March 28, 2024, 06:18:30 PM

Author Topic: Men's U-17 Thread  (Read 89770 times)

Re: Men's U-17 Thread
« Reply #810 on: February 15, 2023, 09:14:45 PM »
Well is on to U19 for them. They better improve or it will be the same results.

« Reply #811 on: February 15, 2023, 09:27:51 PM »
Late Sween equaliser puts Trinidad and Tobago into Concacaf U-17 knockouts.
T&T Newsday Reports.

DESPITE an unexpected scare, the Trinidad and Tobago men’s under-17 team advanced to the Round-of-16 of the Concacaf Under-17 Championship following a 1-1 draw with Caribbean neighbours, Barbados, at the Estadio Pensativo in Guatemala last evening.

Heading into the match, the young Soca Warriors needed just a draw to advance to the first knockout round as the third-placed team in Group F – behind the United States and Canada – due to their superior goal difference to their Caribbean counterparts.

The four semifinalists of the tournament will qualify for the 2023 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Peru.

Head coach Shawn Cooper had Rio Cardines back and available for selection after the Crystal Palace midfielder served his suspension for a sending-off in the opening match against Canada. The T&T boss made four changes from the team that lost to the US two days prior – bringing in Cardines, the recovered Jaden Williams, Jeremiah Cateau and Dominic Wilson. Samuel Duncan, Tau Lamsee, Derrell Garcia and Michael Chaves were dropped to the bench.

Barbados showed signs of early promise as they were the ones in control in the early stages of the match. The Tridents were rewarded for their efforts in the 38th minute when Shamari Harewood put the ball past T&T goalkeeper Ailan Panton to give Barbados a shock lead.

Stunned after the concession of the goal, the Warriors were forced to step out of their comfort zone and push themselves for a much-needed equaliser. This tactical change reaped dividends as the match turned in their favour and they became the dominant force.

Cooper also made attacking substitutions in the second half to bolster the Warriors’ attack – bringing on Michael Chaves, Derrel Garcia and Malachi Webb.

The coveted ‘winning’ goal was attained eight minutes from full-time as Lindell Sween heroically rescued T&T with an excellent finish to help the Warriors claim the point they set out for, and book their tickets to the next round of the competition.

T&T will go on to face either Haiti or El Salvador in the round-of-16 on February 19. Both Group H teams will have their destinies determined on Thursday evening.

RELATED NEWS

Sween scores late to take Soca Warriors into 2nd round 1-1.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Lindell Sween scored late in the 82nd minute to assure T&T a 1-1 tie with regional rivals Barbados, as well as entry into the second round of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championships on Wednesday at the Estadio Pensativo in Antigua, Guatemala.

Both teams found themselves in a similar position following losses to Canada and the United States, however, the young Soca Warriors had a slim advantage courtesy of a superior goal difference that ensured they only needed a draw to advance.

Last night, both teams were balance in the opening half as they traded attacks at each other’s goals. For T&T Dominic Wilson, Lyshaun Morris and Lindell Sween tried in vain but failed to trouble the Barbadian goalie Jireh Malcolm, while on the other side the pair of Harewood and Rovaldo Massiah kept the T&T defensive structure on its toes.

However, the Bajans broke the deadlock from Shamari Harewood in the 38th minute and enjoyed that advantage at the half-time interval. Despite challenges from the T&T team in the second period of play the Barbadians appeared to be heading to the finish with the win, until Sween, who had been threatening all match got the saving item for the Warriors.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-4-1-1): 1.Ailan Panton (GK); 6.Aydon Caruth (11.Derrel García 71), 2.Jaden Williams, 3.Joshua Figaro, 4.Lyshaun Morris; 7.Rio Cardines, 12.Jeremiah Cateau (10.Michael Chaves 63), 8.Josiah Ochoa (captain), 18.Dominic Wilson (16.Jeremiah Niles 89); 9.Lindell Sween (15.Armani Rowe 89); 19.Tyrell Moore (17.Malachi Webb 71).

Unused substitutes: 20.Jaden Ottley (GK), 5.Samuel Duncan, 13.Vaughn Clement, 14.Tau Lamsee.

Coach: Shawn Cooper

Barbados (4-3-3): 18.Jireh Malcolm (GK); 20.James Moore, 4.Warren Trotman (captain), 3.Ajani Banton, 19.Ajanie Payne; 12.Kiaros Greaves (17.Ronan Lee 59), 6.Amego Jordan, 10.Rovaldo Massiah; 7.Shamari Harewood, 9.Che Millington (13.Kobe Burges 63), 11.Christian Gill (14.Ephraim Gill 76).

Unused substitutes: 1.K’den Hee Chung (GK), 2.Micaiah Clarke, 5.Kamari Johnson, 8.Joshua Husbands, 15.Jayden Greenidge, 16.Zachari Yard.

Coach: Fabian Massiah.

Referee: Adonis Carrasco (Dominica).

WATCH - HIGHLIGHTS of Trinidad and Tobago Men's U-17's 1-1 draw with Barbados

Concacaf Under-17 Championship Yesterday Results

Trinidad and Tobago 1 (Lindell Sween 82) v Barbados 1 (Shamari Harewood 38)

United States 1 (Keyrol Figueroa 64) v Canada 0

Final Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
United States  3  3  0  0  9  1  9
Canada  3  2  0  1  5  3  6
Trinidad & Tobago  3  0  1  2  4  7  1
Barbados  3  0  1  2  1  8  1

U-17s into the knockout phase.
TTFA Media.

A draw was needed and that’s exactly what was achieved as Lindell Sween’s 82nd minute equalizer held off a stubborn Barbados as Trinidad and Tobago’s U-17 Men’s team secured a 1-1 draw at the Estadio Pensativo on Wednesday. The result pushed T&T through to the knockout phase where they will meet the Group H second placed team on Sunday.

Either team could break down each other’s defence until late in the first half when Shamari Harewood’s effort bounced past goalkeeper Ailan Panton to push the “Bajans” ahead.

ForDominic Wilson, Lyshaun Morris and Lindell Sween all had attempts on goal but could not find the target. But Sween had the final say with a low left footed effort into the far right post with eight minutes left in regulation.

Cooper: Was never going to be easy

“I said from the start Barbados is no walk over. They have some quality players within their squad and they were a stubborn bunch. The difference in this match was who wanted it more with all the cards on the table. They (Barbados) were purposeful in their play and had the belief of going to the second rounds. We on the other hand was trying to put on a full 90-minute performance to have the perfect game. But we struggled to settle down not for the first time and went a goal behind by some poor decision making and defensive organisation.

Changes to the Approach

“We had to make some decisions in the starting team with a slight injury to Derrel Garcia coming from the goal he scored against the US. He struck the ball so hard that he injuried his right ankle, so I decided not to use him. But fate had it we had to throw on our offensive threat off the bench to bring a change to the game. Our conditioning program has been second to noneso we were relentless in the second half to get the equalizer.

It wasn’t Pretty but…

“It wasn’t pretty and we know we can play much better football than we are doing at this time. But the boys are learning on the job and their efforts cannot be questioned. They are giving there all for the country at the moment. But we must be better going forward in the future. We have several players on the day who can deliver goals. Today was Sween and day before was Garcia. It was a team effort and a member doing his part when asked to do so. Before the goal he had his personal struggles in the field, but his talent came to the party at the end,” Cooper said.

“Now we will recover over the next couple days and prepare for our next opponent. Again, we are one step towards achieving our mission. It will certainly be a challenge but it’s one we are looking forward to,” Cooper concluded.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2023, 05:18:37 PM by Flex »

« Reply #812 on: February 15, 2023, 10:18:19 PM »
Aren't they through ahead of Barbados? Congrats

« Reply #813 on: February 16, 2023, 02:12:30 AM »
Ailan Panton, Rio Cardines, Lindell Sween, Darrel Garcia and Malachi Webb should be immediately drafted into the senior team. All teams now priming youth players. T&T have de oldest team in Concacaf they not going anywhere unless Eve start blooding these youths.

Rio Cardines is a boss find, de man look potent.

« Reply #814 on: February 16, 2023, 11:08:51 AM »
Ailan Panton, Rio Cardines, Lindell Sween, Darrel Garcia and Malachi Webb should be immediately drafted into the senior team. All teams now priming youth players. T&T have de oldest team in Concacaf they not going anywhere unless Eve start blooding these youths.

Rio Cardines is a boss find, de man look potent.

Patton is the mvp so far. At least for me. The guy flying all over the place to make the squad look decent.But you are correct, some of these yutes should be blooding with the U20/seniors. They don't have much time. You know how Trini developmental  system does work 4 years behind.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #815 on: February 16, 2023, 08:23:09 PM »
Jamaica has a proper U17 team. These boys playing all over Costa Rica

« Reply #816 on: February 19, 2023, 11:45:50 AM »
Cooper: Decision-making, defence will be key
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

T&T's Under-17 men will have to sharpen up on a few areas first, to have a chance of progressing against El Salvador when the teams meet in the round of 16s of the CONCACAF U-17 Championships in Antigua, Guatemala, tonight at 9 pm at the Estadio Pensativo.

Coach Shawn Cooper's team has been battling a few niggling injuries, in addition to, the improvement needed in the defensive department, which Cooper admitted in an interview with Guardian Media Sports yesterday.

Instrumental striker Derrel Garcia, who scored in their team's opening two matches of the tournament, will be doubtful after picking up an instep injury in the game against the USA.

Apart from that, Cooper said his players have been struggling with proper decision-making, while his defence has also struggled to keep the line. He described the El Salvadorians as a decent team with a few quality players.

"It's a ball game, there's no result to the game as yet. It's just about us settling down early and getting into their faces and playing on the transition. When we win the ball we have to make the best use of it and I don't think we have been making the best choices.

"A lot of people are complaining that we're not building out of the back and we're playing long balls, but at this point in time, if we're having certain issues, we have to play a certain way and then we go forward. It's not about looking nice, it's about playing to the team's strengths.

"It's a tactical game, it's a chess game so you will play some long and you will play some short, you invite them you get in the back etc," Cooper explained.

"El Salvador is a decent-playing team, they are very strong going down their right side, they have a few quality players, but they can be scored on. The problem is that we're trying to deal with our defensive organisation, getting the players not to break the lines, the discipline in holding the lines and closing down people and seeing people moving into the spaces behind our backs.

"It will take some time but we will get it.

"Another issue we're having is when we're coming out of the park, it's making the proper decisions such as the selection of passes, so sometimes we tend to go down one side when we could change it up and be a bit more patient in the build-up," Cooper explained.

The T&T team lost their opening two matches against Canada (3-2) and the United States (3-1), however, they played to a 1-1 tie with Barbados to advance to the round of 16s as the third team in Group F.

A victory tonight can put them on a path to a clash with regional giant Mexico.

Cooper said he believes in his players and his team but their preparation has put them in a position now where they are punching above their weight, in relation to, the preparation of their opponents.

He said, however, that the offensive power that his team possesses, can be a game-changer for them.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #817 on: February 19, 2023, 01:01:11 PM »
Please do not resort to  ah 10 man defense and park the bus from the get go- If that is a considered strategy? :)
 :)

« Reply #818 on: February 19, 2023, 02:52:17 PM »
Young Warriors face El Salvador for quarter-final spot
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

THE Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 boys football team will try to upset El Salvador in the round of 16 of the Concacaf Under-17 Championships, at the Estadio Pensativo, in Guatemala on Sunday at 9 pm TT time.

T&T qualified for the knock-out stage after finishing third in Group B with one point after getting one draw and two losses. T&T sealed their place in the knock-out phase after playing to a 1-1 draw against Barbados in the final round of the group phase. An 82nd-minute equaliser from Lindell Sween was enough to see T&T qualify for the next round.

Before the match against El Salvador, T&T lost 3-2 Canada and fell 3-1 to the US.

The T&T defence will have a challenge keeping the El Salvador attackers at bay as the Central Americans scored eight goals in group play.

El Salvador finished second in Group D after ending the preliminary stage with a crushing 4-0 win over Suriname. In earlier matches, El Salvador lost 4-1 to Honduras and defeated Haiti 3-1.

Coach Shawn Cooper said: “We want to play in transition and use the speed of our wingers in the transition—we want to stretch them,” he said. “The Central American teams don’t like you in their face and they don’t like you to run at them. They play a lot with their bodies when they don’t have the ball and try to foul you early, so you can’t use your foot speed.

“We are expecting that and we are trying to prepare our boys for that.”

WATCH - Game Live Here

« Last Edit: February 19, 2023, 03:01:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #819 on: February 19, 2023, 07:12:07 PM »
like we get one in we tail already. anybody know if that link, redirect, registration thing going to get me anywhere?

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #820 on: February 19, 2023, 07:51:01 PM »
like we get one in we tail already. anybody know if that link, redirect, registration thing going to get me anywhere?
Not playing bad at all. Niles looks nervous and we need to tighten up at the back but we've grown into the game. These boys can play

« Reply #821 on: February 19, 2023, 07:52:00 PM »
finally got in @ half time. nice to see the score! pm me f u looking for a link.

« Reply #822 on: February 19, 2023, 08:01:44 PM »
Not playing bad at all. Niles looks nervous and we need to tighten up at the back but we've grown into the game. These boys can play
from the highlights it look more along the lines of -- that keeper could keep! [of course i didn't see the half, so i'll defer to your judgement till 2nd half].

« Reply #823 on: February 19, 2023, 08:31:08 PM »
Niles is struggling not nervous

« Reply #824 on: February 19, 2023, 08:42:03 PM »
exciting game!

« Reply #825 on: February 19, 2023, 08:58:35 PM »
i with yuh. obvious deficiencies including just holing on to the ball [half of why they put the english youth in the back], but good plusses as well - finishing your chances, speed and big bodies. with ore time they could have been better. lewwe still hope.

« Reply #826 on: February 20, 2023, 01:00:02 AM »
T&T U-17 eliminated by El Salvador after 3-2 defeat.
CONCACAF.COM.

There were plenty of fireworks in the nightcap in Antigua, Guatemala between El Salvador and Trinidad and Tobago, starting with a rocket from distance from El Salvador’s Bryan Vasquez in the 3’.

The Soca Warriors responded in kind, as a calm finish from Rio Cardines leveled the score at 1-1 in the 33’. The two sides then traded goals in the second half, with Walter Menjivar scoring in the 65’ for El Salvador and Malachi Webb in the 79’ for the islanders.

It too extra time for things to be decided and a right-footed effort from distance from Michael Ventura in the 107’ earned El Salvador the dramatic 3-2 victory and a place in the quarterfinals of the 2023 Concacaf Men’s Under-17 Championship in Guatemala.

Concacaf Under-17 Championship Yesterday Results.

(Round of 16)

El Salvador 3 (Bryan Vasquez 3, Walter Menjívar 64, Michael Ventura 105) v Trinidad and Tobago 2 (Rio Cardines 33, Malachi Webb 79);

Mexico 6 v Nicaragua 0;

United States 7 v Dominican Republic 0;

Canada 3 v Haiti 0;

Guatemala 2 v Jamaica 1;

Honduras 6 v Bermuda 0;

Panama 2 v Cuba 0;

Puerto Rico 1 v Costa Rica 1
*— Puerto Rico won 4-2 via kicks from the penalty mark.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-4-1-1): 1.Ailan Panton (GK); 6.Aydon Caruth (10.Michael Chaves 86), 2.Jaden Williams (Yellow 90), 3.Joshua Figaro, 4.Lyshaun Morris; 7.Rio Cardines, 15.Armani Rowe (11.Derrel García 68), 8.Josiah Ochoa (captain), 16.Jeremiah Niles (Yellow 50) (18.Dominic Wilson 60 [12.Jeremiah Cateau 108]); 9.Lindell Sween; 19.Tyrell Moore (17.Malachi Webb 68 - Yellow 70).

Unused substitutes: 20.Jaden Ottley (GK), 13.Vaughn Clement, 14.Tau Lamsee.

Unavailable: 5.Samuel Duncan.

Coach: Shawn Cooper

El Salvador (4-3-3): 18.Alexander Aguilar (GK); 15.Michael Ventura, 4.Nestor Delgado (20.Jonathan Aguirre 102), 5.Kristian Villalobos, 3.Kiano Casamalhuapa; 8.Walter Menjívar (captain), 6.Elder Figueroa, 10.Christopher Arias (12.Adrian Aguilar 59); 7.Nelson Diaz, 9.Christopher Argueta, 14.Bryan Vasquez (2.Stevan Mancia 66 [11.Raul Avalos 95]).

Unused substitutes: 1.Hamilton Lemus (GK) 13.Diego Vasquez, 16.Wilber Diaz, 17.Anderson Portillo, 19.Jair Asprilla.

Coach: Juan Serrano.

Referee: Adonis Carrasco (Dominican Republic).

WATCH CU17M 2023 Highlights | El Salvador vs Trinidad and Tobago.

RELATED NEWS

T&T U-17 Soca Warriors booted out by El Salvador.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Despite a desperate battle by the young T&T Soca Warriors, it took two soft goals to confirm their exit from the CONCACAF Under-17 Championships against El Salvador on Sunday night at the Estadio Pensativo in Antigua, Guatemala.

They were beaten 3-2 in a match considered the best in the tournament to date by the organisers. Coach Shawn Cooper said he was extremely proud of his charges, as they went into the tournament as probably one of the most under-prepared teams, but still, they were not humiliated.

It took just three minutes for the Warriors to find themselves behind. The T&T defence failed to clear the ball from an early El Salvador attack, and the ball rolled invitingly on top of the box for Bryan Vasquez to hit a thunderous shot that sailed over the outstretched arms of Ailan Panton in the T&T goal.

However, T&T was quickly back on level terms as skilful midfielder Lindell Sween served defender Rio Cardines inside the El Salvadorian area and he lashed the ball powerfully past goalkeeper Alexander Aguilar for the equaliser in the 33rd minute.

The teams went to the half-time break with the score levelled at one apiece, and afterwards, the fluctuating affair resumed with Walter Menjivar darting inside the T&T box to collect a right-side centre. And though heavily marked by two defenders, he still managed to tuck it past Panton in the 65th minute to restore the 2-1.

But for a second time, the T&T offence proved its worth. Substitute striker Derrel Garcial, in the 79th minute, drove past two markers on top of the El Salvador penalty area before slipping it to another substitute Malachi Webb to fire past the goalkeeper for the 2-2 scoreline.

With the score at 2-2, the teams could not break the deadlock before the signal of the end of regulation time and the match was sent to extra time. But penalties beckoning, Michael Ventura picked up the ball from some 25 yards out and hit it powerfully past the diving Panton for the winner in the 107th minute of play.

Afterwards, Cooper, though satisfied with the performance, said: “ I think we shot ourselves in the foot by giving away two soft goals, meaning, we made some mistakes by not clearing the lines properly and we paid for it.

At this level when you make mistakes you are going to pay for it.

Before I left for here, I said offensively we had enough threat in the team to get us goals. The major issue we would have had from day one is our defensive organisation and stopping goals from scoring.”

He noted: “ We put an extra defender in midfield to protect the back four but the goals still came from individual errors, failing to clear the lines. This is a young team, still developing, they haven’t played football for two years, but I have seen improvements in their performances from game one to now.

We haven’t been putting together a good 90 minutes, but yesterday we did and it went to extra time against a very good El Salvadorian team, so I think the boys have nothing to be ashamed of. We didn’t leave here disgraced.”

« Last Edit: February 22, 2023, 01:59:36 AM by Flex »

« Reply #827 on: February 20, 2023, 09:06:06 AM »
“It’s about attitude!” Cooper on T&T football’s shortcomings, facing El Salvador and his players’ special quality

“We are dealing with amateurs and that is different to professionals in terms of how they deal with certain situations.”

As an example, he pointed to one key player who initially refused to try any of the wide array of breakfast and lunch meals available at their Guatemalan hotel and was attempting to make do on bread and butter. Cooper threatened to drop the young man to finally get him to budge.

https://wired868.com/2023/02/18/its-about-attitude-cooper-on-tt-footballs-shortcomings-facing-el-salvador-and-his-players-special-quality/

Offline Soccerpro

« Reply #828 on: February 20, 2023, 10:01:38 AM »
That is wild. A kid representing his country at an elite competition refuses to eat anything other than bread or butter? What a waste of money and resources spent on him. He has no future in the game.

Kids in some other Concacaf countries have been in professional environments with nutritionists for a few years by the time they are 17.

« Reply #829 on: February 20, 2023, 11:17:43 AM »
That is wild. A kid representing his country at an elite competition refuses to eat anything other than bread or butter? What a waste of money and resources spent on him. He has no future in the game.

Kids in some other Concacaf countries have been in professional environments with nutritionists for a few years by the time they are 17.

What you saying is generally true [on Rashford "cribs" interview he don't use his kitchen b/c all his food have to pass thru his nutrutionist] but at the same time it had top players who was smoking cigarettes and bullin tingz whole night, right before games. I think they lil young to get write off just yet. It have learning.
You could see that the majority of players just not accustomed to playing at that speed [while keeping 100% concentration]. They need more exposure to get the "whys" of proper diet, higher intensity training off season etc.

« Reply #830 on: February 20, 2023, 12:49:39 PM »
I agreed with Kounty about " deficiencies including just holing on to the ball" and unable to adjust to the speed of the  game, the physical part of the game. All, to me are clearly obvious. I love their fighting spirit. If our guys were fitter and a bit stronger, they would have taken ElSal. But they are not.

If they are to succeed at the U20 level, they need to adjust their minds first. What it will take for them to do  the "right" things to achieve top level. A lot of 50/50 ball  left some of our guys writhing in pain. And that is against EL Salvador. What go happen when they meet a physical and fast team. This team can go far but the TTFA has to do something different to vastly minimize their difficiencies. Cardines is above the curve. Like he can play anywhere. And we know why. He is is in a professional organization. If we have about 7 players of his mind set, we going places.

I felt sorry for Panton. He was throwing his body all over the places to prevent embarassment. He and Cardines  should be training with the senior team.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2023, 12:52:46 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #831 on: February 20, 2023, 01:56:56 PM »
Oh, oh a side note. The white uniform is a beaut. I have to get some for my grand kids.

« Reply #832 on: February 21, 2023, 01:27:44 AM »

What you saying is generally true [on Rashford "cribs" interview he don't use his kitchen b/c all his food have to pass thru his nutrutionist] but at the same time it had top players who was smoking cigarettes and bullin tingz whole night, right before games. I think they lil young to get write off just yet. It have learning.
You could see that the majority of players just not accustomed to playing at that speed [while keeping 100% concentration]. They need more exposure to get the "whys" of proper diet, higher intensity training off season etc.

You comparing someone's refusal to eat with someone chasing woman? Fuh real? Ah bet he would eat with ah naked incentive.

« Reply #833 on: February 21, 2023, 01:38:08 AM »
“It’s about attitude!” Cooper on T&T football’s shortcomings, facing El Salvador and his players’ special quality

“We are dealing with amateurs and that is different to professionals in terms of how they deal with certain situations.”

As an example, he pointed to one key player who initially refused to try any of the wide array of breakfast and lunch meals available at their Guatemalan hotel and was attempting to make do on bread and butter. Cooper threatened to drop the young man to finally get him to budge.

https://wired868.com/2023/02/18/its-about-attitude-cooper-on-tt-footballs-shortcomings-facing-el-salvador-and-his-players-special-quality/

What this points to is an improved need for pre-tournament psychological profiling. Cooper is a humanitarian. There are coaches with whom a player with ANY inkling of that would never make it on the plane to benefit from the growth experience of being there. That behavior is a variant of the conduct exhibited by some players on trial and before they even get a whiff of a trial.

It is also effectively a hunger strike. Coach bounced his head in belief of the player and the player bounced his head out of an insecurity. Who needs that during a consequential tournament?

« Reply #834 on: February 21, 2023, 01:44:09 AM »
Jamaica has a proper U17 team. These boys playing all over Costa Rica

Puerto Rico apparently figured it out how to be the bride. No prize for the bridesmaids.

« Reply #835 on: February 22, 2023, 02:03:29 AM »
“It’s about attitude!” Cooper on T&T football’s shortcomings, facing El Salvador and his players’ special quality.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com).

On Thursday evening, Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team head coach Shawn Cooper and another staff member suffered an attempted “break-in” at their hotel in Antigua City, Guatemala.

“I saw someone trying to open my door,” Cooper told Wired868. “They showed me a key with my room number…”

A quick check further revealed that Cooper’s room key as well as those belonging to the Trinidad and Tobago contingent had been deactivated.

Temporarily, the Soca Warriors had been checked out. An administrative mix-up between Concacaf and the hotel staff meant that the latter party thought Trinidad and Tobago were eliminated in the group stage of the Concacaf Under-17 Championship.

Life comes at you fast at Concacaf youth tournaments.

“If we had lost, we would have had to be in the airport at 8am the next morning,” said Cooper. “Concacaf sends you home immediately.”

There were only eight minutes on the clock when San Juan North Secondary student Lindell Sween swung his educated left boot to pull Trinidad and Tobago level against Barbados.

And, via that slender margin, the young Soca Warriors are preparing for a Round of 16 clash with El Salvador from 9pm on Sunday 19 February. The Barbados players have long since been returned to sender.

Trinidad and Tobago are the only outfit left in the competition without a single win. Was Cooper really satisfied with advancing to the knockout stage on the back of a come-from-behind draw against Barbados?

“It wasn’t pretty,” he said. “We didn’t start on the front foot. Sometimes players go out with the mind-set that the victory will come, and only when desperation hits you see them making the effort they should have made from the start.

“In the second half you saw a change of attitude with the same players on the field, when they took up the intensity. It is about attitude—how you value the game, your approach to the game. It is not just if you can play or not.”

It is worth pointing out that the feedback for Trinidad and Tobago’s efforts had largely been positive up until that point.

Undoubtedly, the young Soca Warriors were second best against Canada and the United States when they suffered 3-2 and 3-1 losses respectively.

But after recent results at youth level—Trinidad and Tobago lost 5-0 to Mexico at the Concacaf Men’s Under-20 Championship last year, and 10-0 to the same nation at the 2022 Women’s Under-17 Championship—Cooper’s returns so far, barring Barbados, could only be considered an upgrade.

“After being three down to America in that short space of time, you would have expected the floodgates to open, and it didn’t,” said Cooper. “We made some adjustments, yes, which is down to my experience (this is Cooper’s fifth Concacaf tournament). But you have got to credit the mentality of the boys.

“When last you see a Trinidad and Tobago team run this hard in the second half of a game? Usually they are dying—but they are giving me blood.

“What they are probably lacking in tactical ability and stuff they are giving me in heart and soul. They are really representing the country to the best of their ability, although they are young boys and still learning.”

Cooper noted that the likes of Canada and the United States have players already attached to professional clubs, whereas the likes of Trinidad and Tobago rely on schoolboys.

The Warriors had two practice games away to Jamaica before the competition. However, US preparations, he said, started two years ago and involved over 40 practice matches and two overseas tours.

“People might ask, ‘coach are you ready?’—but it is not if I’m ready, it is if the players are ready,” said Cooper, who took the National Under-17 Team to within 90 minutes of the Fifa World Cup at the 2011 and 2013 Concacaf tournaments. “We are dealing with amateurs and that is different to professionals in terms of how they deal with certain situations.”

“We tell them the same way vehicles use gas for energy, humans use food—you can’t be a top class footballer without eating properly,” said the national youth team coach. “Our players are not educated enough about things like nutrition to understand how it helps you get the maximum out of your body.

“These are the things we should be doing from back home but we don’t have the resources to do it.”

Other things, he chalked down to a lack of exposure.

“You will see the US and Canada players go in the pool and relax, make two strokes, and then chill out and chat, or stand to the side and listen to some music,” said Cooper. “When our boys get to the pool, it is who going down the slide, who jumping on a next man’s head. It is what we would call ‘never see come see’. But that is about not being accustomed.

“This is one of the reasons why we have tours to get players accustomed to things like this. Still, I think this is the most disciplined team that I’ve seen in terms of things like running about in the hotel and so on.”

Another handicap for Trinidad and Tobago teams has generally been support staff.

Former Women’s National Senior Team head coach Kenwyne Jones had 11 technical staff members—inclusive of a sport psychologist, video analyst and a rehab specialist, massage therapist, trainer and strength and conditioning coach—at the 2022 Concacaf W Championship. And former Men’s Senior Team head coach Dennis Lawrence also had significant support.

But those are aberrations rather than the norm for Trinidad and Tobago’s national football coaches.

Cooper’s staff has seven members, which does not include a massage therapist or video analyst.

“You’re starting with school boys coming up against professional teenagers and then the resources the other team has on top of you,” he said. “Teams like USA and Honduras have coaches on the opposite side of the field with microphones who are telling the head coach what issues they are seeing on the next side of the field.

“It is like they have two benches, and things like that make the coach’s job much easier. We are miles behind in terms of use of technology and so on.

“[…] So to be at this juncture with these boys, they are punching above their weight. We don’t look at all these fine details but it tells at the higher level.”

Trinidad and Tobago coaches must find ways to bridge the gap, regardless of the disadvantages.

“People might say we have been six months together but I say it is more like one month,” said Cooper. “Because all those other times when the SSFL was still going on, you couldn’t do much. After you play a (SSFL) game on Wednesday, what meaningful work can you do on the Thursday?

“The most we could use that time for was bonding and getting players to understand what we need from them.”

Faced with short preparation time, Cooper focused on fitness and defensive organisation. Thereafter, he tries to maximise the talent within his squad.

Sween, with two goals and an assist, has been Trinidad and Tobago’s most productive offensive player, although he tends to pop in and out of matches.

Crystal Palace Under-18 player Rio Cardines, who played at right midfield and right back against Barbados, also has something to offer in attack.

“[Cardines] is very explosive—he is dynamic as a wingback [and] he has the ability to go forward,” said Cooper. “He has a long way to go still in the game but he has the ability—you can see it.

“He is not the finished product yet but he has some good attributes and you can tell his professionalism.”

It probably suits Cooper’s team to concede possession to their opponents and play on the break, as is likely to be the pattern of Sunday’s knockout fixture.

“We want to play in transition and use the speed of our wingers in the transition—we want to stretch them,” he said. “The Central American teams don’t like you in their face and they don’t like you to run at them. They play a lot with their bodies when they don’t have the ball and try to foul you early, so you can’t use your foot speed.

“We are expecting that and we are trying to prepare our boys for that.”

If Trinidad and Tobago might be limited in terms of their offensive approach, Cooper suggested that they have more than a few players who can hurt the opposition—as was already evidenced by second half cameos from St Benedict’s College attacker Malachi Webb.

“Guys like Webb and [Jeremiah] Niles and [Vaughn] Clement with their speed can come on and bring a different dimension to the game,” said Cooper, who noted that talented flanker Derrel Garcia is still troubled by an ankle injury. “And [Michael] Chaves also, who is relentless in chasing and attacking. So we have guys who can come off the bench and be game changers.”

It would help, though, if the Warriors are still in the game after the interval. They have trailed at halftime in every match so far and Cooper suggested it is a mental thing.

“We are trying to get them to play two halves and not just one—we are starting too slow,” said Cooper.

He noted that the technical staff has changed the warm-up routine and pre-match team in an effort to get the players to “start on the front foot”. But, so far, the right response continues to elude them.

“I think maybe as Trinidadians, we are more reactive than proactive,” said Cooper. “You (the player) have to see it to believe it. You practice but values are hard to change sometimes—you need belief in what you are doing.”

He again reiterated the value of exposure and a professional mind-set. Trinidad and Tobago players, he said, are inherently as blasé about warm-ups as they are with their diets.

“Some people feel warm-ups are just a thing you do before the game, but there is a purpose,” he said. “You warm up to get ready to play—and not just with your body but your mind.

“[…] The first 15 minutes and the last 15 minutes are very vital in the game.”

Trinidad and Tobago football fans will hope the boys find the right gear at kick-off on Sunday. They were nearly booted out of their hotel on Thursday—defeat tomorrow would see the Warriors ejected, for real this time.

“Nobody here wants to come home for Carnival,” said Cooper.

RELATED NEWS

Coach Cooper: Young Warriors gave 'heart and soul' at U17 Champs.
T&T Newsday Reports.

AFTER a string of valiant performances, the T&T Men’s Under-17 team were ultimately eliminated from the Concacaf Under-17 Championship at the hands of El Salvador in a 3-2 loss on Sunday evening.

In an intense battle, the Young Warriors displayed the same resilience they did in their previous matches throughout the tournament, as it took El Salvador a long-ranged ‘hit and hope’ shot in extra-time to pin down their fighting opponents.

Going into the fixture, T&T were the only team in the round-of-16 without a win, having advanced to the knockouts as a third-place team who registered just one point following a draw against Barbados in their final match of the group – thanks to a late equalising goal from striker Lindell Sween.

Before the encounter with their Caribbean neighbours, the young Warriors fiercely battled against Canada and the United States. But their efforts proved to be futile as they were defeated in both matches 3-2 and 3-1, respectively.

Those results were products of T&T’s poor first-half performances, which led to the team being forced to atone for their errors in the second period. The second-half changes proved to reap dividends for the Warriors but, when T&T got into their top gear, it was ultimately too late to salvage anything but a point from the three group matches.

At the Estadio Pensativo on Sunday, the Warriors knew that they could not have afforded to display the same lackluster first-half performances – especially after seeing that El Salvador saw off two other Caribbean opponents (Haiti, 3-1 / Suriname, 4-0) in the group stage.

But the Warriors’ woes continued as the Salvadorans quickly drew first blood in the third minute when Bryan Vasquez rifled the ball into the top corner from the edge of the T&T penalty area following a poor clearance from T&T midfielder Armani Rowe.

T&T’s first-half struggles were at the forefront once again. El Salvador dominated possession and made T&T goalkeeper Ailan Panton work hard in the opening 15 minutes.

But the young Warriors eventually switched into second gear and got their game going. In the 33rd minute, Lindell Sween received a pass at the top of the Salvadoran penalty area, turned towards goal – seemingly seeking to take a shot with his powerful left foot – and played a cheeky pass to the onrushing Rio Cardines. The Crystal Palace midfielder then coolly placed the ball into the back of the net to bring T&T back on level terms.

Cardines' effort was T&T’s only shot on target in the first half, which highlighted another slow start from the young Warriors. Nevertheless, the teams went into the break with the scores level at one apiece.

The second half began in a similar fashion. However, T&T was more dangerous in their transitional play and they caused problems for the El Salvador defence in the attacking third.

But the Salvadorans reclaimed their lead in the 64th minute as their captain, Walter Menjívar, led by example to finish a well-placed shot past Panton’s left hand.

As a response, T&T head coach Shawn Cooper brought on the St Benedict’s duo of Malachi Webb and Derrel Garcia from the bench to help bring his team back into the game. Rewardingly, the boss was repaid 11 minutes from full-time when Garcia slalomed past two defenders and cleverly set up Webb, who clinically slotted the ball home for his second goal of the tournament, and TT’s second goal of the night.

After some shaky final minutes, the young Warriors held on to force the match into extra-time.

In extra-time, as both teams gambled to clinch a winning goal, they left themselves vulnerable at the back. Both sets of attacking forces put pressure on their opposing goalkeepers in the first 15-minute period.

With the score still tied after the first half of extra-time, something special was needed by either team to decide the match. Unfortunately for the young Warriors, that spectacular decider came from El Salvador’s Michael Ventura in the 106th minute, who lashed a rifling shot from 30 yards out that sailed over Panton, crashed off the underside of the crossbar and into the net.

That late dart had T&T deflated but not defeated. The Warriors continued to push on for yet another equaliser – so strongly that the Salvadorans implemented time-wasting tactics to stifle T&T from levelling the score for the third time.

Ultimately, T&T’s efforts were in vain as the Warriors were eliminated.

The young Warriors can be proud of their campaign having only had two warmup matches against Jamaica prior to the tournament.

With some strong performances over the four matches, they can look forward to the future having set a solid foundation in this competition.

Shawn Cooper lamented his team’s slow start to matches throughout the campaign but also praised their resilience, stating, “Sometimes players go out with the mindset that the victory will come, and only when desperation hits you see them making the effort they should have made from the start.”

“In the second half, you saw a change of attitude with the same players on the field, when they took up the intensity. It is about attitude—how you value the game, your approach to the game. It is not just if you can play or not.”

He continued, “Our conditioning program has been second to none, so we were relentless in the second half. When last you see a Trinidad and Tobago team run this hard in the second half of a game? Usually, they are dying—but they are giving me blood.”

“What they are probably lacking in tactical ability and stuff they are giving me in heart and soul. They are really representing the country to the best of their ability, although they are young boys and still learning.”

Many of the young players from the T&T U17 team can be expected to play in the upcoming youth tournaments planned by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), which will serve as a platform to develop budding footballers to compete and perform at the highest level and help T&T to close the gap to the top Concacaf juggernauts.

« Last Edit: February 22, 2023, 02:10:19 AM by Flex »

« Reply #836 on: February 22, 2023, 12:25:02 PM »
Losing in extra time is no shame. The boys definitely put in some work and scored a good amount of goals by our standards in regional competition. On top of that, a couple of those goals were quite special

« Reply #837 on: February 22, 2023, 02:52:21 PM »

What this points to is an improved need for pre-tournament psychological profiling. Cooper is a humanitarian. There are coaches with whom a player with ANY inkling of that would never make it on the plane to benefit from the growth experience of being there. That behavior is a variant of the conduct exhibited by some players on trial and before they even get a whiff of a trial.

It is also effectively a hunger strike. Coach bounced his head in belief of the player and the player bounced his head out of an insecurity. Who needs that during a consequential tournament?

Asylum, I kind of on the both side of this. The coach or the selectors should have known of the player's lifestyle or religion, whatever it is. I have no problem with that. But it will affect the team and his health also. Football is skill, dexterity and power, etc. Even if he has skills and dexterity and he don't have strength and power,  what use is he to the team. In the game against El Sal. there was the left winger who was tired and the commentator mentioned it. To his credit Cooper changed him and brought Chaves, correct me if I am wrong.

These players must be honest and let the coaches know about essentials habits. Not wait at the crucial hour to tell them of your habits. That should have been straightened out in TT before they came to Guatemala.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2023, 02:55:51 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #838 on: February 22, 2023, 06:27:32 PM »

Asylum, I kind of on the both side of this. The coach or the selectors should have known of the player's lifestyle or religion, whatever it is. I have no problem with that. But it will affect the team and his health also. Football is skill, dexterity and power, etc. Even if he has skills and dexterity and he don't have strength and power,  what use is he to the team. In the game against El Sal. there was the left winger who was tired and the commentator mentioned it. To his credit Cooper changed him and brought Chaves, correct me if I am wrong.

These players must be honest and let the coaches know about essentials habits. Not wait at the crucial hour to tell them of your habits. That should have been straightened out in TT before they came to Guatemala.

What habits ? eating doubles.So much  of food and you want bread and butter ? I remember Hart and Wim  had these  same issues  when  they were  coach. National team players , senior players refused to take ice baths and like drinking peanut punch and eating  Kentucky after practice etc.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2023, 06:43:48 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #839 on: February 22, 2023, 06:52:08 PM »
Look more thing

“You will see the US and Canada players go in the pool and relax, make two strokes, and then chill out and chat, or stand to the side and listen to some music,” said Cooper. “When our boys get to the pool, it is who going down the slide, who jumping on a next man’s head. It is what we would call ‘never see come see’. But that is about not being accustomed.

Still, I think this is the most disciplined team that I’ve seen in terms of things like running about in the hotel and so on.”

I wonder if other caribbean teams had this issue ?