April 18, 2024, 06:40:24 PM

Author Topic: MSJ withdraws from People’s Partnership  (Read 2549 times)

MSJ withdraws from People’s Partnership
« on: June 18, 2012, 07:50:56 PM »
MSJ withdraws from People’s Partnership
...and Abdulah quits as govt senator
By Reshma Ragoonath (Guardian).

Weeks after celebrating its second year in office, the People’s Partnership suffered a blow yesterday with the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) announcing its decision to leave the coalition government. At yesterday’s news conference held at the headquarters of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU), Paramount Building, Circular Road, San Fernando, MSJ leader David Abdulah, accompanied by his party’s activists council, made the announcement.

He also announced his decision to quit as a government senator. Abdulah, who remained solemn-faced as he read from a six-page statement, said: “The national executive and activists council of the Movement for Social Justice have decided that our party will remove itself from the People’s Partnership coalition of political parties. “As a consequence of this, the MSJ will not be in the Government of Trinidad and Tobago.”

Abdulah said Labour Minister Errol McLeod was advised that the council was considering leaving the partnership. He said, however, the decision to pull out of the partnership was taken after a meeting with the national executive on Saturday and the activists council yesterday morning. He said the decision was not taken “lightly or easily.”

Abdulah said he sent Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the other coalition members an e-mail yesterday, informing them of his party’s position. He said while the party still adhered to the principles of the Fyzabad Accord for equity, respect and good governance, it could no longer adhere to the provisions of the accord which formed the political union of the United National Congress (UNC) the Congress of the People (COP) the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) and the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC.)

“We believe that the time has come for the MSJ to paddle its own canoe,” Abdulah said. “We recognise that to do this, to build a mass party that is non-ethnic and which does not depend on the largesse of either the State or powerful financiers is not an easy task.” He said the party was prepared to meet with Persad-Bissessar, if requested, in her capacity as UNC leader.

The MSJ Leader said: “I do not know if the decision we have taken is up for review or reconsideration...It is a decision we have taken and we are prepared to go forward with that.” Abdulah said he could not speak for the COP which has also raised concerns. “It is for the COP in terms of its own internal debates and discussions and assessments to make a decision on what is best for the country,” he said.

“The leader of the COP has stated categorically that the COP has concerns, but it is for the COP to address how best they see those concerns, to tackle and dealt with, not for us.” The MSJ, he said, recognised that “we have a responsibility to the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago as we were an integral part of the partnership that campaigned in 2010 and asked you to vote for the partnership to be your government.

“We do not regret that decision,” he said. “It was the right thing to do at that time... “As it is the right thing for us to now withdraw from the partnership.” He also said he does not feel alienated in the Government.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 05:07:06 AM by Flex »

Re: MSJ withdraws from People’s Partnership
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 08:00:17 PM »
UNC activists show support for Abdulah
nine members resign, 261 contemplate quitting
By Radhica Sookraj (Guardian).

One day after Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) leader David Abdulah announced he was quitting the UNC-led People’s Partnership Government, several UNC activists followed suit, tendering their resignations yesterday.

Former UNC member and councillor for Cocoyea/Tarouba Darren McLeod and Port-of-Spain south UNC activist Juliet Davy turned up at Rienzi Complex, Couva, yesterday and returned party cards from nine people, who they said were no longer interested in being part of the UNC. McLeod said more than 261 people had expressed an interest in leaving the UNC. Asked why none of the activists had showed up, McLeod said many were afraid of being victimised.

He said the People’s Partnership had failed in bringing a new type of politics and was engaging in discrimination, nepotism and segregation. Davy, who contested the Port-of-Spain South and Laventille West seats for the UNC in 2001 and 2010, said she was disheartened because UNC members had no voice. “The party does not have a forum in which members can voice their opinions freely. They have several events, but members are not allowed to speak.

“On a few occasions when a member spoke out about the party, that member was put to sit down and was told that she disrespected the PM,” Davy said. She added that disgruntled UNC members had decided to follow MSJ’s lead and form a pressure group called Country First which would serve as a watchdog for the PP.

Asked whether she planned to join the MSJ, Davy said: “We would have to decide where we would go, based on the reception we get from the population.” She said her group would go to each community and find out what problems people were experiencing.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 05:08:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 08:02:22 PM »
I know the MSJ would have been the first ,let us now look to see what going to happen next .

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 09:28:29 PM »
... I suspect not a whole lot that matters.

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2012, 09:36:08 PM »
Interesting development!

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2012, 09:40:28 PM »
f**k kamla she is a imps and never around.

« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2012, 09:44:52 PM »

Wha'ppen... honeymoon over between allyuh or what?

Re: Re: MSJ withdraws from People’s Partnership
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2012, 09:56:57 PM »

Wha'ppen... honeymoon over between allyuh or what?

Divorced already.

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2012, 04:24:38 AM »
... and now 'calls' for David Abdullah for PM. Popcorn time.

The MSJ.....
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2012, 01:55:39 PM »
What all yuh think??......local based??  Let me hear yuh thoughts.....

Re: The MSJ.....
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2012, 05:43:45 PM »
The MSJ has a legitimate philosophical approach to governance , one obviously leaning in favour of labour. It is welcoming to see how they act in alignment with their stated position. I think their long-term viability as a party is very weak since they don't actually have a base at all. During the last election for instance nobody actually voted for the MSJ , Mcleod was on a UNC ticket.

They sent mixed signals to the public by supporting KPB while simultaneously attacking Rowley unfairly during the vote of no confidence just a few months before pulling out of the government altogether. That to me asks strong questions of the leadership of Abdullah in the party. 
« Last Edit: July 07, 2012, 06:02:39 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2012, 09:24:46 PM »
What all yuh think??......local based??  Let me hear yuh thoughts.....

Ah set of textbook communist whose time has past. Anybody who could hv join up wit dat mottley crew from d strt tell me dey critical thinking skills are lackin. As4 Mcleod bein UNC D MSJ was not yet registered so he went under d UNC.

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2012, 04:55:49 AM »
What de f00ck is a MSJ ?

You and Weary does like to talk in riddles...

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2012, 05:31:38 AM »
What de f00ck is a MSJ ?

Lawd fadder  :o ::)......Sam, the MSJ is an abbreviation of The Movement for Social Justice a political party that was formed in the last 2 years or so.  They were part of the PP government but recently left cuz dey not happy with the way things running.......its made up primarily of Unions (eg. OWTU, CWU, BIGWU, FITUN etc).

Yuh might have to google them for more info. 

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2012, 06:20:58 PM »
What de f00ck is a MSJ ?

Lawd fadder  :o ::)......Sam, the MSJ is an abbreviation of The Movement for Social Justice a political party that was formed in the last 2 years or so.  They were part of the PP government but recently left cuz dey not happy with the way things running.......its made up primarily of Unions (eg. OWTU, CWU, BIGWU, FITUN etc).

Yuh might have to google them for more info. 

U have time 2 answer that fool. As an avid supporter of d jokers who in power after all Maning is meh man u would tink he would know know a member of d callaloo that is d PP. As u say local base but he jump in because dem who livin outside know betta than we who livin here.