March 28, 2024, 01:57:00 PM

Author Topic: Men's U-17 Thread  (Read 89758 times)

Re: U-17 Men's Team off to Colombia for Tournament of the Americas
« Reply #30 on: November 30, 2012, 12:00:47 PM »
I see it more as an opportunity if there is none.

I belive countries like Spain and Holland have outlined plans on how to manage and develop players throughout their life stages in order to identify and maximize potential. The reality is that a realistic cycle is probably 15 to 20 years before you see widespread benefits in terms of national success.

Plan must also speak to coaching and a development plan around building facilities and structuring of league systems.

g you really think we patient enough for that. Coaches have two weeks to prepare a National Team, with two training sessions a week.
When they fail people on the forum losing ther minds and saying the coaches are shit. I doubt people will listen to any logical development model. Almost all development models are based on a 10 Year cycle (as you correctly pointed out). It would be very nice to see the same, starting at a Primary School level & then progressing.

I was always under the impression that this is the type of activities a TD should be engaged in...not running behind the teams when they on tour (foreign), trying to play motivator and/or assistant coach or whatever reasons were put forward.  We have people for them jobs already.

Online Tallman

« Reply #31 on: November 30, 2012, 12:45:21 PM »
Has there ever been a National Development Football Program in T&T?

Yes, but on paper. Never implemented.

« Reply #32 on: December 01, 2012, 12:30:02 PM »
Any news?

« Reply #33 on: December 01, 2012, 01:12:45 PM »
U-17 men win opening game in Cali.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under 17 team got  off to a winning start at the Tournament of the Americas in Cali, Colombia when they defeated Seleccion Meta 1-0 on Friday.

The squad is currently in Cali for the eleventh edition of the tournament as they continue their preparations for the CONCACAF Final round of qualification towards the 2013 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

T&T’s winning goal came from 1st Santa Rosa FC’s Kishun Seecharan in the 54th minute.

T&T are scheduled to face Academia Tolimense today and will also meet the Under 17 team of Argentine club Boca Juniors on Sunday.

Head coach Shawn Cooper described the team’s outing as good test for his team which was able to travel for the tournament through assistance from the Ministry of Sports.

“It was a competitive game in the sense that it was a good work out for us following our arrival in Cali and the fact that we obviously had to take a day or two to settle down here,” Cooper told TTFF Media.

“The team had not played a full match together since the CFU  qualifiers so it was a good opportunity to get them back into match fitness.

The schedule is quite tight here because there is a game everyday but its good preparation for us. The conditions are quite good and the teams are of a pretty decent level as well.

We’ll be trying to get the best out of this in terms of preparation and match fitness during the remainder of our stay here,”  Cooper added from the Hotel Casona in Cali.

The under 17 teams of Mexico, Ecuador, Venezuela and Aston Villa are also in the tournament but are not in T&T’s first round group.

T&T Starting 1X: - Stephon Seepersad, Shannon Gomez, Marteon Watson, Josiah Trimmingham, Maurice Ford, Brendon Creed (capt), Matthew Woo Ling, Jabari Mitchell, Akeem Garcia, Kishun Seecharan, Yafeu Rougier.

Subs Used: - Dominic Jangoo 51st, Weah Adams 58th, Anderson Toussaint 70th, Leland Archer 78th.

« Last Edit: December 01, 2012, 06:48:37 PM by Flex »

« Reply #34 on: December 01, 2012, 07:43:32 PM »
Bless. Nice going T&T, keep working hard

« Reply #35 on: December 03, 2012, 02:17:18 PM »
No news?  I take it we loose a few games since the opener, lol?

« Reply #36 on: December 03, 2012, 03:47:34 PM »
U-17s remain unbeaten after three matches in Colombia.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under 17 team remained unbeaten at the Tournament of the Americas in Colombia after holding Argentina’s Boca Juniors U-17s 1-1 in their third match on Sunday.

T&T were tied top of the Group A table with Boca, both on seven points.  T&T defeated Academia Tolimense 2-1 at the La Candela field in Cali on Saturday. They defeated Seleccion Meta 1-0 in the opening game on Friday.

Against Tolimense, T&T went ahead in the second minute through a goal by W Connection and Naparima College’s Jarred Dass. He met a right side cross by Kishun Seecharan and volleyed home to give the Shawn Cooper-coached team the early lead.

T&T held the lead going into half time and then doubled their advantage in the 68th minute when Akeem Garcia sent a right footed shot into the net from the left of the penalty area following a left side corner by Dass. Tolimense pulled a goal back a minute after Garcia’s strike.

Cooper made five changes in the game with US-based midfielder Andre Fortune among those entering the action in place of Dass in the 70th minute.

The following day T&T faced their strongest challenge to date from Boca Juniors but held their own to come away with a point. Both teams were scoreless at half time before Boca break the deadlock on 51 minutes.

T&T battled back to grab an equalizer through St Ann’s Rangers and Fatima College player Leland Archer in the 74th minute. The goal came when he collected a ball from Matthew Woo Ling before volleying home to ensure a share of the points.

Cooper commended his players for holding their own in the tournament so far.

“It’s been an intensive program so far because we’ve played three games in under five days,” Cooper told TTFF Media.

“But there are no complaints because the guys have started to come into their own and they are responding very nicely.

The games have been tough and we have tried to give playing time to as many players as possible. We are in with a great chance of advancing to the final stages of the tournament which means we could possibly face one of the other national teams that are here which will be an excellent opportunity for us,” Cooper added.

T&T starting team vs Boca Juniors: - 1.Stephon Seepersad, 21.D’eandre Villaroel, 5.Mateon Watson, 4.Josiah Trimmingham, 17.Leland Archer, 3.Maurice Ford, 2.Shannon Gomez, 13.Kyle Braithwaite, 6.Brendon Creed (capt), 16.Mani Walcott, 8.Jabari Mitchell.

« Reply #37 on: December 03, 2012, 04:17:33 PM »
N.B. Just noticed something: not one Presman on any version of the squad that I've seen. Cyah accuse de coachman of playing favorites?

« Reply #38 on: December 03, 2012, 04:26:15 PM »
I am curious to see Boca's squad ... merely because Boca beat Barcelona (Spain not Ecuador) 1-0 in mid-August.

« Reply #39 on: December 03, 2012, 04:36:12 PM »
ask and ye shall recieve  :devil:  thanks flex, and thanks mr. fuentes. bravo t&t, keep up the good work.

« Reply #40 on: December 03, 2012, 04:49:35 PM »
N.B. Just noticed something: not one Presman on any version of the squad that I've seen. Cyah accuse de coachman of playing favorites?

cooper is a serious, no-nonsense coach. and this squad eh no joke either. i don't believe they are even at full strength yet. bodes well for the future to hear names like dass and seecharan scoring for t&t.

« Reply #41 on: December 03, 2012, 06:41:04 PM »

cooper is a serious, no-nonsense coach. and this squad eh no joke either. i don't believe they are even at full strength yet. bodes well for the future to hear names like dass and seecharan scoring for t&t.
They are not at full strength in the sense that they have not been training together since the last rounds of qualifying. They cane together a few days before leaving.

This is because all of the boys were playing SSFL. One or two boys that missed the last rounds were drafted in after having great seasons for their schools.

« Reply #42 on: December 04, 2012, 01:03:08 AM »

They are not at full strength in the sense that they have not been training together since the last rounds of qualifying. They cane together a few days before leaving.

This is because all of the boys were playing SSFL. One or two boys that missed the last rounds were drafted in after having great seasons for their schools.

that too, but also their top scorer and a key american player from the previous qualifying round are not in colombia. plus there are always one or two surprise entries near the final stage.

« Reply #43 on: December 04, 2012, 04:47:55 AM »
We won the last match against Tolimense,this is part of the report,"Against Tolimense TT went ahead in the second minute through a goal by W.Connection Jarred Dass.He met a cross by Kishun Seecharan and volleyed home to give the Shawn Cooper coached team an early lead.Is Sat Maharaj who write this,check it for me nah. ;D

« Reply #44 on: December 06, 2012, 01:13:07 AM »
any news?

« Reply #45 on: December 06, 2012, 03:32:17 AM »

« Reply #46 on: December 06, 2012, 06:29:00 AM »
any news?

Yuh back again  ;D
lol yuh doh sleep? anyway this side is my last hope for football oui. unless shabazz and barber could actually pull something out of an unworkable situation.

« Reply #47 on: December 06, 2012, 03:28:39 PM »
Under 17s reach Quarter Finals in Cali

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 men’s team secured their passage to the quarter finals of the Tournament of the Americas in Cali,Colombia by defeating club Clyclones 3-1 on Wednesday.

T&T got an opening goal from Jared Dass in the 3rd minute and extended that lead through Jabari Mitchell in the 47th minute and W Connection’s Yafeu Rougier converted a penalty in the 63rd. 

T&T had lost their match to 2-1 to Gamag on Tuesday with Rougier being the lone scorer for the Shawn Cooper-coached team. That was T&T’s first loss in the tournament so far and they were scheduled to face Deportivo Cali in their quarter finals on Thursday evening.

Cooper was pleased to see the team progress to that stage as he continues to assess their readiness for next year’s CONCACAF U-17 Final round of qualification in Panama City.

“It’s good to see the players reaching this far in what has been a tournament with good quality and intensity from the teams competing. So far we have been able to show that we too are able to face up well to the requirements of playing this amount of matches in such a short space of time,” Cooper said.

“Generally our fitness has been good but there’s still some work to do and that will only as we continue playing and undergoing more training in the days to come before the year ends,” he added.

Scorer for T&T: #15 J.Dass 03', #08 J.Mitchell 47', #09 Y.Rougier 63' (Pen)

Cyclones: 14' #09

Team Line-up: S.Seepersad (GK), M.Watson, M.Ford, S.Gomez, L.Archer (DF), B.Creed, J.Dass, M.Woo-Ling, A.Toussaint, K.Seecharan (MF), A.Garcia (FW)

Caution:

(T&T) #10 A.Garcia (78')
(T&T) #14 M.Woo-Ling  (80')

« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 04:02:46 AM by Flex »

Online Tallman

« Reply #48 on: December 07, 2012, 09:05:54 PM »
We lorse tuh Deportivo Cali 1-0 in de quarterfinal. I heard dat de ref signalled for 2 mins of extra time, and then Cali scored. When our U-17 team took the ball to the center circle and touched off, de ref blow de whistle tuh end de game. Tough loss.

« Reply #49 on: December 07, 2012, 10:43:45 PM »
We lorse tuh Deportivo Cali 1-0 in de quarterfinal. I heard dat de ref signalled for 2 mins of extra time, and then Cali scored. When our U-17 team took the ball to the center circle and touched off, de ref blow de whistle tuh end de game. Tough loss.

Great showin nonetheless, hold all yuh head high, young warriors, well done  :beermug:

« Reply #50 on: December 08, 2012, 12:52:03 AM »
well played

Online Tallman

« Reply #51 on: December 08, 2012, 07:54:14 AM »
I heard that Woo Ling and Akeem Garcia have been attracting a lot of inquiries from scouts.

We play Venezuela in a friendly on Sunday.

« Reply #52 on: December 08, 2012, 12:29:08 PM »
Well done lads! Keep working hard.

« Reply #53 on: December 08, 2012, 04:12:48 PM »
Well done youths. I like how y'all keep those goals against down to a minimum. Now buss venezuela backside. We behind you 100%!!!

« Reply #54 on: December 11, 2012, 02:18:28 AM »
Venezuela defeated T&T by a score of 3-1 on Sunday. Deportivo Cali went on to win the tournament also defeating Boca Juniors 3-1. If the senior team loose tomorrow I think this will be the only men's national team left in training for a major tournament for all of 2013.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2012, 02:20:53 AM by ZANDOLIE »

Men's U-17 Thread
« Reply #55 on: March 05, 2013, 10:27:37 AM »
T&T, Costa Rica, Canada

Panama, Barbados, Jamaica

USA, Guatemala, Haiti

Mexico, Honduras, Cuba
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 02:30:11 PM by Flex »

Re: CONCACAF U17 Draw
« Reply #56 on: March 05, 2013, 12:05:26 PM »
Costa Rica already put 3 on we last week and Canada is always a top team at youth and women level.

T&T over and out !!!!!!!!

Jamaica and USA have an easy group.

Why USA and Mexico never in a group of death ?

I feel Concacaf is fix.

I can wait tell they make USA, Canada and Mexico start qualifying for the Gold Cup.

« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 03:55:02 PM by Sam »

« Reply #57 on: March 05, 2013, 01:43:48 PM »
Canada  tied with Costa Rica on their U17 tour ...... we have our work cut out a  few games against Honduras USA mexico will set us up well .. i wonder the coaching staff   know about  regis from England only US based players i noticed... leave no stone unturned cooper

« Reply #58 on: March 05, 2013, 02:39:01 PM »
Canada  tied with Costa Rica on their U17 tour ...... we have our work cut out a  few games against Honduras USA mexico will set us up well .. i wonder the coaching staff   know about  regis from England only US based players i noticed... leave no stone unturned cooper

we have one month to become good enough to at least tie with a squad that just beat us 3-0. i have to shake my head when i think of yet another generation of youths with unrealized potential because of thieving and ttff mismanagment. if THIS squad gets blown out, it will be a damn shame. they squad was our best chance of the past few years to regain a long term foothold at the top of the caribbean. 

« Reply #59 on: March 05, 2013, 03:58:59 PM »
We could play Brazil, France and Italy in friendly games and still two months preparation is not enough. The TTFF does leave everything for last minute and then they does blame de players.

You cannot prepare only when we have games, especially a month before the tournament.