April 27, 2024, 03:32:49 PM

Author Topic: Ex-national footballers screen Under-20 possibles.  (Read 5971 times)

Ex-national footballers screen Under-20 possibles.
« on: April 16, 2012, 04:56:06 AM »
Ex-national footballers assess U-20 talent.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation will continue its talent identification sessions for  Under 20 Men players at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 8am on Tuesday.

A total of one hundred and sixty five players have been looked at by a coaching panel that includes former national goalkeeper Michael McComie, former UK-based professionals Anthony Rougier and Clint Marcelle as well as another ex-goalkeeper Ross Russell, who like McComie , has served on past national teams coaching staffs.

For Tuesday’s session McComie is inviting all players born in 1993 who have yet to attend a session, to show up for an opportunity to be assessed before a final pool is selected to prepare for the Caribbean Football Union Under 20 qualifiers later this year.

“The first couple session was good in terms of the turn out of the players which shows there is an interest from the players.

The biggest challenge we are facing is addressing the pace at which the players are playing at. Some of them have been playing at a slow pace and we need to work on getting them to play at a quicker pace for the international level,” McComie told TTFF Media.

“We have seen a good bunch in terms of talent and skill level and we are working on addressing their attitude towards the training and playing in general.

We’ve had open screening for the past two weeks and then for the upcoming sessions we will be looking at the last group of Under 17 national players and then combine them with the new players we have selected from this new bunch towards selecting a pool of about 35 players to go into full scale preparation.”

In terms of what McComie and his fellow coaches are looking at from the players, he explained “We are looking at their application to the training and their off the ball movement.

What we cannot coach the players  is the willingness to work hard, run and move at a constant pace and that is what will make the difference when it comes to selection. We’ve put them through the paces in terms of passing and movement and then we put them into competitive games to have a look at them.

At this stage we are not coaching them too much but instead we are looking at them in a natural playing environment to assess their speed of thought and play.”

McComie also touched on the interaction between the current coaches and some of the stalwarts in the local game such as Leroy De Leon who was involved in last Thursday’s session at the Ato Boldon Stadium,

“There’s a wealth of experience among the coaches now who recently came out of competitive football but are still involved in the game. We have a lot of fresh ideas and we can also now identify with some of the older or senior past players and coaches like Leroy De Leon and Bertille St Clair.

We can now lean on these coaches for that bit of advice that we did not really have happening before . It’s a nice arrangement from the federation and it’s something that we are excited about,” he ended.

T&T will enter the Caribbean leg of qualification from July 23-31 in a group hosted by St Vincent/Grenadines along with Suriname and Guyana.

The winner of the four preliminary groups and the best second placed team will advance to the final CFU round in Jamaica from November 3-11, 2012. The CONCACAF final round takes place in Puebla, Mexico from February 18-March 2, 2013.

The Caribbean will have five berths in the final 12-nation round from which four will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Turkey. Mexico, Canada and USA are automatic qualifiers to the CONCACAF final round.

« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 05:01:23 AM by Flex »

Re: Ex-national footballers screen Under-20 possibles.
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 08:18:32 AM »
I see there are no plans to visit Tobago to look at players in their "natural playing environment".

Guess as usual the interested players have to pay their own way to go to Trinidad, on their own, to be looked at by the National selectors. While training around strangers for the first time.

But no added pressure on them because they only going to pick the exceptional ones, if any at all, not the ones that might be on par with the Trini's now, but could improve with exposure to training with the national team.

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 08:29:26 AM »
I see there are no plans to visit Tobago to look at players in their "natural playing environment".

Guess as usual the interested players have to pay their own way to go to Trinidad, on their own, to be looked at by the National selectors. While training around strangers for the first time.

But no added pressure on them because they only going to pick the exceptional ones, if any at all, not the ones that might be on par with the Trini's now, but could improve with exposure to training with the national team.

How much does it cost to hop the ferry?  We need to stop coddling and making excuses for players.  While I understand what you are saying, making that extra sacrifice is part of what it takes in order to be successful.

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 08:40:37 AM »

How much does it cost to hop the ferry?  We need to stop coddling and making excuses for players.  While I understand what you are saying, making that extra sacrifice is part of what it takes in order to be successful.

Ok but how many could hop the ferry on Tuesday morning and reach in time for 8am screening ?????

Ok so they go down Monday night...and stay where... Who paying for this....and how many will be able to ????

Most eligible boys will still be in school.

So Ok we get 2 or 3 18,19 yr olds who can make that...so what about the other 10 that might stand a chance ????

Offline socalion

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2012, 09:27:09 AM »
 To all my fellow forumites, Hope everyone's having a great day.! Concerning the screening sessions for new potential  talents for the various age groups(under20's , under 17's),  i've often wondered why is it that, not much attention  has been paid to tobago players !!!! its inexcusable and far too long to hear the same frigging excuses being given .. There should be no more excuses , if its a question of funding to get the players to trinidad , damn then its simple have some screening sessions over in tobago in order to have a look at potential talent discoveries in the sister isle ,( tobago).... after all its  about Trinidad and Tobago, not just Trinidad as it so often appears ..

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 10:43:02 AM »
To all my fellow forumites, Hope everyone's having a great day.! Concerning the screening sessions for new potential  talents for the various age groups(under20's , under 17's),  i've often wondered why is it that, not much attention  has been paid to tobago players !!!! its inexcusable and far too long to hear the same frigging excuses being given .. There should be no more excuses , if its a question of funding to get the players to trinidad , damn then its simple have some screening sessions over in tobago in order to have a look at potential talent discoveries in the sister isle ,( tobago).... after all its  about Trinidad and Tobago, not just Trinidad as it so often appears ..

dey probable have a better system than screening for the Tobago players ;)

« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2012, 02:03:40 PM »

dey probable have a better system than screening for the Tobago players ;)
Yeah....its called "Ask Bertille".

« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2012, 02:41:32 PM »
Rastaman yuh right, they does forget tobago all the time. these fellas who running that place real clueless son, that's why we does fail so frequently in every thing we do, that's bc they clueless and don't know what de fack they doin.

« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2012, 05:08:59 PM »
Mexico to host CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in 2013

Posted on 10 April 2012 in FIFA U-20 World Cup

CONCACAF has announced that Mexico will host the 2013 CONCACAF Men's Under-20 Championship in Puebla, Mexico. The tournament will run next 18 February to 2 March at the Estadio Cuauhtémoc and the newly-renovated Estadio Universitario Lobos BUAP. The tournament will qualify four teams for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Turkey 2013.

Twelve teams will compete at the CONCACAF Men's Under-20 Championship. Canada, Mexico, USA will be joined by four teams from Central America and five teams from the Caribbean. Players must be born 1993 or later to be eligible for the men's U-20 CONCACAF and FIFA tournaments

« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2012, 05:33:28 PM »
Ex-national footballers assess U-20 talent.

We’ve had open screening for the past two weeks and then for the upcoming sessions we will be looking at the last group of Under 17 national players and then combine them with the new players we have selected from this new bunch towards selecting a pool of about 35 players to go into full scale preparation.”

In terms of what McComie and his fellow coaches are looking at from the players, he explained “We are looking at their application to the training and their off the ball movement.

T&T will enter the Caribbean leg of qualification from July 23-31 in a group hosted by St Vincent/Grenadines along with Suriname and Guyana.

The winner of the four preliminary groups and the best second placed team will advance to the final CFU round in Jamaica from November 3-11, 2012. The CONCACAF final round takes place in Puebla, Mexico from February 18-March 2, 2013.

The Caribbean will have five berths in the final 12-nation round from which four will qualify for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Turkey. Mexico, Canada and USA are automatic qualifiers to the CONCACAF final round.

There should have already been a pool of 35 players playing together. It's almost May and they have the Caribbean leg of qualification in July. Provided they move on to Jamaica then qualify for Mexico, that's less than a year.
Our players aren't good enough to be put together in such a short space of time and expected to perform at their best. Even if they qualify for the World Cup this is not ideal preparation. Teams like Mexico could get away with that but we really need teams that are consistently in training or else it's a waste of time.
Not about being negative but it's about being realistic.

« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2012, 07:13:33 PM »

Very stupid comment.  If the ttff want to be taken seriously and they are going to try to revamp our football development they must break away from old traditions and habitts that are counterproductive.  The perception that Tobago has always been ignored when it comes to properly managing so-called "T&T Football" will seem to have a lot of truth to it if they continue to do things the same old way.  If you want to teach young players (and their parents) about "extra sacrifice" you have to be able to reach them, you have to be inclusive in the handling of all things that are meat to be seen as screenings and tryouts and any lessons in sacrifice have to be administered in small and progressive doses but not in a callous, exclusive manner.  Imagine the loud groans and moans and complaints that wuld be heard if the ttff held 97% of their screenings and tryouts in Tobago.  The TTFF has to project an image of fairness and equal opportunity before they can try to call themselves asking people to make extra sacrifices.   

« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2012, 11:22:04 PM »
Very stupid comment.  If the ttff want to be taken seriously and they are going to try to revamp our football development they must break away from old traditions and habitts that are counterproductive.  The perception that Tobago has always been ignored when it comes to properly managing so-called "T&T Football" will seem to have a lot of truth to it if they continue to do things the same old way.  If you want to teach young players (and their parents) about "extra sacrifice" you have to be able to reach them, you have to be inclusive in the handling of all things that are meat to be seen as screenings and tryouts and any lessons in sacrifice have to be administered in small and progressive doses but not in a callous, exclusive manner.  Imagine the loud groans and moans and complaints that wuld be heard if the ttff held 97% of their screenings and tryouts in Tobago.  The TTFF has to project an image of fairness and equal opportunity before they can try to call themselves asking people to make extra sacrifices.   

I guess you would know a thing or two about making "very stupid comment(s)".  Of course there would be loud (and justified) groans if the TTFF held 97% of screenings and tryouts in Tobago... in order to maximize scarce resources one has to be efficient in their employment.  Logic dictates that you would reach the most players by hosting tryouts in Trinidad, rather than Tobago.

As for "old traditions and habbitts (sic)"... players all over the world leave their hometowns to travel to various "combines" and tryouts.  Yet people in here bitching about the fact that a bunch of 19-year old men can't find their way to Trinidad from Tobago.

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2012, 03:09:17 AM »

I guess you would know a thing or two about making "very stupid comment(s)".  Of course there would be loud (and justified) groans if the TTFF held 97% of screenings and tryouts in Tobago... in order to maximize scarce resources one has to be efficient in their employment.  Logic dictates that you would reach the most players by hosting tryouts in Trinidad, rather than Tobago.

As for "old traditions and habbitts (sic)"... players all over the world leave their hometowns to travel to various "combines" and tryouts.  Yet people in here bitching about the fact that a bunch of 19-year old men can't find their way to Trinidad from Tobago.

I do know because I get to read you make plenty of them all the while, thinking you really are saying something.  "players from all over the world" ain't Trinidadians and Tobagonians, asshole, and understanding our "culture" is understanding that getting our players to make wholesale changes in their outlook and attitudes isn't going to come by placing large scale expectations on young players (and their families) without first being efficient and logical by also hosting tryoust and screening sessions in Tobago as well as in Trinidad, ESPECIALLY when the ttff is perceived to have always shown less respect and consideration to different regions in TnT outside of its "favoured" zones.  The ttff needs to revamp its image as well as its fundamental way of doing things.  It needs to re-establish its relationship with the footballing community while raising its own standards and subsequntly raising expectations of itself and the football community it is in place to serve....for the betterment of TnT Football as a whole.  Not all of the wholesale changes can be drastic nor can their practices be business as usual.  Only a c**t like you would expect to get from "POINT A" to "POINT Z" without going through the rest of the alphabet.  the only way you can do that is by repeating it and going backwards.  The bottom line is, tey need to have tryouts and screenings in Tobago as well because it's not just about the price of hopping on the ferry.   
« Last Edit: April 17, 2012, 03:11:15 AM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2012, 03:20:31 AM »
Thats it, foreigners dead again !!!

In T&T football is who you know.

Marcelle, Rougier and McComie is really bad choices.

I remember, McComie last under 20 team got they ass buss and got knocked out by a Caribbean team.

Rougier team FC South End was one of the worst teams in the Pro League.

And Marcelle real hungry...

But what can you expect, Anton Corneal is now the new Jack Warner and he will pick who he love and not who deserve the job.

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2012, 03:09:31 PM »

Why Sam? Why? They call them men to screen. Who else they go call. They go call a foreigner? They last foreigner FAILED. It is not that I don't like foreigners. Them is the local men. For better or for worse, that is what we have. Name someone you know more competent than them? They have to be given chances to prove their worth?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2012, 03:11:25 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2012, 05:32:23 PM »

Why Sam? Why? They call them men to screen. Who else they go call. They go call a foreigner? They last foreigner FAILED. It is not that I don't like foreigners. Them is the local men. For better or for worse, that is what we have. Name someone you know more competent than them? They have to be given chances to prove their worth?

guys like stephan hart could run these pretenders out of town... i know a few others tha t would come back home if the right people take the helm.

ignoring youths in tobago is not only selfish but also narrow minded and short sighted by the admin, the usual runnings of the fed that is more than content to recycle garbage over and over, while other nations progress and get better

T&T with all that money and talent and can't put together a competent football fed, thank God youths like pollard and narine are making their name as world beaters with cricket, at least TT sports fans have something to watch worthwhile.

you can't pass up on talent, too bad none of these guys mentioned have an eye for talent, most of the best have left the shores and the ones that remain fall into a vicious cycle of nothingness.

« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2012, 05:50:52 PM »
Why would Stephen Hart want to coach in TT. His profile has been up there. Maybe he don't want to deal with TTFF. Remember he got a taste of Jack when he played in TT. If he wanted to be in the line he would have put his name in the hat. I think he doh really want to deal with the TTFF, past or present. And if you have an alternative to the current TTFF, present them. You been on this website donkey years and you should know how football operates. If you can remove watson and jack children, go ahead make our day!

« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2012, 05:52:23 PM »

Foreigners as foreign players I mean bro....

The local coaches do the same thing every time, they do good in the Caribbean most times and then they feel the locals could go all the way and then when they go at Concacaf level we get killed and then the coach turn around and say we players not good enough.

Look how long they could have called up Nick DeLeon for exmple, even before he was at the level he is now....

They also fail to make the team play organise football and we turn to long wasteless balls and tasteless football.

« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2012, 05:57:56 PM »
Look how long they could have called up Nick DeLeon for exmple, even before he was at the level he is now....

Don't let Big Mag hear you say that. Like Bobby Zamora, I think Nick weighing his option with regards to USA/TT.  I do not think that he does not want to play for TT. It is just dealing with those who running football would turn him off. I am almost sure Angus must have trid to talk to him. But what does TT has to offer him. Head 'f--king' ache???????

Offline Married2ATrini

« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2012, 05:58:13 PM »
What's up with all yuh hating de foreigners?????   :frustrated:
Most of the foreigners I know have been signed by big clubs already....The TTFF can have a good team and make it to a World Cup someday if they do things differently and open up there eyes.
It's really sad how these foreigners come show up themselves and that should be a lesson for the locals to wok harder and prove themselves.  I'm speaking for myself when I say dis....I've seen a few games and training sessions and they foreigners wok way harder and have more passion for the game because all the locals do is yap on de field.  Talk Nuh!!!

« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2012, 06:09:13 PM »
Deeks, if they did things in a different way they could have gotten Nick (for example) but after his last year in College he develop into a better player and wanted to play for USA. And if his dead beat father played a role in his life it woulda help to.

But that was just an example.....

Eve could have add many foreign players a long time ago.... but he decided to call up one or two late and upset de team chemistry.

All I saying is, we need to be better organise as coaches and pick the best players available, whether locals or foreign based.

Kristian Lee-Him, Malcolm Manswell, Kwesi Alleyne, Shaun Bachan, Greg Ranjitsingh and Skylar Thomas are some of the players who base in North America that should be given a look at. But not McComie, he go call them when he team in trouble a week before de tournament.

PS: I hope McComie give Matthew Woo Ling a call up to..

« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2012, 06:23:09 PM »

Bakes, yuh sound out of touch like Mitt Romney they.  Yeah, it is not expensive to hop the ferry, but why should the Tobago players be not facilitated in an official capacity like their counterparts from T'dad?  The TTFF needs to get its house in order and treat T'bgo like it is a zone, like any other zone, and get their arse across to Tobago for a day or two.  Plain and simple.

« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2012, 09:13:23 PM »
Bakes, yuh sound out of touch like Mitt Romney they.  Yeah, it is not expensive to hop the ferry, but why should the Tobago players be not facilitated in an official capacity like their counterparts from T'dad?  The TTFF needs to get its house in order and treat T'bgo like it is a zone, like any other zone, and get their arse across to Tobago for a day or two.  Plain and simple.

Sure the TTFF could hold tryouts in Tobago... the same TTFF that just had computers and office equipment levied by the WC players.  The same TTFF that can't afford to pay its salaried coaches and staff.  We all know the TTFF is dysfunctional... so are we going to keep throwing up our hands and bitching about what they NOT doing... or are we going to look for ways around the obstacles?

You should note that my comment was focused on the "coddling" of players, in direct response to Rastaman's comments about players not being in their "natural playing environment", having to pay their way to go Trinidad and to train around strangers.  These are 19 year old men we talking about here, not 12 year olds, mind you.  This is the norm for players all over the world... but yet we does turn around and complain that we players seem complacent and not hungry enough.  But I'm the one out of touch... okay.

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2012, 07:40:54 AM »
It's amazing that in this day and age, man talking about jumpin  on a ferry, in association with representing the country. That is the lack of professionalism that is causing our football to regress, and be at the level it is. That statement shows a lack of insight as to what is required to be successful at an international level, where all players should be treated as equal, to create a united atmosphrere. I see this statement as, " a dioreaoh of words and a constipation of ideas".

« Reply #24 on: April 18, 2012, 08:58:24 AM »

Sure the TTFF could hold tryouts in Tobago... the same TTFF that just had computers and office equipment levied by the WC players.  The same TTFF that can't afford to pay its salaried coaches and staff.  We all know the TTFF is dysfunctional... so are we going to keep throwing up our hands and bitching about what they NOT doing... or are we going to look for ways around the obstacles?

You should note that my comment was focused on the "coddling" of players, in direct response to Rastaman's comments about players not being in their "natural playing environment", having to pay their way to go Trinidad and to train around strangers.  These are 19 year old men we talking about here, not 12 year olds, mind you.  This is the norm for players all over the world... but yet we does turn around and complain that we players seem complacent and not hungry enough.  But I'm the one out of touch... okay.
Ok so maybe I was the one who brought up the "Natural Playing Environment".... but wait...I didn't It was The coach, Micheal McCormie.

So it is Ok for the Trini players to be observed in a "Natural Playing Environment" but not Tobgonians.

Tell me. What would cost more, sending two or three coaches to Tobago for a day(or two for the most) where they get to see 20-30 players. or sending 15-20 players to Trinidad for at least three days, because they have to go down the day before to be able to start training at a decent time.... then by the time they done they too tired and it too late for them to go back the same night.

Let me tell you something the two girls that are on the national U17 team going to where the hell it is they went to today...... there are only there because one of the coaches called and made noise with the federation and they sent up coaches to see them play a pratice match. They took four girls to training in Trini...and two were selected on the team....and the next two and a third girl are now on their radar for the future.

Do the frigging math !!!!!

It is not just about a "Ferry Ticket"

Sorry didn't mean to get emotional.

Offline socalion

« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2012, 09:42:31 AM »
Bakes !! With all due respect , regarding the screening sessions  that are currently underway for potential talents in all of TNT ,i repeat all of TNT to represent the red, white , and black,, bakes whether u know it or not, one gets the impression you could care less about the hardships and difficulties many young players and theirs families face , we all know sacrifices must be made no one needs to have a bachelors degree to know that , however do not forget not everyone can afford even the very basics in some cases for example a pair of football/soccer cleats  let alone a ticket for a ferry ride to Trinidad ,  the bottom line is plain and simple , to have some screening sessions in Tobago as well in order that the same equal opportunites are given , so thebest skilled and talented players are discovered and  brought together , again bakes this is about scouting for the best possible talents to represent TNT ...  come on now bro not everyone can afford  a ticket for a ferry as u suggest to come to Trinidad  let alone in some cases afford the very basics . maybe you can... nothing personnal bro

« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2012, 10:26:51 AM »
we screening U-20 players now... ::)

« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2012, 01:45:43 AM »

King Jackass not out of touch, jed.  He usin' de Socratic Method.

TTFF is bakrupt and cannot "afford" to pay salaries and they cannot "afford" to send a small unit of coaches and staff on the ferry to Tobago and accomodate them for a few days but they sending a team of players to Panama.  Are those girls paying their own way and paying for the coaching staff, too?  Please don't tell me you believe that bankruptcy shit! 

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #28 on: April 20, 2012, 08:05:43 AM »
Michael McComie !

Hah, I had to get rid of him at Joe Public he was getting beside himself.

Poor attitude, poor coach and bad minded.

Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #29 on: April 20, 2012, 08:50:42 AM »
I have just been reliably informed that Tobago is to do its own screening.

Anton Corneal spoke to the TFA about a day or two ago and advised then to conduct their own screening soon. Once a team is selected they will come Tobago to see them. Probably bring the Tini players to play them or something of the sort.  :applause:

So I take back some of what i said before about the TTFF...... Maybe Anton and them learning from their mistakes......
 :thumbsup:
There might be hope still. :wavetowel:

This is for both u20 and u15 so if anyone is interested contact the TFA. 639-3953