March 28, 2024, 08:18:58 PM

Author Topic: WI Test Team for 1st test against Aussies announced  (Read 1996 times)

WI Test Team for 1st test against Aussies announced
« on: April 04, 2012, 12:14:29 PM »
Darren Sammy (Captain)
Kirk Edwards (Vice Captain)
Adrian Barath
Carlton Baugh (Wicket-keeper)
Devendra Bishoo
Kraigg Brathwaite
Darren Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Narsingh Deonarine
Fidel Edwards
Kieran Powell
Ravi Rampaul
Kemar Roach

Re: WI Test Team for 1st test against Aussies announced
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 12:20:07 PM »
the team that should play in the 1st test:

Barath
Deonarine
Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Baugh
Sammy
Roach
Rampaul
Bishoo
Edwards

imo both powell and KB are wasted picks, should be nowhere near the team and cannot open with Barath, the selectors have messed up in regards to that decision. You have a player like nash that should have been picked ahead of powell or KB to play. West Indies are now a batsman short and it would be a risk to play 5 bowlers. Normally deonarine would fill the #6 spot but he is better suited to open especially against australia, Barath cannot have the pressure placed on him solely.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2012, 04:00:11 PM »

Barath
Deonarine
Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Baugh
Sammy
Roach
Rampaul
Bishoo
Edwards

imo both powell and KB are wasted picks, should be nowhere near the team and cannot open with Barath, the selectors have messed up in regards to that decision. You have a player like nash that should have been picked ahead of powell or KB to play. West Indies are now a batsman short and it would be a risk to play 5 bowlers. Normally deonarine would fill the #6 spot but he is better suited to open especially against australia, Barath cannot have the pressure placed on him solely.

Don't agree with you. There is no way Deonarine will open so the team will look like this:
Barath
Braithwaite/Powell
K Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Deonarine
Baugh
Sammy
Rampaul
K Roach/F Edwards
Bishoo

Rampaul may even miss out in favour for Edwards and Roach. Can't see us playing 5 bowlers.

Is Baugh really the best keeper in the Windies? The guy cannot bat, so you are batsman short (pardon de pun), once he is in the team. What a pull stones!
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 04:08:58 PM by behind-de-bridge »

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2012, 05:56:26 PM »

Agree with the above. The team is doing reasonably well under Sammy.

However, Sammy continues to pose a bit of a selection dilemma in the middle order and the attack is still a bit unbalanced...especially given the fragile batting.
Edwards, Roach and Bishoo should play. It would be nice to play Rampaul, but Sammy has to play and will be first change bowler. No Gayle or Samuels in the squad leaves the bowling options a bit short (and this might explain Deonarine in the squad as well).

What we might see is Edwards and Roach starting, Sammy in the middle mixing it up, with Bishoo bowling a whole heap of overs.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 05:58:29 PM by Conquering Lion »
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2012, 10:11:38 PM »

Barath
Deonarine
Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Baugh
Sammy
Roach
Rampaul
Bishoo
Edwards

Don't agree with you. There is no way Deonarine will open so the team will look like this:
Barath
Braithwaite/Powell
K Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Deonarine
Baugh
Sammy
Rampaul
K Roach/F Edwards
Bishoo

Rampaul may even miss out in favour for Edwards and Roach. Can't see us playing 5 bowlers.

Is Baugh really the best keeper in the Windies? The guy cannot bat, so you are batsman short (pardon de pun), once he is in the team. What a pull stones!

truss me i know thats the team, in an ideal world, powell and kb would be dropped and ramdin is still not 100% so baugh getting a chance once more

« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2012, 10:12:58 PM »

However, Sammy continues to pose a bit of a selection dilemma in the middle order and the attack is still a bit unbalanced...especially given the fragile batting.
Edwards, Roach and Bishoo should play. It would be nice to play Rampaul, but Sammy has to play and will be first change bowler. No Gayle or Samuels in the squad leaves the bowling options a bit short (and this might explain Deonarine in the squad as well).

What we might see is Edwards and Roach starting, Sammy in the middle mixing it up, with Bishoo bowling a whole heap of overs.

sammy is not captaincy material and is there because of his passport, samuels has failed since his return, deonarine is the best pick, all he needs to do is get fit and samuels will be gone. i was a big samuels fan but he doesn't deserve to be on the team

« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2012, 11:35:51 PM »

sammy is not captainchttp://www.espncricinfo.com/west-indies-v-australia-2012/content/current/story/559865.html

sammy is not captaincy material and is there because of his passport, samuels has failed since his return, deonarine is the best pick, all he needs to do is get fit and samuels will be gone. i was a big samuels fan but he doesn't deserve to be on the team
y material and is there because of his passport, samuels has failed since his return, deonarine is the best pick, all he needs to do is get fit and samuels will be gone. i was a big samuels fan but he doesn't deserve to be on the team

Deonarine on probation.....he needs to get fit AND make runs and got in given poor performances in the regional tournament. Same deal as with Sarwan re fitness. Check Otis comments...i.e., "he is a like for like replacement for Samuels"

http://www.espncricinfo.com/west-indies-v-australia-2012/content/current/story/559865.html

Sammy might not be captaincy material in your opinion because does not strongly command a place in the team as a bowler or batsman......but you cannot argue with the fight that he brings to the team that has rubbed off on the team as a unit.

Yes, the batting is still prone to collapses and Sammy's place makes it hard to play an extra batsman, but he does bring some stability at the top...especially when mankind in and out with IPL..
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2012, 11:33:32 AM »

sammy is not captainchttp://www.espncricinfo.com/west-indies-v-australia-2012/content/current/story/559865.html

y material and is there because of his passport, samuels has failed since his return, deonarine is the best pick, all he needs to do is get fit and samuels will be gone. i was a big samuels fan but he doesn't deserve to be on the team

Deonarine on probation.....he needs to get fit AND make runs and got in given poor performances in the regional tournament. Same deal as with Sarwan re fitness. Check Otis comments...i.e., "he is a like for like replacement for Samuels"

http://www.espncricinfo.com/west-indies-v-australia-2012/content/current/story/559865.html

Sammy might not be captaincy material in your opinion because does not strongly command a place in the team as a bowler or batsman......but you cannot argue with the fight that he brings to the team that has rubbed off on the team as a unit.

Yes, the batting is still prone to collapses and Sammy's place makes it hard to play an extra batsman, but he does bring some stability at the top...especially when mankind in and out with IPL..

The only thing I disagree with Otis Gibson on is verbalizing to the media that Deonarine is not fit. This sort of thing should be kept in house. This public dress down not only undermines Deonarine's confidence, it signals weakness and a potential disunity within the West Indian camp to the Australians, who will be looking for whatever psychological edge that they can find.

« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2012, 12:12:20 PM »
The side don't collapse because Sammy is there, we collapse cause we batsmen dotish. How many times has Sammy helped us achieve a respectful total? He does make mistakes, but so does everyone else.

Men just hating on the fella.

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2012, 04:25:19 PM »

Barath
Deonarine
Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Baugh
Sammy
Roach
Rampaul
Bishoo
Edwards

Barath
Braithwaite/Powell
K Edwards
Bravo
Chanderpaul
Deonarine
Baugh
Sammy
Rampaul
K Roach/F Edwards
Bishoo

Agree with the second line up.

Powell, Bravo and Edwards seem to be experiencing a lack of form. Deonarine has had limited success at this level, certainly nothing comparative to Edwards, Barath or Bravo.

So of the six batsmen, there will be a question mark over four of them.
Everyone has forgotten that Deo did amazingly well with the ball this year, so he adds some depth to the team.
IPL  really screw we up boy.