March 29, 2024, 05:03:31 AM

Author Topic: Life Sport programme Thread.  (Read 35806 times)

Re: Life Sport programme Thread.
« Reply #60 on: September 05, 2014, 04:54:56 AM »

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport, Ashwin Creed, can now put the spectre of the controversial Life Sport programme behind as he has gone home on pre-retirement leave. This was confirmed by the Head of the Public Service Reynold Cooper yesterday. Creed has been on extended leave of absence since May and will remain on pre-retirement leave until April next year, Cooper told the T&T Guardian.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-09-04/pre-retirement-leave-creed

So wait..allyuh eh realize that as far as this government concerned...this dead?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #61 on: September 06, 2014, 07:55:22 AM »
As they say it shall rize jus like the sun .

« Reply #62 on: September 19, 2014, 10:58:48 PM »

Bourbon you right the government may not be concerned, but the people want answers as to how their money is being spent

Rowley: Probe LifeSport too

PM orders Commission of Enquiry into the Las Alturas apartments

By \\\\\ Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Sep 19, 2014 at 11:42 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 19, 2014 at 11:42 PM ECT

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley wants to know why the Prime Minister has not ordered a Commission of Enquiry into LifeSport which took $400 million or into the $36 million paid to Adolphus Daniell under the programme.

Rowley also noted that no Commission of Enquiry was ordered into the Beetham Waste Water Treatment plant, which was awarded to an SIS-led consortium at a cost which was $400 million higher than the next ranked bidder. He said he understood that this contract was now being sublet by the Government’s “favourite contractor” to another contractor.

The Opposition Leader also raised the fact that no Commission of Enquiry was ordered into the purchase of land for $175 million by the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) under the tenure of current Minister, Roodal Moonilal, when that same land was valued by “one of the most prominent valuators in the country”, Lindon Scott, at $52 million.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rowley-Probe-LifeSport-too-275859301.html

Rowley also wants the Prime Minister to state what criminal liability did she accept as Minister of Education for the purchase and renovation of the BH Rose Hardware in 2001, a building which was deemed to be wholly unsuitable for use as a school.

“She was directly involved in advancing that public purchase as Minister of Education... One can’t get more direct responsibility than that,” he said, adding that there is no school there now and the matter has disappeared from the radar.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rowley-Probe-LifeSport-too-275859301.html

« Reply #63 on: October 11, 2014, 09:03:40 PM »

Hmm this is a shame

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ex-LifeSport-man-on-bail-leaves-TT-278917551.html

Ex-LifeSport man on bail leaves T&T

Former co-ordinator for the Carapo arm of the now defunct LifeSport Programme, Rajaee Ali, has left the country.
The Sunday Express understands Ali left the country last week.

The LifeSport Programme is under active investigation by the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS).
Contacted yesterday, Minister of National Security Gary Griffith said he was aware that Ali had left the country.
“It has been brought to my attention that he is not in the country,” he said.
Asked whether Ali was a person of interest, Griffith said he could not comment.

“We are aware of who the persons of interest are. We cannot share that with the public but we are aware,” he said.
Ali was detained on May 9 by police for gang related activity, shortly after Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal was murdered on Hamilton Holder Street, Woodbrook, while heading home from Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue.
Ali is on $25,000 bail for another matter.

Ali, 29, is also due to re-appear in court after he was charged for possession of wild meat in August. 
Ali had appeared before Arima Magistrate Indra Jagroo along with Roget Boucher, 29, and Kevan Modeste, 33, charged with possession of wild meat but had pleaded not guilty.
Ali’s attorney Criston J William said Ali was a father of two and had two wives and no convictions under his name. The case has been adjourned.
On July 22, Ali and 17 other people were arrested at the Carapo mosque in relation to several enquiries including kidnapping and gang-related activities but three days later were released with no charges against them.

Following his release on July 27, Ali told reporters he felt as though he was being victimised by the police as he claimed he was not doing anything wrong or illegal, yet was still being targeted.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ex-LifeSport-man-on-bail-leaves-TT-278917551.html

« Reply #64 on: October 11, 2014, 10:04:30 PM »
A shame how? Ent part of the conditions for bail is that you surrender your passport? How he get to leave? And how Griffith could say he aware...no effort was made to stop him? If not..then was he ever seriously a person of interest?

Next ting yuh hear he gone to join ISIS and they let him go so that he eh go act up here.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #65 on: October 19, 2014, 01:54:02 AM »
$20m owed for Life Sport services.
By Shaliza Hassanali (Guardian).

Months after the Life Sport programme has been shut down, caterers, coaches, co-ordinators and participants of the programme are still being owed $20 million. But National Security Minister Gary Griffith who said, “Life Sport is dead,” indicated that his ministry will not pay a cent unless his permanent secretary (PS) can verify the legitimacy of invoices and services rendered by those who were affiliated with the programme.

A document leaked to the Sunday Guardian showed that of the $20 million, caterers who provided meals to participants in January, February and July are owed $6,860,370—the largest sum. The document gave a breakdown of the programme’s cost which amounted to $11,948,436.96, while the arrears stood at $8,651,231.90. Under programme costs, the document showed a list of people who are owed up to July 2014.

They are:

• Participants’ stipends—$3,088,500
• Caterers—$3,200,000
• Co-ordinators—$1,110,000
• Coaches—$853,200
• Life skills—$500,000
• Staff at Youth Training Centre—$69,900
• Life Sport Committee—$31,875
• Life Sport operation expenses—$1,200,000
• Salaries—$690,386.96
• Staff contract obligation up to September 2014—$243,000
• Upgrade selected centres February 2014—$961,875.

The document also revealed that the “maintain and upgrade” bill for the life centres in December 2013, January and February 2014, was $2,522,256. Cleaning and janitorial services in January and February 2014 stood at $1,757,250. Kim Engineering was also listed to be paid $344,000.

Meanwhile, an additional $367,355.90 was invoiced, in advance, for special upgrade of the centres for October 2014, even though in July Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced the termination of the programme in the wake of damning findings of a government-ordered audit which unearthed evidence of fraud and theft, and linked individuals in criminal activity.

Griffith said he has no intention of paying state funds to anyone who does not have proper documentation. “People have been coming in large numbers with claims of certain things. Unless I can get justification that the actual product was delivered, my PS will not be cutting cheques for imaginary projects and imaginary people for things that were never delivered or at exorbitant costs.”

Griffith said Sport Minister Dr Rupert Griffith can confirm that people had been making demands with no contract in hand. He said while many of the claims might be legitimate, “money will not be handed out freely; I will go through everything with a fine tooth comb when it reaches my desk.” In the coming weeks, Griffith said he plans to meet with the Sport Minister to discuss the revamping of the programme.

“The concept of the programme was never questioned, it was the end result.” Griffith said the ministry may work in tandem with sporting teams to act as role models to participants of the new programme.

Former director threatens legal action
Meanwhile, former programme director of Life Sport, Cornelius Price has threatened to take legal action against the Ministry of Sport for failing to pay him his salary for the last three months. Price collected a monthly salary of $25,000. Price, whose contract ended in September, said he is owed $75,000 as the ministry was refusing to pay him his renumeration for the months of July, August and September.

“October is coming to an end and I am yet to be paid. I have since consulted with my attorney on this matter.” Sunday Guardian was reliably told that six workers whose contracts ended in September are also awaiting payments estimated at $300,000. On Friday, the Sport Minister refused to comment on the matter. He said matters involving Life Sport should be directed to the National Security Minister

« Reply #66 on: November 07, 2014, 11:56:54 PM »

So how long again should we wait for someone to be charged?

« Reply #67 on: November 08, 2014, 08:24:51 AM »
They waiting until after the next elections then all they cronies go be making noise for the next government to resolve. In this way  government too busy in the first term of office trying to undo all the mess of the previous government before they could ever implement a firm set of  working principles to benefit all.

« Reply #68 on: December 05, 2014, 02:44:03 AM »
RAJAEE BEHIND BARS
Former LifeSport coordinator on gang charges, conspiring to murder DJ
By Rickie Ramdass (Express).

SECURITY in and around the Port of Spain Magistrates’ Court was increased yesterday as former LifeSport programme co-ordinator Rajaee Ali appeared before a magistrate charged with being a gang leader and conspiracy to murder.
Heavily armed and masked officers of the Criminal Gang and Intelligence Unit blocked traffic along St Vincent Street outside the courthouse as Ali and five other people, including a woman, were brought to court around 11 a.m.
They were brought to court on charges contrary to the Anti-Gang Act, possession of arms and ammunition to endanger life, and conspiracy to murder radio disc jockey Kevaughn “Lurbz” Savory.
All the offences are alleged to have taken place on November 27 in Port of Spain.
Ali, and the other accused were remanded in custody given that people charged under the Anti-Gang legislation cannot be granted bail for a period of 120 days.
Outside the Eighth Court where Ali, Keshon Dempster, Ishmael Ali, Brandon Borneo, Brent LaCroix and Donna Dyer appeared before Senior Magistrate Nanette Forde-John, other armed officers stood guard for the duration of their appearance.
The accused made their appearance shortly after midday and were not called upon to plead to any of the indictable charges.
Attorney, Insp Richard Taylor of the Police Service’s legal department, objected to bail being granted on the charges which did not fall under the Anti-Gang Act, pointing out the seriousness of the alleged offences and the fact that the accused criminal background traces were not obtained up to the time of their appearance.
In response to Taylor’s submissions, defence attorney Criston J Williams argued that the prosecutor’s grounds for objecting to bail were insufficient, saying Taylor needed to present subsequent grounds such as the likelihood of them committing further offences while out on bail or the likelihood of them fleeing the jurisdiction.
He also made an application for disclosure of copies of any judge’s warrant related to the Interception of Communication Act; copies of his clients’ custody records; interview notes and oral utterances his clients may have made and the names of the senior officers of the Belmont, Morvant, Woodbrook and Central Police stations who would have reviewed the grounds for the detention of the accused.
The attorney also made an application for disclosure of any camera footage related to the offences captured on the day they were allegedly committed.
Williams said he was instructed by his clients that they were fearful they may be harmed if remanded at the Port of Spain Prison on Frederick Street and he asked the magistrate that they instead be remanded at the Maximum Security Prison in Arouca.
Forde-John said the court did not have the power to dictate where prisoners were detained as this was the responsibility of the Prison Service.
The matter was adjourned to December 22 when the court will address the issue of bail as it relates to the offences that do not fall under the Anti-Gang Act.

« Reply #69 on: December 05, 2014, 09:21:15 AM »
What allyuh think is the motive?

« Reply #70 on: December 05, 2014, 12:25:50 PM »
'oman

« Reply #71 on: December 05, 2014, 01:23:19 PM »
Well... If the talk true... She could deny being in a video same way he deny it.

« Reply #72 on: December 06, 2014, 06:59:06 PM »

Half of the Police Service looking for Anil, says Rowley

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Half-of-the-Police-Service-looking-for-Anil-says-Rowley-284939961.html

Half of the Police Service is looking for former sport minister Anil Roberts, says Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.

He was speaking during the debate of procurement legislation at the Parliament sitting yesterday.

Rowley used the Prime Minister’s own words to criticise her, noting that she said the best assessment of human behaviour is to look at their past behaviour.

“Look at the behaviour of this Prime Minister with respect to the Minister of Sport,” said Rowley as he reminded the House that he had brought a motion to raise concern over the billion-dollar contract to Super Industrial Services (SIS) for the Beetham wastewater treatment plant and the Prime Minister authorised Roberts to respond.

“The Prime Minister authorised the Minister of Sport to respond...to a matter where the NGC is for the first time leaving its core business to go and invest a billion or more dollars in water and the person in the Parliament who is responding to a challenge from the Opposition is the Minister of Sport with the Prime Minister.... Today half the Police Service looking for the Minister,” said Rowley.

He also noted the Prime Minister presided over the appointment of junior technician Reshmi Ramnarine to head the Strategic Security Agency (SSA).

Rowley further chided Persad-Bissessar for bringing up allegations that he siphoned materials from the Landate Tobago matter.

Rowley said the Integrity Commission by court order conducted an enquiry into the allegations and at the end of the day the Commission was able to report there was no wrongdoing

He said yet the Prime Minister comes again for the “umpteenth” time resurrecting the allegations while the Attorney General was wasting millions to pursue the same matter which the Integrity Commission already concluded that there was no wrong.

He also refuted allegations by Pointe-a-Pierre MP that he as Minister of Housing gave a contract to the wife of the chairman of the PNM.

“I want to make it abundantly clear, Mr Speaker, I had absolutely nothing to do with any award of any contract in the Ministry of Housing,” said Rowley.

He said further that the issue of procurement legislation is not new and it has been existing due to the presence of the Central Tenders Board Act.

Rowley also categorically stated that after the section 34 fiasco as long as the Opposition has any concerns about any legislation they will not give their support for its passage.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #73 on: December 07, 2014, 04:07:31 AM »
Sex And blackmail

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sex--And--blackmail-284990981.html

DJ marked for death, Rajaee both knew ex-Govt official
By By Asha Javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Dec 6, 2014 at 9:45 PM ECT

Story Updated: Dec 6, 2014 at 9:45 PM ECT
Radio DJ Kevaughn “Lurbz” Savory was possibly saved from being a statistic.

But the question he’s being constantly asked now is: who would want you killed?

One week after police uncovered an alleged plot to kill him and swiftly charged six people, including ex-Life­Sport co-ordinator Rajaee Ali, 27-year-old Savory sat down for an exclusive interview with the Sunday Express yesterday.

Ali was detained by police shortly after the murder of former senior counsel Dana Seetahal seven months ago. He also had a charge of possession of wild meat.

He had told the Sunday Express he did not kill Dana Seetahal.

What did Ali, a member of the Carapo Jamaat Al-Muslimeen and Savory have in common?

On the surface, nothing.

Ali sometimes leads the jumah prayers at the Carapo mosque on a

Friday while Savory hosts boat parties.

So whom did they have in com­mon?

The Sunday Express understands a former Government official was an associate of both men.

But who ordered the alleged “hit” and why?

Savory admitted he was scared because he could not identify a motive and the police never disclosed exactly why he was wanted dead.

Savory said he had just finished his shift at SLAM 100.5FM on November 27 when he was escorted by police to their Port of Spain head­quarters and informed of the “hit” placed on his head.

Last Thursday, Ali was charged with being a gang leader. He and five others—Keshorn Dempster; Brent La Croix; Brandon Borneo; his wife, Donna Dyer; and his brother, Ishmael—were all charged with being members of an unnamed gang.

The group was also jointly charged with conspiring to murder Savory and with assisting a gang member in the commission of a gang-related act by possessing a gun and ammunition.

Savory, who hasn’t given pause to his busy party schedule despite the public scrutiny which he’s come under since the alleged plot was made public, says it could have been a “grudge” hit.

The only thing that came to mind was a sex video with himself and his ex-girlfriend, who is related to the ex-Government official, which is still in his possession.

He considers it a “nuclear bomb”.

He described his ex-girlfriend as his “realest” relationship and the longest, having lasted two and a half years.

He said he met her when she was 18 and he was studying journalism and public relations at the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COS­TAATT).

“We were very public together,” he said.

Apart from two of his trusted friends, to whom he showed the video, he said the whole of Synergy Television (where he hosts a pro­gramme) saw it in March of this year.

“Here’s the weird thing about it. The whole of Synergy saw the video because I jacked in the phone to charge it and a picture thing came up. And I left and I went out and come back and people were like, ‘You’re genuine boy. We see everything.’ People know this video existed,” he said.

Asked by the Sunday Express why he kept a video of his ex-girlfriend, who is now married, he responded:

“Why did you keep the video?” he repeated. “I am a very funny person and a hoarder of pictures. Not for the content on it but the properties on it, for the date and time.”

The date and timestamp on the video, he said, is his ticket to show that he’s not the father of his ex-girl­friend’s child.

“Look how this played off. If I didn’t have the video and if I didn’t understand the date and time of the video timeframe of the video, people would have bawled that it was a recent video,” he said.

“That child is not my child. It’s an innocent child. When the child grow up, when it comes to the public, you will see it’s not my child. It’s an innocent child. Leave the child out of it. You could continue to make all your memes pertaining to me, the mother and father, but leave the child out of it,” he said.

He added: “That was personal. I was never broadcasting it. People didn’t know I had it. It’s either they recovered it or somebody must have recorded it off the computer. It wasn’t kept for me to watch over and use against them. That was never my intentions. I just have the video.”

For Savory, there was no profit in the video except ego.

“I was going through my phone. I am a hoarder for pictures so I am going through my phone and scrolling up to see what I did because the pictures are date and timestamped. I didn’t do anything to any girl; I have been in a steady place,” he said.

Asked if he was aware the video was possibly being used as blackmail, he responded:

“The blackmail thing is a whole new thing to me. Everything now, between last week and now, every­thing is new. It’s nothing that I knew or expected. This popped out of nowhere so, all the blackmailing,” he said.

Savory is straightforward.

He readily admits to being an employee who can test a manager’s limits and bend the rules as much as he can without breaking them.

At Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) where he had once worked as a cameraman, he admitted to crashing cars and falling asleep on the job.

But it’s his raw talent and deter-mination—racing to the scene of a burning fire on Charlotte Street or climbing to the top of an unfinished building to get “that” shot which compensated for the carelessness.

“I give trouble. Real trouble,” he admitted with a laugh.

Not surprisingly, his recklessness led him to death’s door once before.

In September 2009, he was in an accident close to the Besson Street Police Station which nearly left him paralysed.

But by November, he cut off the casts and made a trip to the church at Mount St Benedict, determined to turn his life around.

Savory then went to Synergy Tel­e­vision where he worked as a cameraman and as DJ.

“That’s when my whole career started because that’s when I started to take life seriously. I told myself, let’s do this. I survived for a reason and I said, let’s make something of myself,” he said.

Savory’s story has made him a social media and meme sensation.

And it’s not something he pre­pared to run away from.

Instead, he actually laughs about it.

“The events that will come out of this I have no control over, I can’t tell people what to do, what to post, what to say. I know what took place, I know what is in my heart and it’s clean and pure, and I just glad it didn’t happen on that day. I am just glad I survived to tell the story.

I had nothing to do with it. I didn’t even know it could be a video motive. I had no idea. I was just living my life,” he said.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #74 on: December 07, 2014, 12:56:58 PM »
This fella sound like a real asshole.

« Reply #75 on: December 07, 2014, 01:25:04 PM »
Probably her type. Not sure if I believe his story in the circulation aspect.

« Reply #76 on: December 07, 2014, 11:11:08 PM »
This fella sound like a real asshole.
Lol I just come to the same conclusion. Except he closer to c*rnt than than asshole

« Reply #77 on: December 09, 2014, 10:09:02 AM »
So I just read another account elsewhere... and the implication being made is that Anil is the one who order the hit, because the woman in the video is his wife.

« Reply #78 on: December 09, 2014, 11:48:12 AM »
So I just read another account elsewhere... and the implication being made is that Anil is the one who order the hit, because the woman in the video is his wife.

Which Anil?, Breds?

« Reply #79 on: December 09, 2014, 01:14:55 PM »

Which Anil?, Breds?

Roberts...

« Reply #80 on: December 09, 2014, 02:15:19 PM »

Which Anil?, Breds?

Roberts...

That is both interesting and very serious!

« Reply #81 on: December 14, 2014, 11:38:16 PM »

I thought Ray J and Kim K could not have been beat for worst one but the thirty seconds  :bs: between the DJ and Anil wife take win

« Reply #82 on: December 15, 2014, 12:03:44 AM »
This brave fellow on facebook called Chris Callender uploaded the video, I hope they don't terminate his account.

Please note the link is for adult viewing only as nudity, cussing and licking is involved: https://www.facebook.com/chris.callender.568#!/video.php?v=870177819701069&pnref=story
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 12:06:56 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #83 on: December 15, 2014, 04:42:15 AM »
So he did lie when he said it was before..cause then why he calling Anil name....calling names from the 201 video..then saying..."This is my wife now".

Look like real vindictiveness. And confirmation of asshole conduct.

I could see that tripping a man off to order a hit.

« Reply #84 on: December 15, 2014, 09:07:27 AM »
This brave fellow on facebook called Chris Callender uploaded the video, I hope they don't terminate his account.

Please note the link is for adult viewing only as nudity, cussing and licking is involved: https://www.facebook.com/chris.callender.568#!/video.php?v=870177819701069&pnref=story

One of the few times I am feeling sorry for the ex MOS.

Having said that, if a man do me that and there's a vid. I might be compelled to cap his ass as well.

« Reply #85 on: December 15, 2014, 10:27:41 AM »

One of the few times I am feeling sorry for the ex MOS.

Having said that, if a man do me that and there's a vid. I might be compelled to cap his ass as well.

I don't feel sorry for Anil as he fully deserved that horn his wife give him.

Do you think his wife believed that BS story that it wasn't him in the 2 pull ganja video in room 201 with those girls getting ready to do the nasty, do you?

Moral of the story here is if yuh cyah take horn then doh give.

Anil should be taking his well deserved horn with a smile rather than ordering a hit on the DJ who was only doing what his wife wanted him to do.

I hope Anil makes a jail for this if they can't jail him for overseeing the Life Sport fiasco that lost T&T taxpayers millions as well as deprived the youths of exactly what the programme was meant to provide them with, which are more opportunities to better their life through sports and to steer themselves away from a dead end life of crime.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 10:34:10 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #86 on: December 15, 2014, 11:23:48 AM »
Nah Pro,

that vid was before he meet the girl.

« Reply #87 on: December 15, 2014, 11:28:20 AM »
Nah Pro,

that vid was before he meet the girl.

Before who meet who? Are you saying the vid was made before Anil met his wife?

Well if you are, it don't make much sense because the DJ actually called Anil's name in the video and cheekily said that Anil's wife is now his wife.

Do you honestly believe that that video was made before Anil met and married his wife VB? Are you really that gullible?

That video was obviously done with the wife's full consent in revenge for the horn that she publicly got from Anil in the 2 pull ganja video. And she probably even encouraged the DJ to share it with his friends after allowing him to film it.

Lesson here again is if yuh cyah take horn then doh give! Ah horn is ah horn only if yuh take it on!! And Anil rell take it on because he put a hit out on the DJ and for that he should make some jail time as far as I am concerned.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 11:43:24 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #88 on: December 15, 2014, 11:37:23 AM »
Allyuh men good yes... you telling me allyuh wife horn allyuh on tape, know it taping... know de man doing it fuh spite... and allyuh vex with de man?  :rotfl:

« Reply #89 on: December 15, 2014, 11:38:44 AM »
Allyuh men good yes... you telling me allyuh wife horn allyuh on tape, know it taping... know de man doing it fuh spite... and allyuh vex with de man?  :rotfl:

Tell them Bakes!! :thumbsup: