March 28, 2024, 08:43:27 AM

Author Topic: Chelsea, Madrid and Inter have shown T&T how to play vs Central America  (Read 3951 times)

All this recent focus on how teams tactically neutralising Barcelona is also insightful on how teams like T&T can and SHOULD play when we visit Central America. In the case of Mexico and Costa Rica especially, doesnt matter if is home or away, we have seen exactly how to play teams that will control the ball against us...

First of all, all the love the world has for Barca because of their silky possession football, this style s not for everyone, Trinidad and Tobago included. Its just not our style to play like that. We like to watch it on tv, but we are incapable of playing like that. We do not have the discipline nor technique to play that kinda football. The Latin Americans (following Spain too) realise that they are inferior physically to the north americans and caribbean countries, hence that their style of controlling the ball with more technique and less touch passing. Trinidad is a lot more like Germany or England in terms of approach, we rely on individual strength a lot.
If any team in world football sets a defense like what Chelsea did yesterday, T&T will have no clue what to do. We do not have the patience or discipline to play in a compressed offensive half (akin to half court sets in basketball) against a set defense. Instead we rely on an open running game to ketch teams on the counter to beat them.
But what Chelsea and madrid show is how to neutralise a team that will always have the ball more than us and have better players technically than us. Having the actual players of the quality to carry his gameplan through is another question. But at least its a plan to aspire toward.
With regard to the counter attacking perspective, we have that naturally with them speedy gonzales players we always produce (the finishing quality is a different matter though).
Whenever T&T play top concacaf teams, we always look like he hanging on, chasing the game, one play from getting a red card, and one play from getting scored on. The Chelsea and Madrid displays should be the benchmark we aspire to play when in Central America.
At the end of the day, you cannot lose if you do not concede.
Against Mexico, we will never control the ball, and they will always attempt to pull us out and open us up. One big difference between Mexico and Barcelona though is Barca's inability to shoot with quality from outside the box, while that is second nature for Mexico. This adds another complexity to how you stifle them.

Beenhakker was the only coach who came closest to instilling this sort of tactical play for T&T. One little aside is that leo Beenhakker won La Liga 3 years in a row with Madrid in the late 80's, therefore it is not surprising he has the know how to get it done and bring success to moderate teams like T&T. With a bit of luck, we could have picked points off both Sweden and England. Thats what a $50,000USD a month coach vs local gives you.
Thats what Beenhakker vs Sweden (0-0) gives you compared to BSC who tried to take on Mexico and lost 0-4 in the Gold Cup.

I hope Cornmeal, Eve et al taking note, if not we will continue to be like Man Utd and trying to take on Barca  in the wrong way and getting cutarse. In our case we will not be losing tournament finals, we will just continue to be the beating boys in WCQ's and Gold Cups.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 11:04:37 AM by Trini »

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Agree 100% sir but to execute this we must had better GK play. A average or good GK display wont be enough. Just like Cech over the two legs Shaka was magic vs Sweden. With a great GK game you draw 0-0 or win 1-0. An average GK makes the score 0-2. And a bad GK makes the score 1-6. We just need to find the next great Trini GK.

Do not forget United are the team to show the blueprint ..Semi in 07/08 , Barca did not score over 2 legs

Alot of that was down to Quieroz and it is no surprise that after he left that season we were well beaten over the next 2 times we met them and I could understand why Fergie went a bit for it (especially in 2011) as it was a final and sometimes you gotta give it a go in a final but he is terrible at tactics and Phelan our assistant is 10 times worse...

But since Quieroz's blueprint Chelsea, Inter and Madrid have tweaked and customized for their personell to use it against them

and to the point of the post..agreed but sometimes it not so easy..it requires 100% concentration...a thing alot of trini players do not have..this is instilled from ages 5-18 before they turn pro..keeping the lights on under intensity and massive pressure for 95+ minutes when the ball is on and off the field

It aint' so easy folks

Do not forget United are the team to show the blueprint ..Semi in 07/08 , Barca did not score over 2 legs

Alot of that was down to Quieroz and it is no surprise that after he left that season we were well beaten over the next 2 times we met them and I could understand why Fergie went a bit for it (especially in 2011) as it was a final and sometimes you gotta give it a go in a final but he is terrible at tactics and Phelan our assistant is 10 times worse...

But since Quieroz's blueprint Chelsea, Inter and Madrid have tweaked and customized for their personell to use it against them

and to the point of the post..agreed but sometimes it not so easy..it requires 100% concentration...a thing alot of trini players do not have..this is instilled from ages 5-18 before they turn pro..keeping the lights on under intensity and massive pressure for 95+ minutes when the ball is on and off the field

It aint' so easy folks

You also need some luck.  The difference between Chelsea drawing(winning) last night, and losing by a lot was one goal.  There was a brief moment after 2-0 when it looked like it could get really bad for Chelsea....They had to open up and Barca had two plays that cut through them like a hot knife through butter....  If Ramires didn't score and allow them to go back into the defensive shell, or if Barca netted one more time, the whole bunker down experiment woulda looked like a colossal failure.  That Ramires goal was so so pivotal it's not funny....  Sometimes it's a game of inches. 

Offline saint27

Not easy at all ...we would take years to achieve something like this ....90 minutes of discipline ? You see dat word DISCIPLINE it not so common in TNT .....sure we could do it sometimes , but if we end up in a group with Mexico Costa rica and Salvador ...dat means we hadda crate this feat at least 4 times and pick up two or three wins in the process .....

Unfortunately we don't have complete videos of the 73 Haiti team and the 74 CAC team which beat Cent, American teams. The strike squad had a good run against Central Amer. teams also.

Parking the TTPSC Bus ???

Trini...everbody believes the Myth of tnt play like "Braazil"

Unfortunately we don't have complete videos of the 73 Haiti team and the 74 CAC team which beat Cent, American teams. The strike squad had a good run against Central Amer. teams also.

Apparently no one saw T&T vs Sweden in the 06 WC.

And to think this Quiroz fella was on a TTFF shortlist not too long ago...

You get what you pay for - it applies to cars, whores and international coaches. Trinidad and Tobago DIDNT CHOOSE PFISTER over Quiroz, it was the almost 3 times greater annual salary that Iran offered that made Quiroz go there...

Parking the TTPSC Bus ???

Dem eh jes park de bus nah.  Dem remove de tires, rims, axle and put de bus up on blocks

Re: Chelsea, Madrid and Inter have shown T&T how to play vs Central America
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 06:04:27 PM »
Porterfield show us how to do it and we top the semi-final group and men was vex.

Beenhakker show us how to do it and men vex latapy ent get a sweat and we ent showcase "we brand" of football.

But we cannot do even a basic ting like parking the bus anymore because we lack the players with ability and more importantly BRAIN.

Football is as much mental as it is physical...not only we unfit but we duncee bad.

Fellas T&T do not have defenders, neither players with discipline, starting from small nobody wants to be a defender...dat spot is reserved for the shittiest man on the side to play last in the small goal sweat and take bullet. Tackling, heading and reading of the game is not for us....we doh defend down here, we look like cones. A skate tackle and hard jam and wild hoof is big defender play. Nobody could nip a ball clean or stay on their feet properly.

people does talk bout anti football...but if you are a real football fan and appreciate all facets of the game a well oiled defense is something to marvel at as well. The formation, the moving in unison, the pressing, the offside trap...(these things hard to appreciate when watching on tv as yuh doh see the big picture)

Chelsea on Tuesday was great to behold...esp Drogba as the roving wingback.

Doh hut yuh head...take a lil rest from T&T football, believe me you will be better off for it.

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 06:17:01 PM »
Porterfield show us how to do it and we top the semi-final group and men was vex.

Beenhakker show us how to do it and men vex latapy ent get a sweat and we ent showcase "we brand" of football.

But we cannot do even a basic ting like parking the bus anymore because we lack the players with ability and more importantly BRAIN.

Football is as much mental as it is physical...not only we unfit but we duncee bad.

Fellas T&T do not have defenders, neither players with discipline, starting from small nobody wants to be a defender...dat spot is reserved for the shittiest man on the side to play last in the small goal sweat and take bullet. Tackling, heading and reading of the game is not for us....we doh defend down here, we look like cones. A skate tackle and hard jam and wild hoof is big defender play. Nobody could nip a ball clean or stay on their feet properly.

people does talk bout anti football...but if you are a real football fan and appreciate all facets of the game a well oiled defense is something to marvel at as well. The formation, the moving in unison, the pressing, the offside trap...(these things hard to appreciate when watching on tv as yuh doh see the big picture)

Doh hut yuh head...take a lil rest from T&T football, believe me you will be better off for it.

:applause: :applause: :cheers: Boss post they Breds,tell them again they will never see the big picture,they watching Anton and Angus.

« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2012, 08:40:45 AM »

:applause: :applause: :cheers: Boss post they Breds,tell them again they will never see the big picture,they watching Anton and Angus.
:beermug: :beermug: Agreed!!!  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2012, 09:22:36 AM »
lol do we have the players to execute the plan? that is the question

« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2012, 09:29:30 AM »
Chelsea won 1-0 and tied 2-2

barca missed a penalty and other open chances.

in other words Chelsea was lucky to win

You cannot base a world cup qualification on being lucky, it will not work out.

« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2012, 12:24:11 PM »

It worked for T&T in 2005..
1) The Guatemala defender who was marking Stern came off injured for treatment when he scored the winning goal
2) Latapy decide to lace back up his boots
3) Mexico sent a second strength team to face us in the last game
4) The ball rebound off the post and hit Stern and went in the goal for T&T's equaliser
5) We get Bahrain to play from Asia
6) We get the first leg at home, thus having to do half the travelling as Bahrain did
7) Kelvin Jack made the save of his life in the last minute of the Bahrain game on a goalbound shot

« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2012, 03:21:15 PM »

It worked for T&T in 2005..
1) The Guatemala defender who was marking Stern came off injured for treatment when he scored the winning goal
2) Latapy decide to lace back up his boots
3) Mexico sent a second strength team to face us in the last game
4) The ball rebound off the post and hit Stern and went in the goal for T&T's equaliser
5) We get Bahrain to play from Asia
6) We get the first leg at home, thus having to do half the travelling as Bahrain did
7) Kelvin Jack made the save of his life in the last minute of the Bahrain game on a goalbound shot

In a nutshell we was just lucky we had JW.

« Reply #17 on: April 26, 2012, 11:30:05 PM »
how about if Bahrain had the luck ???...fu#k dem

« Reply #18 on: April 27, 2012, 06:21:53 AM »
Saying yuh was lucky to have Jack Warner is like saying yuh glad yuh have ah big festering boil on the tip if yuh cock head when yuh have Beyonce to f**k!

« Reply #19 on: April 27, 2012, 06:26:06 AM »
Saying yuh was lucky to have Jack Warner is like saying yuh glad yuh have ah big festering boil on the tip if yuh cock head when yuh have Beyonce to f**k!
10+  :thumbsup:  ;D