March 29, 2024, 12:00:58 AM

Author Topic: When we go get so?  (Read 1223 times)

When we go get so?
« on: April 22, 2012, 10:40:47 AM »
Genoa vs Siena in genoa, Siena up 4 nil...the fans had enough and demanded the players take of their shirts..at first they resisted but then the captain went one by one and collected the shirts and handed it to the fans even one player who didnt want to give his shirt burst out in tears...the fans were upset at the absolute pack ah shit genoa puttin on whole season and today the camel back broke...them ppl serious bout they football boy..

genoa president deserves this..not only do they skin their batty for milan on d field but also in the transfer market

can tell u for a fact that las campaign i not only wanted dem fellas take off dey shirt but i wanted them to all out drop 'soca warriors' from dey name...an insult to d real warriors that fight hard leadin to and in '06..

geno ultras take win! match eventually played out after the 50min delay

edit: found a report

Genoa supporters halt match against Siena
Unsavoury scenes erupted at the Marassi after the hosts went down 4-0 to the Bianconeri with just 53 minutes on the clock, as ultras forced the team to remove their shirts

BET:     RETURNS:   Milan £11.70    Draw £55.00   Genoa £120.00   
Apr 22, 2012 4:40:00 PM 
By Livio Caferoglu
MORE ON :  Genoa, Siena, Genoa vs Siena

Comments
      Awesome   

Dislike   

Getty Images
Genoa's Serie A match against Siena was halted temporarily after disgruntled Grifoni supporters expressed their frustrations at the team's players for a below-par performance.

Alberto Malesani's men found themselves 4-0 down after only 53 minutes of play, but Luigi Giorgi's fourth goal for the visitors proved to be the final straw for many, who began throwing various items onto the pitch.
DON'T MISS
Player Ratings: Milan 1-1 BolognaPlayer Ratings: Fiorentina 0-0 Inter
Materazzi: Leo stabbed me in the backMazzone: Roma technically superior to Juve

The club's ultras then took action by blocking the entrance to the dressing room as they wanted the players to hand their jerseys over on the grounds that they were not "worthy" of the colours.

All of the Genoa players incredibly co-operated, except loan striker Giuseppe Sculli, who refused to remove his shirt, while wing-back Giandomenico Mesto broke down in tears.

Captain Marco Rossi, who was given the responsibility of taking the jerseys and passing them on to the ultras, proceeded to go over to the group of supporters in a bid to bargain with them.

In the meantime, referee Paolo Tagliavento managed to enter the dressing room, while club president Enrico Preziosi also made his way to the pitch and gathered the players in a huddle.

Sculli then appeared to try to negotiate with his shirt still on, along with Sebastien Frey, who tried to pull his back and was quoted in the Italian media as saying: "This is my shirt, we are all for Genoa."

Frey seemingly played the role of peacemaker between the ultras and players, as he then pleaded Siena to come back out onto the pitch and complete the game, which still had 37 minutes remaining.

Play finally resumed after a 40-minute delay, with the Bianconeri eventually winning 4-1. However, it is expected that a round of talks between the Genoa players and ultras will commence at the club's training complex on Monday.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 10:44:36 AM by mukumsplau »

Re: When we go get so?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 11:58:09 AM »

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2012, 12:08:47 PM »
We get so, because a footballing culture actually exists in Italy, where fans are invested in the success and failure of their teams. The same cannot be said for sweet T&T, where waggonism abounds and ah "ketch ah vaps" mentality pervades the landscape with regards to footballing development.

The fact that our team cyah even qualify for Gold Cup, much less win the tournament illustrates the depths to which our footballing fortunes have descended.

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2012, 01:03:03 PM »
We get so, because a footballing culture actually exists in Italy, where fans are invested in the success and failure of their teams. The same cannot be said for sweet T&T, where waggonism abounds and ah "ketch ah vaps" mentality pervades the landscape with regards to footballing development.

The fact that our team cyah even qualify for Gold Cup, much less win the tournament illustrates the depths to which our footballing fortunes have descended.
That is ah farce, our football never went no where. we eh do nutten to improve football on the islands since the 70ies, the only improvement towards football that was made is the fact that we have acquired more  modern facilities to play football and we have a "pro league", but other than that, no development took place.

IMO, the only reason we have experienced much success in the past is bc our competition in the region was soft, so it appeared that we was doing well. it's only when those smaller islands decide to take football seriously, and start investing in their football, we start getting level licks.

jamaica read the play well and decided to start spending money on their football when thy saw the rest of the region was catching up, but we snoozed, with the false sense of security we had due to caribbean championships we had under our belts, and the world cup appearance, which BTW, was the worst thing that ever happened to our football. 

PS:we eh see nutten yet! if we don't start spending some serious money on football in T&T right now, in the next few yrs we will experience ah serious nose dive, and it would be level licks in we tail.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 05:33:18 PM by just cool »

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2012, 02:39:48 PM »
Biggest contributor to the downfall of football in TnT was when football was removed from the local communities.  Even in this Pro League, that sense of community attachment is non-existent, try as hard as they like.  Part of it is that teams play at the constructed stadia, so that in itself is an uprooting from the local communities.  I remember in the days of the National League, it was not so.  Peeople used to follow the teams from their community:  Mayaro Utd. St. Francois Nationals, Caroni Utd....Now, that done.