March 28, 2024, 11:37:35 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad & Tobago keeper suffers concussion.  (Read 2760 times)

Trinidad & Tobago keeper suffers concussion.
« on: March 24, 2012, 02:23:42 AM »
Trinidad & Tobago keeper suffers concussion.
By Joseph D'Hippolito (CONCACAF.com).

Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Andre Marchan sustained a concussion late in his team's 7-1 loss to Mexico in CONCACAF Olympic qualifying Friday night, a match that took a toll on both sides.

Marchan and Mexico's Nestor Calderon collided in the 77th minute as Calderon was trying to latch on to a long ball. Marchan charged forward to punch the ball away, and was kicked in the left side of the head as Calderon extended his right leg to reach for the ball.

"He had a mild concussion," manager Angus Eve said after the match. "He said he was stomped by the guy in the head as he was trying to clear the ball. But he's feeling much better. He's with the team doctor at the moment."

Whether Marchan will play Sunday against Panama is an open question.

"It's too soon to tell," Eve said. "After we go back to the hotel, we'll take a look at him. He may have to go for a scan. Then we'll know what's exactly happening with him."

The injury appeared to bother Marchan for the rest of the match. He held his head a several times in the closing moments, and conceded two goals in the final five minutes.

After Marchan dived to stop Javier Cortes' cross along the right end line in the 85th minute, Marco Fabian converted the rebound for his third goal. Then in the 90th minute, Cortes scored on an eight-yard shot through Marchan's legs.

When the match ended, Marchan sat near the left goal post, received attention from a trainer and was quickly escorted to the locker room before both teams left the field.

Re: Trinidad & Tobago keeper suffers concussion.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2012, 08:07:14 AM »
I watch that youthman and I knew he had a concussion. I was wondering why the trainer just applied and ice pack and allowed him to stand on his own, walk away from them while they pick up their equipment and then allowed him to continue in the goal. You could have seen the ref concern for him.

The constant save and diving surely did not help him either.

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2012, 08:18:05 AM »
get well soon son...hope its ok

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2012, 09:50:48 AM »
Well Elan i apologize then for riding him last night, im no doctor and i had no idea he had a concussion during the game. Hopefully he recovers soon.

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2012, 09:54:15 AM »
At the 70th minute though we was already 7 down.

What this story about concussion coming from ?

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2012, 10:02:16 AM »
At the 70th minute though we was already 7 down.

What this story about concussion coming from ?

Ohh i just skimmed through the article, thanks for pointing it out. That changes everything, but still my prayers go out to him because this concussion thing is serious business.

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2012, 10:17:29 AM »
well I must say that we did not keep enough possession, we played the typical T&T game ...one or two guys had courage and would keep decent possession and take on the Mexicans while most of the others were losing possession too cheaply.
 It is becoming difficult to watch T&T football...no heart, I do not expect us to beat Mexico as I once would hope but at least go down with a fight...instead we were out classed.
I no longer blame players or even T&T coaches I think we must recognise that it may be a cultural problem...working together as a team seams to be an obstacle that may be too high for Trinbagonians...we seem to do better as individuals...what a shame
The Goalkeeper was parrying too many shots ...look at the first goal... I have been following T&T football now close to 35 years and nothing much has changed...we have had a couple ok teams  but we always fall apart when tested outside of the Caribbean...lately even the Caribbean teams have owned us...what a pity..... well you reap what you sow... :worried: :worried: :worried:
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 10:22:43 AM by Saltanfresh »

« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2012, 01:33:08 PM »
Well Elan i apologize then for riding him last night, im no doctor and i had no idea he had a concussion during the game. Hopefully he recovers soon.

Wasn't till late in the 2nd that happened though, it was already 5-0.

Online Tallman

« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2012, 01:23:52 AM »

« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2012, 05:34:53 AM »
He have to learn to be more commanding in the box, this is his house and he have to let men know. He cant have second thoughts, he must play more confident and man handle them attackers so they wouldn't rush in stupid.

Nigel Neverson from 1988 St Benedicts team could teach him a thing or two, I remember him vs Arima, de man woulda punch yuh teeth out.

« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2012, 07:28:25 AM »
Trinidad & Tobago to wait on Marchan status.

CARSON, California -- Trinidad and Tobago was to learn Sunday whether goalkeeper Andre Marchan will be able to play against Panama in CONCACAF Olympic qualifying.

Marchan, 21, sustained a mild concussion in the 77th minute of Friday night's 7-1 loss to Mexico. He played the rest of the match but left the field immediately after it ended.

"We can assess him further in the morning," manager Angus Eve said before Saturday's training began. "Hopefully, he can be all right but we're not sure."

If Marchan cannot play, Eve said, second-choice goalkeeper Sheldon Clarke would start.

Marchan suffered the concussion after colliding with Mexico's Nestor Calderon, who kicked Marchan in the left side of the head with an extended right leg to get a long ball.

"Initially, he did have a mild concussion for about 10-15 seconds, at which point he was not aware of where he was," Trinidad team doctor Israel Dowlat said. "He had no blurred vision or double vision.

"After about 15 seconds, he was able to tell where he was, what he was doing. He was able to make out fingers. He was a lot better. He had some mild swelling where he got the blow to the head."

Dowlat added that Marchan's pain decreased overnight.

"The pain had substantially reduced in terms of the pain scale," Dowlat said. "(Friday night) would have been 8 of 10. (Saturday) morning, it was about 3 to 4 on 10. We've kept him on anti-inflammatories throughout the entire period."

During training, both goalkeepers executed drills involving footwork, quickness and catching balls in the midsection. But Marchon performed no drills requiring him to dive or to move laterally. He participated for the first 30 minutes of a training session that lasted an hour and 20 minutes.

"He was a lot better today," Dowlat said after training. "Today was just really to get his confidence back, to see how he was moving. He looked pretty alert so all indications are good."

Trinidad and Tobago sustained another injury when the Seattle Sounders' Cordell Cato had to be carried to the bench in the middle of training. Cato aggravated a ligament injury in his left ankle, Dowlat said.

« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2012, 09:17:25 AM »
I'm not playing anyone in a game 2 days after a concussion.The player's health and safety is more important 

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2012, 12:49:47 PM »
Am I reading right, Marchan suffered a concussion, there was mild swelling & he was not brought to the ER for a scan, instead he is being given anti flammatory medication. This is total madness, this a head injury and precaution was not taken by having a CT scan to ensure that all is okay. WOW!!!!!
« Last Edit: March 25, 2012, 12:54:51 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2012, 02:09:53 PM »
Marchan is warming up on the field.

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2012, 02:57:20 PM »
Am I reading right, Marchan suffered a concussion, there was mild swelling & he was not brought to the ER for a scan, instead he is being given anti flammatory medication. This is total madness, this a head injury and precaution was not taken by having a CT scan to ensure that all is okay. WOW!!!!!
Marchan is warming up on the field.

well yes, not good !!!

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2012, 08:06:50 PM »
I don't think he should play versus Honduras.

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2012, 08:53:21 PM »
A new Policy was implimented last summer in this area, that all high school coaches must take a course on identifying and treating player with concussion. Any player that comes off with a concussion or suspected concussion cannot play for a week and then only with a release from a doctor.

I was in total shock when I come home and reading that Marchan play and men still riding him. Eve and them is some jokey coach. I not playing that game, I questioning them doctors to death, for them to tell me he playing and still I eh sure to play him. Apparently we eh learn nothing from Muamba.   >:( :(

« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2012, 05:24:23 AM »
Andre Marchan recovers to become hero.

CARSON, California -- Whatever the severity of Andre Marchan's concussion, it didn't seem to bother him Sunday.

The Trinidadian keeper, who was diagnosed with a mild concussion from a collision with Mexico's Nestor Calderon in Friday's 7-1 loss to El Tri in CONCACAF Olympic qualifying, made two pivotal saves against Panama and enabled the Soca Warriors to rally for a 1-1 draw.

Marchan, who received a kick to the head in the 77th minute by Calderon, was cleared to play Sunday morning after a fitness test.

"I felt OK," he said. "I saw the doc a couple of times this morning and I had a training session this morning."

Marchan -- who started for Trinidad and Tobago in the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in 2009 -- made his first big save in the 26th minute. He leapt to deflect Anibal Godoy's 25-yard line drive with his right hand.

Then in the 50th minute, Marchan dived to his left to snag Amir Waithe's 27-yard line drive in front of the post.

That set the stage for Shahdon Winchester to be Trinidad's other hero.

Winchester, who sat on the bench against Mexico, scored the equalizer in second-half stoppage time, converting the rebound of Kevin Molino's shot that Panamanian defender Rolando Algandona blocked.

"He's in and around the box when there are going to be chances," said manager Angus Eve, who called Winchester "a very good young prospect."

Winchester, who starts for W Connection in his homeland, believes that playing for his national under-23 team has increased his confidence.

"It's much different on this level," Winchester said. "The game is faster up here. I'm only 20-years old so to play at this level means I'm a good player."