4-2 beating of House of Dread at the Larry Gomes Stadium, after their opponents took a ninth minute lead thanks to Donovan Derrick.

But a double strike by Kareem Freitas (22nd and 57th minutes), and goals by Sayid Freitas (46th) and Christon Freitas (88th) sealed the win, despite House of Dread's Joel Waldron (80th) finding the mark as well.

House of Dread next face Crab Connection at the San Juan Secondary Comprehensive ground.

Sunday's fourth match at Canaan, Bon Accord, saw Tobago side 1976 Phoenix and Crab Connection play to a 2-2 draw.

Sunday's Results:

House of Dread 2 (Donovan Derrick 9th; Joel Waldron 80th) M&M Harvard 4 (Kareem Freitas 22nd, 57th; Sayid Freitas 46th; Christon Freitas 88th)
Joe Public 2 (Rennie Britto 3rd; Devon King 59th) WASA FC 2 (Ochieng Abosi 76th; Kern Harris 90th)
1976 Phoenix 2 (Brent Cruickshank 76th; Dominique Kerr 85th) Crab Connection 2 (Carfidus Diaz 5th; Eldon Etienne 65th)
Defence Force 2 (Kevin Pierre 59th; Curtis Smith 74th) Harlem Strikers 0

Today's Fixtures:

Joe Public FC vs 1976 Phoenix, Marvin Lee Stadium, 4 p.m.
Crab Connection vs House of Dread, San Juan Secondary Comprehensive, 4 p.m.
WASA FC vs M&M Harvard, WASA Ground, 4 p.m.
Harlem Strikers vs Caroni FC, Frederick Settlement Recreation Ground, 4 p.m.
Defence Force FC vs Carenage United, Larry Gomes Stadium, 4 p.m.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2007, 05:39:28 PM »
anyone know the fixtures for tomorrow's knockout??

« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2007, 09:14:20 AM »
any scores available flex?

« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2007, 09:42:44 PM »
whappen to the KO final with Harlem Strikers and J. Public?
anybody went down?

super league promotion real bad...actually worse than PFL...hardly see dem advertising games on tv
they should look into that...
sometimes cah get hold of a papers to see d fixtures in time

and only found out about the super league final tonight

« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2007, 08:37:59 AM »
flex....tallman...

super league gettin no luv jed
wha goin on?

Rigues summons TTSL membership to elect leader
« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2020, 07:00:23 AM »
Rigues summons TTSL membership to elect leader
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

For the second time in nine months, football's general membership will be called upon to decide on the way forward in local football.

First, the T&T Football Association's (TTFA) general membership was needed to chart a way forward in the midst of a heated battle between the sport's world governing body, FIFA, and the TTFA being led by William Wallace, which subsequently resulted in the TTFA bein suspended from FIFA until further notice.

Now, the membership of the T&T Super League (TTSL) is being summoned to a meeting to decide on whether Jameson Rigues, the TTSL's First vice president will be the person to take over the leadership of the organisation, following the resignation of its president Keith Look Loy on October 16. The meeting was called by Rigues, who to date, appears not to have been accepted by the Board of Directors of the TTSL, as the person to take over the reigns of the organisation.

Immediately after the submission of the resignation letter, the board took a decision to ask Look Loy to stay on until the next Annual General Meeting (AGM), which Guardian Media Sports was told is likely to be in December. However, although Look Loy, the controversial TTFA member who was caught smack in the centre of the TTFA vs FIFA dispute, rejected the call for his return, the Board appears to be making a second call for the former president to stay on.

Rigues is now pointing the membership to Article 39.7 of the Constitution that would put him in charge. A release sent out yesterday from Rigues, states: "In keeping with the TTSL Constitution, Article 39.7, in my capacity as First Vice-President, I have assumed the responsibilities of President of the TTSL with immediate effect, with the resignation of Mr. Keith Look Loy.

The TTSL Constitution, Article 39.7 - If the position of the President becomes vacant, the First Vice-President shall assume the President's responsibilities until the next General Meeting. This General Meeting shall elect a new President for the remaining period of office."

He noted further: "I wish to put on record my humble view and stated position that any such decision of recall or non-acceptance of the resignation of the President should have been brought to you the membership for any such consideration. Having accepted the duties and responsibilities of the TTSL presidency, I wish to personally invite you, each member of the TTSL to contact me directly with any and all matters you consider important to your Organization and the TTSL which I shall properly review."

One Board member who spoke on condition of anonymity on Wednesday said he is unsure of what the problem is with Rigues, since he is currently holding the position of interim president. The member, from of the top eight TTSL club, said he is unsure whether the Board could have opted to call on Look Loy to return when instead of following exactly what the constitution says, but he believes they should. He made it clear however that the membership will have the final say.

He told Guardian Media Sports that Rigues was among the Board meeting which decided on a recall of Look Loy.

Rigues said in spite of the constitutional breach he will not consider legal action, as T&T football needs to take a break from court matters now, in light of the recent legal battle between the TTFA and the FIFA.

However, he is promising members that if he is elected president at the AGM he will be president for all of the TTSL and not some. "I also intend for the organisation to be transparent always, the organisation must be a democratic and unbiased organisation. I personally would like to work to ensure the organisation is more advanced and more competitive," Rigues said.

« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2023, 12:52:08 AM »
Davis steps down as Super League president.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

President of the T&T Super League (TTSL) Lee Davis has resigned his post, along with his first vice president Eddison Dean and second vice president Andre Bernard, in the midst of accusations by the membership that they were not being represented.

More than 50 percent of the super league members signed a petition on January 16 calling for an urgent Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) to chart a way forward in 2023, as many clubs that did not make it into the New Elite Football League (NEFL) proposed by the FIFA-installed Normalisation Committee, would have been disenfranchised.

The petition was signed by RSSR (Dexter Harris), Petit Valley FC (Derek Edwards), Matura FC (Dwain Henry), Cunupia FC (Michael De Four), Marabella Family Crisis FC (Keron Cox), Erin FC (Jason Gordon), Phoenix FC (Terry Williams), Guaya United FC (Randy Hagley), Harlem FC (Gregory Mc Sween), Youth Stars (Anselm Robley) and Edingburgh 500 (Mark Simon).

In the three-page document (petition), the membership sought to enforced Article 32.2 of the TTSL By-Laws, for the Board of Directors to convene an EGM to consider their concerns, which comprised; (a) No proper procedures have been put in place to provide the TTSL with an active general secretary as required by Articles 13.4 and 15(g) of the By-Laws; (b) No proper constitutionally required general meeting have been had for decision-making; (c) Maintaining the membership interests (through the pursuit of membership in a League that would effectively disenfranchise more than 50% of the members of the TTSL without proper consultation with the members of the TTSL; (d) Not representing the views of the majority of the members of the TTSL.

Guaya United representative Jameson Rigues said yesterday and all members of the TTSL were shocked by the resignation, as it only sought to forge a way forward for the league, which had been caught between playing in the New Elite Football League or holding its own competition this year.

Davis said he too was shocked and disappointed, as he thought they had already dealt with some of the concerns raised in the letter. Contents of a TTSL chat showed both Dean and Davis saying they will resign immediately as the petition was sent out, however, only Dean has sent official correspondence of his resignation.

Davis told Guardian Media Sports on Tuesday that while he is being called on to reconsider his position, it is almost unlikely that he will change his mind about resigning.

David explained: "When you look at the petition, all the issues that they brought up as issues they were all frivolous in my view. The meetings that they mentioned, we had already discussed all that, the general secretary at the time did not come to a few meetings because he expressed some challenges and we had some housekeeping to do. We had a meeting in December - a general meeting, to talk about the Elite League and all that. He did not show up and I advised the meeting to give me some time to see what was up with him, so we will try and straighten up what the issue was, so we can have duly constituted meetings with the general secretary on board- that was Mr Lawrence Seepersad."

He continued: "We had a board meeting and Mr Seepersad came on board and expressed his willingness to go forward with everything, so to say that the business of the League was being stymied or wasn't being attended too, was not a fair statement. A lot of the clubs gave the impression that things were moving along smoothly, they sent in their application to play in the super league, we did a lot of negotiations and discussions to get the super league clubs to play in the second tier of the NEFL, and to be fair, the normalisation committee was very accommodating."

With the entire board resigning, a search of the constitution is taking place to find a way to treat with the matter, Rigues, a former president of the TTSL said. "The members could maybe set a date for a meeting and install an interim board in place. The constitution does not speak to the entire board demitting office at the same time."

Davis, a Prisons officer with a Masters' Degree in International Finance, got the nod ahead of Keiron Edwards, the Eastern Football Association (EFA) president and Defence Force's Ryan Ottley in a virtual election in 2021 for the post of president of the organisation.

He was also a member of the Board, along with Dean, Bernard and ordinary members George Joseph, Nicholas Gopaul and Huey Cadette.

Re: TT Super League Thread
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2023, 04:13:08 AM »
Revenge served cold! Wired868 examines collapse of TTSL Board, after De Four motion.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

On 19 September 2021, Prison Service superintendent Lee Davis was elected as president of the Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) for a four-year term. Instead, Davis and his fellow board members lasted just 17 months.

Last night, TTSL first vice-president Eddison Dean and board member Nicholas Gopaul tendered their resignations via WhatsApp while Davis suggested that he is also ready to walk—after they were blindsided by a petition signed by 11 clubs.

The petition, which was dated on 16 January 2023, accused Davis, Dean, second vice-president Andre Barnard and their officers of being “delinquent in their obligations to the TTSL” and requested an EGM to dismiss them from their posts, in accordance with Article 19.8 of the TTSL By-laws.

Article 19.8 states: “The members of the Company may, by ordinary resolution at a special meeting, remove any director from office.”

At present, there are 19 functioning TTSL clubs. It would take just 10 dissenting members, according to the by-laws, to force change.

It means that, unless the current board members could change the position of at least two clubs, their fate is sealed.

Dean said he has no interest in fighting for his post.

“They say they want to run the Super League, so look it on a platter,” he told Wired868. “I was surprised by the motion but I am not fighting up.”

The ramifications of the TTSL implosion will go well beyond the nation’s second tier competition.

The Super League, which contributes eight from a potential 49 delegates at the general meetings of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), is the second largest voting bloc in local football—behind only the TT Pro League’s 10 delegates.

At the 2019 TTFA elections, the TTSL, then led by president Keith Look Loy, predominantly supported William Wallace’s United TTFA slate and accounted for roughly 25% of his votes.

Defeated candidate Richard Ferguson, the driving force behind the Terminix La Horquetta Rangers and Ascension Invitational Tournament, did not get enough votes to move beyond the first round then—as Wallace eventually defeated incumbent David John-Williams 26-20.

Since then, Fifa sidelined Wallace while John-Williams passed away. But Ferguson’s desire for the TTFA presidency is stronger than ever.

The businessman and accountant, via sponsorship deals and through the installation of his employees as delegates, has grown in influence since with inroads made at a handful of zonal bodies and the Women’s League of Football (WoLF).

In 2021, Ferguson’s lieutenant at Ascension, Kieron Edwards, challenged Davis for the TTSL post and polled just two votes. In the aftermath of the election, Edwards vowed to go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) but never did.

However, Edwards is believed to be behind last night’s petition—not least because his wanna-be vice-president from the 2021 TTSL election, Michael De Four, is its ostensible mover.

The petition made four claims against the current TTSL executive. It accused the Davis-led board of failing to provide the Super League with “an active general secretary”, as well as “no proper constitutionally required general meetings”, pursuing participating in the Normalisation Committee-proposed Elite League “that would effectively disenfranchise more than 50% of the members of the TTSL” and “not representing the views of the majority of the members”.

At present, retired Carapichaima East Secondary schoolteacher Laurence Seepersad is listed as TTSL general secretary. He told Wired868 that he accepted the position pro bono last year to try and help out.

He was bemused that his “slow pace”—Davis suggested that the AGM was postponed due to the unavailability of Seepersad, who is also an executive member of the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL)—was supposedly behind the collapse of the entire TTSL board.

“I had been in communication with (former TTSL general secretary) Peter Thomas and their prior auditor to try to get their financials ready for the members,” said Seepersad. “And we expected to hold that AGM very soon… We were trying to make things happen all the while.

“[…] I took this position because I just wanted to see what I could help them with…”

With regards to the effect of the Elite League, Dean explained that the TTSL was forced to wait on the Normalisation Committee. While all 10 full Pro League member clubs are expected to comprise the 12 top tier clubs in the new domestic competition, there is not sufficient room in the second tier for all of the Super League outfits.

Davis spoke recently about creating another competition that would involve the TTSL teams that missed out on the Elite League, along with the top clubs from the various zonal bodies.

“We obviously have to wait until the Normalisation Committee says which clubs are in the second tier,” said Dean. “Only then we can see what we will do about the rest.”

Wired868 reached out to several clubs who signed the petition proffered by Cunupia FC director Michael De Four.

“FC Santa Rosa has not been in a [Super League] meeting for the longest while, so how is it they are still delegates?!” Edwards (D) noted.

FC Santa Rosa are not delegates though. The current TTSL delegate clubs are: QPCC FC, Police FC, Bethel FC, Prisons FC, UTT FC, Club Sando FC, Matura Re-United, and San Fernando Giants.

“Well, we didn’t vote for those clubs!” Edwards (D) retorted, when updated on the TTSL’s current delegates.

The TTSL delegates were selected at the same 2021 AGM in which the current board members were elected. And Edwards (D) was among the persons present when clubs also voted for the body’s delegates.

“You’re right they were selected by votes—my bad,” said Edwards (D), who confessed to a memory lapse. “Well, I was never comfortable with the delegates because those clubs that were suspended and only returned to the membership after the fact didn’t have an opportunity to vote.

“It doesn’t represent the [will of the] Super League in its entirety.”

The dissatisfaction of the previously suspended TTSL clubs was not mentioned in De Four’s petition. But, on this score, Edwards (D) knew what he was speaking about.

“Revenge!” said Hagley.

Two years ago, one of the key issues surrounding the TTSL was the suspension of clubs deemed to be inactive or not properly functional according to the TTFA’s compliance committee.

Look Loy, the then president, successfully pushed for non-compliant clubs to be suspended within the TTSL. At the 2021 election, one presidential candidate, Defence Force official Ryan Ottley, argued that the suspended clubs should be returned to the fold and given full voting rights.

Davis and Edwards (K) proposed that the general meeting consider the business of the suspended teams after the election—and eight from the 14 active TTSL clubs agreed to deny them the ballot.

Ironically, all five of the subsequently reinstated clubs signed the petition to remove the board. They are: Marabella Family Crisis Centre, Phoenix FC, Harlem FC, Youth Stars FC, and Edinburgh 500 FC.

They joined RSSR FC, Petit Valley Diego Martin United, Matura Re-United, Cunupia FC, Erin FC and Guaya.

Yet, more irony, neither Edwards (K) nor De Four wanted the suspended teams to vote either, as they believed that would have enhanced Ottley’s chances of victory.

The petition, then, appeared to be—at least in part—a chance for bitter club owners to even the score.

Edwards (D) noted that his namesake, Kieron, did not support the supposedly disenfranchised clubs either. And he said he was not supporting any particular person to replace Davis, or in the race to be the new TTFA president.

“My stance on the petition wasn’t so much about changing the president, my issue was the wrongful ‘outcasting’ of the clubs initially,” said Edwards (D). “I felt they shouldn’t have been dealt with after the elections, but they voted to defer it—including Kieron Edwards.

“Now those are the same clubs, they (Kieron Edwards and De Four) are saying didn’t have the opportunity to vote.”

Hagley also suggested that Davis’ demise was not of his own making. Rather, it appeared to be a coming together of clubs with different end-goals in mind, with some wanting their own person at the helm while others wanted to punish members of Look Loy’s board like Dean.

“Lee Davis is a transparent man but the people around him are no good,” Hagley told Wired868. “We want to straighten things out, not move him. Mr Davis gives everyone a hearing [and] he doesn’t shut down people. But he is surrounded by the same draconian elements, who should have left with the last president.

“What you do wrong comes back to bite you!”

Look Loy resigned as TTSL president on 16 October 2020, after local football stakeholders agreed to accept “normalisation” by Fifa. Former Strike Squad captain Clayton Morris served as interim president before he stepped aside, paving the way for Davis’ election.

Hagley had only good things to say about Morris too.

“Clayton knew how to interact with people,” said Hagley. “This is a position that requires people skills—but Clayton didn’t want to give up coaching, which is his passion. I can’t be against him for that.

“Clayton should have been the man running the Super League. In fact, Clayton is a good man to go up for the TTFA president. But instead, you have these Johnny-come-latelys.

“Once they bring [the TTFA election] to one club, one vote, Clayton will win. The big sharks spending a lot of money could only win in a situation where you have [limited] delegates. I find Clayton should put his hat in the ring for the TTFA presidency, because you want someone who is transparent and doesn’t have all kind of thing hanging over his head.”

Derek Edwards also said he wanted to stay far from the “politricks” and entitled people who just wanted political power. He signed on to De Four’s petition because he is unhappy with the status quo—not necessarily because of belief in his namesake, Kieron, or his sponsor, Ferguson.

“My take is the community clubs continue to suffer and look at who is getting paid in football right now, although there is no football,” said Edwards (D). “[…] They say your club needs to be compliant, etc, and yes you should have everything in good order. But what trickles down to the clubs to help you pay for that?

“At least in the Tiger Tanks (Under-20 competition) we got about $3,000 to help with transport and to pay for uniforms… Most times you enter a competition and the majority of money goes to administrators running the football, the referees, the match commissioners—but what trickles down to help you hire the best coach, physio, water, etc?

“Those are the things I am looking for. I am trying to forget the back and forth about who is in power.”

Ultimately, though, the signatures of Hagley and Edwards (D) did make a difference in the power-wielders of the TTSL. The self-declared “disenfranchised clubs” have had their revenge, but time will tell what they have won.

Wired868 tried unsuccessfully to contact De Four for comment on his petition, and to respond on the possible involvement of Edwards or Ferguson.

Davis said he couldn’t operate as TTSL president with constant sniping in the background from “the same people who wanted to take me to CAS”.

“I think that’s it there for me, I cannot keep going around in circles,” Davis told Wired868. “[…] When I got the nod to be the president, a lot of people who didn’t initially support me started working with me to try to get the league running. I thought we passed this stage and we were going forward, but here we are coming back to deal with this.

“[…] I really believe they will make it impossible for me to do my job. Also when you thought you had some personalities in your corner but then you see they signed on to this frivolous petition, it shows me I won’t get the support I need.

“I am disappointed… It seems that politics is again trumping football and this is not where I need to be at this point in time.”

The TTSL will now meet to elect a new president and board.

Current TTSL Board (pending resignations): Lee Davis (president), Eddison Dean (first vice-president), Andre Barnard (second vice-president), Huey Cadette, Nicholas Gopaul, George Joseph (board members)

Clubs that signed De Four’s petition: Cunupia FC, Edinburgh 500 FC, Erin FC, Guaya United FC, Harlem FC, Marabella Family Crisis Centre, Matura Re-United, Petit Valley Diego Martin United, Phoenix FC, RSSR FC, and Youth Stars FC.

Clubs that did not sign: Bethel FC, Club Sando FC, Defence Force, Police, Prisons FC, QPCC, San Fernando Giants FC, and UTT FC.

« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2023, 05:00:18 PM »
Rigues, Edwards battle for TTSL presidency

Former president of the T&T Super League (TTSL) Jameson Rigues and Keiron Edwards, the Eastern Football Association (EFA) president, will battle for support among the membership for the post of president when the Super League’s extraordinary general meeting (EGM) takes place virtually today from 6 pm.

The meeting will be used to elect, not only the president following the resignation of then-president Lee Davis and his first vice president Eddison Dean recently, but it will also seek to replace Nicholas Gopaul, another board member who resigned in the midst of accusations that the executive was not representing the interests of the members.

The members are seeking to capitalise on the bye-laws of its constitution that enable them the power to call an EGM in the absence of an executive and elect one.

Rigues said the constitution clearly gives the first vice president the right to act when there is no president, and the second vice president to act in a case where there is no first vice president, as he referred to in 13.5 of Board of Management, that states: “13.5 In the case of the absence or inability to act of the president, the first vice-president shall fill the position until the next general meeting, when a replacement will be elected for the remaining period of office. If the office of the vice president, assistant secretary and/or ordinary member of the Board of Management becomes vacant, the Board of Management shall fill the position(s) in question until the next General Meeting when a replacement will be elected for the remaining period of the office.

“14.10 If more than 50 per cent of the positions of the Board become vacant, the general secretary shall convene an EGM in order to hold elections for a new term. If the General Secretary is not available or fails to convene the EGM within the prescribed period, the Emergency Committee shall convene it.”

Edwards, who along with Ryan Ottley of the Defence Force, was beaten in a race for presidency by Davis at a virtual election back in 2021, has made it clear he will contest the position of president again.

Rigues held the position of interim super league president in 2020 following the resignation of Keith Look Loy, but he lost out against Clayton Morris, the former ‘Strike Squad’ captain at an AGM later that year.

Rigues said he was approached by a number of clubs to offer his services for president again and he obliged. He believes he will be the best choice, having worked throughout the super league system, noting that he has the interest of the league at heart.

Guardian Media Sports was told that Rigues, the former Guaya United manager could receive the bulk of support from the membership, as some members have said publicly they will reject Edwards.

“Clubs feel that Edwards are coming in from the outside with ulterior motives. They want to buy votes from clubs for a grander plan, but I want to assure you that no club is for sale in the super league.

“I plan to rejuvenate the super league and assure that clubs are up-to-date with all the requirements of the T&T Football Association. No club will be left behind. During my time as president, clubs believed I brought a brotherhood among the clubs and that is what they want again,” Rigues said.

Apart from the president’s position, the first vice president’s post which was held by Dean will also be filled. Michael Du Four of Cunupia FC will be contesting that position.

« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2023, 12:55:54 AM »
TTSL members to deliberate after EGM aborted.

An aborted Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) of T&T Super League (TTSL) on Thursday, has left members deliberating on the way forward.

The EGM was called specifically to elect replacements for then-president Lee Davis, first vice president Eddison Dean and ordinary member Nicholas Gopaul who all resigned three weeks ago after being accused of not carrying out the interests of their membership.

Davis had said he thought the membership was on the same page following conversations to chart a way forward.

Thursday's EGM was a result of a collective decision by more than 50 per cent of the membership to enforce section- 13.5 of the bye-laws of the TTSL which states: "In the case of the absence or inability to act of the president, the first vice-president shall fill the position until the next general meeting, when a replacement will be elected for the remaining period of office. If the office of the vice president, assistant secretary and/or ordinary member of the Board of Management becomes vacant, the Board of Management shall fill the position(s) in question until the next General Meeting when a replacement will be elected for the remaining period of the office."

Section 14.10 also quotes: "If more than 50 per cent of the positions of the Board become vacant, the general secretary shall convene an EGM in order to hold elections for a new term. If the General Secretary is not available or fails to convene the EGM within the prescribed period, the Emergency Committee shall convene it.”

Guardian Media Sports learned that further deliberations became necessary because of differing interpretations of the bye-laws. For instance, members believe that since there were six members on the Board of the TTSL, the resignation of three members or 50 per cent, does not require an EGM for elections, but rather calls for the remaining 50 per cent to take over and manage the affairs of the organisation.

"In this case, the second vice president- Andre Bernard is supposed to step up to fill the roles left by Davis and Dean. This means Bernard is the one to make proposals and call meetings, which include an AGM to elect replacements for the vacant positions," one member explained after the aborted EGM.

"So I will be waiting to see what proposal Bernard will be coming up with and how he intends to lead the super league forward from now on," the member said.

For the EGM, two members were scheduled to face off for the post of president, namely Keiron Edwards, the current president of the Eastern Football Association (EFA) and Jameson Rigues, a former president of the TTSL who was also manager of top club Guaya United.

The position of first vice president was also up for election with only Michael Du Four of Cunupia FC contesting it.

Rigues also told Guardian Media Sports yesterday that a number of other issues contributed to the EGM being aborted at the virtual meeting. "There were issues where members who were not supposed to vote showed up to vote, people in the voting booth and some clubs not being able to vote. The fact that some members were not compliant but showed up to vote was another issue altogether," Rigues said.