April 28, 2024, 01:20:56 AM

Author Topic: Teen charged with assault for attack on the soccer field.  (Read 5929 times)

Teen charged with assault for attack on the soccer field.
« on: March 29, 2012, 09:26:31 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9BMy3k_JMio" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9BMy3k_JMio</a>

South Carolina teen’s brutal soccer attack earns assault charge
By Cameron Smith (Yahoo.com)

It seemed to come out of nowhere. In the midst of a tight South Carolina girls soccer match between two area rivals, a player fell after a seemingly innocuous foul. While most anticipated that she would calmly restart play, what she did instead has sparked a criminal investigation.

The player who is now the subject of local law enforcement is Lewisville (S.C.) High senior Annette McCullough, who brutally attacked an unnamed Chester (S.C.) High opponent during a Monday match. While there is no video showcasing prior incidents between the two players, McCullough reacted viciously to a small trip that sent her tumbling to the ground.

The attack, which you can see above, featured hair pulling, punches being rained down on the Chester player -- Carolinas CBS affiliate WBTV counted 11 different punches -- and a frantic attempt to halt the attack before it reached even more dangerous levels.

Fittingly, McCullough was immediately sent off with a red card, escorted away from the field with the aid of an assistant referee. Shortly thereafter Chester County deputies were called to the scene and McCullough -- who is 18 years old -- was charged with simple assault.

Alan Parker, the referee of the match,  made perfectly clear that this incident invoked a sense of violence that made it much more troubling than other girls soccer skirmishes.

"Some incidental contact ended in one girl going down and she just got up and started pummeling," Parker told WBTV. "It's unfortunate, it really is. Contact is a part of soccer, but when you retaliate like that, obviously, there is no place in the game for that.

"Occasionally you have players that go at it, on the field together, but in this case it was just one girl pummeling the other girl. And she didn't stop which is even more egregious."

It's hard to watch the incident without thinking back to New Mexico defender Elizabeth Lambert, whose hair pulling and general dirty play in a game against BYU received massive internet attention and eventually landed her a lengthy suspension. One could argue that Lambert's fouls may have been worse because she was more level-headed when committing them, but they certainly weren't as violent as McCullough's attack.

Now the senior is likely to receive a significant penalty -- the mother of the victim insisted that she will push to have McCullough prosecuted to the fullest possible extent and be banned from any further soccer action -- and doesn't appear to be receiving any support from her school, either.

"I know it will not be tolerated on this team and here in Lewisville," Lewisville assistant girls soccer coach Paul Atkerson told WBTV. "This is something that should not have happened, it should not have happened at all."

Re: Teen charged with assault for attack on the soccer field.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 09:28:52 AM »
oh dats just bad.. she should be put in facking jail right away.. there is no place for dat in football..

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2012, 09:38:07 AM »
oh dats just bad.. she should be put in facking jail right away.. there is no place for dat in football..

I agree with you, but I have a question. Are ice hockey players charged with assault when they fight in the rink? The kinda beating I see hockey players dish out on de regular and not get charged just baffles me.

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 09:50:58 AM »

I agree with you, but I have a question. Are ice hockey players charged with assault when they fight in the rink? The kinda beating I see hockey players dish out on de regular and not get charged just baffles me.

Fighting is part of the game and allowed in ice hockey. Sometimes game now start, puck drop and is 2 and 3 fight break out one time.
If anybody fall to the floor they have to break it up though

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 11:00:17 AM »

Players enter onto the ice with the expectation that a fight could happen at any moment, as FF pointed out, it is a part of the game, as uncomfortable though as many are with that concession.  There are hardly any "beatings" in hockey, usually is two men engaged in some kinda silly dance going man to man.  This wasn't a fight... this was an attack.  To use your hockey example, even there fighting has it's limits and many players have been charged over the years.

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2012, 11:13:56 AM »
Well since nobody brought it up...I will play Devil's advocate....now I'm in no way condoning the player's actions, but...
When I read about the terms used...'sparked a criminal investigation' and 'prosecuted to the fullest possible extent and be banned from any further soccer action'...and hearing that is in SC...I just wondering if it was a white girl 'pummeling' a black girl, if such terms and actions would have been the order of the day.  It sounding like a murder was committed.

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2012, 11:24:20 AM »
Well since nobody brought it up...I will play Devil's advocate....now I'm in no way condoning the player's actions, but...
When I read about the terms used...'sparked a criminal investigation' and 'prosecuted to the fullest possible extent and be banned from any further soccer action'...and hearing that is in SC...I just wondering if it was a white girl 'pummeling' a black girl, if such terms and actions would have been the order of the day.  It sounding like a murder was committed.

That's not playing devil's advocate... that's speculating.  Devil's advocate would be to defend or justify her actions.  I don't think speculation really adds anything to the discussions... if was two grown adults... what if one of them was a guy... if pigs had wings...

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2012, 11:25:36 AM »

That's not playing devil's advocate... that's speculating.  Devil's advocate would be to defend or justify her actions.  I don't think speculation really adds anything to the discussions... if was two grown adults... what if one of them was a guy... if pigs had wings...

Ok Mr. Bakes

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2012, 11:35:55 AM »
Ok Mr. Bakes

I should have added... 'just my opinion'  :)

« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2012, 11:52:57 AM »

Fighting is part of the game and allowed in ice hockey. Sometimes game now start, puck drop and is 2 and 3 fight break out one time.

I've often wondered the same thing, where is the line drawn in terms of what acceptable in sport and what is punishable by law. Or is the law malleable when it comes to offences based on what sport it is.

And i not talking about wrestling or boxing where the fight IS the sport, the sport of ice hockey is about putting the puck into the net.

What i trying to grapple with is if is ice hockey then is ok to pummel a next man, fistfight, draw blood as long as you not on the ground etc..  But then if is football yuh playing that same fistfight could land you in jail... Similarly an altercation that is standard in football that would be commonly referred to as "handbags" or "fisticuffs", if is cricket you playing and you get into it with a next man like that then you could catch a case.

It was the same question I had when Roy Keane put the career ending tackle on Alfe Inge Haaland.. Anywhere outside the stadium and that is common assault but because its on the field it is a free pass.

Just food for thought.

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2012, 11:54:52 AM »

Cross my mind too pardners.

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2012, 12:12:07 PM »
Yo the little exposure I have with this kinda behavior; that is the way a lot of black teenaged females does handle their business (sad to say, but hell it does happen in Trinidad too, check YouTube)

Normally dat kinda violence does be directed towards each other but this time it was at a white girl. Them little white girls (even the ones from the ghetto) ain't trying to square up to fight these little female-thugs/gang-bangers and the like.

With behavior like dat I wouldn't be surprised if she not already in the "system".

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2012, 12:48:35 PM »
I must be had too many fights when I was in HS. I think the assault charge is harsh. Plenty people in crap rec leagues does square off or fight for stupidness.

Without any more information than what we see on the video, we can't really comment on what cause that to happen. This doesn't mean that I condone or seek to justify that. My personal belief is always to handle them thing in the game, plenty ways to deal with people and get your point across without trying to maim someone.

Now that we get that out of the way, I was a little surprised the girl team mates ent run over to help out after seeing her get beat down. Maybe is a girl thing, but I see Brittney Griner and a couple other Baylor women get ejected for running on the court.

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2012, 01:01:01 PM »
I see a couple of things in this video clip....1. the AR was way behind the play and had he been able to keep up he may have been able to prevent this...2. knowing girls none of her teammates came to her aid which is surprising..the one with the ball backed off and others just watched..my speculation is that a beating like that didn't come from repeated fouls but from something that was said.
The other thing is that this clip portrays the young lady as a loose cannon and if that is so then there should a trail of incidents and acts both in school and on the field that would show that.

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2012, 01:01:24 PM »
I must be had too many fights when I was in HS. I think the assault charge is harsh. Plenty people in crap rec leagues does square off or fight for stupidness.

Without any more information than what we see on the video, we can't really comment on what cause that to happen. This doesn't mean that I condone or seek to justify that. My personal belief is always to handle them thing in the game, plenty ways to deal with people and get your point across without trying to maim someone.

Now that we get that out of the way, I was a little surprised the girl team mates ent run over to help out after seeing her get beat down. Maybe is a girl thing, but I see Brittney Griner and a couple other Baylor women get ejected for running on the court.

People keep referring to this as a "fight"... you see one person punch another one 11 times without response and you calling that a fight? Really?  What else yuh really need to see on the tape... ah earlier hard kick from de white girl?  Making cross-societal comparison's hardly helpful either, in Trinidad man quick to pelt chop or big stone fuh ah bad drive... that hardly makes resorting to fisticuffs the appropriate response.

As for Brittney Griner... she get ejected because the rule is if yuh on de bench yuh can't come onto the court during a fight... automatic ejection.  NBA is ejection and automatic one game suspension.  Don't see how that applies here.

I see a couple of things in this video clip....1. the AR was way behind the play and had he been able to keep up he may have been able to prevent this...2. knowing girls none of her teammates came to her aid which is surprising..the one with the ball backed off and others just watched..my speculation is that a beating like that didn't come from repeated fouls but from something that was said.
The other thing is that this clip portrays the young lady as a loose cannon and if that is so then there should a trail of incidents and acts both in school and on the field that would show that.

...or maybe she just get ah hard kick and overreact?

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2012, 01:04:33 PM »
somebody have anger issues

« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2012, 01:21:42 PM »
Bakes maybe she is maybe she isn't what to me is interesting is the reaction of the teammates of the girl who is being pummeled.
The other interesting thing is had this not been videotaped would she have been charged with assault and who determines that her actions are assault? Shouldn't it be up to the the League to determine a course of action?

« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2012, 01:27:44 PM »
Bakes maybe she is maybe she isn't what to me is interesting is the reaction of the teammates of the girl who is being pummeled.
The other interesting thing is had this not been videotaped would she have been charged with assault and who determines that her actions are assault? Shouldn't it be up to the the League to determine a course of action?

Who determines if this is assault?  Prosecutors... dai's ah trick question?  Up to the league? No.  Is it up to the Premier League to determine whether to charge Terry or Suarez with racism?  The League only have oversight over sporting issues... when the line is crossed the authorities take over.  One punch... ah one-two, maybe ah drop-kick, okay we could argue that the line was approached but not crossed.  Eleven unanswered punches on a defenseless player lying on the ground??  Do we really have to argue over whether that constitutes assault?

As for why the girl's team mates didn't get involved... doh act like allyuh dunno how white people fraid black people at times. Dem seeing hand passing so, teenage girls at that... a) they was probably stunned; b) they likely was too intimidated to get involved; c) it have plenty adults around... including the woman in plain clothes who immediately made a break towards the two players.

« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2012, 01:31:11 PM »
People keep referring to this as a "fight"... you see one person punch another one 11 times without response and you calling that a fight? Really? 

Yes, is a fight.

What else yuh really need to see on the tape... ah earlier hard kick from de white girl?

All I saying is that we lack some context here. If she get kick down whole game she might snap.

Sometimes you punch ah man b/c you bad-mind/are an idiot. Sometimes is because that fella do that thing (whatever it might be) one time too many and you react. These days I find plenty young people have very short fuses though. They walking around waiting to react to some perceived slight.

Maybe as she was going down the field, the white girl running after her make her feel threatened and she decide to stand her ground...  ::)

As for Brittney Griner... she get ejected because the rule is if yuh on de bench yuh can't come onto the court during a fight... automatic ejection.  NBA is ejection and automatic one game suspension.  Don't see how that applies here.

This comment was referring to her team mates standing by and doing nothing. I would call that a girl thing, except we saw Griner and them come off the bench to help a team-mate.

« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2012, 01:42:13 PM »
ummm 5 and 22 are close to the player on the ground and both are black...besides look at the size of 22...who would mess with her?

I think calling Police was premature as the school league and the school has its own code of conduct which may have led to assault charges being filed but discipline has been taken out of the hands of the school and the league under which they play.

« Reply #20 on: March 29, 2012, 01:47:16 PM »
ummm 5 and 22 are close to the player on the ground and both are black...besides look at the size of 22...who would mess with her?

I think calling Police was premature as the school league and the school has its own code of conduct which may have led to assault charges being filed but discipline has been taken out of the hands of the school and the league under which they play.

There is already a precedent for calling the police and assault charges.
This girl break the next one cheekbone.

http://rivals.yahoo.com/highschool/blog/prep_rally/post/girls-soccer-player-handed-assault-charge-for-in-game-punch?urn=highschool,wp7451

« Reply #21 on: March 29, 2012, 01:49:32 PM »
They did not charge the girl from the college incident though.

« Reply #22 on: March 29, 2012, 01:52:30 PM »
Yo the little exposure I have with this kinda behavior; that is the way a lot of black teenaged females does handle their business (sad to say, but hell it does happen in Trinidad too, check YouTube)

Normally dat kinda violence does be directed towards each other but this time it was at a white girl. Them little white girls (even the ones from the ghetto) ain't trying to square up to fight these little female-thugs/gang-bangers and the like.

With behavior like dat I wouldn't be surprised if she not already in the "system".

The lil white girl who does only pass by my daughter and call her nigger, nobody eh hearing that. But if my daughter decide to res some blows on she, like yuh say is another mad black girl. SMDH

« Reply #23 on: March 29, 2012, 01:53:51 PM »

I've often wondered the same thing, where is the line drawn in terms of what acceptable in sport and what is punishable by law. Or is the law malleable when it comes to offences based on what sport it is.

And i not talking about wrestling or boxing where the fight IS the sport, the sport of ice hockey is about putting the puck into the net.

What i trying to grapple with is if is ice hockey then is ok to pummel a next man, fistfight, draw blood as long as you not on the ground etc..  But then if is football yuh playing that same fistfight could land you in jail... Similarly an altercation that is standard in football that would be commonly referred to as "handbags" or "fisticuffs", if is cricket you playing and you get into it with a next man like that then you could catch a case.

It was the same question I had when Roy Keane put the career ending tackle on Alfe Inge Haaland.. Anywhere outside the stadium and that is common assault but because its on the field it is a free pass.

Just food for thought.

Wait till dem gjetto youths figure out a way to play hockey and dominate it, then she how much fighting "is part of the game".

« Reply #24 on: March 29, 2012, 02:13:02 PM »
This is not an isolated incident,these things happen all the time in sports in the US,is either parents,Coaches or the kids themselves are involved,try reading a rules book for any sport or any league and you will see the kind of stringent rules they have you will swear you in law school,it's to try and control incidents like this.

I could understand kids not going to the assistance of their team mate,this place so funny yu get involved and then you are charged too,the race card come into play etc etc i'm surprised it did not turn into a fiasco,somebody mention it was not a murder but if people did not stop that girl who knows what could have happened.

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #25 on: March 29, 2012, 03:18:57 PM »
Not to mention the law suits that would probably follow once the lawyers get a hold of this and start advising the victim and her family, especially if that girl suffered any facial injury. I could see law suits against the school district(s), the individual high school (s), the family of the attacker...

And for any violence on any school property here in Texas, protocol is to call the police because with everybody potentially packin heat... need I say more. But every school in our school district has its own school district police squad assigned and they attend every sporting event. They have the same authority as city police. Again, it's Texas.

My daughter got into a fight last year, playing for her high school soccer team, home game, and as soon as the ref walked her to the sideline, I immediately took her to the car and left before the police could make their way over to where we were. I did come back and check with them and the principal to make sure it was all good. It was a home game so naturally they were biased and cut her slack. Had it been an away game, it could have gone differently. 
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #26 on: March 29, 2012, 03:50:16 PM »
Yes, is a fight.

Maybe on your planet.  Even in Trinidad we calling dat "advantage".  Maybe yuh should start by looking up the definition of 'assault'.

All I saying is that we lack some context here. If she get kick down whole game she might snap.

Sometimes you punch ah man b/c you bad-mind/are an idiot. Sometimes is because that fella do that thing (whatever it might be) one time too many and you react. These days I find plenty young people have very short fuses though. They walking around waiting to react to some perceived slight.

Maybe as she was going down the field, the white girl running after her make her feel threatened and she decide to stand her ground...  ::)

The only context that's lacking here is if this was self-defense... which it clearly wasn't.  All that other shit yuh type is an excuse for why she mighta assaulted the girl... it doesn't change the fact that this was an assault and that the rightfully looking at it from that angle.

« Reply #27 on: March 29, 2012, 03:54:05 PM »
Whatever happened prior the incident is no excuse for all that excessive force and retaliation. I would have understood if she got up and got into her face and maybe a push or something...but that was pure blows passing and she did not look like she was going to stop until some damage was done.

What is interesting though, no one from the opposing team made any attempt to stop it or even got into a verbal attack on the aggressor. Either they were shocked or used to that type of thing happening. Just my take.

« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2012, 03:55:12 PM »
Not to mention the law suits that would probably follow once the lawyers get a hold of this and start advising the victim and her family, especially if that girl suffered any facial injury. I could see law suits against the school district(s), the individual high school (s), the family of the attacker...

And for any violence on any school property here in Texas, protocol is to call the police because with everybody potentially packin heat... need I say more. But every school in our school district has its own school district police squad assigned and they attend every sporting event. They have the same authority as city police. Again, it's Texas.

My daughter got into a fight last year, playing for her high school soccer team, home game, and as soon as the ref walked her to the sideline, I immediately took her to the car and left before the police could make their way over to where we were. I did come back and check with them and the principal to make sure it was all good. It was a home game so naturally they were biased and cut her slack. Had it been an away game, it could have gone differently. 

Doh study these men... dem feel is North Eastern plaing Toco Composite or something.  Trinidad so vaille qui vaille that it does seep into we very personality.

« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2012, 07:31:04 PM »
I have SERIOUS!!! misgivings about the criminalization of this incident ... Watch di ride.