March 28, 2024, 11:49:19 AM

Author Topic: Men's U-17 Thread  (Read 89752 times)

Re: Men's U-17 Thread
« Reply #660 on: March 27, 2019, 03:11:25 PM »
John scouts U-17 talent at Combine in Atlanta.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 17 head coach Stern John returned home on Monday night after overseeing a TTFA Combine for U-17 Men’s players at Campbell High School in Atlanta on the weekend.

The purpose of the exercise was to scout for players born or based in North America who are eligible to represent this country in international football, specifically in the Under 17 category. John is currently preparing a National team to participate at the CONCACAF Under 17 Men’s championship at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida from May 1st.

Twenty-five players from various states attended the two-day combine with some coming from Toronto, Florida, North Carolina, Atlanta, New York among other states.

Also present to take a look at proceedings was John’s former teammate, ex-national team striker  Jerren Nixon who currently resides in Atlanta and former T&T-based players who later played in the United States, Sheldon and Brent Bennett.

John said the exercise proved to be worthy one as he managed to discover some talent that could boost the current pool of players. Goalkeeper Coach Ross Russell assisted John in Atlanta as both men flew from Manchester following the T&T versus Wales friendly last Wednesday.

“I think it was a great response. It took us about a week or two to get this together and we had a really good turn out. The parents came out in their numbers with the kids with two days to see the foreign players,” John told TTFA Media after completing his second session in Atlanta.

“I was really impressed with some of the kids we saw here, to add to the kids we already have in Trinidad. They came out and showcased themselves in a very organised manner, respectable as well and they competed. That’s what this is really about so that we can get talent in North America and incorporate them with the ones back home as well,” he added.

The former Birmingham City and Sunderland striker who is T&T’s all-time leading goalscorer, said there was available talent in North America and he believes these exercises would benefit the T&T programme.

“I think these combines can definitely bring some benefits to our programme. We got a good response in the short time so you can imagine what would happen if we give players a couple more months or even a year notice. We have a lot of talent outside of Trinidad and Tobago and a lot of kids want to play for the country and they want to represent the country their parents were born in or where they were born before moving abroad.

T&T faces Bermuda on May 1st to be followed by clashes with Jamaica and Mexico on May 3rd and 5th with top three teams advancing to the knockout stage.

“Now is a very key time for us. We have to cut the team back at home because we have thirty players in training and of course we saw a few players in Atlanta that we will have joined the training squad. We have less than a month to prepare and it’s therefore crunch time. It’s a tall order but I think we can show that we can compete. One of my main things is being able to go and compete at the tournament . I told the kids here that once you are representing Trinidad and Tobago, it’s a pride so they understand that. And once we get that right then they can compete at any level,” John concluded.

Video - Stern John assesses U-17 Players at Combine in Atlanta.

« Reply #661 on: April 04, 2019, 12:23:59 AM »
Stern trims U-17 Squad as preparations enter final month.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Under 17 Men’s Team head coach Stern John has started trimming his squad as he enters the final month of preparations for the upcoming CONCACAF Under 17 Men’s Championship at the IMG Academy in Bradenton. Florida.

John has just twenty-four players in training at the moment and is expected to have a few of the North American-based players from the recent combine joining the training this week. Joining the the local bunch a day ago was Atlanta-based forward Jerrel Nixon, son of ex-Senior Team and FC Zurich striker Jerren Nixon. Sessions are being conducted daily five days per week at the Mannie Ramjohn and Ato Boldon Stadiums.

“So far we’ve seen over forty players and a few have been cut from the squad. We’ve begun the process of narrowing the numbers down towards the final selection,” John told TTFA Media. “We’ve had a fairly good period to work with the players at home and assess their capabilities. And from this week we’ll have some of the guys joining us from North America to fit them into the mix with the intention of putting together the best possible squad for the competition in May,” John said.

Among those in the local squad include Fatima College duo Zachary Welsh and forward Jean-Heim McFee. Both players spoke about the current preparations, saying they were focused on getting out of the group stage and improving on their performances at the Under 15 championship a couple years ago.

“It’s been good in camp so far. We are working hard to ensure we do better than the last tournament. We are trying to go out and compete this time.,” McFee told TTFA Media. “The loss against Jamaica was an embarrassing one. We weren’t playing as a team. We were playing as individuals and it was embarrassing to the coach and the country.

“We must use our individual skills at time but we have to work as a team to get the results to go forward. The team is progressing and the aim is to qualify for the World Cup. My personal view is that our chances are high. The group is set out in a way which I think gives us a fair chance. We can beat every team in the group but we have to want it,” McFee said.

“International football and school football in Trinidad and Tobago is  totally different. The level is way higher on the international stage at our age group than it is at the school level so we have to lift our game to match up with the other teams,” he continued.

Welsh spoke about the influence of John and Kenwyne Jones as the coaches along with assistant Caleb Wales and the rest of the staff.

“Coach Stern and coach Kenwyne both have a lot of experience in the game which is a plus for us and the have been working on getting us to master the ball and get us ready and fit for the tournament. I think my game has grown over the past two years because I think coach Russell (Latapy, previous Under 15/Under 17 coach), coach Stern and coach Kenwyne are all ex-national players and best to ever play for the country and they have used their experience to guide and help us. This has been helping the team to grow. The coaches are very interactive with the players. They give pointers to us throughout the sessions and the relationship between them and the players is very good as they are giving it their best to help us improve for the tournament.

“The last tournament didn’t give us the best of results. We played Jamaica last time and the result wasn’t the best but I think we can use the lessons and experience to come better this time around and really compete and challenge for a qualifying spot,” Welsh added.

T&T’s opening game at the Concacaf Championship is against Bermuda on May 1st preceding the two other group games against Mexico and Jamaica on May 3rd and 5th.

« Reply #662 on: April 04, 2019, 11:59:03 AM »
Ah wonder of Ivan Dos Santos on de team?

« Reply #663 on: April 04, 2019, 12:57:45 PM »
Ah wonder of Ivan Dos Santos on de team?

so dey trim de squad and we doh have de names? .... steups. Why write de article

« Reply #664 on: April 24, 2019, 09:54:26 PM »
Hearing that the squad has been chosen

Can we get a list? And feedback as to who was in the final pool before this cut?

Online Tallman

Stern John announces final 20-man roster for Concacaf U-17 Qualifiers
« Reply #665 on: April 27, 2019, 02:19:34 PM »
Stern John announces final 20-man roster for Concacaf U-17 Qualifiers
TTFA Media

National Under 17 Men’s team head coach Stern John today announced his final 20-man roster for the upcoming Concacaf Under 17 Men’s Championship.

John alongside assistant Kenwyne Jones had been preparing a provisional squad for the past few weeks before selecting the final twenty.

T&T faces Bermuda in its opening group encounter on May 1st at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida. They then face Jamaica on May 3rd and Mexico on May 5th. The top three teams will advance to the knockout stage.

See Video below for John comments at today’s press briefing.

“I am very excited about our upcoming tournament. The guys took the training very well. We had to get in everything  in a very short space of time. The guys took it all on board and relishing the opportunity. The guys are excited and I am excited myself to go there and compete. We want to go there and try to qualify for the second round firstly. I think our main goal is to win our first game which is important. I think once we do that then we have a very good chance of qualifying for the knockout phase,” John said.

See More of John’s comments at today’s press briefing below.

The 2019 CONCACAF U-17 Championship will be the 6th edition of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship (19th edition if all eras included), the men’s under-17 international football tournament organized by CONCACAF. It will be hosted in the United States between 1 May and 16 May 2019.  The top four teams will qualify for the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Brazil as CONCACAF representatives. Mexico are the defending champions.

The format for qualification has changed since the 2017 edition. The qualifying competition no longer features Caribbean and Central American zones.

The 41 CONCACAF teams were ranked based on the CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Ranking as of May 2017. A total of 35 teams entered the tournament. The highest-ranked 16 entrants were exempt from qualifying and advanced directly to the group stage of the final tournament, while the lowest-ranked 19 entrants had to participate in qualifying, where the four group winners advanced to the round of 16 of the knockout stage of the final tournament.

Trinidad and Tobago National Under-17 team

Goalkeepers:

Isaiah Williams (W Connection FC/Presentation College, San F’do), Kahlil Oliver (San Juan Jabloteh/Trinity College East);

Defenders:

Nigel Carraby (W Connection FC/Presentation College, San F’do), Luke Savery (W Connection FC/St Mary’s College), Jordon Britto (San Juan Jabloteh/San Juan North Secondary), Cephas St Rose (W Connection FC/CTS College), Isa Sayeed (Indy Premier Soccer/ Hamilton South-Eastern High School—USA);

Midfielders:

Zachary Welch (North East Stars/Fatima College), Jaiye Sheppard (Unattached/Presentation College, San F’do), Tyrese Pierre (WSV Apeldoorn/Rivers International School—Netherlands), Andrew De Gannes (North East Stars/Fatima College), Curtis De Leon (North Carolina FC/ Leesville Road High School—USA), Gary Griffith III (North East Stars/Trinity College Moka), Jeremy Lashley (Internazionale of Edmonton/ Archbishop O’Leary Catholic High School—Canada), Kielon Burnett-Acevaro (W Connection FC/Carapichaima East Secondary), Kevan Kahoussi (NC Fusion/Crossroads Flex High School—USA), Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United/Mc Eachern High School—USA);

For­wards:

Justin Arau­jo-Wil­son (San Juan Jabloteh/Vir­tu­al High School—Cana­da), Jean-Heim Mc Fee (Club San­do/Fa­ti­ma Col­lege), Jer­rell Nixon (Con­corde Fire Soc­cer Club/Camp­bell High School—USA).

RELATED NEWS

Under 17 players undergo medical screening ahead of CONCACAF Championship.
TTFA Media.

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 17 team underwent medical screening tests on Tuesday at the South Coast Medical Centre, a branch of Healthnet Caribbean Limited in San Fernando ahead of their upcoming CONCACAF Qualifying championship at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida starting May 1.

The current squad has been in training under head coach Stern John for just over a month. The medical tests are mandatory for all competing teams in the Concacaf championship.

Tests conducted included blood screenings, CBC, blood, sugar, lipid profile, creatinine, ECG, spirometry, musculoskeletal exam, blood pressure, vision and urin screening.

Healthnet conducted the tests pro-bono for the TTFA, continuing its partnership dating back to 2014.

“It’s an important part of our final preparations for the tournament. We need to know exactly where our players are at health-wise and I really want to extend our sincerest gratitude to Mr Ramrekha and Healthnet for their services which is of no cost to the TTFA ahead of this qualifying competition,” T&T U-17 head coach Stern John said.

Healthnet CEO Richard Ramrekha spoke about his company’s involvement with the TTFA, saying “We have been doing this service probing for the Association for the past four years and it is really a privilege and honour to be part and parcel of this initiative. We feel honoured to render our services to the youth of the nation and certainly the footballing fraternity is one where we see we can make a positive contribution to that philosophy of contributing to the youth of the nation and developing our footballers.

“Just as physical fitness is very important to the footballers, medical fitness is also a key component of their overall fitness as a footballer. The medical involves a thorough examination – cardiovascular, kidney, liver,full blood count and we check all of their systems including vision. Our doctor, Dr Navi Muradali conducts a thorough physical examination as well. We put together medical report which will highlight or indicate if there are any abnormalities or anomalies or findings we need to further evaluate or investigate and determine the physical readiness of the players for games. We are conducting these examinations in accordance to Concacaf guidelines. We then pass on all the findings to the TTFA’s chief medical officer for his final determinations on the players,” Ramrekha said.

“We intend to provide this service pro bono to all national teams from men to women and youth. We see this is our corporate social responsibility to make a positive contribution to our country. We think that investing in our youth and the younger generation is very important for sustainability and development of our country. Football is a big deal for Trinidad and Tobago We have qualified for the World Cup once and we will love to be there at all levels but there are other tournaments that will bring some good joy and comfort to our citizens such as the Concacaf Gold Cup. It will really do a lot of good for Trinidad and Tobago,” Ramrekha added.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2019, 12:23:33 AM by Flex »

« Reply #666 on: April 27, 2019, 07:00:11 PM »
Poor John.

I hope he get some warm up games.

Online Tallman

« Reply #667 on: April 28, 2019, 07:29:45 AM »
Stern John talks about Final Under 17 Selection

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/CnhHRfxwqX0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/CnhHRfxwqX0</a>

John talks on U-17 preparations, Support of Parents

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/cVSGYsv1yM0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/cVSGYsv1yM0</a>

« Reply #668 on: April 28, 2019, 12:26:31 PM »
I see a Gary Griffith III. Is that the CoP’s son?

« Reply #669 on: April 28, 2019, 12:44:28 PM »
Ok, I did not play the videos.

« Reply #670 on: April 28, 2019, 10:17:54 PM »
I see a Gary Griffith III. Is that the CoP’s son?

Just read Newsday. Yes, it is his son and the blasted staff working for free. So at least we don't  have to worry about  them waiting to get paid. They already not getting paid.

« Reply #671 on: April 28, 2019, 10:37:17 PM »
I hope this team do well. It is nice to hear that parents were involved in helping out some of the preparation issues. Especially one of them who happens to be the CoP. But as long as the yutes don't have hassle like the last tournament, that is fine with me.

Online Tallman

« Reply #672 on: April 29, 2019, 12:00:05 PM »
WATCH: U-17 midfielder Kevan Kahoussi looks ahead to CONCACAF Championship.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/pgI04yiNCu8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/pgI04yiNCu8</a>

Online Tallman

« Reply #673 on: April 29, 2019, 12:05:03 PM »
WATCH: Kenwyne Jones opens up on his coaching duties with the Men's Under 17 National Team

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/AKgqmAr6ff8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/AKgqmAr6ff8</a>

« Reply #674 on: April 30, 2019, 12:38:13 AM »
Police Commissioner’s son, Griffith III, named in T&T National U-17 squad; Stern: He earned his pick.
By Kirwin Weston (Wired868).

Gary Griffith III, son of Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith, will be part of a 20-man Trinidad and Tobago National Under-17 Team that travels to Miami  on Monday for the Under-17 Concacaf Championship, which also serves as a World Cup qualifying series.

The National Under-17s, coached by Trinidad and Tobago senior international record goal scorer Stern John, begin their campaign against Bermuda on 1 May.

The squad comprises of 12 local based-players and eight from overseas including Netherlands-based midfielder Tyrese Pierre, Canada-based attacker Justin Araujo-Wilson, US-based forward Jerrel Nixon, who is the son of former World Youth Cup forward Jerren Nixon, and John’s own son, Isa Sayeed.

Fatima College contributed more players to the squad than any other team with Jean-Heim Mc Fee, Andrew De Gannes and Zachary Welch all making the 20-man squad. Araujo-Wilson is also a former Fatima student.

John, who was assisted by former 2006 World Cup teammate Kenwyne Jones, had barely six weeks to prepare the team but was pleased with what they got done.

“We had to get in everything in a very short space of time,” John told the TTFA Media. “The guys took it all on board and [are] relishing the opportunity. [They] are excited and I am excited myself to go there and compete.”

The National Under-17s were not supported financially by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) and the coaching staff worked for free. John admitted that the squad sometimes relied on aid from parents in the areas of post-training meals, transportation and visa applications.

John singled out Griffith for his assistance to the squad.

“Special thanks to Mr Gary Griffith, the Commissioner of Police,” said John. “He came forward and really helped the team out in preparing for this tournament. In terms of nutrition, getting us food and stuff on time, also transport for the boys after training as well.

“Most of our sessions were held at Mannie Ramjohn, and the traffic [is] really bad on the afternoon and I think he played a very important role in getting the boys on a [police] bus from Port of Spain to the stadium on time and back to their respective homes as well.”

“[…] Mr Griffith was pivotal in helping us to fast track some of the visas as well too. He used some of his resources so we got the visas on time. Today the manager [Aaron Pollard] would’ve went to the embassy and picked up the rest of passports with all the visas so we could travel on Monday.”

John insisted that Griffith’s financial aid to the team did not give his son an advantage when it was time to select 20 players for the Concacaf tournament. Griffith III got minutes with North East Stars’ Pro League team in the 2018 season and is set to take up a scholarship with Sunderland College. He was one of two St Mary’s College players—the other being SSFL stand-out Gabriel Nanton—who trialled with former England Premier League team, Sunderland United, last year.

“No, no, no [Griffith’s assistance to the team did not influence my selection],” said the National Under-17 coach. “I think I was given a job to represent my country and to pick the strongest team that I have at hand. People might think Mr Griffith’s influence in helping the team made his son get a pick but it’s not that way.

“I think his son came in and worked hard just as everybody else and he competed for a spot just like the rest of players and he deserved to be on the squad.

“[…] Griffith III plays up front and out wide too. He has a great, great, great attitude; he brings a lot to the table and [has] very good quality. That’s why we picked him; because we know he has the quality we’re asking for and we know he can play at this level too.”

Financial woes apart, John’s outfit also struggled with the timing of the competition which clashes with the CSEC examination. However, the head coach suggested that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) found a solution by getting examiners from the Ministry of Education to travel with the team.

“We have like five players who have exams [during the tournament],” said John. “We worked with the schools, we came together and we figured out a way around it; so they can get the exam and play the games as well too.

“I think also the further we go into the tournament, there’s a couple more players who [will] have exams… We’re gonna have to deal with it there and then, even if we have to let the players sit the exam and then probably play the games afterwards.

“But obviously the school [work] is very important as well too.”

Wired868 was unable to get more details about the students who are due to sit exams and what the TTFA has put in place to assist them.

Team manager, Pollard, said he could not pass on that information unless specifically authorised to do so by new general secretary Camara David, who has instituted a gag on all TTFA staff outside of arranged press conferences.

John was pleased with the success of his combine in Atlanta, which led to selections for four players. Curtis De Leon, who represented the David Nakhid International Academy at the recently concluded Madrid Cup, is one of that quartet along with Kevan Kahoussi, Sayeed and Nixon.

He hopes to keep tabs on these players in a database that the football body promised to implement.

“We have a database that [allows us to keep] in contact with the players and also the parents,” said John. “Even the ones that weren’t chosen, we still keep in contact with them because […] if we qualify for the World Cup, we’re gonna have to go back and look at players.”

Bermuda apart, Trinidad and Tobago must also compete with Jamaica and Mexico in the group phase. One from the quartet will be eliminated while the other three advance to the quarterfinal round.

“We want to go there and try to qualify for the second round firstly,” said John. “I think our main goal is to win our first game which is important. I think once we do that then we have a very good chance of qualifying for the knockout phase.”

RELATED NEWS

SPORTT pays for T&T U-17s to sit CSEC exams in Florida; Stern: Time to execute.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team have precious little time to soak in the atmosphere in Bradenton, Florida. The junior Soca Warriors landed in Florida last night and, by tomorrow evening, they will already be in ‘do or die’ territory when they tackle Bermuda from 4pm at the IMG Academy in the Concacaf Under-17 Championship.

Three from the four teams in Group E advance to the knockout round but Trinidad and Tobago’s other two opponents are Jamaica and Mexico. It cannot be overstated how important it is for the Warriors to start with a positive result.

“We are here to compete and we’ve spoken about this as a team,” National Under-17 Team head coach Stern John told the TTFA Media. “That means we have three points to get in this opening game [against Bermuda] to give ourselves some breathing space for the remaining matches in the group.”

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), plagued by financial woes and administrative paralysis, considered not sending this squad to the Concacaf Championship in the first place.

Privately, TTFA president David John-Williams floated the idea of withdrawing from the competition, which serves as a qualifying series for the Brazil 2019 Under-17 World Cup. And there was a suggestion that the local football body might send its Under-15 Boys Team—the only one of the TTFA’s nine potential teams that trains all year round—to participate in the higher age group for ‘experience.’

In the end, though, the John-Williams-led administration appointed John to spearhead their campaign with barely six weeks to screen, select and prepare a team for competition at the highest level in the confederation. The key selling point for the hiring of John and his staff was that they were prepared to work for free.

“The TTFA didn’t so much as buy a bun for the players!” one parent told Wired868, on condition of anonymity.

It left well wishers to pick up the financial slack. Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith, whose son, Gary Griffith III, was selected in the final 20-man squad, figured prominently among the parents who contributed to meals and transport for the players.

The Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago also took care of not only airfare for the National Under-17 Team but meals at the airport and, crucially, airfare, accommodation and related costs for two examiners who will travel to Florida this weekend to oversee the players’ CSEC tests.

CSEC exams start on 7 May and roughly a dozen players are due to sit. It means precise arrangements to ensure the boys take exams at precisely the same time as the rest of the country and that the process is above reproach with sealed papers and proper supervision.

Normally, even if the Ministry of Education agrees to assist—with the permission of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC)—the organisation making the request for examiners must meet the full cost of the exercise. But, with the TTFA’s accounts frozen due to its failure to meet its debt to the National Futsal Team, SPORTT has stepped in the breach.

“The TTFA came with the request and the budget,” said SPORTT executive manager sport development Anthony Creed. “My job was to go to the board to ensure that everything was in order; and the approval was given so it is only a matter of waiting for the release [of funds].

“[…] We also budgeted to ensure the players were able to get a meal at the airport when they got to Florida so they would not be disadvantaged.”

Creed’s nephew, Brendon Creed, was a member of the Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 Team that got to the quarterfinal stage of the Concacaf Championship in 2013. It is as well as the Warriors have fared since 2007 when a Kevin Molino item ensured the twin island republic of a 1-0 win over Jamaica and a place at the Korea Republic 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup.

John hopes to somehow steer his undercooked squad to similar heights.

“We’ve prepared as best as we can and now it’s down to the boys to execute,” said John, a former 2006 World Cup forward and Trinidad and Tobago’s all-time record goal scorer. “It’s up to them now as we cannot play from the bench. What we will do is guide them as best as we can. I am confident in their ability.

“I think the key will be to settle early because there will be some nerves at the start and that’s expected because it’s a first time for a lot of the boys. Once we put our heads down and play to our ability then we should be pulling off a result to give us a good head start.”

The National Under-17 Team should expect much from former Fatima College stand-out Justin Araujo-Wilson and Trinity College East goalkeeper Kahlil Oliver as well as overseas-based inclusions like midfielders Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United—USA) and Tyrese Pierre (WSV Apeldoorn—Netherlands), full back Isa Sayeed (Indy Premier Soccer—USA) and Jerrell Nixon (Concorde Fire Soccer Club—USA).

Sayeed and Nixon are the sons of John and Jerren Nixon, a former Under-20 World Cup forward, respectively.

Araujo-Wilson told the TTFA Media that he is thrilled at the chance to make some history for himself.

“The preparation was very organised and well done to coach Stern [John] and coach Kenwyne [Jones] for bringing the boys together and pushing us hard to prepare for this tournament,” said Araujo-Wilson. “We have to come out and work hard and win games for ourselves, our families and the country.

“[…] It’s mandatory for us to get three points; [and] we know what we can do. I just like wearing the Red,White and Black because growing up watching the Soca Warriors play was good and now it’s a dream come true to play for the National Team.”

« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 05:51:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #675 on: May 01, 2019, 12:37:13 AM »
U-17's tackle Bermuda in Concacaf opener.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T will kick off its cam­paign in the Con­ca­caf Un­der-17 Men's Cham­pi­on­ships Group E Qual­i­fi­ca­tion Tour­na­ment against Bermu­da at the IMG Acad­e­my in Braden­ton, Flori­da from 4 pm to­day.

De­fend­ing cham­pi­ons Mex­i­co and Ja­maica will face off in the sec­ond Group E match two hours lat­er.

Si­mul­ta­ne­ous­ly, at the same venue, Bar­ba­dos, Cana­da, Guatemala and USA will do bat­tle in Group F; El Sal­vador, Guyana, Haiti and Hon­duras com­pete in Group G, and Cos­ta Ri­ca, Cu­ra­cao, Pana­ma and Suri­name face off in Group H.

So far the quar­tet of Nicaragua (Group A), Do­mini­can Re­pub­lic (Group B), Guade­loupe (Group C), and Puer­to Ri­co (Group D) have ad­vanced from the qual­i­fiers draw as group win­ners to the last-16 and will be joined by the 12 qual­i­fiers from Flori­da in the knock­out stage.

The top four teams at the end of the Con­ca­caf com­pe­ti­tion will qual­i­fy for the 2019 FI­FA Un­der-17 World Cup in Brazil.

The team led by for­mer World Cup play­ers in Stern John as head coach and as­sis­tant Ken­wyne Jones, have been prepar­ing team for the past few weeks and will go in­to to­day's first-ever meet­ing be­tween both coun­tries brim­ming with con­fi­dence ahead of its re­main­ing match­es ver­sus Ja­maica on May 3rd and Mex­i­co two days lat­er, at the end of which the top three teams will ad­vance to the knock­out stage.

John and 17 of his play­ers trav­elled to Flori­do, USA on Mon­day night and were met by three USA-based play­ers in Jer­rel Nixon, Ajani For­tune and Cur­tis De Leon and the T&T coach was ex­pect­ed to have a fi­nal ses­sion yes­ter­day af­ter­noon ahead of to­day's match.

Speak­ing on the eve of the match, John, T&T's all-time lead­ing goalscor­er, said he would be seek­ing three points from the on­set.

“We are here to com­pete and we’ve spo­ken about this as a team. That means we have three points to get in this open­ing game to give our­selves some breath­ing space for the re­main­ing match­es in the group,” John said.

“We’ve pre­pared as best as we can and now it’s down to the boys to ex­e­cute. It’s up to them now as we can­not play from the bench. What we will do is guide them as best as we can. I am con­fi­dent in their abil­i­ty. I think the key will be to set­tle ear­ly be­cause there will be some nerves at the start and that’s ex­pect­ed be­cause it’s a first time for a lot of the boys. Once we put our heads down and play to our abil­i­ty then we should be pulling off a re­sult to give us a good head start,” John added.

For­ward Justin Arau­jo Wil­son is ea­ger to put in a shift that will hope­ful­ly get T&T off on a right start.

“The prepa­ra­tion was very or­gan­ised and well done to coach Stern and coach Ken­wyne for bring­ing the boys to­geth­er and push­ing us hard to pre­pare for this tour­na­ment. We have to come out and work hard and win games for our­selves, our fam­i­lies and the coun­try. Do­ing well in this kind of tour­na­ments can save our lives,” said Arau­jo-Wil­son.

“It’s manda­to­ry for us to get three points. We know what we can do but we have to have some­thing to show for it. I just like wear­ing the Red, White and Black be­cause grow­ing up watch­ing the So­ca War­riors play was good and now it’s a dream come true to play for the na­tion­al team, he added.

To­day's match will be the 50th Con­ca­caf Un­der-17 match for T&T, with its record stand­ing at 12 wins, 13 draws, and 24 de­feats, scor­ing 60 goals, with 103 against, for a win­ning per­cent­age of 33.3.

Bermu­da, mean­while, will be play­ing on­ly its third CON­CA­CAF Un­der-17 match, and has a record of two de­feats from as many out­ings, scor­ing once and con­ced­ing 13.

The 2019 Con­ca­caf Un­der-17 Cham­pi­on­ship is the sixth edi­tion of the Con­ca­caf Un­der-17 Cham­pi­on­ship (19th edi­tion if all eras in­clud­ed), the men’s un­der-17 in­ter­na­tion­al foot­ball tour­na­ment or­ga­nized by Con­ca­caf.

On Fri­day

Ja­maica vs T&T, 4pm

Bermu­da vs Mex­i­co, 6pm

On Sun­day

T&T vs Mex­i­co, 4pm

Bermu­da vs Ja­maica, 6pm

RELATED NEWS

Coach Stern: We have three points to get.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

T&T start Concacaf U-17 campaign today vs Bermuda…

T&T Under-17 men’s football team will be looking for a winning start to their 2019 Concacaf Under-17 Championship campaign when they face off with Bermuda in their opening fixture today, from 4 pm, at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida, United States.

Team coach Stern John said, “We are here to compete and we’ve spoken about this as a team. That means we have three points to get in this opening game to give ourselves some breathing space for the remaining matches in the group.”

John, who is also an assistant coach on the T&T men’s team, continued, “We’ve prepared as best as we can and now it’s down to the boys to execute. It’s up to them now as we cannot play from the bench. What we will do is guide them as best as we can.

“I am confident in their abilities. I think the key will be to settle early because there will be some nerves at the start and that’s expected because it’s a first time for a lot of the boys. Once we put our heads down and play to our ability then we should be pulling off a result to give us a good head start,” John added.

Canadian-based forward Justin Araujo-Wilson said, “The preparation was very organised and well done to coach Stern and (assistant) coach Kenwyne for bringing the boys together and pushing us hard to prepare for this tournament.

We have to come out and work hard and win games for ourselves, our families and the country. Doing well in these kind of tournaments can save our lives.”

The other group opponents Mexico and Jamaica will square off in the second match of the double-header while other matches on the day includes El Salvador versus Guyana and Honduras versus Haiti.

The top four teams from the competition will qualify for the 2019 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Brazil, which is scheduled from September 17 to October 8.

The Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) has offered their support towards the team, particularly players who are still involved in the local schools league.

In a media release yesterday, SSFL president William Wallace said, “You all have an opportunity to pave your way towards further success and to write your own history. Go out there and give of your best for the country and represent your country, the league and your schools with honour and pride.

“Be a source of inspiration for your younger peers who will be looking to follow in your footsteps in the 2019 SSFL season and beyond. You have an opportunity to compete and showcase your ability at the Confederation’s biggest event in your age group and the chance to test yourselves against some of the region’s best teams. Make the best of it,” Wallace added.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2019, 12:38:57 AM by Flex »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #676 on: May 01, 2019, 02:03:49 PM »
Not sure if new uniforms but kit doesnt look bad

Online Tallman

« Reply #677 on: May 01, 2019, 02:53:35 PM »
HALF-TIME: Trinidad and Tobago U-17 2-0 Bermuda U-17. Goals by Justin Araujo-Wilson in the 24th minute and 39th minutes.

Online Tallman

« Reply #678 on: May 01, 2019, 03:55:16 PM »
FULL-TIME: Trinidad and Tobago U-17 3-1 Bermuda U-17. Goals for T&T by Justin Araujo-Wilson (24', 39') and Andrew de Gannes (90'); Bermuda's goal by Nazuri Dailey (76').

Online Tallman

Araujo-Wilson brace leads Trinidad and Tobago to 3-1 win over Bermuda
« Reply #679 on: May 01, 2019, 08:57:06 PM »
Araujo-Wilson brace leads Trinidad and Tobago to 3-1 win over Bermuda
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s under 17 footballers started their CONCACAF qualifying campaign with a 3-1 victory over Bermuda in their opening Group A fixture at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida on Tuesday.

A double by former Fatima College and current Canadian-based forward Justin Araujo-Wilson in the 23rd and 38th minutes and second half substitute Andrew De Gannes in the 92nd gave T&T three valuable points ahead of their second encounter against Jamaica on Friday.

Bermuda’s Nazuri Dailey pulled a goal back for his side in the 75th and the Bermudans began to press for the equaliser. They missed a penalty which came off the post  81st minute. Panic crept into T&T’s game but John’s move to put in De Gannes paid off as the midfielder took his time and placed a low left  footer  from outside the 18-yard into the right corner at the start of added on time.

Another substitute, Curtis De Leon, who joined the team only on Monday after playing with David Nakhid’s Academy at the Madrid Cup in Spain, also put in a good shift on the right side for T&T. He was spotted by John at the TTFA Combine in Atlanta last month.

T&T should have put the game away earlier in the second half with Luke Savary blasting his shot onto the upright from the six yard box in the 58th and two minutes later Wilson went for glory, trying a shot which struck the left post with substitute Curtis De Leon lurking free inside the box.

Overall it was commendable effort by T&T on a windy evening at IMG.

Head coach Stern John was pleased for his team. “It’s a critical win for us because we knew this game was one we needed to pick up points to put ourselves in a good position to advance to the next stage,” John told TTFA Media.

“But we made hard work of it at the end. I said before the game that the key for us would be settling early and the goal by Justin helped but we should have done better in the second half to take the game away from them. We kept them in it and they didn’t lie down. Credit to them for pushing us. Then young De Gannes came on to get a third goal for us and sew up the victory,” John added.

“I think we needed to be a bit more disciplined and keep the ball a bit better but I was pleased with the way we transitioned into attack and created chances. Justin took his two goals well and should have had a third and then Andrew took his goal very well. It’s just the first win and there’s much more to do here so we’ll recover for this and get ready for Jamaica on Thursday,” John added.

T&T had eighteen shots on goal to Bermuda’s 9 with six on target. Bermuda had 51 percent possession to T&T’s 49.

Mexico defeated Jamaica 1-0 in the evening’s second encounter. El Salvador defeated Guyana 4-0 and Haiti beat Honduras 2-0 in other group matches on the day.

Four teams will qualify from the Concacaf championship for the 2019 FIFA Under 17 Men’s World Cup.

Teams

T&T: 20.Kahlil Oliver; 2.Nigel Carraby, 3.Luke Savery (18.Isa Sayeed 81st), 4.Jordon Britto (10.Andrew De Gannes 79th), 5.Cephas St Rose; 6.Zachary Welch (capt), 17.Kevan Kahoussi, 19.Ajani Fortune; 11.Jean-Heim Mc Fee (12.Curtis De Leon 54th), 9.Justin Araujo-Wilson, 8.Tyrese Pierre;

Unused substitutes: 1.Isaiah Williams (GK), 7.Jaiye Sheppard, 13.Gary Griffith III, 14.Jerrell Nixon, 15.Jeremy Lashley, 16.Keilon Burnett-Acevaro.

Coach: Stern John.

Bermuda: 1.Ayleal Dill; 4.Arnezha Astwood, 5.Nahje Smith (3.Oyinde Bascome 40th), 13.Mazhi Simmons, 16.Samori Greenidge Saltus (20.Ja Bean 60th), 6.Malachi Trott, 8.Jayden Ebbin (capt), 10.Leroy Lewis Jr (7.Nazuri Bailey 70th - Yellow 76), 11.Ne-Jai Tucker (Missed Penalty 81), 14.Manoj Paynter, 9.Seke Spence.

Coach: Cecoy Robinson.

Group E Results

Venue: IMG Soccer Stadium, Florida.

T&T 3 (Justin Araujo-Wilson 24, 39, Andrew De Gannes 90) v Bermuda 1 (Nazuri Bailey 76)

Mexico 1 (Jesus Gómez 50) v Jamaica 0

Group E Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Trinidad & Tobago  1  1  0  0  3  1  3
Mexico  1  1  0  0  1  0  3
Jamaica  1  0  0  1  0  1  0
Bermuda  1  0  0  1  1  3  0

Upcoming Games

May 3rd

Jamaica v Trinidad & Tobago
Mexico v Bermuda

« Last Edit: May 02, 2019, 11:22:56 AM by Flex »

« Reply #680 on: May 02, 2019, 10:17:29 AM »
Congrats to the boys, big game on Friday.

« Reply #681 on: May 03, 2019, 12:35:06 AM »
Under 17s seek second win versus Jamaica.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 Men’s Team will be seeking their second consecutive win in Group A of the CONCACAF Under 17 Men’s Championship when they face Jamaica at the IMG Academy on Friday from 4pm.

Team skipper Zachary Welch noted that the mood in the T&T camp was upbeat but cautious after the 3-1 victory over Bermuda on Wednesday and he expects his teammates to be raring for the clash with the Reggae Boyz. Welch and four  of his current teammates were part of the T&T Under 15 team which suffered an 8-1 loss to Jamaica in the CONCACAF Under 15 championship at IMG in 2017.

Jamaica lost their opening match 1-0 to Mexico on Wednesday leaving T&T atop Group A with three points ahead of Mexico on goal difference.

“We know Jamaica is a tough opponent but the mood in the camp is we know we can get a result and compete with them,” Welch told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“ Everyone’s mentality is positive and all we expect is three points. We know we have to be sharper and quicker than the last game as it will be a greater challenge. We will be expecting a next three points once we show our quality as a team to overcome Jamaica,” he added.

Reflecting on the win which his parents David and Stacey along with a few other parents witnessed at the venue, Welch said the players knew how critical it was to start the campaign with a win.

“We all knew yesterday was going to be a challenge for everyone and to know that all the work we put in as a team in preparation for the tournament is starting to pay off felt good. This meant a lot to the staff and the players as it can only be used as a starting point and is only encouraging us for the next game to bring home three points again.

“The three points  vital as to get through to the next round it we needed to win at least one game if everything else goes to plan and as we got the three points yesterday it shows to everyone we can compete in the tournament .

“The key factors for the match was that we never game up and ran till the end of the game and most importantly we were clinical in front of goal which lead us to victory,” Welch added.

Fifteen-year old Curtis De Leon who was a second half substitute also spoke about the team’s showing which included solid performances from other players including forward Justin Araujo-Wilson who netted a double and  defender Cephas St Rose who was also part of the previous Under 15 team two years ago.

“This is just the beginning but it was very exciting to get our first win. The entire group worked hard for the win . It felt really good to have an impact on the game. I am happy and proud to be representing Trinidad and Tobago, where both my parents were born and I feel like I’ve fitted right into the setup,” De Leon told TTFA Media.

“Our attitude going into the game was very good and the desire to fight for each other and win is what really led to the end performance.

De Leon spoke of his involvement with the David Nakhid International Academy of which he is a member and played at the Madrid Cup, scoring the winner in the Under 16 final in Madrid two weeks ago.

“I think coach David Nakhid and the academy has helped my game develop by teaching me different things about the game and giving me the opportunity to play in a competition against good quality teams to prepare me for this tournament at IMG,” De Leon added.

Head Coach Stern John’s Comments.

It’s a critical win for us because we knew this game was one we need to pick up points to put ourselves in a good position to advance to the next stage.

“But we made hard work of it at the end. I said before the game that the key for us would be settling early and the goal by Justin helped but we should have done better in the second half to take the game away from them. We kept them in it and they didn’t lie down. Credit to them for pushing us. Then young De Gannes came on to get a third goal for us and sow up the victory.

“I think we needed to be a bit more disciplined and keep the ball a bit better but I was pleased with the way we transitioned into attack and created chances. Justin took his two goals well and should have had a third and then Andrew took his goal very well. It’s just the first win and there’s much more to do here so we’ll recover for this and get ready for Jamaica on Friday.”

Trinidad and Tobago Men's U-17 Promo Video

Online Tallman

« Reply #682 on: May 03, 2019, 02:49:10 PM »
HALF-TIME: Jamaica U-17 1-2 Trinidad and Tobago U-17. Jamaica's goal scored by Rajay Wright (17'); T&T's goals scored by Jaiye Sheppard (34') and Justin Araujo-Wilson (44').

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #683 on: May 03, 2019, 02:49:50 PM »
This Justin Wilson guy is the real deal.  You can watch the game live on facebook here - https://www.facebook.com/concacafcom/videos/389293355001304/

« Reply #684 on: May 03, 2019, 03:40:51 PM »
TT leads 3-1 in the 80th minute.

Must say, I wasn't expecting much due to their limited prep.

Online Tallman

« Reply #685 on: May 03, 2019, 03:53:15 PM »
FULL-TIME: Jamaica U-17 2-3 Trinidad and Tobago U-17. Jamaica's goals scored by Rajay Wright (17') and Isaac Scott (93'); T&T's goals scored by Jaiye Sheppard (34', 60') and Justin Araujo-Wilson (44').

« Reply #686 on: May 03, 2019, 04:03:36 PM »
Conceding goals at ~90'+ is the plague of all of our teams.

Congrats to the team and coaches.

« Reply #687 on: May 03, 2019, 06:16:51 PM »
Wilson scores again, but Sheppard's heroic double seals it for T&T over Jamaica.
By Inshan Mohammed.

A double from Presentation College San Fernando left-winger Jaiye Sheppard in the 34th and 60th minute respectively, helped T&T rallied from a goal down to steal a sweet 3-2 victory over Caribbean-rivals Jamaica at the IMG Soccer Stadium in Florida.

T&T's number-9 striker Justin Araujo-Wilson also got on the scoresheet as the former Defence Force prolific goalscorer continues his fine goalscoring form making it 3-goals in 2 games. Having former T&T strikers Stern John (coach) and Kenwyne Jones (his assistant) as his mentors will certainly be good contributors to the player's development.

T&T extracted perfect revenge after a humiliating 8-1 defeat to Jamaica when both teams met two years ago in the Concacaf Under-15 Championship at the same venue. Former T&T coach Russell Latapy was at the helm then and both goalscorers (Wilson) and (Sheppard) were also part of the team.

Both teams meanwhile, are competing in the 2019 CONCACAF Under 17 Men’s Championship and with the results it means that T&T are through to the second rounds. Jamaica on the other hand is still very much alive if they could beat Bermuda which will see them play Group G runner-up.

Trinidad and Tobago will meet Mexico next, which will no doubt be their toughest assignment in the tournament thus far. Mexico sits on-top of the Group having yet, to concede a single goal in their first two outings and, in this tournament.

The team that finishes as Group winners will face Group B winner Puerto Rico, while runner-up will have to tackle Group G third-placed team.

Head-coach Stern John told the TTFA Media. “I’m delighted for the boys. I spoke to them about the importance of this match and the fact that it is the biggest Caribbean derby and they went out there and demonstrated exactly how they felt about it. They followed my instructions an stuck to the plan. I think they had a bit of a score to settle as well from a previous match a couple of years ago,: said John.

“Now we have showed that we came here to compete because I don’t think anyone gave us a chance coming into this tournament. Now we’ve proven them wrong and I’m backing my boys to keep their heads high and continue playing good football. It’s still a far way off in terms of qualifying for Brazil but I will give them credit for pulling off two wins and showing that they are no pushovers,” John added.

Teams

T&T: 1.Isaiah Williams; 2.Nigel Carraby, 3.Luke Savery (Yellow 69), 4.Jordon Britto, 5.Cephas St Rose; 6.Zachary Welch (capt) (10.Andrew De Gannes 85th), 7.Jaiye Sheppard (Yellow 61) (17.Kevan Kahoussi 72nd), 19.Ajani Fortune, 8.Tyrese Pierre, 14.Jerrell Nixon (11.Jean-Heim Mc Fee 67th), 9.Justin Araujo-Wilson.

Unused substitutes: 20.Kahlil Oliver; 13.Gary Griffith III, 15.Jeremy Lashley, 16.Keilon Burnett-Acevaro, 18.Isa Sayeed, 12.Curtis De Leon.

Coach: Stern John.

Jamaica: 20 Shamar Haffenden; 4.Damian Jones, 5.Scott McLeod (capt), 6.Kenroy Campbell (Yellow 43), 18.Dandre Miller (Yellow 71, 85 = Red), 7.Dwayne Atkinson, 10.Jamone Shepherd, 12.Cristojaye Daley (8.Gregory Cousins 70th), 17.Kenroy Stoddart (14.Isaac Scott 55th), 16.Rajay Wright, 19 Tajay Grant (15.Giovanni Mittoo 69th).

Coach: John Gilchrist.

Referee: Armando Villarreal (USA).

Videos:

Stern John reactions after 3-2 victory over Jamaica

CU17 JAM 2-3 TRI | Highlights

Group E Results

Venue: IMG Soccer Stadium, Florida.

T&T 3 (Jaiye Sheppard 34, 60, Justin Araujo-Wilson 44) v Jamaica 2 (Cristojaye Daley 17, Isaac Scott 90)

Mexico 5 (Efrain Álvarez 10, Luis Martínez 16, Santiago Muñoz 56, Israel Luna 82, Kevin Mariscal 87) v Bermuda 0

Group E Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Mexico  2  2  0  0  6  0  6
Trinidad & Tobago  2  2  0  0  6  3  6
Jamaica  2  0  0  2  2  4  0
Bermuda  2  0  0  2  1  9  0

Upcoming Games

May 5th

Jamaica v Bermuda
Mexico v Trinidad & Tobago

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors seize dance floor; Araujo-Wilson and Sheppard help T&T U-17s enact revenge over Reggae Boyz.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago National Under-17 Team will meet Mexico on equal footing on Sunday after the junior Soca Warriors maintained their 100 per cent group record this evening with a battling 3-2 Concacaf Championship win over regional rivals, Jamaica, in Brentford, Florida.

Two years ago, the two aforementioned Caribbean nations met at the same venue in the Concacaf Under-15 Championship and the result was a humiliating 8-1 win for the young Reggae Boyz. There was none of that nonsense today and, at the final whistle, it was Jamaican players who slumped to the ground and buried their faces in the grass.

Winger Jaiye Sheppard and forward Justin Araujo-Wilson might have especially enjoyed the result. They were among five Trinidad and Tobago players today—including captain Zachary Welch, defender Cephas St Rose and substitute Jean-Heim Mc Fee—who were victims of that mauling, two years ago.

Sheppard and Araujo-Wilson were particularly influential in the preparing of the cold plate of revenge served to the ‘land of ackee and saltfish.’

Jamaica could have had no idea about what was coming their way. For most of the game, the Boyz enjoyed over 60 per cent of ball possession and it was they who struck first. The match was 17 minutes old when flanker Dwayne Atkinson whipped in a cross from the right side which Cephas St Rose failed to cut out and Cristojaye Daley rammed home with a left footed volley.

Trinidad and Tobago custodian Isaiah Williams got a hand to the Jamaican effort but could not keep it out. Daley was the only change in the Jamaica team that lost 1-0 to Mexico on Wednesday while Williams was one of three alterations to the Warriors team that downed Bermuda 3-1 in midweek.

But T&T coach Stern John—who replaced another 2006 World Cup standout Russell Latapy at the helm of the youth team—did not have to wait long to see his inclusions come into their own.

The bit about ‘forwards being the first line of defence’ is no empty cliche with this squad. And as Jamaica were harried into conceding possession in their own half of the field, Araujo-Wilson found midfielder Tyrese Pierre whose diagonal ball was turned in at the back post from an acute angle by the lunging Sheppard in the 34th minute.

It was completely against the run of play but, improbably, Trinidad and Tobago went ahead in the 44th minute as the Jamaican defence failed to deal with a deep free kick aimed at gangly six-footer Jerrell Nixon.

The ball broke for Araujo-Wilson and he enhanced his reputation as a poacher of some promise with a controlled first time volley past Jamaica custodian Shamar Haffenden.

Araujo-Wilson celebrated with a sprint to the half-line to hug John. John, of course, is Trinidad and Tobago’s record senior international goal scorer and a former England Premier League striker with Birmingham City and Sunderland AFC. Assistant Under-17 coach Kenwyne Jones is a former Premiership forward with Southampton, Sunderland, Stoke City and Cardiff City.

Araujo-Wilson, a former Fatima College schoolboy, could hardly find better mentors.

Jamaica never stopped plugging away but their malaise only grew in the 60th minute, as Nixon held off opposing full back Kenroy Campbell before whipping in a brilliant cross that Sheppard converted with an improvised header.

Sheppard, an unused substitute against Bermuda, showed what the goal meant to him as the Presentation College (San Fernando) student whipped off his shirt to celebrate—and received the mandatory booking for doing so.

Jamaica’s next booking was far costlier as central defender Dandre Miller got a second yellow card and marching orders after a cynical foul on Araujo-Wilson. The Trinidad and Tobago ‘number 9’ was virtually unplayable and should have stretched the Warriors lead with another dynamic run on the break, only to be denied by the legs of Haffenden.

At the death, the twin island republic tried to see off the match with negative ball possession and instead conceded a late goal as Atkinson burst past Savery and pulled back for substitute Isaac Scott to finish, after being granted far too much space in the T&T penalty box.

But it did not spoil a memorable outing for the young Warriors, whose returns so far have made a mockery of their chaotic preparation for the competition.

“I spoke to them about the importance of this match and the fact that it is the biggest Caribbean derby,” John told the TTFA Media, “and they went out there and demonstrated exactly how they felt about it. They followed my instructions and stuck to the plan.

“I think they had a bit of a score to settle as well from a previous match a couple of years ago.”

Mexico, who defeated Bermuda 5-0 this evening, and Trinidad and Tobago both have six points after two matches and meet to decide the group winners from 4pm on Sunday. Mexico have a superior goal differential and need only a draw to top the group.

The winner between Jamaica and Bermuda will advance to the Round of 16 while the loser will be eliminated. Jamaica, due to a better goal difference, will advance with a draw.

The top four nations from the Concacaf Championship advance to the Brazil 2019 Under-17 World Cup.

“Now we have showed that we came here to compete because I don’t think anyone gave us a chance coming into this tournament,” said John. “Now we’ve proven them wrong and I’m backing my boys to keep their heads high and continue playing good football.

“It’s still a far way off in terms of qualifying for Brazil but I will give them credit for pulling off two wins and showing that they are no push overs.”

Junior Warriors stun Jamaica.
By Walter Alibey (Newsday).

A dou­ble strike from T&T's pro­lif­ic for­ward Jaiye Shep­pard in the 34th and 60th min­utes con­firmed T&T's pas­sage to the next round of the CON­CA­CAF Un­der-17 Cham­pi­onship with a 3-2 vic­to­ry over Ja­maica at the IMG Acad­e­my in Flori­da, USA yes­ter­day.

With two teams pro­gress­ing from the group, the win puts T&T in con­tention to win Group A when they face the gi­ants of Mex­i­co in their fi­nal match to­mor­row af­ter­noon.

The young So­ca War­riors were al­most cer­tain of ad­vanc­ing af­ter an im­pres­sive 3-1 tri­umph over Bermu­da in their open­er on Wednes­day.

But they got a ma­jor scare when the young Reg­gae Boyz jumped out front cour­tesy a 17-minute strike from Chris­to­jae Da­ley. The tal­ent­ed Ja­maican strik­er wait­ed in an­tic­i­pa­tion as Dwayne Atkin­son took the ball past two T&T de­fend­ers on the right side be­fore de­liv­er­ing to him to fire in­to an open goal.

T&T, coached by Stern John, a for­mer T&T in­ter­na­tion­al, set­tled in the game nice­ly there­after, but they had to wait un­til the 34th-minute for the equal­iz­er. Shep­pard of Pre­sen­ta­tion Col­lege, San Fer­nan­do, turned hope in­to re­al­i­ty by con­vert­ing at the far post, a goal that came af­ter Justin Arau­jo-Wil­son drib­bled in­to the Ja­maican dan­ger area, be­fore re­leas­ing to an un­marked Shep­pard at the back door to fire home.

But as the match ap­proached the half-time in­ter­val, T&T took the lead. Shep­pard from a 43rd-minute free-kick saw the Ja­maican de­fence strug­gle to clear the ball, and it fell nice­ly for Arau­jo-Wil­son to beat the goal­keep­er at the far post to send T&T to a 2-1 ad­van­tage.

And af­ter the break, the T&T team as­sured them­selves of a place in the sec­ond round, when Jer­rel Nixon, son of for­mer T&T strik­er Jer­ren Nixon, stormed down the right flank and whipped in a cross for Shep­pard to head home in the 68th minute for a 3-1 lead.

Down by two goals, the Ja­maicans were then re­duced to 10 men when Dan­dre Miller re­ceived march­ing or­ders for his sec­ond book­able of­fence in the 84th minute.

Still, it did not pre­vent the Ja­maicans from fight­ing, and they were re­ward­ed for it with a con­so­la­tion item in the 93rd minute.

Isaac Scott found him­self at the end of a right-side cen­tre from Atkin­son in­side the area, and he picked his spot nice­ly, by fir­ing be­yond the out­stretched arms of T&T goal­keep­er Isa­iah Williams.

« Last Edit: May 07, 2019, 01:38:46 AM by Flex »

« Reply #688 on: May 03, 2019, 06:52:49 PM »

We always happy for the win but to advance in deep stages of the tournament ALOT of improvement has to be made

« Reply #689 on: May 03, 2019, 07:16:38 PM »
Stirring the pot a little.
Is Latapy that poor of a coach? Men working for free attaining results.
Or is it more complicated than that  :devil: