Contro, Bro, How many times TT football dead?
TT football was never dead, however, now that we have seen the cycle begin again with the recycling of leadership, it is official, many said jw was the problem, but he's not the problem, the problem lies with the people as a whole.
You drinking in yuh livin room or what?? trinidad football was never alive!! so it had no cause to ded!
first off, we are a very talented ppl, and we "were" very brave and charismatic @ one time so we showcased our talent for the world to see, ah natural God given gift, or some freak of nature, or something in the air, soil or water. phenomenal as it was, we always seemed to pull of the improbable.
now that's not to say that we were not in love with football, or that we didn't have a strong desire to join the ranks of football's elite, but we definitely was not a footballing nation, and football never got off the ground in T&T.
it's only in the last decade that we had enough interest to conjure up a pro league, and that league has proven it self to be a failure, since it can't attract spectators and sponsors alike. i remember back in the days fellas played football for applause and the love of the game, and right after the game, fellas went back to being strunters beggin for ah beer, a cold solo, ah malta and beef pie, and they still played with more heart than these "pros".
as for T&T football being ded, bro, i was there, and though it was more fanfare, plenty spectatorship and ppl had much love for the game, our football was never established, no pro league, no facilities, no structure, and no one cared about football enough to give it life, just like today.
we agree to disagree, that's your opinion bro, everyone has their own story to tell and bone to pick.
our people are to blame, not jw and the players alone, it starts with society, it has many talented players outside trini that can't make the team but could make a difference and that is just the tip of the iceberg, we also have the right minds to run our football but they too are kept away.
our society is the cause of this, plain and simple, no big diatribe is needed to explain that
Eh TI, are we talking bout the same thing? bc i don't want tuh be all over the place with this! this is not a matter of opinion, this is fact! i iz not no lil child, and i could tell yuh bc i was there, our football was always in ah sh!tty condition.
the fact that we had one fackin TV channel, and ppl would rather be out and about than sitting @ home watching sesame street, clopper castle, cat weasel or readin rainbow (all kiddie shows) that made sports such ah big hit, bc we didn't have shyte else to do, so man went to the savannah and kick ball for ah bandolo team just to stay entertained.
some fellas was good enough tuh play or ah club, malvern, peterborough, colts, carenarge UTD, maple ect, but there was no pay, and no red carpet, just temari and hard tacke in yuh rass.
not until arthur suite came around football had some dignity, and yet still that didn't last too long.
football really took off in T&T in the mid eighties with the semi pro league, with teams like trintoc and ASL who attracted ah lot of ppl, even though that was not ah big big league.
after a while fellas started goin outside to play football and getting pro contracts on a regular, but all those yrs T&T football was runnin on solo and beef pies, and football was a past time, not no official sport as in other countries who we could consider footballing nations.
so this is not an opinion as you would like to think, if yuh think ah lying, just ask deeks and coop if T&T was ever a footballing nation, and while yuh @ it, ask them where was the first youth academy, or the elite training facility, hek, the only place that was officially dedicated to football was PSA, and it was ah bumpy dusty half turf half dirt field that every one used for sporting events, hek, even my school kept their track meets there/ sports day.