April 20, 2024, 06:55:04 AM

Author Topic: X-Men to feature same sex wedding after North Star proposal  (Read 4332 times)

Mods before you merge this...

I was not a real heavy comics man, but I like meh comic book even up to today.I find they taking this ting too far

Now I have a real problem with this...Not only you trying to hop on the trend and be popular since Obama bring up the issue. But to put it in a comic book...to me like yuh forcing it on the children....leave them in they innocence.

Why expose children to this? I mean when you small you ent studying Ernie and Bert and the smurfs and the rest of them, if they boysing or not. Yuh never study why Jughead had no girls and is only Archie and Reggie getting action. Same way Wimpy was big and fat eating hamburger and was solo. Why bring up a issue and have parent explaining all kinda thing to them.

Also if you read the characters Wiki page...the comic only implied he was boysing in the few episodes he was in and never outwardly read and spell for them but to come out and do this...I find it wrong. When you small you ent picking up this thing.

BBC

Northstar Wikipedia

I real benin on Marvel for this one.  >:(

Re: X-Men to feature same sex wedding after North Star proposal
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2012, 11:11:29 AM »
How far is too far?   :banginghead:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2012, 11:26:35 AM »
I agree with yuh to a certain extent .....but I eh think it really being 'forced' on children because de gay issue does be around daily, in the news on the tv etc etc

I feel for older kids reading comics dat go be a non issue, for younger ones dey go just gloss over it.
when I was dat age I did never study why jughead had no gyirls or wha moose and midge was doin behind the bleachers or wuh de captian haddock was doin to tintin on de ship

This whole ting might be kinda similar to the shock adults displayed when sidney poitier was lookin to marry that white chick in the 60's movie

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2012, 11:34:41 AM »
FYI

Robin was killed out of the Batman and Robin comics because all of a sudden they were gay. When d chupid talk started all they needed to say that Robin was Batman Ward and done d story. Evrybody 4get that Burt and Earnie is pre pre schoolers all of a sudden they gay.

D WORLD JUST PLANE SIC.

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2012, 11:52:34 AM »
I also have my suspicions about Spongebob

« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2012, 12:19:51 PM »

I was not a real heavy comics man, but I like meh comic book even up to today.I find they taking this ting too far

Now I have a real problem with this...Not only you trying to hop on the trend and be popular since Obama bring up the issue. But to put it in a comic book...to me like yuh forcing it on the children....leave them in they innocence.

Why expose children to this? I mean when you small you ent studying Ernie and Bert and the smurfs and the rest of them, if they boysing or not. Yuh never study why Jughead had no girls and is only Archie and Reggie getting action. Same way Wimpy was big and fat eating hamburger and was solo. Why bring up a issue and have parent explaining all kinda thing to them.

Also if you read the characters Wiki page...the comic only implied he was boysing in the few episodes he was in and never outwardly read and spell for them but to come out and do this...I find it wrong. When you small you ent picking up this thing.

BBC

Northstar Wikipedia

Children no longer read those comic books. Certainly not the Astonishing X-Men.

As a 5 -10 year-old I coulda pick up almost any Marvel or DC comic and it was child appropriate. The adult titles were special imprints. For some reason in the 90’s a whole lot of “realism” take over what was meant to be books for kids and the kids books (like DCKids or Marvel Kids line) are the special imprint.

Now I wouldn’t let me kids pick up a mainstream Marvel comic these days unless they could deal with the violence, sex and the moral ambiguity of heroes killing bad guys, murderers becoming heroes etc. If they old enough to deal with that material gay marriage is not really a problem.

« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2012, 12:39:08 PM »
It's called graphic novels now.

history channel had a nice documentary about comics and how they changed with the times, from WW2 to September 11. After the 90's they had to change the style because they were not selling anymore, comics almost went out of business. It has gotten alot more serious and darker now.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 12:47:54 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2012, 01:44:40 PM »

BBC

Northstar Wikipedia

Children doh need to read comic books to be exposed... As Dutty say it all around us and unless yuh lock up yuh children in a basement they will be exposed to it. If parents are concerned about early exposure then they should talk to their kids about it and let them know their views on that matter.   

At 6 years old my son who is 9 now asked me what is gay, because of how kids in his school would use the word in a derogatory manner and I had to have the talk with him... My point is Touches, dat ball start rolling long time now and it gathering nuff speed. We need to be good parents and not avoid talking to our kids about these controversial issues, because the values parents teach and uphold in their household is a major factor that determines how their children will be affected (or not affected) by outside influences.

As an aside, how many of this generation still read comics anyway?

Eh Touches would you have still gone to see Avengers if this was de movie poster?  ;D
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 02:51:02 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2012, 02:02:05 PM »
I also have my suspicions about Spongebob

Well....he does live in "Bikini bottom" and works at "The crusty crab."... ;D
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2012, 02:07:57 PM »
Eh Touches would you have still gone to see Avengers if this was de movie poster?  ;D

:devil: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2012, 02:08:57 PM »
Firebrand...I ent see it yet...but anytime the movie poster was like the 2nd one I staying far away.

Dem self how yuh go design a poster with HULK skinnin he kakahole.

But I guess alyuh young parents might be right...is a different time this rounds and children exposed to it more and more. When is my time to lecture to meh lil one I hope I ready....or I go let the wife do it. ;D

But for real though?....Chirren now doh read comic book like long time? Such a travesty. Maybe dais why they ketching they tail to read and spell.  ;D
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 02:13:03 PM by Touches »

« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2012, 02:30:44 PM »
This explains mostly how the comics change with times

Don't know who might be interested in watching it but I found the documentary that showed on the history channel, good viewing if you are a comic book fan or a fan of a certain character. It goes right to the beginning of who created superman etc. Straight up to the present.

Comic Book Superheroes Unmasked

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TKT0LLPgSnA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TKT0LLPgSnA</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tpTfS-jWyJA&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tpTfS-jWyJA&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/OWZa5iwZYBQ&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/OWZa5iwZYBQ&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/q0JhIJlSfIQ&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/q0JhIJlSfIQ&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HE-paSEfyoY&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HE-paSEfyoY&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XAdRzaa6a7U&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XAdRzaa6a7U&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mtkueo5c7UQ&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mtkueo5c7UQ&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8nPMnazi4aQ&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8nPMnazi4aQ&amp;</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KN-x9zA6DFI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KN-x9zA6DFI&amp;</a>