April 19, 2024, 04:00:16 PM

Author Topic: Honduras completes Olympic qualifying semis, T&T eliminated.  (Read 4366 times)

Honduras completes Olympic qualifying semis, T&T eliminated.
« on: March 28, 2012, 04:39:30 AM »
Honduras completes Olympic qualifying semis, T&T eliminated.
CONCACAF.COM.

CARSON, California - Honduras completed the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying semifinal field, beating Trinidad & Tobago 2-0 Tuesday night to likely earn a knockout round match with Central American rival El Salvador.

Eddie Hernandez scored his second goal of the tournament in the 37th minute and assisted on Antony Lozano's in the 70th to earn "Los Catrachos" a third trip to the semifinals in four tries. Honduras climbed to six points in Group B, same as Mexico (but trailing on goal difference) which played Panama later Tuesday.

Barring a nine-goal victory by Panama, Mexico would finish in first in the group and face Group A runner-up Canada on Saturday in Kansas City, Kansas. Only the knockout-round winners will qualify for the London Olympics.

Defending champion Honduras has won the CONCACAF U-23 title twice before, both times when the tournament was staged in the United States.

Trinidad finished with a second loss and one point, outscored 10-1 in three games.

Honduras hit the bar with Johnny Leveron's shot from the top of the area in the 17th minute and had virtual control of the match until the second half.

The Catrachos went ahead when Wilmer Crisanto curled a cross into the area and Lozano was able to get an extended right foot to it. The ball popped high in the middle of the area and Hernandez was quicker to get his head to it before Trinidad keeper Andre Marchan could react, knocking it lazily into the goal.

Marchan, playing in his third game despite suffering a concussion in the opener on Friday against Mexico, was active throughout fielding chances by Andy Najar, Mario Martinez and Lozano before having to punch Ever Alvarado's shot high over the bar in the 51st.

But Trinidad enjoyed a spell of possession and half chances midway through the second half, with Kevin Molino sending a cross through the goal box in the 61st, shooting over the bar from just outside the area in the 63rd and pulling a left-footed effort wide of the near post in the 65th.

"We give away soft goals every game," Trinidad coach Angus Eve said. "But in saying that, if we take our chances, we ease off the pressure on our defenders. We keep not taking the chances that we create. We created a lot of chances.

We brought on two faster strikers (Shahdon Winchester and Trevin Caesar); we started them and it worked to perfection. They were in the back all the time. They were twisting and turning. We just didn't put the ball in the back of the net."

The Soca Warriors' resistance all but ended when Lozano double the lead.

Najar curled a cross from the right that Hernandez headed down from the middle of the area. Lozano settled the ball off his thighs and finished from the edge of the six-yard box.

"We had plenty chances at goal and we took advantage of some," Honduras coach Luis Fernandez Suarez said. "(Trinidad) came out wanting to shoot from outside. We knew we had to show more security coming out of the back and be a bit more calm."

Honduras continued to push to the end, forcing Marchan to push Hernandez's header over the bar in the 90th and Afredo Mejia putting a right-footed shot from the top of the area off the left post in the 91st.

"This was an important game for us against Trinidad because of what it meant, a berth to the next round," Mejia said. "We are getting used to playing in games like this.

"We hope we can continue to play well against El Salvador. That's going to be an up and down game."

Honduras and El Salvador finished atop their respective Central American qualifying groups and will meet for the fourth time at the U-23 level in a competitive match. Honduras has won two of the three previous meetings and drew the other.

Highlights: - Honduras v Trinidad & Tobago

Teams

Honduras: - José Mendoza, Wilmer Crisanto (Gerson Rodas 84th), Johnny Leverón, Ever Alvarado, Hilder Colón, Mario Martínez (Luis Garrido 79th), Alfredo Mejía, Arnold Peralta, Andy Najar, Eddie Hernandez, Antony Lozano (Yellow 69) (Orlin Peralta 73rd).

Coach: - Luis Suárez.

Trinidad and Tobago: - Andre Marchan, Sheldon Bateau (capt), Curtis Gonzales (Jayson Joseph 64th), Mekeil Williams (Yellow 59) (Jomal Williams 76th), Daneil Cyrus, Joevin Jones, Kareem Moses, Kevin Molino, Kevan George (Yellow 24), Shahdon Winchester, Trevin Caesar (Yellow 46) (Jamal Gay 61st).

Coach: - Angus Eve.

Referee: - Jair Marrufo (USA).

Venue: - The Home Depot Center Carson, California.

Standings

P  W  T  L  GF  GA  GD  Pts   
Mexico  3 3 0 0 11 1 +10 9
Honduras  3 2 0 1 5 4 +1 6
Panama  3 0 1 2 2 5 -3 1
Trinidad & Tobago  3 0 1 2 2 10 -8 1

T&T exits Olympic qualifiers with 2-0 loss to Honduras.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s 2012 Olympic qualifying campaign came to a halt on Tuesday night as they suffered a 2-0 defeat to Honduras in their final Group B encounter at the Home Depot Center, California.

Requiring a win to advance to the semi-finals, the Angus Eve-coached team fell short on the evening and finished the tournament with one point following their 1-1 draw with Panama on Sunday. Mexico defeated Panama 1-0 in the later match to top the group with T&T finishing bottom on one point behind Panama on goal difference.

T&T started with two attacking forwards in Trevin Caesar and Shahdon Winchester for the first time in the tournament as they went in search of early goals and the latter had two glorious opportunities to put T&T on the scoresheet in the first half.

Eve could chose not to utilize the services of Seattle Sounders striker Cordell Cato who sustained an ankle blow in training before the Panama match.

Honduras, the tournament’s defending champions didn’t dominate T&T for the most part of the match  but took their chances well with goals from Eddie Hernandez in the 37th minute and Antony Lozano in the 70th minute to seal their semi-final spot versus El Salvador which knocked the United States out the previous evening with a 3-3 draw.

The Hondurans, coached by Luis Fernando Suarez, hit the bar with Johnny Leveron's shot from the top of the area in the 17th minute and goalkeeper Andre Marchan pulled off a few good saves to deny them until he struggled to reach a cross from Wilmer Cristano which Lozano got a touch on before Hernandez nailed home from close range. Marchan had earlier made a brilliant stop to deny Antony Lozano

Daneil Cyrus and Kareem Moses were steady at the back with good support from Curtis Gonzales while Polish-based defender Mekeil Williams was a bit off his usual self.

The Honduras goal was an obvious setback for T&T which got good combination plays from Kevin Molino and Joevin Jones on a few occasions as they enjoyed a fair amount of possession particularly after the break.

Caesar had a couple good looks at goal but he struggled with his footwork which meant his pace never really posed much of a threat in either of the three matches.

Moments after Honduras went 1-0 up, Winchester got a ball on the left of the box and cut into the area before preferring pace instead of placement on his right footed shot which went straight at goalkeeper Jose Mendoza.

Caesar’s best play of the tournament came in the 43rd minute when he used his quickness to beat his man on the right and moved into the box before whipping a good ball over but there was no T&T player to connect.

After breaking from a goalmouth scrimmage in their penalty box, T&T went close to equalizing when Molino crossed from the right but an unmarked Winchester could only direct his header from the top of the six yard straight to Mendoza and Eve held his head in dismay realizing how crucial a goal at that stage would have been.

T&T went all out in the second half and deserved credit for some enterprising play which saw the crowd behind them but they lacked the final touch and killer instinct on goal to trouble the Hondurans.

Molino had two efforts on goal, one a powerful over bar effort in the 63rd,while Bateau had a close range effort saved and 17-year-old substitute Jomal Williams had a shot stopped by Mendoza.

If T&T had started their matches like they played the final 20 minutes with the type of hustle and urgency in their play, they probably would stand a better chance of a more positive outcome. T&T went into the tournament with high expectations but simply did not deliver as hoped against opposition they are almost certain to face in future CONCACAF engagements.

Technical Director Anton Corneal was in California for all three games and he certainly would have made his observations prior to now setting about on the necessary adjustments and improvements for T&T’s game on the international stage beyond the Caribbean zone.

Eve later expressed his disappointment on not seeing T&T progress in the tournament.

“I think the determination of the guys and the never say die attitude was good at times.  We did pass the ball well at times. I thought we played very good football at times after we settled down after the first couple of days.

The biggest problem for me was in the goalscoring in the tournament,” Eve said when asked by reporters on his perspective of T&T’s showing. He also knocked Honduras for trying to stall the game at times with their players going down and holding up the play.

“I thought the guys played an excellent game. We gave away soft goals but saying that, if we took our chances we would ease off the pressure a bit. We brought on two faster strikers today and it worked well but we didn’t take our chances.

Unfortunately we did not get the required result to move on and it’s back to the drawing board for us. Hopefully we can rise out of this and continue preparing the players to perform at a good level in international football.”

The T&T team will return to Port of Spain at 10:30pm on Wednesday night.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 04:58:46 AM by Flex »

Re: Honduras completes Olympic qualifying semis, T&T eliminated.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 05:51:27 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NS-w5537h-E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NS-w5537h-E</a>

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 06:34:22 AM »
It looks like we are a 20 minutes football side. Will someone please tell our players the game is 90 minutes +
 Well there is the Digicel Cup to look forward to and hopefully a new Coach.
 I am praying that this Easter will  truly be Resurrection time for the T&T federation
 Let us just hope they will have eyes to see and hearts to feel.
 It is not miracle but Logic someone said on this site. Maybe we are looking for a football savior.

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 06:37:04 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/OeeEuD71pto" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/OeeEuD71pto</a>

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2012, 07:03:29 AM »
It looks like we are a 20 minutes football side. Will someone please tell our players the game is 90 minutes +
 Well there is the Digicel Cup to look forward to and hopefully a new Coach.
 I am praying that this Easter will  truly be Resurrection time for the T&T federation
 Let us just hope they will have eyes to see and hearts to feel.
 It is not miracle but Logic someone said on this site. Maybe we are looking for a football savior.

correction .... Will someone please tell our players and coaches the game is 90 minutes +

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2012, 07:07:59 AM »
T&T started with two attacking forwards in Trevin Caesar and Shahdon Winchester for the first time in the tournament as they went in search of early goals and the latter had two glorious opportunities to put T&T on the scoresheet in the first half

So why did he not do this against panama ? eve always changed is starting line up  he never had a solid starting 11 from since last year ....

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 07:34:11 AM »
Jamal Gay should never start for T&T, it's pointless. We do not have the players to put in the type of crosses for him to use his height and to have one player up front. He is also too immobile.
We have to work our way into the final 3rd.

Bottom line we need a new coach. Someone who is capable to have these players moving all the time, making spaces and moving into spaces all game, all the time. That is what Mexico does all game. They always giving the player with the ball about 5 different passes he could make at any one time.
Our players wait to see what the fella with the ball would do instead of giving him different options

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2012, 07:45:07 AM »
Jamal Gay should never start for T&T, it's pointless. We do not have the players to put in the type of crosses for him to use his height and to have one player up front. He is also too immobile.
We have to work our way into the final 3rd.

Bottom line we need a new coach. Someone who is capable to have these players moving all the time, making spaces and moving into spaces all game, all the time. That is what Mexico does all game. They always giving the player with the ball about 5 different passes he could make at any one time.
Our players wait to see what the fella with the ball would do instead of giving him different options

By your shitty analysis, no damn forward should ever start for T&T again as you pointed out there are no capable players who can deliver the ball....by your analysis we should stop playing competitive games and keep training until
1.  we get players who can cross
2.  we players learn how to cross

Gay is not to be blamed for this shitty display

The coaching staff has the team playing too predictable and direct!

Gay is following instructions and if he were to run all over the field he still eh getting service based on your observations...and mine.

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2012, 08:34:55 AM »
Okay so I just watched the highlights and  am yet to see the 2 chances we supposedly had to put T&T ahead  ???

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2012, 08:48:03 AM »
So how was Marchand in this game? Any better than against Mexico?

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2012, 08:52:48 AM »
Hard to say from the highlights alone, but it looked as though it was a classic game of backs and forwards.  I saw Winchester get two chances at the goal...a weak shot and a header straight to the keeper, but nothing else from our team.  It didn't appear that our defenders were marking properly either.  The Hondurans looked fitter and faster to the ball and were given too much space to play.

« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2012, 09:16:18 AM »
Hmmm, just occurred to me. With the way things turned out in the other group (US out, Canada finishing second), the 2 teams from our group could both qualify for the Olympics. Too bad we couldn't grab that second spot, but Honduras was always going to be tough to beat.

« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 01:11:25 PM »
Okay so I just watched the highlights and  am yet to see the 2 chances we supposedly had to put T&T ahead  ???

Elan, one ha to be de SITTER header that Mcintosh get on the stroke of halftime.

On ah silver effing platter!!!!

« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2012, 02:46:23 PM »
Trini massive, football is not an instant gratification sport bro, yuh must put time, money and serious effort into football before you could even see signs of a reward. now it's ah known fact that we have been competing on this level for yrs with very little success,

that bc every time a tournament rolls around, the football bosses does run and hire a coach six months or so before the thing start, get ah bunch of guys together and start a camp, play ah few warm up games , and then jump into the tourney and expect to do well, now how mad iz dat??

when you going to a tourney, yuh have to be prepared @ least two yrs in advance, yuh need ah coach working with yuh players two yrs in advance so he could see who are his best available options, and when i say coach, i mean the best coach money could buy. 

fellas like st claire, latas , angus, vranes, anton, brian williams and co are not proven coaches on any level, forinstance, has angus eve coached on any level, be it club or international before he landed this job?

you can't just employ a coach based on the fact that he was ah pro player for decades, especially to coach your yutes, this is madness! these fellas need to go out and learn the craft before they could coach anyone.

now look, the degicel tourney is coming up and we still don't have a coach, hudson charles?? come on, haven't these ppl learn anything yet? we are six months away from the degicel cup and we still don't have a good coach for the senior team, woss yet, we haven't played with our best team for the whole yr, and when we get beaten, they jump and say the boys eh good and they didn't put in ah good enough effort, when in reality, it's the lazy administrators to blame.

like i said before, our country doesn't take nothing seriously, so as a result, the ppl suffer, but the woss part iz, if the ppl stand up and be counted, then they really don't have to suffer, so my analysis, the ppl suffer bc they're not serious, just like the ppl that rule them!

« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2012, 02:55:06 PM »
Trini massive, football is not an instant gratification sport bro, yuh must put time, money and serious effort into football before you could even see signs of a reward. now it's ah known fact that we have been competing on this level for yrs with very little success,

that bc every time a tournament rolls around, the football bosses does run and hire a coach six months or so before the thing start, get ah bunch of guys together and start a camp, play ah few warm up games , and then jump into the tourney and expect to do well, now how mad iz dat??

when you going to a tourney, yuh have to be prepared @ least two yrs in advance, yuh need ah coach working with yuh players two yrs in advance so he could see who are his best available options, and when i say coach, i mean the best coach money could buy. 

fellas like st claire, latas , angus, vranes, anton, brian williams and co are not proven coaches on any level, forinstance, has angus eve coached on any level, be it club or international before he landed this job?

you can't just employ a coach based on the fact that he was ah pro player for decades, especially to coach your yutes, this is madness! these fellas need to go out and learn the craft before they could coach anyone.

now look, the degicel tourney is coming up and we still don't have a coach, hudson charles?? come on, haven't these ppl learn anything yet? we are six months away from the degicel cup and we still don't have a good coach for the senior team, woss yet, we haven't played with our best team for the whole yr, and when we get beaten, they jump and say the boys eh good and they didn't put in ah good enough effort, when in reality, it's the lazy administrators to blame.

like i said before, our country doesn't take nothing seriously, so as a result, the ppl suffer, but the woss part iz, if the ppl stand up and be counted, then they really don't have to suffer, so my analysis, the ppl suffer bc they're not serious, just like the ppl that rule them!

You remember at the turn of the federation, it was announced that the investments made in Corneal bear fruit in his appointment as TD. Therefore, this pattern is being replicated for local coaches gain experience and eventually bearing fruits.

???   :-\

Offline jason23

« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2012, 03:20:58 PM »
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! from a football fanatic as myself. it 2say the least....that football in this country is dead.!!! sad to say........Gone are the day's you wanna watch your country men play and represent you at the highest level with pride and passion!!.....now..its all about.... me me me....i wont lie...i haven't had no zeal in Trinidad and Tobago football for the long while...even doh i support silently by reading and listening 2 some news and always frequenting here in silent.. pertaining to our football........

!!!....and the sad thing about it is that even thou they played.. and lost!! there is no emotion's 2wards the lost.and how they lost..in that qualifier's... in my mind ..** i said((they lost OK no scene.. it eh ha nothing to do with me..waste of time on them**)) and i could say the same for many of my friends who love football with a passion.!! so in all!! all im saying is.. that im sad to say!! unless God forbid!! he decided 2 call all them old fart's who running the federation!! and regional zone's!! football will be dead..........cause its my belief that yes...... as young one's they have 2 have a passion an desire..for the game an work hard etc etc.......but if u don't have a Organization that breeds professionalism..and.. act's that way with passion an desire...and your going into that profession where these lackadaisical....old fart's run mostly on ego rather than pride and passion for country..........!!! then it's sad to say football in this country is dead..and when i mean dead.. i mean in supporter's interest in the game an ppl who love the sport etc........

!!! just my two cents!!
ps: Trinibago people and sport's men and woman need 2 develop a action.response rather than  a big talker response....i believe that is one off our down fall.. we always talk big! but never cud walk the walk....if little success come.. well feel we is the best yet not knowing...with that little success comes......humility...hardwork..desire.. and passion to go with it......not bettin your chest like a star boi!!(eg when we drew 1-1)...... i think i gonna start back supporting cricket yess!!!

« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2012, 03:53:38 PM »

Cool, I understand where you coming from but I don't agree with you on Angus. Look, Angus failed. We thought or maybe some us thought he would have had them prepare at least mentally for the tournament. But that was not the case. He must be given the chance at some time. If they had given him the WC squad, I would have kind of agreed. But any other tournament is fair game. he coached them at the PanAm and the CFU qualifying. What more you want. Let me make it plain, that squad no ready. Maybe next year when the coaches, TD and players make a self evaluation.

« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2012, 04:40:10 PM »
Eve say Honduras look flat...and we get two almost tree...de man start talking bout de referee eh put enough time as de keeper was down for five mins and man was flappin everytime dey get foul...but Mr. Eve miss de whole point as there was no way he could say his team was prepared to play 90mins so the Hondurans recognizing dat was only giving we a breather....

Offline Small Change

« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2012, 12:59:56 AM »
Honduras eh look FLAT to me! Eve talking NONSENSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2012, 02:23:25 AM »
So we missed out but that was not unexpected after what happened against Mexico,that hammering could be such a psychological barrier it may have affected the boys in the other 2 matches.You do have to say that we recovered somewhat and maybe if we had all the players things could have been different,we are always producing Jekyll and Hyde performances so this tournament was no different.I hope this team continues to develop coz they could be the neucleus of our team in 2 or 3 years.

« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2012, 06:39:34 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6T1LerkOOlw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6T1LerkOOlw</a>

« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2012, 08:08:03 AM »
Ha Ha Ha this is my amusement for the Morning.

« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2012, 08:50:37 AM »
Ha Ha Ha this is my amusement for the Morning.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6T1LerkOOlw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6T1LerkOOlw</a>

motivate them angus

« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2012, 09:15:52 AM »
"We bought on two fast strikers and it worked to perfection, they couldn't score. They were in the back all the time. Not only that, we played an excellent game, we gave away soft goals" — Angus Eve.

The operation was a success. The patient died.

« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2012, 11:28:52 AM »
"We bought on two fast strikers and it worked to perfection, they couldn't score. They were in the back all the time. Not only that, we played an excellent game, we gave away soft goals" — Angus Eve.

The operation was a success. The patient died.

« Reply #25 on: April 01, 2012, 02:26:36 PM »
Until we get good offensive and defensive mid-fields, we in for a long ride.

« Reply #26 on: April 01, 2012, 04:13:55 PM »

These fellas rel delusional boy...........I now seeing why we does lorse.

« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2012, 07:11:14 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/abpCj22j02M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/abpCj22j02M</a>