March 28, 2024, 03:12:54 PM

Author Topic: Couva Children’s Hospital Thread  (Read 3683 times)

Couva Children’s Hospital Thread
« on: March 03, 2012, 03:06:55 AM »
China funds US$150M children’s hospital
By Richardson Dhalai (NEWSDAY).
Saturday, March 3 2012

In keeping with Government’s thrust to develop a medical health care city, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday turned the sod for the start of construction of US$150 million Couva Children’s Hospital, Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway South, Preysal.

The hospital is being funded by the China Exim Bank under a government to government arrangement with the government of China and is expected to be completed within two and a half years.

The project is expected to begin next month.

Persad-Bissessar, who admitted to being “blown away” by the video presentation of the proposed hospital, declared that the medical institution, which would also be a multi-medical training centre, was “one of the most important” of her tenure as Prime Minister adding that the hospital initiative had been achieved through the guidance and technical expertise of the Chinese government.

She again reiterated Government’s intention to develop medical tourism as a means of diversification of the economy saying similar government to government partnerships are being used to develop this health care objective.

And regarding the government to government partnerships, Udecott chairman, Jearlean John said various governments were now partnering with the TT Government, including the government of Austria, which was assisting in the development of the teaching hospital, south campus, of the University of the West Indies previously known as the Chancery Lane hospital extension in San Fernando.

“What is happening, with all of our hospitals, various Governments across the world are coming to partner with the government of Trinidad and Tobago...the University of the West Indies teaching hospital south campus, that is being partnered with the Government of Austria,” John said in an interview with reporters following the sod-turning ceremony.

She added, “We are now in negotiations with the government of China, and with the government of Canada, for the oncology centre in Penal.”

With reference to the Children’s hospital, which will include a burn unit, children and adult casualty clinic and helipad, she said, “We are going to mobilise within a month’s time, this hospital would be completed within two and a half years. We turned the sod because we are ready, everything is in place and this is mobilisation, we are commencing mobilisation.”

Asked about the contractors, she said, “The government of China will propose their nominee. The money comes from the China Exim Bank so the government will propose their nominee to us.”

When asked whether Udecott would oversee the project, she replied, “Yes. Udecott, the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Works and Infrastructure will have oversight.”

She added that phase one of the University of the West Indies teaching hospital, south campus, is expected to be completed by the end of the year. The facility would be able to accommodate some 215 beds.

Persad-Bissessar also announced that the Scarborough hospital would be formally opened in April.

Meanwhile, John also observed that the Brian Lara Cricket Academy should be remobilised by the end of the month, saying the “project has slowed a bit because with the change in the government, we had a different mandate, I expect that this project will be remobilised by the end of March. We are coming to the end of all the paperwork.”

« Last Edit: October 18, 2015, 09:27:48 AM by Flex »

Re: China funds US$150M children’s hospital.
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 08:39:20 AM »
no offense .but china..lick my scrotum....new imperalist.....please stay in other countries....we have our own resources....we dont need u.....

Re: China funds US$150M children’s hospital.
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 05:43:00 PM »
no offense .but china..lick my scrotum....new imperalist.....please stay in other countries....we have our own resources....we dont need u.....

Kamla subsidizing Saudi Arabia gas buys  lol imagine we giving dem big discount...why?

And is Onion in yuh ass...ask she what she big agriculture plan is...ask shr

Couva Children’s Hospital Thread
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2015, 01:57:22 AM »
China fully funded children’s hospital, so...
Govt to probe $239m spent
Rhonda Krystal Rambally (Guardian).

Finance Minister Colm Imbert is set to probe why $239 million was allocated by the previous government towards the Couva Children’s Hospital when the project was being fully funded by the Chinese government.

He raised the issue yesterday during the Standing Finance Committee meeting on the expenditure of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development held at the Parliament.

Imbert said it was his understanding that the project was financed through a government-to-government loan facility with the Chinese government and therefore, normally, there was no obligation for the T&T Government to finance the construction of the hospital.

The lender is the Export Import Bank of China on behalf of China. The loan matures in 20 years.

Imbert was responding to questions raised by Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar. But in trying to find out why no allocation was made towards the hospital in 2016, she found herself being cross-questioned by Imbert.

On August 14, Persad-Bissessar “opened” the hospital; however, it has since remained closed to the public.

Persad-Bissessar said an allocation of $130 million was made in 2014, an estimate of $140 million in 2015 with a revised allocation of $109 million, and then “nothing” in 2016 for the hospital.

She said, “No allocation is being made in 2016 and I am asking why. Is it that the hospital construction has been complete?

Imbert said, “Well, you opened it.” Persad-Bissessar then said she was asking a question and that he was now in charge.

After much crosstalk, he said it was Persad-Bissessar who was the prime minister at the time who promoted the project and secured financing from the Chinese government.

“She cut the ribbon and opened the hospital with great fanfare just before the election. So, it’s just wrong for the Honourable Leader of the Opposition to say or pretend that she does not know. This project, if you have been paying attention, has been transferred to the Ministry of Health and I think we now need to investigate this since this was supposed to be fully funded by the Chinese. We need to know why the Government of Trinidad and Tobago was spending money on this project and I can assure you that there will be an investigation.”

He said too that he was shocked that Persad-Bissessar would ask if construction was completed on the hospital.

“I assure this Parliament that we will find out whether that building was complete or not. We will advise the national population through the medium of this Parliament,” Imbert said.

More info

Contacted after Parliament, Imbert said he also intended to look at the 2013 expenditure to see if any money was allocated towards the project.

He said via text, “This is a very expensive project, at $1.5 billion where the construction cost was $1 billion, and another $500 million was for fees, etc.

“That is an unusually high amount for non-construction costs, which are usually a maximum of 20 per cent of the construction cost for a specialised project.”

According to a June 1, 2013, article on news.gov.tt, the estimated cost of construction of the children’s hospital was $975 million.

The article said funding for the institution was through a government-to-government arrangement with China.

It said the hospital will stand on a 60-acre site on lands from the former Caroni (1975) Ltd.

However, by June 25, 2013, it was announced by former health minister Dr Fuad Khan that Cabinet had approved $1.521 billion for the project.

T&T Guardian files showed:

• pre-construction work was estimated at $53.1 million for access roads, bridge, works, placement of electricity and water lines and natural gas lines;

• construction and fit-out works were set at $1.3 billion for design, construction and fit-out external works, landscaping and handover; and

• works to completion were put at $464.7 million for project development, consultancy, duties, taxes, site development, project management, fees and miscellaneous expenses, inclusive of security, insurances and utilities.

Khan had said then: “The total cost of the project is estimated at $1.520,924, 891.98. In this connection, Cabinet has approved a budget of $1.521 billion.”

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Re: Couva Children’s Hospital Thread
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2015, 09:31:38 AM »
Imbert to probe funds spent on Children’s Hospital
T&T Newsday

FINANCE Minister Colm Imbert said he will investigate why Government money was spent on the Couva Children’s Hospital when the facility was supposed to be financed through an arrangement with China. He said so yesterday during the discussion on the Housing Ministry at the Standing Finance Committee meeting at the Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port-of-Spain.

Former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who cut the ribbon on the hospital in August this year, noted that for construction of the Couva Children’s Hospital, no allocation was made for 2016.

“I am asking why. Is it that the hospital construction is complete?” she asked.

Imbert said, “Well, you opened it.” “I am asking you, minister, you are in charge now,” Persad-Bissessar responded.

Imbert said, “Well, I assumed that you opened a complete...” Persad-Bissessar cut him off and asked for Housing Minister Marlene McDonald to respond. Imbert continued answering, saying that “my understanding is that this project was being financed through a government to government loan facility with the Chinese government.” “And therefore normally there would be no obligation on the part of the Trinidad and Tobago Government to finance the construction of this hospital”.

“No, no, no,” Persad-Bissessar interrupted.

Deputy Chairman Esmond Forde instructed the Siparia MP to allow Imbert to finish. “Why are you getting on like this?” Imbert asked Persad Bissessar.

“Totally incorrect,” she said.

“Well you could say that if you wish. But my understanding is this project is being financed by the Chinese government,” he reiterated.

Persad-Bissessar said that “whilst that may be true and we take him at his word...” Imbert interrupted to protest “but you open the hospital” and referred to it as “her hospital”. Persad-Bissessar pointed out that in 2014 there was an allocation of $130 million for the hospital, that in 2015, an estimated $140 million was allocated and then revised to $109 million, and then in 2016 “nothing”.

“So the minister’s explanation that this would have been built through funding by the Chinese government, which is true, we take that word true,” she said.

“True now. You remember,” Imbert interrupted again.

“Can we please be allowed to complete?” she protested. Forde intervened again and stressed that one person at a time will address the chair and then individuals will have the option to respond.

“So the question still remains why no allocation in 2016?” Persad Bissessar asked. Imbert responded that they were “going around in circles”.

“The Honourable Opposition Leader was the Prime Minister that promoted this project, secured the financing from the Chinese government, cut the ribbon, open the hospital with great fanfare just before the election so it’s just wrong for the Honourable Leader of the Opposition to say or pretend that she does not know,” he said.

Imbert yesterday noted that the project has been transferred to the Health Ministry “and I think we now need to investigate, since this project was supposed to be fully funded by the Chinese, why the Government of Trinidad and Tobago was spending money on this project”.

“And I can assure you there will be an investigation. But if you want to know what has happened to the allocation, it has gone to the Ministry of Health”.

“You could have said that 10 minutes ago,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Forde reminded Imbert of the question of whether the building was completed. Imbert reiterated that he was “shocked” that the person who cut the ribbon and opened the building with great fanfare before the election “would ask me that question”.

“I will have to investigate that as well and find out why the Honourable Leader of the Opposition opened the building with great fanfare and is asking whether it is complete or not. When I get over my befuddlement and astonishment I will investigate,” he said.

“The question remains unanswered sir,” Persad-Bissessar pointed out. Forde asked if Imbert would respond in writing and Imbert responded that the results of the investigation would be put in writing.

“You see this robber talk and gun talk, it will get you very far,” Persad- Bissessar told him.

“You want to know about robbers?” Imbert shot back.

Persad-Bissessar noted that in the budget debate it was reported that the hospital was opened incomplete and would be done in phases, hence her question.

“I await the report in writing,” she said.

Imbert said that she had made a statement and complained that he was not similarly allowed to make a statement.

“You’ve been doing that all week,” Persad-Bissessar told him.

« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2015, 11:10:01 AM »
This long advert was regularly on T&T TV stations in the final weeks before the General Elections when the ex-PM KPB officially opened the Children's Hospital with big fanfare.

Couva Children's Hospital Feature TV Version
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/LSpmnhqhD88" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/LSpmnhqhD88</a>

So the question is why is the hospital not completed if the UNC/PP made all this effort to give the T&T public the impression that it was completed and that the then UNC/PP government was working well for you.

The Advert actually end with the phrase on your screen "Signed, Sealed, Delivered" accompanied by the Stevie Wonder classic of the same name.

What a joke that the Kamla was asking Colm Imbert in Parliament if the Children's Hospital is being completed.

Does the new Opposition Leader have no shame?
« Last Edit: October 18, 2015, 01:26:48 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2015, 06:23:03 PM »
so I have a couple questions about this.....don't we have a shortage of nurses? Where are all these peds nurses coming from? Since it is a trauma center why wasn't a heliport built to life flight people there....where is the support staff coming from especially if it is a "children's hospital" where are you getting your perfusionists etc

« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2015, 08:03:11 PM »
so I have a couple questions about this.....don't we have a shortage of nurses? Where are all these peds nurses coming from? Since it is a trauma center why wasn't a heliport built to life flight people there....where is the support staff coming from especially if it is a "children's hospital" where are you getting your perfusionists etc

Asked Kamla who opened the hospital. This project is meant to be a big part of her leagcy!

« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2015, 08:48:33 AM »

they went to uganda. the request was brought to the ugandan parliament and they rejected it as they themselves have a shortage. dont know where they getting the Paeds doctors from wither. mih paediatrician douxdoux from mt hope told me applications closed off and nobody knows where they got staff from cuz nobody applied

« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2015, 10:44:46 AM »

VIDEO Report; https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153727813612996/

NO DECISION YET ON HOW TO UTILISE COUVA HOSPITAL

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh says a decision is yet to be taken on how the Couva Children's and Adult Hospital will be utilised but assures that taxpayers money will not be wasted.

« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2016, 01:48:23 PM »

Opposition Leader: "Government misleading country on Couva Children's Hospital"

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/opposition-leader-government-misleading-country-couva-childrens-hospital

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar is accusing the Government of misleading the country on the true facts of the Couva Children's Hospital.

The former prime minister is calling on the Health Minister and Prime Minister to "come clean" on the facts.

She issued this statement on Sunday:

"The Minister of Health, Mr Terrance Deyalsingh, and the Rowley government are spreading misinformation about the Couva Children’s Hospital while keeping the facility closed.

Today I am calling on Mr. Deyalsingh to come clean and tell the people the truth about the hospital and about health care in Trinidad and Tobago. I ask him to tell the country how he plans to address the overcrowding at hospitals across the nation and to explain the facts about why his government does not want to open the Couva Children’s hospital.

Health was a top priority of People’s Partnership administration and that is why we built that Children’s hospital, a teaching hospital and started construction on two others. We did all this alongside constructive plans for imporving services at major hospitals and primary care centres across the country.

The fully equipped Children’s hospital remains unopened only because Mr Deyalsingh and the Rowley administration lack the ability to administer the health services and create the jobs needed to staff the hospital. Instead they have found every irrational reason to justify their inaction while overcrowding, lack of necessary medicines and frustration have become principal features of our hospital system.

I wish to reject the propaganda and state that the Children’s Hospital is fully equipped and ready for use. All that is needed is the political will and a sensible approach to its administration.

If a government can tell us that it lacks the ability to coordinate its health policy to make effective use of a state of the art hospital that’s equipped and ready for use, then it is not fit to govern. Mr. Deyalsingh is not presenting an honest picture when he states that the hospital requires a staff of two thousand (2,000). The radiography department alone, needs only a fraction of that to commence operations.

Further, Mr. Deyalsingh is not telling citizens that a significant number of personnel are for maintenance and administration, and that there are already the required number of trained staff and personnel to make this hospital fully functional. Additionally, there are a number of medical graduates and trainees readily available to work at the hospital.

My Deyalsingh must state why he and the PNM administration have not advertised for any of these positions.

The time has come for the Minister to either identify what plans he intends put in place to rectify the current situation, or hand over the portfolio to someone who is capable."

« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2016, 10:01:04 PM »
Oh really?

A significant number of staff where? So how come all other government institutions understaffed?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2016, 08:19:06 PM »

Deyalsingh to Khan: Find me 2,000 workers

Call to open Couva Children’s Hospital

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160115/news/deyalsingh-to-khan-find-me-2000-workers

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said he will open the Children’s Hospital at Couva if former health minister Dr Fuad Khan can advise where he will get 2,000 healthcare providers to provide staffing and money to remunerate them.
He also accused the previous People’s Partnership administration of “squandering $7 billion in their folly and stupidity”.
Deyalsingh made the comments yesterday after distributing instruments of appointment to the board of directors of South West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA) and before opening Wards 18 and 20 at Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt Hope.
Among those present were acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Clive Tilluckdharry and newly-appointed SWRHA chairman Dr Alexander Sinanan.
Khan: I knew how to get staff

Asked to give an update on Couva, Deyalsingh said: “The Minister of Finance (Colm Imbert) is looking at the project. It was hastily opened to deify one person. There was a never a plan to commission the hospital because there was no manpower and equipment. June 2015 is when the commissioning team began to meet. There is a shortage of 2,000 health care providers and a shortage of 1,000 nurses. Where are we to find the nurses and the lab technicians?”
In response, Khan said: “I knew how to get staff for Couva. It is quite obvious he does not know where to get the staff and the money then he should admit he does not know how to do the job. It is a cop out. I am standing firm with the fact Couva Children’s Hospital can be opened. If you see the quality equipment in there.”

SWRHA board
Valerie Alleyne-Rawlins—deputy chairman
Board members
Anil Bhagowtee
Colin Kangaloo
Jennifer Marryshow
Jayselle McFarlane
Dr Shalini Pooransingh

« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2016, 04:28:53 PM »

Breaking News: The Minister of Health the Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh has confirmed that portions of the "ring" Road leading to the Couva Children’s Hospital has collapsed.

« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2016, 05:56:17 PM »

^^ I hope the respective contractors and anyone else who was part of this are held responsible.

« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2016, 07:00:56 PM »
Breaking News.. 75% of rural (non city) roads in Trinidad is state of collapse (some villages you can't even access...) ever try going Tortuga?

Elections over man, no need to win votes now.

« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2016, 10:52:37 PM »

Rowley slams ‘hurry’ work*

Roadway at Couva hospital collapses

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160202/news/rowley-slams-8216hurry8217-work

“Hurry dog create raw meat for lunch and dinner.”

That was what Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley had to say when asked to comment on the collapse of the roadway leading to the Couva Children’s Hospital.

The hospital was the pride of the previous Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership administration.
A commissioning ceremony was held on August 14 last year, in the build-up to the September 7 general election, but the hospital remains closed to date. Several calls have since been made by members of the Opposition for the Government to open and utilise the “modern facility”.

But on Monday, part of the roadway to the hospital caved in due to reported “sub-standard” work done by the Programme for Upgrading Roads Efficiency (PURE) Unit in its construction.

« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2016, 06:33:15 PM »

providing answers: Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago representatives Noel Garcia, chairman, and Abena Richards, chief operating officer, chat before yesterday’s sitting of the Joint Select Committee on State Enterprises at Parliament. Photo courtesy The Office of the Parliament

Chinese firm: No equipment removed *

Kamla contradicted on Couva Children’s Hospital

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160502/news/chinese-firm-no-equipment-removed

No equipment or materials have been moved from the Couva Children’s Hospital, contrary to statements made by Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

This was the assurance given by Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDeCOTT) chairman Noel Garcia at a meeting of the Joint Select Committee on State Enterprises yesterday at the Hamilton Maurice Room, Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain.
Garcia said when he heard the statements, he instructed the Project Management Unit of UDeCOTT to write the contractor, Shanghai Construction Group, to ascertain if the allegations were true.

“They (Shanghai) wrote last week indicating that no equipment has been removed from the site. Our Project Management staff has also indicated that no equipment has been removed,” he said.
Garcia said the Couva Children’s Hospital had not been handed over by the contractor, Shanghai, to UDeCOTT.