December 02, 2024, 02:31:18 PM

Author Topic: 2026 World Cup Thread  (Read 55931 times)

Re: 2026 World Cup Thread
« Reply #240 on: June 10, 2024, 02:10:41 PM »
We always lose to them on that shitty turf they have in San Jose. I believe they don't use that turf anymore. We can beat them. We won't leave San Jose empty handed. The surface is natural grass. The other stadium Sarprissa used to be astro turf. It is now natural grass.

« Reply #241 on: June 10, 2024, 06:27:12 PM »
Good to know Deeks. When we played them on our grounds, we do better. They always had the edge on opponents on their turf.

Offline madness

« Reply #242 on: June 11, 2024, 04:08:58 AM »
@Fyzoman
I respect you and your opinion of Muckette. Once Spicer and Eve start recruiting talented players from major leagues, he may no longer be on the team unless a club outside Trinidad signs him. I can see him remaining on the TNT squad. I know some players who play in Germany, and he will be another Dantaye Gilbert, who plays football in Holland. Hence, I watched him play in the TTPFL, and they lost to Defence Force in the finals. Here's a YouTube link to the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBlLfVl5U2s. Watching Poon-Angeron, it's clear why he's headed to the CPL; it's likely the same reason the El Salvadoran club signed him. :laugh: :)

« Reply #243 on: June 11, 2024, 05:15:16 AM »
Yep, if more men like Dantaye and Yeates come into the team he'll have a hard time getting minutes.
Thanks for the link, but I watched the game live Army coach did a number on AC POS midfield in that game.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2024, 03:59:13 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #244 on: June 11, 2024, 05:45:59 AM »
@Fyzoman
I respect you and your opinion of Muckette. Once Spicer and Eve start recruiting talented players from major leagues, he may no longer be on the team unless a club outside Trinidad signs him. I can see him remaining on the TNT squad. I know some players who play in Germany, and he will be another Dantaye Gilbert, who plays football in Holland. Hence, I watched him play in the TTPFL, and they lost to Defence Force in the finals. Here's a YouTube link to the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBlLfVl5U2s. Watching Poon-Angeron, it's clear why he's headed to the CPL; it's likely the same reason the El Salvadoran club signed him. :laugh: :)

Please clarify. Are you suggesting that there is content on that link that recommends Muckette to European football?

Offline madness

« Reply #245 on: June 11, 2024, 06:16:08 AM »
@asylumseeker

I suggest that he is not ready, as the video shows him merely walking around, attempting to execute killer passes. He also lacks any defense style.

« Reply #246 on: June 11, 2024, 08:38:51 AM »
For those who want to cheer on Bahamas against St Kitts, Livesoccer.com shows it's airing on FIFA-Plus from 2pm today.

« Reply #247 on: June 11, 2024, 10:10:17 AM »
Molik-Khan is now a MLS player. He was called up to the 1st squad. No longer in the USL. Good news. Muckette will have a harder time now.

« Reply #248 on: June 11, 2024, 12:37:53 PM »
You and @madness just trolling now.

So rather than say Molik get he lil short-term contract to the Minnesota's first team, you had to add in Muckette's name, jed Muckette doh even play regularly on the national team, he didn't get on the field against Grenada...he get ah lil bligh against Bahamas and did his lil ting...and allyuh mustbe was VEX he did lil ok (think about that??), cause the both ah allyuh cyah stop chat bout him.

So once Molik get onto the MLS team, all of a sudden he will get good enough for Eve to pick him then??
He best work on his game for September cause Dantaye, Yeates, and Spicer them will be kicking out other starters, far less for him...Muckette is the least of Molik's problems.

Five game-involvements, five victories.
Three games NO involvement, two losses and the draw against Grenada!

I just happy that none ah allyuh is the coach of the national team yes.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2024, 09:34:37 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #249 on: June 11, 2024, 01:46:46 PM »
@Fyzo, I just saying it will be harder for him. But not only him, others who vying for a role in the midfield. If things workout for khan and he improves in the MLS, there will be more competition for a spot in the midfield.

Nothing against Muckette. You're right that Eve probably brought him in to test for this game.

« Reply #250 on: June 11, 2024, 01:53:36 PM »
Fyzoman you are a fan of  back pass Muckette  eh !! ;D.

Madness if you know players in Germany make sure to pass on the info to Angus

« Reply #251 on: June 11, 2024, 01:55:37 PM »
Gawd  eve testing his game against Bahamas ? Muckette has  been around the program for how long  and still not evaluated  properly  ???
« Last Edit: June 11, 2024, 01:57:23 PM by Trini _2026 »

« Reply #252 on: June 11, 2024, 02:09:02 PM »
@Trini_2026, ask Moore, Hodges, Yeates AND Shaw bout all them back passes they get against Bahamas...every time Hodge gallop down the left, Duaney rewarded him...Moore coulda have five goals with them back passes he get when he was open, or played open in the 18 yard...the game still on YouTube yuh know.

Again, one lil fella have men talking, yuh would think he's the cause of our recent failures, but crickets when Hackshaw and Goddard them was being picked, it really eh easy nah...anyway, lemme go and watch Bahamas.
Oh gosh GOP doh give Trini_2026 any ammo nah man ;D

Oh, and the Bahamas vs St Kitts game is on YouTube.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2024, 02:20:43 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #253 on: June 11, 2024, 05:16:56 PM »
Baha men did well enough,played with 10 men for 45 minutes and only lost 1-0,not bad for the Socawarriors.

« Reply #254 on: June 12, 2024, 04:41:58 AM »
Fyzo, what's been Muckette's best performance in a NT jersey?

« Reply #255 on: June 12, 2024, 07:27:56 AM »
@asylumseeker...you and all bredda.

Simple answer to your little question...EVERY one of our five recent victories that he played in and we won, that has been his best game/s. 

Yuh know all when Hackshaw and other undeserving men played/playing nobody had/have nutten to say.

What have been Levi, Justin, Aubrey, Rampy, Hackshaw, Moore, Goddard, Phillips, Powder best games for the NT?!?!

Look man, I simply feel the way I feel about this one player and allyuh fellas could feel how allyuh feel...and we could keep it pushing

And look, Angus eventually got rid of Hackshaw, so he might soon get rid of Muckette, fingers crossed ;)
« Last Edit: June 12, 2024, 09:37:34 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #256 on: June 12, 2024, 09:51:08 AM »
@asylumseeker...you and all bredda.

Simple answer to your little question...EVERY one of our five recent victories that he played in and we won, that has been his best game/s. 

Yuh know all when Hackshaw and other undeserving men played/playing nobody had/have nutten to say.

What have been Levi, Justin, Aubrey, Rampy, Hackshaw, Moore, Goddard, Phillips, Powder best games for the NT?!?!

Look man, I simply feel the way I feel about this one player and allyuh fellas could feel how allyuh feel...and we could keep it pushing

And look, Angus eventually got rid of Hackshaw, so he might soon get rid of Muckette, fingers crossed ;)

Nah, I want a proper answer. I am not adopting the line taken by your tormenters. Ah trying to have a serious substantive interrogation. Choose ONE match.

I have a sizzling feeling as to what the consensus answer might be, even if subjunctive subjective. (It sort of mirrors the answer to: what was Jesse Williams' best match in T&T colours at senior level?)

And, as a caution, I wouldn't regard Hackshaw's absence as definitive.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2024, 03:41:46 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #257 on: June 12, 2024, 11:18:00 AM »
Hahahaha, yuh know what's funny?

When I saw the question you asked, I was going and reply, "nah asylum, I am the one who's used to asking suspects questions after reading them their Miranda Warning directly from my card during interrogations" :)

Bredda, out of our last eight games; whenever Duaney played we won five of them,; when he didn't play. we lost or drew the remaining three.

I like how yuh use 'tormenters', you should already know them fellas eh ready to 'torment' me, is only you coming now looking for yuh ONE match, man all FIVE we won was he best game!

Please don't tell me you have info that Hackshaw will back, that one will torment me no end >:(

« Reply #258 on: August 18, 2024, 08:45:32 PM »
No T&T qualification for World Cup 2026 - Warner
T&T Guardian

Former FIFA vice president Austin Jack Warner, who has widely been acknowledged as the man whose assistance and administrative experience helped Trinidad and Tobago qualify for its first and, to date, only World Cup in Germany in 2006, is not confident of 2026 World Cup participation for the Soca Warriors. 

"Let me tell you this, and who is vex? Well,  vex. We will not see a World Cup final in football in our collective lifetime, not even for the one coming up (2026), and remember, I have told you so," Warner said on the Isports radio program, hosted by Andre Errol Baptiste on Friday. 

"We have gotten more chances and more slots to qualify, but our chances will not be better but worse. First of all, we don't have the talent at the top, and in terms of coaching, we don't have that will to allow our football players to succeed. We don't have the competition at the bottom. Ask the average Trinidad and Tobago footballer to name five footballers in the country. He can't. The average Trini cannot, and something is wrong," said Warner. 

Warner believes the coaching from Angus Eve to Derek King will not work. "I know Derek King very well; he used to coach my club called Joe Public. I know him very well, but Derek King is out of his league. Derek King does not understand the nuances of coaching at the World Cup level. And that is the difference I am talking about. Derek King is not in Leo Beenhakker's class, so to speak. England got rid of Gareth Southgate. What are we doing in terms of this?" asked Warner. 

I was told that this was unfair as Trinidad and Tobago's football team does not have that kind of money.

He said, "If you get the money to pay a top-class coach, you will spend less money in the judiciary and less money in national security. The money that you will save from national security, you can pump back into sports. It follows that you have to prioritise and see what is important to you, and if sport is the vehicle for national unity and development and for people's pride, put the money where it is."

He continued, "I recall where sportsmen and sportswomen have to spend their own money attending to injuries. It does not help until we get serious about sports. Nothing from nothing will leave nothing." 

Responding to the new Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) executive, who has assumed power since the departure of the Normalisation Committee in April, Warner said, "They are still green, and it is too early to judge, but at the top, they have some geriatrics who should have left football long ago. It is a bit too early."

With respect to the support needed from corporate Trinidad and Tobago, Warner said, "They will not get corporate support. They (corporate T&T) only come at the end. They come at the end, not at the beginning, where they are badly needed. 

"There is no local coach that can take Trinidad and Tobago to the World Cup at this time, and I mean that sincerely, and that is not a criticism; that is a realistic statement; we don't have it; we just don't have it. Jamaica is looking for a top-class coach; they have never considered Dwight Yorke. Look where Jamaica has gone. They don't have the energy and oil we have, but they have the pride. We don't have that, and that is the difference." 

Asked for an update on his legal challenges, Warner concluded, "The matter will be thrown out, but it takes time in Trinidad and Tobago. All the colleagues that have been arrested and imprisoned in the United States have since appealed based on the Supreme Court statement and judgment, and I am now waiting to see what will come out of these appeals, and I will take it from there, but I don't want to say too much on that at this stage, except to say, I am very optimistic."

« Reply #259 on: August 19, 2024, 08:46:12 PM »
I disagree JW

Hart was not given a fair chance with a full coaching and support staff. If he is given this, we will qualify, unless other nations get involved and FIFA to ensure TT doesn't qualify through nefarious means.

« Reply #260 on: August 20, 2024, 07:28:45 AM »

With respect to the support needed from corporate Trinidad and Tobago, Warner said, "They will not get corporate support. They (corporate T&T) only come at the end. They come at the end, not at the beginning, where they are badly needed.

I am certainly no Jack Warner fan. But I have to swallow my pride and saliva to say that I agree with him on that.

« Reply #261 on: August 20, 2024, 07:59:45 AM »
@deeks

Yes he's right in most of what he said but wrong in that none of our good coaches had a fair chance to really take a hold of our team, besides Beenhakker

« Reply #262 on: August 20, 2024, 08:29:17 AM »
@Deeks, I have an icecream shop. It take a lot of money and hard work to set up. Should I complain that the public wasn't there to contribute to my icecream shop while I was in the building phase? No! What is TTFA role then? What are they on the hook for? People really have this now-for-now mindset in real life?

« Reply #263 on: August 21, 2024, 10:32:55 PM »
@ kounty. I agree with your analogy. But I will not expect the mom and pop stores or the coconut vendor or the roti shop to come to TTFA assistance. Corporate TT we talking about. The entities that make big money in TT. The 1%, the 2 % probably up to the 10%. They could help. But I agree with You, that under AJW, I would also be hesitant to put my money in TTFA hands. I would support a club in the pro-league. And alsogreatly assist  grass-root community and other sports.

« Reply #264 on: August 22, 2024, 10:12:45 AM »
@deeks

We have some of the biggest thieves in our country that fill their pockets and never give back to the community. The govt is no different than the private sector, the private sector bribes the govt to get contracts and vice versa, it's a vicious cycle.

The govt is rich enough to spend on sport but uplifting the country is not their goal, they can't brainwash and control the country that way, they must keep the population under a constant state of emergency and fear...

« Reply #265 on: August 22, 2024, 12:07:30 PM »
We on the same page except on the tiny point that I don't view Corporate TnT voting with their wallets, or as JW put it, "coming on-board at the end," as a bad thing.
If TnT putting absolute nonsense down on the field (as I believe they were putting down under DL), I not going to travel across multiple states or countries to see the team that I love play. I vote with my wallet. I similarly not going to expect the stadium to be ram, or corporate dollars to be flowing like water when tata going down. In my opinion, that is not a problem.
TTFA need to EARN corporate and even Government sponsorship and fan patronage, by making sense in terms of the quality of who they put in charge and also what comes out on the field. They have to build some sort of portfolio that show that they DESERVE hard earned money.
Eve didn't do a bad job in my opinion, with the low bar of "not making things worse". If is a relay and he run 1st leg, we still in the hunt, but 4 Eve-legs not going to take us where we want to be.
As a professional outfit, one would assume that they have within their ranks or can solicit the services of (at reasonable or subsidized rates), competent business people who can properly incentivize early corporate investments if that is needed to generate capital -- in a measured and responsible way -- to put us on the right trajectory before "businesses come on board". I think that is something every 'business' has to balance and deal with. So I'm going to EXPECT TTFA to raise their levels in that regard as well. And kudos to the Normalization committee for doing some part towards  at least not setting us back in that regard as well.
(alright that was my 2024 rant. lol).

« Reply #266 on: August 23, 2024, 02:26:10 AM »
Arguably, the Normalization Committee should have (given its composition) attracted/exploited a greater level of commercial relationships with Corporate T&T. That that occured as relatively low-level to modest activity during the tenure of the NC strikes me as instructive. In my view, even without knowing the composition of an incoming executive, much more could have been done to strengthen the institutional reality in that area. I think what we will find going forward is that existing conditions exist for unhealthy reliance/over reliance on an individual actor to a narrow band of commercial interest rather than on fostering a preferred significantly diverse portfolio of commercial entities that possess suitably distanced interests.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2024, 02:31:10 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #267 on: August 29, 2024, 05:54:16 AM »
TTFA, Sport Ministry discuss World Cup qualification
T&T Express

Minister of Sport and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis met with Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president Kieron Edwards earlier this month at the Ministry's head office in Port of Spain.

The collaborative meeting centred on the TTFA's key initiatives to elevate Trinidad and Tobago football, including the ongoing World Cup 2026 qualification campaign and the successful completion of the Trinidad and Tobago Premier Football League's second season, and the plans for the upcoming season.

Also present were Larry Romany, new chairman of the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (SporTT), Justin Latapy-George, head of Sport Development at SporTT, and Rixon Powder, technical administrator (Sport) at the Ministry.

Further discussions focused on advancing women's football in Trinidad and Tobago and reinforcing the TTFA's dedication to enhancing the social impact of football across the nation. Additionally, funding-related matters were addressed.

"The Ministry of Sport and Community Development remains steadfast in its commitment to supporting the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association in the continued growth and development of football nationwide," the Ministry stated.

« Reply #268 on: November 06, 2024, 08:49:05 PM »
Government gives TTFA $2m boost for World Cup campaign
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

THE Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) will receive $2 million over two years (2024-2026) from the Ministry of Sport and Community Development towards their 2026 FIFA World Cup campaign, as the Soca Warriors begin a new era under new coach Dwight Yorke.

Minister of Sport and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe-Lewis told Newsday the TTFA will get the "equivalent" of $1 million for the first year. If the ministry is satisfied with how the money is being spent, an additional $1 million will be distributed for the second year of the agreement.

"What we have done is support TTFA's proposal for their World Cup campaign," Cudjoe-Lewis told Newsday. "They submitted to us a World Cup proposal...and we are making a contribution to their proposal like governments have done in the past. This time they have submitted and the terms and so on, as it relates to the terms and conditions of the contract between Dwight Yorke and the TTFA."

Yorke was named as the new senior men's football coach on November 1, replacing interim coach Derek King. King held the position for a few months after Angus Eve was sacked. By the end of the week, Yorke's assistant staff is expected to be named.

Yorke is a Manchester United and T&T legend, having captained the Soca Warriors at the 2006 World Cup in Germany. Yorke was part of the national team when he was still a teenager, playing a part in the Strike Squad team.

The former striker and midfielder will now have a new role, guiding the team in an effort to qualify for a second World Cup.

National team coaches are paid lucrative salaries in football and someone with Yorke's name is expected to cost the TTFA a hefty sum. Some national coaches make millions annually.

New US coach Mauricio Pochettino, according to a CBS Sports article quoting ESPN, is expected to make around US $6 million annually. Pochettino is a respected coach, having coached English Premier League club Chelsea. He will get paid more than double that of former US coach Gregg Berhalter.

The Sydney Morning Herald reported that Yorke was earning US$37,500 a month, plus bonuses, while in charge of Australian club Macarthur FC from 2022-2023. According to local online media outlet Wired868, Eve earned US$12,500 a month at the national helm. Another former coach, Terry Fenwick, had a starting salary of US$20,000. Cudjoe-Lewis, who is elated to welcome Yorke back into the national team, reiterated that the Government's financial support is for the TTFA, not specifically for the new coach's salary.

"Whoever TTFA chooses to be its coach that is between TTFA and that coach. Of course, it is great for us to have a local, somebody who is a star, someone who has served as sports ambassador and so on, that is a good thing for all of us in T&T. In the past, you would see that the Cabinet has approved World Cup campaigns...and we were presented with a proposal. That proposal consists of so many things from coaches, coach fees, support for local training, local games, foreign games, airline (tickets)...we made a contribution to their campaign and they determine how they are going to spend the contribution."

Yorke will be paid by the TTFA through allocated funds provided by FIFA, Concacaf, the Ministry of Sport and several sponsors.

In a radio interview on i95FM on November 2, TTFA president Kieron Edwards said that Yorke's salary is below the average wage of coaches in other ambitious countries such as Jamaica. Edwards said "it's not about money" for Yorke and they got him for a "steal of a deal."

« Reply #269 on: November 09, 2024, 01:06:44 PM »
So no games scheduled in this match window. ?