March 29, 2024, 06:23:55 AM

Author Topic: It takes just one man to spark change in society  (Read 1754 times)

It takes just one man to spark change in society
« on: June 12, 2012, 06:53:02 AM »
Everyone keeps bemoaning the government, but no one takes action to show the politicians how you really feel. Yes, there have been a few burning tyre protests, but the citizens really need to unite if they want
to bring change. Ghandi, MLK, Rosa Parks, Nelson Mandela. Where is the Trini version?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qq8zFLIftGk&feature=related

Re: It takes just one man to spark change in society
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 07:27:05 AM »
Just a bit of perspective.

Gandhi, MLK, Rosa Parks, Mandela agitated for basic civil rights on behalf of disenfranchised people in their own lands.

TnT has a shitty government chosen by the people, using their unabridged rights as citizens in society, to replace another shitty government.

I suggest that as "injustices serving as catalysts for social change" go, the situation in TnT does not really compare.

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 07:29:24 AM »
Bro, i've been telling you about these ppl for a while, but you seem not to have gotten the message. my friend, trinis are the most complaisant ppl in the world, as a matter of fact west indians are as pro active as illegal mexican drug mules at the US mexican border crossing.

take our football for-instance, since the black list, how many club owners ever addressed the public urging them to come out and protest the unfair policies of the TTFF??! how many influential ppl ever got on jack's case openly to do right by the football in T&T?

for decades this one man has held T&T football for ransom, and no one seriously challenged him in a progressive or other wise, direct or indirect way that made him back off his unfair policies for fear of reprisal. anywhere else in the football world and this man would be ded or in jail, but not here in sleepy fete central T&T.

these politicians taking turns @ the treasury for 50 yrs and counting and no one seems to mind, talk about a sheepish people. don't waste your time sir, bc these ppl don't have no kind of moral conviction! as long as they have beer in their fridge, two cents in their pockets and ah ham in their freezer, then tuh hell wid the rest.  you stay there, these people will give yuh an alcer, so be careful.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 07:32:56 AM by just cool »

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2012, 07:59:58 AM »
Just a bit of perspective.

Gandhi, MLK, Rosa Parks, Mandela agitated for basic civil rights on behalf of disenfranchised people in their own lands.

TnT has a shitty government chosen by the people, using their unabridged rights as citizens in society, to replace another shitty government.

I suggest that as "injustices serving as catalysts for social change" go, the situation in TnT does not really compare.

Why allyuh like tuh take simple things and make it complicated. all the man was saying in a nut shell was, where are the stand up ppl in this country? bc he cannot believe that a ppl would sit idly by like sheep and allow a few pirates to raid their society without ah single peep of resistance.

FS: boroughs the ex commissioner radically gentrify the ppll in this country under the auspices of dr williams himself.

he tried to kill every activist we had in this country, man like bazil davis, dave darbeau ( kaffara kambon), clive nunez, rafique shah, beverly jones and brian jeffers, they were all targets of the late murderous police commissioner, and he mashed up the activism in the movement that was taking root in trinidad, after that we were never the same pro active concerned people again, like my great gran parents who marched with uriah butler.

check out the trailer of this documentary. if you could get your hands on it you will get an idea of what i'm talking bout.. 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GD2ULobdEyg
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wxibgjVVzI&feature=endscreen&NR=1
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 08:13:46 AM by just cool »

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2012, 09:56:02 AM »
Why allyuh like tuh take simple things and make it complicated. all the man was saying in a nut shell was, where are the stand up ppl in this country? bc he cannot believe that a ppl would sit idly by like sheep and allow a few pirates to raid their society without ah single peep of resistance.

Nobody is over-complicating anything. Merely pointing out that it is a flawed comparison.

We have politicians that are generally viewed as useless and incompetent and political system that doesn’t result in any meaningful change and is not able to fix the big systemic problems. The general populace is resigned to the fact that nothing changes.

This is not unique to TnT. Despite your usual self-loathing drivel about sheep and moral conviction you could make the same arguments about political systems in the UK and the USA where leadership changes are cosmetic because “the people” really don’t have power. They merely let the oligarchy take turns to lead.

Over-complicating it would be to point out that all the people listed were figureheads for much larger movements and not single-individual catalysts. It does not “take one man” to spark change. It takes a concerted movement of progressive, well-organized,  like-minded people woking towards a defined goal.

You could easily identify self-governance, racial equality and political enfranchisement as the defined goals of the listed leaders. What exactly would be this singular, glalvanizing objective of this societal revolution that you bemoaning the sheep for not pursuing?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 01:14:02 PM by JDB »

Offline congo

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2012, 10:42:44 AM »

Could never compare the political systems of the UK and US with that of Trinidad and Tobago.

Obama and Cameron are two distinguished individuals. One went Harvard and the other Oxford. They were/ are the cream of the crop in their countries.

What has Kamla or any of this current bunch of politicians ever achieved in their life that was exemplary.

Kamla just gave herself silk. She has no shame about this. Everywhere she goes now she's introduced as Senior Counsel. Can you even introduced a prime minister as "The honourable Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar Senior Counsel"?

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2012, 11:40:32 AM »

Could never compare the political systems of the UK and US with that of Trinidad and Tobago.

Obama and Cameron are two distinguished individuals. One went Harvard and the other Oxford. They were/ are the cream of the crop in their countries.

What has Kamla or any of this current bunch of politicians ever achieved in their life that was exemplary.

Kamla just gave herself silk. She has no shame about this. Everywhere she goes now she's introduced as Senior Counsel. Can you even introduced a prime minister as "The honourable Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar Senior Counsel"?

isn't UWI the cream of the crop in the W.I?

basically, ppl upset with PNM and they vote them out, now upset with PP, so they gone vote them out....then what?

no one party better than the next, iz just different bread getting buttered.

Offline congo

« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 12:00:21 PM »

Now ask yourself this. Would a person graduating from Oxbridge or Harvard look up to a person graduating from Uwi? Would an employer show preference to a person graduating from Uwi when compared to one graduating from an Ivy league school?

In a country where increasingly, people are graduating from Ivy league universities and russel group universities, they are exposed to world class facilities and debates. They understand what it takes to not only be a leader but a global leader at that. There's a reason why those leaders get on so easily. It's mainly because of the respect for the world class institutions where they got their education. There is trust there in their decision making.

I think we've all heard the horror stories about UWI. Just because it's the best in the West Indies doesn't really say much. It has produced some brilliant people, no one is denying that fact but can they be judged as equal to their peers in other world class institutions and viewed as equals and experts?

The corruption and bobol etc. Like all other instituions in this country it has been compromised. Uwi students today don't seem to be taking the world by storm. They're becoming increasingly famous for debauchery and alcoholism. Our leaders of tomorrow, we should feel proud.

« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 12:25:36 PM by congo »

« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2012, 08:22:26 PM »

Now ask yourself this. Would a person graduating from Oxbridge or Harvard look up to a person graduating from Uwi? Would an employer show preference to a person graduating from Uwi when compared to one graduating from an Ivy league school?

In a country where increasingly, people are graduating from Ivy league universities and russel group universities, they are exposed to world class facilities and debates. They understand what it takes to not only be a leader but a global leader at that. There's a reason why those leaders get on so easily. It's mainly because of the respect for the world class institutions where they got their education. There is trust there in their decision making.

I think we've all heard the horror stories about UWI. Just because it's the best in the West Indies doesn't really say much. It has produced some brilliant people, no one is denying that fact but can they be judged as equal to their peers in other world class institutions and viewed as equals and experts?

The corruption and bobol etc. Like all other instituions in this country it has been compromised. Uwi students today don't seem to be taking the world by storm. They're becoming increasingly famous for debauchery and alcoholism. Our leaders of tomorrow, we should feel proud.

It have one by me cyah wait to get out ah dey............"yuh ever hear stories 'bout d hidden room of mattresses" or d ones dat revel in walkin rong d campus damn near naked................and yes even that many of our doctors, lawyers, and engineers are "bought and paid for in cash or kind"..............d amount ah "doctors" in diss country dat should be buried deep beneath and weighted down by malpractice suits, but never are is amazing for a country so small