April 28, 2024, 10:01:30 PM

Author Topic: Gatlin says he's not afraid of Bolt  (Read 5646 times)

Gatlin says he's not afraid of Bolt
« on: June 05, 2012, 04:42:52 PM »
Ah wonder what currently undetectable drugs he is on?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Gatlin-say-s-he-s-not-afraid-of-Bolt

Gatlin says he's not afraid of Bolt
Jamaica Observer
Tuesday, June 05, 2012

JUSTIN Gatlin does not care that Usain Bolt laughs at the challenge he is mounting for 100 metres supremacy this summer - nor that the blue riband event of the London Olympics could be tainted by the spectre of drugs according to a Fox Sports report.

Gatlin, who failed a drugs test two years after winning the 100m gold in Athens, announced himself as a serious contender for the Games with a 9.87sec victory over former world record holder Asafa Powell in Doha last month.

The American's performance has only been bettered this year by Bolt, who was back to his majestic best with a blistering 9.76 dash in Rome last week, and Yohan Blake, who ran 9.84 in the Cayman Islands. But Gatlin is not intimidated.

"I don't go out six days a week, train for five hours a day to get silver and bronze," said Gatlin from his training camp in Florida last week.

"I already have an Olympic gold medal under my belt and I'm going out there to win another one."

His post-race comments in Doha - that he would take charge of a challenge to the 'Bolt show' - were dismissed with relish by the Jamaican, who said that Gatlin had "had his chance".

"I didn't know there was a professional chance counter in our sport," said Gatlin, 30.

"The last time I checked, if you're ready and willing to go out there and run fast and compete, you can grab a lane."

The danger that a drugs cheat could infiltrate the medals in the most visible event of London 2012 will not have escaped Lord Coe, who advocated lifetime bans for such offenders and has promised a zero-tolerance policy on drugs at London 2012.

Gatlin failed a routine doping test at a low-key event in Kansas in 2006. He maintains he was framed by massage therapist Christopher Whetstine.

It is a story that was supported by Gatlin's then coach, Trevor Graham, a man with a past murkier than ditchwater - Marion Jones and Tim Montgomery were just two of a long list of convicted cheats Graham coached. Whetstine denies the accusations.

Renaldo Nehemiah, a former 110m hurdles world record holder, managed Gatlin before his doping conviction, remained friends with him throughout his four-year ban and resumed charge of his business affairs after he was reinstated by the IAAF in 2010.

He claims the attention deficit disorder Gatlin suffered from, and received medication for from the age of eight, made him vulnerable to being exploited by unscrupulous people.

"Justin's attention to things is his greatest weakness," said Nehemiah. "I sometimes give him his travel itinerary and within two hours he's asking me what time we're leaving. If he can do that, then he's going to overlook a lot of things.

"When I heard he'd tested positive, the first thing out of my mouth was "That darn Trevor. I can't believe he would let something like this happen to Justin".

"I knew from a business side that Justin was naive. I felt he could have been easily duped. Call it paranoia but, in our sport, lack of paranoia costs you your career.

"Whatever transpired to turn Gatlin from a respected champion into a disgraced doper, his brazen presence alone is certain to ruffle feathers in London.

"I've been to the top of the mountain and the bottom," said Gatlin. "What the other sprinters say about me in the media and think about me doesn't matter to me. I've been through things that they could never fathom. I'm ready for this war."

On paper, he should not be able to challenge Bolt, who has run a far superior 9.58sec. But Bolt's failure to break 10 seconds in Ostrava last week and his disqualification from the world championships in Daegu last year proved he is not infallible.

"I look at myself as more of a gunslinger now than I was in 2004," Gatlin said.

"I'm ready to take on the competition.

"Justin then was a young man coming into the world of track and field fearless and really naive to the sport.

"I'm a different Justin now. I'm more calculated, cold, I understand the sport a little better and I'm viewed more as a dark horse.

"You can't think about times. If you go out there and run 9.6 you may as well go out there and run 9.5. If you run 9.5 somebody might go out there and run 9.4. You have to go out there and dominate the race and look at the clock when it's done."

Gatlin is pleased that the BOA's lifetime ban on drugs cheats was overturned by the Court of Arbitration for Sport in March, giving rise to the possibility that he might compete against fellow convicted doper, Britain's Dwain Chambers, in London.

"I've been through the same situation as Dwain," he said. "I know what it feels like to sit out for four years and not collect a cheque from the sport that you love.

"I understand he has a son and I have a son to take care of. To take that away from him after he has served his time is injustice in itself and I'm glad to see that he's back."

And how would Gatlin like to be remembered?

"As one of the strongest athletes mentally and physically in the sport of track and field," he said. "And a brave person."

Re: Gatlin says he's not afraid of Bolt
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 01:00:39 PM »
So wha dey expeck he to say?

He fraid Bolt?

« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2012, 03:15:54 PM »
Mouth could say anything!  Let's hear what his legs will say!

« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2012, 10:47:36 PM »
So wha dey expeck he to say?

He fraid Bolt?
:D

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2012, 11:33:42 PM »
Of course he ent fraid Bolt, is not like they boxing...but he still cyar beat Bolt :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2012, 07:20:15 PM »
<- Back to Day 3 Results  Start List

Men's 100 Meter Dash Prelim

Event Records 
 Record Tag Time Athlete Affiliation Date 
World W  9.58 Usain Bolt   JAM   August 16 2009 
American A  9.69 Tyson Gay   adidas   September 20 2009 
Meet M  9.77 Tyson Gay   adidas   June 28 2008 
OG A   10.18       

Advance 21 -- Top 3 + 6 on time to semis

Place Athlete Name Affiliation Time Qual     Wind   ReacTime Heat(Pl)
 1 Justin Gatlin Unattached 9.90 Q      +1.7    0.172  5 (1)
 2 Tyson Gay adidas 10.00 Q      +1.6    0.166  4 (1)
 3 Ryan Bailey Nike 10.03 Q      +1.6  [10.022] 0.166  4 (2)
 4 Walter Dix Nike 10.03 Q      +0.7  [10.028] 0.153  1 (1)
 5 Michael Rodgers Unattached 10.05 Q      +1.5    0.144  3 (1)
 6 Darvis Patton Nike 10.06 Q      +0.7    0.174  1 (2)
 7 Trell Kimmons adidas 10.11 Q      +1.7    0.139  5 (2)
 8 Maurice Mitchell Florida State 10.13 Q      +1.5    0.175  3 (2)
 9 Marcus Rowland Auburn 10.16 Q      +1.4    0.149  2 (1)
 10 Philippe Derosier Unattached 10.17 Q      +1.6  [10.164] 0.134  4 (3)
 10 Charles Silmon T C U 10.17 Q      +1.7  [10.164] 0.159  5 (3)
 12 Jeff Demps Florida 10.18 Q      +1.4    0.148  2 (2)
 13 Calesio Newman Unattached 10.19 Q      +0.7    0.184  1 (3)
 14 Ivory Williams Nike 10.23 q      +1.6    0.155  4 (4)
 15 Keenan Brock Auburn 10.26 Q      +1.5    0.161  3 (3)
 16 Cordero Gray Unattached 10.28 q      +1.6    0.162  4 (5)
 17 Rae Edwards Unattached 10.31 q      +0.7    0.163  1 (4)
 18 Travis Padgett adidas 10.33 Q      +1.4    0.142  2 (3)
 19 Mickey Grimes Unattached 10.36 q      +0.7    0.134  1 (5)
 20 Ahmad Rashad Nike 10.39 q      +1.4    0.135  2 (4)
 21 Justin Murdock Clemson 10.41 q      +0.7  [10.404] 0.194  1 (6)
 22 Keith Ricks Virginia Tech 10.41       +1.5  [10.407] 0.178  3 (4)
 23 Isiah Young Ole Miss 10.41       +1.6  [10.409] 0.176  4 (6)
 24 Everett Walker Baylor 10.42       +1.5    0.161  3 (5)
 25 Justin Austin Iowa 10.43       +1.7    0.182  5 (4)
 26 Zyberius Boey Eastern Illinois 10.45       +0.7    0.165  1 (7)
 27 Prezel Hardy Texas A&M 10.55       +1.5    0.171  3 (6)
 28 Micheal Granger Ole Miss 10.61       +1.4    0.160  2 (5)
 29 Mookie Salaam adidas 10.62       +1.4    0.159  2 (6)
 30 Joseph Morris Colorado 10.63       +1.7    0.154  5 (5)
 31 Darrell Wesh Virginia Tech 10.64       +1.7    0.168  5 (6)
 32 Shane Crawford Unattached 11.04       +1.4    0.172  2 (7)
 33 Leroy Dixon Unattached 11.13       +1.7    0.166  5 (7)
 DNS Ryan Milus Arizona State                 

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2012, 07:35:30 PM »
Okay, he's not afraid of Bolt, let's see if he will also be not afraid of Gay after the 100m final tonight!  ;)

« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2012, 05:58:24 PM »
Gatlin on the juice 9.80 winner pb

Gay second 9.86

Ryan baily 9.93

« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2012, 08:49:09 PM »
Gatlin on the juice 9.80 winner pb

Gay second 9.86

Ryan baily 9.93

2012 U.S. Olympic Trials Men's 100m FINAL
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/g0kOeA6ogcM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/g0kOeA6ogcM</a>

Official result:
1. Justin Gatlin -- 9.80
2. Tyson Gay -- 9.86
3. Ryan Bailey -- 9.93
4. Mike Rodgers -- 9.94
5. Darvis Patton -- 9.96
6. Trell Kimmons -- 10.02
7. Jeff Demps -- 10.27
8. Walter Dix -- 10.95

5 Sprinters ran under 10seconds. Bet if this happened at the T&T Trials a lot of folks would have been questioning the clock!  ::)

« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2012, 08:59:30 PM »
come nah socapro, all those men ran sub 10 before, we have 3 sub 10 men running right now.  anyway gatlin might be able to back up his talk in the olympics.  hope bledman and RT ready for him.

Gatlin, Gay ready to face Jamaicans at London
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2012, 07:41:39 PM »
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/gatlin-gay-reach-100-final-while-dix-hurt-221006739--spt.html

Gatlin, Gay ready to face Jamaicans at London
By Jim Slater | AFP – 18 hours ago

Justin Gatlin and Tyson Gay served notice they will be ready to challenge Usain Bolt at the London Olympics in the 100 meters after qualifying for the Games with impressive times.

Gatlin, the 2004 Olympic champion who could not defend his crown in Beijing while serving a four-year doping ban, won the 100 final at the US Olympic Track and Field Trials in 9.80 seconds, the third-best time in the world this year.

"I think there's a lot left in the tank," Gatlin warned. "I was pleased with my time and the effort I left on the track."

Gatlin, who won the world 60m indoor crown earlier this year, lowered his own season best from the 9.87 he ran to win last month in Doha and served notice he was aiming at reigning Olympic champion and world record-holder Bolt.

"I don't think I would come back to a sport where I'm OK getting second or third," Gatlin said.

Bolt owns the year's best two 100s, having gone 9.76 to win at Rome last month and 9.79 to win on June 7 at Oslo, and his Jamaican compatriots Yohan Blake and Asafa Powell were also ahead of Gatlin on the 2012 list until Sunday.

"We all have our eyes on that prize we want to get at the end," Gatlin said. "If there are three Jamaicans we have to get out of the way, that will be our goal."

Gatlin, banished for much of Bolt's rise to stardom, said he was ready for any mind games or Bolt's trademark archery-styled theatrics at the start line.

"I love entertainment," Gatlin said. "If he wants to tap dance, that's fine. His lane is as long as my lane. I have to worry about me. If that gets him in 'the zone', that's fine, let him do that."

Gay, the former world champion who underwent hip surgery in 2011 and only ran two weeks ago after 50 weeks off, was second in 9.86 with Ryan Bailey third in 9.93 for the last London berth.

"I just wanted to make the team," Gay said. "That's probably all I could ask for right now. I feel like I'm on the way up."

Gay's time ranks seventh on this year's world list and puts him fifth among performers behind Bolt, Gatlin, Blake and Powell.

"I'm just going to continue to take care of my body and stay healthy. That is the big thing," Gay said. "A lot of these guys are already sharp and running great times. I believe it's going to be tough (in London).

"I'm just going to go fight them."

Walter Dix, the 2008 Olympic bronze medalist and 2011 world runner-up, was eighth in the final in 10.95 after straining a left leg muscle in the earlier semi-finals, an injury that could hinder his hopes in next week's 200.

"I don't think it's that bad," Dix said. "I've got a couple days to recover. We will see."

Former world champion Sanya Richards-Ross, aiming for a 200-400 double at London, secured the first part of her bid by winning the 400 meters in 49.28.

The Jamaican-born sprint star, who became a US citizen in 2002, lowered her own 2012 world-best time by .11 of a second with a time that was the fastest in the world since 2009.

"With 40 meters to go, my only thought was, 'I'm going to have a chance to represent the USA in my third Olympics," she said. "It's a dream come true. You can't really think about it until you get past this moment."

Reigning 400m Olympic champion LaShawn Merritt, who served a 21-month doping ban but won a legal fight for his chance to compete at London, qualified to defend his crown by winning in 44.12 seconds, lowering his own 2012 world best.

"It was not a perfect race," Merritt said. "If it takes 43 seconds to win in London, I'm willing to go there. It's not going to be my first rodeo so I'm going to go in there confident."

Jeremy Wariner, the 2004 Olympic champion and 2008 Olympic runner-up, did not qualify in the 400, finishing sixth in 45.24 and glumly walked past reporters without comment.

Former world champion Reese Hoffa heaved the shot put 22.00m, the longest distance achieved in the world this year, to win his specialty with reigning world indoor champion Ryan Whiting next at 21.66, his best effort of the year.

Former world champion and 2008 Olympic runner-up Christian Cantwell was third in 21.28 to book his trip to London, all three favorites advancing a day after former world champion Adam Nelson failed to escape qualifying.

Reigning Olympic champion Stephanie Brown Trafton won the women's discus with a throw of 65.18m while Jenn Suhr, a 2008 Olympic runner-up, cleared 4.60m to win the women's pole vault.

Marquise Goodwin, the 2008 world junior champion, won the long jump with a leap of 8.33 meters.

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2012, 07:43:59 PM »
Seems like Gatlin is prepared to run his mouth about beating Bolt and the Jamaicans even faster than he is running!

This Olympics is going to be quite interesting!  :devil:

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2012, 09:00:46 PM »
i like Gatlin.

« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2012, 09:18:17 PM »
For someone who was banned for 4 years to come back and be crowing..steups...

for Gatlin sake.. hope  he runnin clean
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 09:20:32 PM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2012, 09:54:48 PM »

why yuh doh hush?

« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2012, 03:56:25 PM »
Gatlin has to talk ...when he runs 9.7 anything I may sit up and take notice ....9.58 !!!

« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2012, 05:47:40 PM »
no one is running close to 9.58 this year..NO ONE!

« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2012, 07:56:22 PM »
Well at least not in this horrible British weather we are having right now!  :(

« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2012, 08:33:29 PM »

gatlin has the 3rd fastest time this year and yuh beating down the man.  i still think the 100m battle is between bolt and blake and the rest fighting up for bronze.  however gatlin like he has a big chip on his shoulder and out to prove his 2004 gold was not a drug medal.

right now my predictions for the 100 are Bolt, Blake, Gatlin in that order.  If Gay is 100% healthy (very unlikely), I have him down for bronze.  if anybody slip up Bledman or Asafa could squeeze in for bronze.  The dark horse is Torpedo.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2012, 09:54:59 PM »

What do you consider to be close?
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2012, 10:18:13 PM »
Gatlin seems suspect, but without proof its hard to prove.

« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2012, 12:36:15 AM »

ok no one is approaching 9.6 this olympics...how about that?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2012, 09:58:47 AM »

ok no one is approaching 9.6 this olympics...how about that?

The only thing that will prevent Bolt from running 9.6x or faster is the weather. I will give you a chance on Aug. 3 to reassess you prediction, when we will have a better idea of what the weather will be.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #23 on: June 27, 2012, 10:00:29 AM »

gatlin has the 3rd fastest time this year and yuh beating down the man.  i still think the 100m battle is between bolt and blake and the rest fighting up for bronze.  however gatlin like he has a big chip on his shoulder and out to prove his 2004 gold was not a drug medal.

right now my predictions for the 100 are Bolt, Blake, Gatlin in that order.  If Gay is 100% healthy (very unlikely), I have him down for bronze.  if anybody slip up Bledman or Asafa could squeeze in for bronze.  The dark horse is Torpedo.

Dark horse to do what? Make the final??

« Reply #24 on: June 27, 2012, 11:42:34 AM »

You cannot be sure in advance if RT won't hit his best form just at the right time for Olympics.
At his best he is a 9.8x sprinter which could be good enough for a medal in the final if one or more of the 3 pre-race favorites slip up.

Let’s stop with the unneeded negatives for now and back all our athletes who have just qualified from our National Trials to represent us at the London Olympics nah man?! 

And based upon the results of our Trials that just took place RT is currently our 2nd best sprinter and what if he improves further?

Come on guys this is not the time to fight down the men who are putting their guts on the line to represent the red, white and black and make us proud as a nation celebrating of 50 years of Independence! :beermug:

Kes - We Are Conquerors (2012 Island Pop / Celebrating 50 years of T&T Independence)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dT_B9FbOArA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dT_B9FbOArA</a>
« Last Edit: June 27, 2012, 10:52:52 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #25 on: June 27, 2012, 11:05:12 PM »
RT is the dark horse to win bronze.

Gatlin gets 1 Year Endorsement from the Americans for his mouthing off against Bolt!  :devil:

http://www.theledger.com/article/20120711/NEWS/120719840/1001/BUSINESS?Title=Crispers-Signs-Sprinter-Justin-Gatlin-to-1-Year-Endorsement

Crispers Signs Sprinter Justin Gatlin to 1 Year Endorsement
By Kyle Kennedy (THE LEDGER)
Wednesday, July 11, 2012 at 11:57 p.m.

LAKELAND | Subway has Michael Phelps, and now Crispers has Justin Gatlin.

On Wednesday Lakeland-based Crispers announced a one-year endorsement deal with Gatlin, the U.S. Olympic sprinter who won a gold medal in 2004. Gatlin is considered a top Summer Olympic Games prospect this year after winning the men's 100 meter Olympic trials last month in Eugene, Ore., finishing with a personal best time of 9.80 seconds.

As part of the deal with Crispers, Gatlin will endorse the salad and sandwich chain on a variety of websites and social media, make appearances at Crispers restaurants, and provide autographed promotional items for customers.

"We're very excited to have Justin endorse our restaurants, and extremely proud of his outstanding achievements as an American gold, silver and bronze Olympic medalist," Crispers President Ron Fuller said in a prepared statement. "We wish him the best of luck in London this summer."

Crispers spokesman Travis Masters said Gatlin trains at the National Training Center in Clermont, and "we have a Crispers right there a stone's throw away. Justin eats there on a regular basis."

Masters said Crispers signed an endorsement deal in January with Damu Cherry, a U.S. Olympic hurdler and Tampa native who trains in Clermont. Crispers also is promoted by Cherry's husband and coach, Dennis Mitchell, a former Olympic Sprinter who also coaches Gatlin.

Masters said Crispers will likely schedule restaurant appearances with Gatlin — "hopefully with a Gold medal in hand" — later this year after the London Olympics.

[ Kyle Kennedy can be reached at kyle.kennedy@theledger.com or 863-802-7584. ]
« Last Edit: July 12, 2012, 11:37:52 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #27 on: July 12, 2012, 06:52:22 PM »
Good post pro  :beermug:

Offline STMB

« Reply #28 on: July 12, 2012, 07:12:54 PM »

In a few weeks RT will be the new DB, mark my words. The sickness can't be cured. Until we see a hero on the roadside, off on drugs, begging, or caught for PEDs so men could ogle and say, "wheyyy, look where he reach, worse than we!!"

And after RT, who next, KAB? KB? KW? MC?

« Reply #29 on: July 12, 2012, 07:21:39 PM »

You cannot be sure in advance if RT won't hit his best form just at the right time for Olympics.
At his best he is a 9.8x sprinter which could be good enough for a medal in the final if one or more of the 3 pre-race favorites slip up.

Let’s stop with the unneeded negatives for now and back all our athletes who have just qualified from our National Trials to represent us at the London Olympics nah man?! 

And based upon the results of our Trials that just took place RT is currently our 2nd best sprinter and what if he improves further?

Come on guys this is not the time to fight down the men who are putting their guts on the line to represent the red, white and black and make us proud as a nation celebrating of 50 years of Independence! :beermug:

Kes - We Are Conquerors (2012 Island Pop / Celebrating 50 years of T&T Independence)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dT_B9FbOArA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dT_B9FbOArA</a>

I supporting you here pardner .... Red  white and Black ....den dey say dey never see dat yet ..fastest human running like ah jet .... all de hype was Glance, Borzov, Mc Tear , williams .... but at the end of 4 rounds ...it was red ...white and Black !

Richard and Keston , Kelly Ann, George , Njisane etc , if y'all  reading dis Mark me down on your supporter list ........ I eh studying nobody else when allyuh competing !
Only ting I worried about is the scourge of the olympics ...de US commentary !!