April 24, 2024, 04:07:25 PM

Author Topic: West Indies vs. Australia 2nd Test, Port of Spain  (Read 3130 times)

West Indies vs. Australia 2nd Test, Port of Spain
« on: April 15, 2012, 08:45:20 AM »
Australia have won the toss and will bat first.

Team news from West Indies. Kirk Edwards is indeed out. Powell comes in. Shane Shillingford replaces Devendra Bishoo who disappointed in Barbados. And Ravi Rampaul stays out.

Australia 35/0 (9.0 ov)

Re: West Indies vs. Australia 2nd Test, Port of Spain
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 11:24:58 PM »
208/5 at the end of day 1. I heard the Oval pitch is slower than cold condensed milk. I eh vex, I hoping for a draw this time. Yuh know we have a habit of making a dead pitch look lively when it's our turn to bat.

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 02:29:47 AM »
I hoping for a draw this time

Am I to assume that you were hoping for a win last test?? ;D

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 04:22:17 AM »
208/5 at the end of day 1. I heard the Oval pitch is slower than cold condensed milk. I eh vex, I hoping for a draw this time. Yuh know we have a habit of making a dead pitch look lively when it's our turn to bat.

We going to lorse this game within 4 days.

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2012, 01:47:32 PM »
Well, West Indies have taken ten wickets in an Australian innings, finally.

I hope dwolfman is wrong about the West Indian bowlers making Hilfenhaus and Pattinson look like Dennis Lillee and Jeff Thompson respectively and making Lyon and Beer look like Shane Warne.

I hope the batsmen can show some competence and that Bravo, in particular does not get out when set.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 02:06:35 PM by kaliman2006 »

« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 02:15:30 PM »
Well, West Indies have taken ten wickets in an Australian innings, finally.

I hope dwolfman is wrong about the West Indian bowlers making Hilfenhaus and Pattinson look like Dennis Lillee and Jeff Thompson respectively and making Lyon and Beer look like Shane Warne.

I hope the batsmen can show some competence and that Bravo, in particular does not get out when set.

Oh boy, here we go. West Indies 0/1 after 3.3 overs, Braithwaite falling LBW to Hilfenhaus and the review failing to overturn the original decision (why do reviews only seem t favour the Aussies?)

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2012, 09:13:45 AM »
Bravo lbw for 38. Bravo ask for a review.

"WI players should be educated on "HOW TO USE REVIEW". Looks like WI ask for reviews just because its available. In other words, use it selfishly than for team's course, whether its a batsman or bowler. Unfortunately, 21st century demands that you need to be smart not only on the game you play, also on other things that comes with it."

"If you'll pardon a rather understated observation, the West Indies have not made a particularly good job of using their reviews in innings. No wonder Clarke didn't want to play without DRS; it would have denied West Indies a chance to shoot themselves in the leg (before wicket)."
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2012, 01:55:32 PM »
This ain't the same Shiv the the WICB was telling to call it quits?  Yuh ain't see something inherently wrong with de Board.  Dem fellas does let ego and politics get the better of good judgment.

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2012, 02:00:37 PM »
D TTFF of cricket

« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2012, 02:11:47 PM »
I am impressed with this fightback. Keep it up West Indies.

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2012, 02:17:25 PM »
Yup I like d fighting spirit its been a while since I saw that.

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2012, 02:21:54 PM »
Yup I like d fighting spirit its been a while since I saw that.

Hopefully, Carlton Baugh can actually bat with a brain and perhaps Chandepaul's and Deonarine's efforts would not be wasted.

« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2012, 02:27:27 PM »
Steups, I feel I blight yes. Deonarine just got stumped for 55.

« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2012, 02:49:01 PM »
This ain't the same Shiv the the WICB was telling to call it quits?  Yuh ain't see something inherently wrong with de Board.  Dem fellas does let ego and politics get the better of good judgment.

Just today I was telling somebody this. That man has embarassed the Board over the last 12 months.

« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2012, 02:54:36 PM »
On another note, Sammy has got to be the most irresponsible captain we've had.  Never see ah man give his wicket away more cheaply.  Just when you need de man to slow things down and chip away at the deficit, he takes on an attacking field and pays the price.  He not good enough to make the team as a batsman, and his bowling is OK, not great.  What will they do with him; he is not demonstrating his allrounder status at all.  What do you do with him if Bravo and Gayle come back into the team?

« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2012, 01:01:44 PM »
tenor as much as i doh like sammy his bowling has been very important for us..His batting has been garbage, but he keeps taking wickets..i swear is cuz everyone thinks he is a shit bowler and attack him and get themselves out

« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2012, 10:13:55 AM »
tenor as much as i doh like sammy his bowling has been very important for us..His batting has been garbage, but he keeps taking wickets..i swear is cuz everyone thinks he is a shit bowler and attack him and get themselves out

I agree that he does make the breakthrough and his line and length is consistent; something West Indian bowlers struggle with nowadays.  In the long run, if we really get our quickies going, and this IPL clash could be sorted out, so that Gayle and company could play for WI again, would he be able to be selected on his merit as a bowler?  I'd love to see two allrounders in the team, but if I had to pick one, it would be Bravo over Sammy.

« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2012, 11:16:56 AM »
215 runs to get in approx 59 overs (weather permitting)
If this was a ODI that wouldn't be much of a stretch...

« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2012, 11:27:35 AM »

Like you forget is de Windies we talking bout?

« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2012, 11:44:28 AM »
I was thinking to myself that Sammy should come in early.

Like he hear meh  ;D

« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2012, 11:49:20 AM »

Like you forget is de Windies we talking bout?

West Indies always seem to find a way to snatch defeat from the jaws of a draw or a victory. Who would have thought West Indies would have lost the test match after having Australia in serious trouble in their second innings.

« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2012, 12:17:39 PM »
Rain come again... to save we from weself