March 28, 2024, 08:04:12 AM

Author Topic: Arrest in beating of Candice Worrell.  (Read 9302 times)

Arrest in beating of Candice Worrell.
« on: May 18, 2012, 04:40:31 AM »
By Nalinee Seelal (T&T Newsday).

ALMOST FOUR months after former beauty queen Candice Worrell was savagely beaten at her Chaguanas workplace and robbed of her cellphone, jewelry and other valuables, a suspect was arrested yesterday during a “sting” operation by police along the Main Road in Chaguanas.

The suspect, police said, is a security guard who lives in Chaguanas and worked at a Casino in North Trinidad. Shortly after Worrell was beaten almost to death, the suspect fled to Guyana.

But officers got intelligence that the suspect had quietly slipped back into Trinidad. Yesterday, officers led by Superintendent Johnny Abraham and including Inspector Wayne Lawrence, WP Sgt John, PC Forgenie, Ramsaran, Cpl Jobe and members of the Central Division Task Force arranged the “sting” operation and nabbed the suspect in full view of passers-by along the busy Chaguanas Main Road.

He was taken to Chaguanas Police Station where he was being questioned in connection with the savage beating of Worrell which took place on January 20. Sources said the man is also wanted for a similar incident in the Edinburgh 500 area where a woman was beaten into unconsciousness and then robbed.

On January 20, Worrell was at her work place —Jenexcon Engineering Company — located at John Street in Chaguanas when she was attacked and beaten in the head. She was later found unconscious on the ground and rushed to hospital.

Worrel suffered fractures to her face with her cheekbone being smashed in. She has since been unable to speak and her one-year-old daughter Naveah is now in the care of her mother Susan Worrell.

Worrell was this country’s representative at the 2009 Miss Tourism Queen International in China. After spending ten weeks at the Intensive Care Unit of the Port-of-Spain General Hospital she was discharged and is now under the care of doctors and nurses at a private facility.

Told yesterday of the arrest, Susan Worrel expressed hope that justice for her daughter’s brutal beating could now be served.

BADLY BEATEN: This file photo shows former Beauty Queen contestant Candice Worrell playing with her daughter Naveah. Worrell remains under medical care having not fully recovered from a near fatal beating on January 20.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 04:43:37 AM by Flex »

Re: Arrest in beating of Worrell.
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 04:46:56 AM »
By Nalinee Seelal (T&T Newsday).

The suspect, police said, is a security guard who lives in Chaguanas and worked at a Casino in North Trinidad. Shortly after Worrell was beaten almost to death, the suspect fled to Guyana.

But officers got intelligence that the suspect had quietly slipped back into Trinidad. Yesterday, officers led by Superintendent Johnny Abraham and including Inspector Wayne Lawrence, WP Sgt John, PC Forgenie, Ramsaran, Cpl Jobe and members of the Central Division Task Force arranged the “sting” operation and nabbed the suspect in full view of passers-by along the busy Chaguanas Main Road.

Ah find this becoming ah joke now......its bad enough we own citizens creating havock in de place but is wha??  We eh have an immigration policy??  Is anything thing goes??  You could just come live, eat, work, vote, mash up de place........normel, normel??  Steups!!

Ah glad dey hold somebody, but until he actually locked away behind bars I eh holding mih breath.....

Re: Arrest in beating of Candice Worrell.
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 06:13:50 AM »
Lets hope this is the guy.
Speaking to Jan-Michael this week, he says Candace is improving nicely. Hoping that many of the Soca Warriors will play in a fundraising game coming up together with celebrities like JW, Bunji etc. Probably going to be played down South.

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2012, 10:55:18 AM »
Good that a suspect is questioned! It bad enough to have our local criminals but Guyanese wreaking havoc on our citizens too! We will support that venture! Jan has showed real strength and courage through this ordeal! He is a true warrior!

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2012, 07:03:15 PM »
Good that a suspect is questioned! It bad enough to have our local criminals but Guyanese wreaking havoc on our citizens too! We will support that venture! Jan has showed real strength and courage through this ordeal! He is a true warrior!

Maybe I eh read the article properly, but where does it say the suspect is Guyanese?

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2012, 07:15:16 PM »

Maybe I eh read the article properly, but where does it say the suspect is Guyanese?

Dey assume who else but a Guyanese will go Guyana.

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2012, 08:29:18 PM »
that is the key word assume

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2012, 11:40:57 PM »

Plus, according to Lasana de suspect never leave de country... only the phone did.  Poor Guyanese and dem done getting blame arready, lol.

Leh we hope they ketch the right person.

« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2012, 04:45:55 AM »

You ever went Guyana??  I have to hide mih eh going dey unless I know the place real good.......too jungle like.....I would go one ah dem small islands, more island like....

Plus, according to Lasana de suspect never leave de country... only the phone did.  Poor Guyanese and dem done getting blame arready, lol.

I didn't read Lasana's article and yes I did consider that the person may not have been Guyanese but lately there has been a recurring theme.....dat and the gangs acting up again........

In de end whatever the nationality, I just hoping he eh walk out the police station because all the police could have done is arrest somebody but cyar charge him for lack of evidence.....

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2012, 05:10:38 AM »
Worrell was a random target, claims police
… Wired868 reveals sting that netted alleged assailant
By: Lasana Liburd (wired868).

A 26-year-old Enterprise resident with a history of violence allegedly confessed on Wednesday evening to the brutal assault and robbery of former beauty queen and model, Candice Worrell, who is also the fiancée of W Connection captain and Trinidad and Tobago national football team goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams.

Worrell, 29, was found outside her Jenexcon Engineering workplace in Montrose, Chaguanas on 20 January 2012 with her wallet and mobile phone missing. She remained in a coma for a month before slowly regaining touch with the world around her.

Wired868 can confirm that, despite reports in other daily newspapers, Worrell became fully alert on 9 May 2012 and is speaking. And the Chaguanas Police believe it has apprehended the person responsible.

The assault and robbery, according a law enforcement source, was a random and opportunistic act by a repeat offender who is known to the police.

The alleged assailant is a security guard at a casino in Tacarigua. A muscular figure whose height was given at just over six foot, the Enterprise resident had prior arrests for a string of infractions against the law that included two robbery cases with violence, housebreaking and buggery.

He is believed to have two prior convictions although that could not be confirmed at the time of publication.

Read More

« Last Edit: May 19, 2012, 05:27:57 AM by Flex »

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2012, 05:32:30 AM »
"Key to the arrest was the continual use of Worrell's Blackberry Messenger, which was noticed by Williams" 

I does be shocked (but glad) that dem criminal and dem does be SO dam dumb.

« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2012, 06:53:07 AM »
hoping that this is the guy.

Guyana sweet too bad..Pops from Guyana, haven't gone down for a few years tho. Head up the Essequibo and it really is a beautiful place. Family going down this year and I hope to head down with some friends next year . One real good thing too is many of the hotels along the river allow you to bring yuh own alcohol and they will stock it and serve it to you, so yuh don't have to pay ridiculous hotel prices for yuh rum

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2012, 12:23:21 PM »
hoping that this is the guy.

Guyana sweet too bad..Pops from Guyana, haven't gone down for a few years tho. Head up the Essequibo and it really is a beautiful place. Family going down this year and I hope to head down with some friends next year . One real good thing too is many of the hotels along the river allow you to bring yuh own alcohol and they will stock it and serve it to you, so yuh don't have to pay ridiculous hotel prices for yuh rum

well boy I went there when I was 9 so maybe since then the place improve.   All I remember is plenty bush, some big ass mosquitoes and you had to be flithy rich to own a concrete house and a TV.......whenever I think of places to visit, Guyuana eh that high up on de list.....

« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2012, 01:38:23 PM »
All de shit we does talk about the police... this is stellar work they do here.  Kudos to PC Forgenie too, fuh a constable to break this case is incredible... potentially career defining case here.

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2012, 01:49:40 PM »
All de shit we does talk about the police... this is stellar work they do here.  Kudos to PC Forgenie too, fuh a constable to break this case is incredible... potentially career defining case here.

We just need the police to do it more often.......

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2012, 02:17:28 PM »

de shit we does talk about the police in Trinidad is well warranted.  Jan Michael Williams was the one who discovered that his fiancee's phone was still being used.  A group of cub scouts coulda break the case after that.  Nothing to start heaping mounds of praise on the police for. 

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2012, 02:20:59 PM »

de shit we does talk about the police in Trinidad is well warranted.  Jan Michael Williams was the one who discovered that his fiancee's phone was still being used.  A group of cub scouts coulda break the case after that.  Nothing to start heaping mounds of praise on the police for. 

You clearly just looking for argument.

« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2012, 02:34:02 PM »

You clearly just looking for argument.

Clearly that is what you would like to think.  I am just (over)stating the obvious.  If the young lady's phone wasn't still being used by the clown who committed the crime, the police wasn't arresting nobody.

« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2012, 02:42:06 PM »
Clearly that is what you would like to think.  I am just (over)stating the obvious.  If the young lady's phone wasn't still being used by the clown who committed the crime, the police wasn't arresting nobody.

You not "(over)stating the obvious" yuh talking shit with that "boy scouts" comment.  Most cases are solved not because of brilliant investigation by the police, but because of luck or mistakes by criminals, hence the saying "there's no such thing as the perfect crime." 

That aside, the police did a fantastic job here in a) conducting an international operation, b) coordinating with their Guyanese counterparts, to c) track the use of the phone.  The result was a sting operation that not only d) netted a suspect, but if reports are to believed, which also e) got a confession out of him.  All of this taking place months after the crime... when the trail typically grows cold due to lost evidence etc.

« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2012, 02:56:56 PM »

You not "(over)stating the obvious" yuh talking shit with that "boy scouts" comment.  Most cases are solved not because of brilliant investigation by the police, but because of luck or mistakes by criminals, hence the saying "there's no such thing as the perfect crime." 

That aside, the police did a fantastic job here in a) conducting an international operation, b) coordinating with their Guyanese counterparts, to c) track the use of the phone.  The result was a sting operation that not only d) netted a suspect, but if reports are to believed, which also e) got a confession out of him.  All of this taking place months after the crime... when the trail typically grows cold due to lost evidence etc.

how hard is it for police to track a phone that is constantly being used?  How hard is it to coordinate with their guyanese counterparts and zero in on the persons the same criminal is contacting with the same phone?  Tracking the phone shoulda been the first thing the police did, that is basic policing and if their work was so brillinat then it would have been the police noticing that the phone was being used and not the victim's boyfriend.  You makin' it seem as if they went and find some random cigarette butt at the scene of the crime and use the dna on it to eventually track down the perpetrator or they questioned residents or passers by in the area to get a composite scetch of possible perps and went from there......FOH! The work they did is basic fckn police work that the citizens should expect from them.  Akela and a cob scout troop coulda figure this out with the same "evidence" 

« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2012, 04:53:44 PM »
The point is, the police caught the guy. Yes, it is a relatively rare event, but credit where credit is due. Tracking phones is a fairly ordinary procedure these days and the technique is widely used abroad (albeit in the more serious cases, particularly in anti terrorism and drug cases). Maybe now the police have had this success, they will use the technique more often in the future.

« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2012, 05:44:57 PM »
The point is, the police caught the guy. Yes, it is a relatively rare event, but credit where credit is due. Tracking phones is a fairly ordinary procedure these days and the technique is widely used abroad (albeit in the more serious cases, particularly in anti terrorism and drug cases). Maybe now the police have had this success, they will use the technique more often in the future.

FS.....doh hold yuh breath.....they seem to use it IF they want to use it......the police and the authorities are not serious about dealing with the crime problem so when these rare successes come along is like manna from heaven.....

« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2012, 08:20:37 PM »

You ever went Guyana??  I have to hide mih eh going dey unless I know the place real good.......too jungle like.....I would go one ah dem small islands, more island like....

I didn't read Lasana's article and yes I did consider that the person may not have been Guyanese but lately there has been a recurring theme.....dat and the gangs acting up again........

In de end whatever the nationality, I just hoping he eh walk out the police station because all the police could have done is arrest somebody but cyar charge him for lack of evidence.....

Going in July will let u know how bad it is. I was just told that I go b drinikin nuff Blue Waters.

« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2012, 09:42:26 AM »
Guyana is a really nice place people. In my experience the people who knock it and bad talk it usually have never visited, or when they have visited only been to the city.

Just like Trinidad there are the places yuh should try yuh best to avoid like Georgetown, but in terms of natural beauty it is rich beyond measure. Take a boat ride up the Essequibo and you can still see Amerindian villages, then there are the resorts like Arrow Point and Baganara which well worth it. Also take a plane ride up to Kaiteur falls and you can see the Amazon jungle from above, for a nature seeker Guyana is a bess trip.

Great work by the police on this case, especially in this Trinidadian context where police doh really put that kinda effort into solving cases.

« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2012, 10:52:16 AM »
Guyana is a really nice place people. In my experience the people who knock it and bad talk it usually have never visited, or when they have visited only been to the city.

Just like Trinidad there are the places yuh should try yuh best to avoid like Georgetown, but in terms of natural beauty it is rich beyond measure. Take a boat ride up the Essequibo and you can still see Amerindian villages, then there are the resorts like Arrow Point and Baganara which well worth it. Also take a plane ride up to Kaiteur falls and you can see the Amazon jungle from above, for a nature seeker Guyana is a bess trip.

Great work by the police on this case, especially in this Trinidadian context where police doh really put that kinda effort into solving cases.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2012, 10:54:46 AM »
dinho bagnara is exactly the resort i talking bout..want to go check out the Rupununi Savanna as well

« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2012, 05:14:20 AM »
$125,000 bail for accused
Attack on former beauty queen
By Susan Mohammed

A CHAGUANAS security guard appeared in court yesterday charged with the beating of former beauty queen and fashion model Candice Worrell, four months ago.

Damien Subero, of Tee Lane, Enterprise, appeared before Magistrate Gillian Scotland in the Chaguanas First Magistrate's Court.

Subero is charged with inflicting grievous bodily harm.

The charge was laid indictably by Constable Forgenie, and Magistrate Scotland did not call on Subero to enter a plea.   Court prosecutor police inspector Joey Samaroo objected to bail saying that the victim, Worrell, was still at hospital, listed in serious condition.

Subero did not have an attorney.

Magistrate Scotland overruled the objection and granted bail in the sum of $125,000 with a surety pending approval from the Clerk of the Peace.

However, Subero was taken to prison last night since no one took his bail. The matter was postponed to next month.

Subero was arrested two weeks ago.

Worrell, 29, a health and safety officer, was robbed and beaten at her workplace at John Street, Chaguanas, on January 20.

She is engaged to W Connection Football Club captain Jan-Michael Williams.

The couple have a one-year-old daughter, Naveah.

Worrell, who represented Trinidad and Tobago at the 2009 Miss Tourism Queen International in China, has not spoken since the incident.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_125_000_bail_for_accused-152839875.html

« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2012, 05:16:22 AM »
dinho bagnara is exactly the resort i talking bout..want to go check out the Rupununi Savanna as well

Clearly I need to go back cuz I'm very outdoorsy but at age 9, I really couldn't do much venturing out on my own.....it still eh near the top of my list of places to go though....

« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2012, 06:26:45 AM »
Since he 'fled to guyana' before, what will stop him being a flight risk now if someone bails him?

« Reply #29 on: May 27, 2012, 08:14:00 PM »
so how did he slip back in from guyana?