March 28, 2024, 06:43:33 PM

Author Topic: Kevin Molino Thread.  (Read 162426 times)

Re: Kevin Molino Thread.
« Reply #90 on: February 14, 2015, 10:12:55 AM »
WATCH Kevin Molino score the opening goal in a 2-2 draw with BK Häcken in a pre-season friendly. The assist was provided by Kaká.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/hhlmgDgYj1s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/hhlmgDgYj1s</a>

Molino scored on the back post after Kaká held off a defender to get to the end line and play the ball back across the front of the goal. The Trinidad and Tobago midfielder said he spent the summer studying Kaká so that the two would have a jumpstart on the field, and that research seems to have paid off early in preseason.

“Me and him have a good relationship on the field so far, which is fantastic,” Molino said. “I hope it can continue for the rest of the season.”

http://www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/orlando-city-lions/on-the-pitch/os-orlando-city-bk-hacken-40000-tickets-20150213-post.html

« Reply #91 on: February 14, 2015, 04:54:59 PM »
My last time seeing him was at Caribbean Cup final where he had little impact for TnT in another final loss. Good to see him doing well for his club.
Allyuh real good, yes.

Man play good whole tournament, then had one weak game and that's the one you choose to keep in mind. Talking bout at least he doing good for club.

See this is the type of shit I dont get with fans who accept mediocrity. YUH SEE THAT ONE GAME WE TALKING ABOUT WAS THE ONLY ONE GAME THAT TESTED HIM ALL TOURNAMENT.

The other games in the Caribbean Cup where he danced around the opposition did not bring the same challenge as that ONE game. If we are going to label players TnT super stars they need to show up for those important games for country.
like how messi showed up in the world cup finals vs gemany or better yet treseget and henry in 2006 or roben and van persie in 2010?
i see, i got it.

All the players you named have showed up and made an impact in important games for their country. From World Cup qualifiers to Euro and Copa cup final. Most TnT star players tend to not show up for any important games.

Could Kevin Molino be Orlando City's next big star?
« Reply #92 on: February 19, 2015, 06:18:55 PM »
Kevin Molino

For anyone that followed Orlando City during it’s tenure in MLS, it wouldn’t come as a surprise to see Molino rise to the next level of greatness in the US soccer pyramid. Molino was one of the team’s biggest stars in USL, winning two MVP awards in four seasons, and setting the USL record for goals season in a season with 20 in 2014.

So far in training camp Molino looks like he’ll fit right in at the MLS level. Every time I’ve seen him I have nothing but good things to say. He and Kaka look like they’re on the same page as if they’ve been playing together for years, when intact they’ve only been together for a couple of weeks.

His rise on the national team level — scoring five goals for Trinidad and Tobago at the Caribbean Cup late last year — and in USL has made Molino a natural choice to become one of the most marketable stars in MLS.

Sure, he’s a soft-spoken guy, but his pants game is strong and that’s the most important thing to being a star — in the entertainment world, at least.

http://otowns11.com/2015/02/18/players-orlando-citys-next-big-star/

« Reply #93 on: February 19, 2015, 06:56:27 PM »
My last time seeing him was at Caribbean Cup final where he had little impact for TnT in another final loss. Good to see him doing well for his club.

You know what he did before the final?  Yuh have to be fair to the man.

« Reply #94 on: February 21, 2015, 06:31:01 PM »
WATCH Kevin Molino LIVE as Orlando City take on New York City FC in the Carolina Challenge Cup. Game starts at 7:30pm EST.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/1gYBqA5X9bw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/1gYBqA5X9bw</a>

« Reply #95 on: February 21, 2015, 07:14:53 PM »
@OrlandoCitySC
32' GOOOOAAAAAL. Molino feeds @Kaka who rockets a right footer to the bottom right corner from the edge of the box. 1-0 #ORLvsNYC

Kaká and Molino have been dominant on the ball. Finding all the loose balls, moving forward, and generally behind cheeky. #ORLvsNYC

« Reply #96 on: February 21, 2015, 08:40:09 PM »
good performance from both teams!

« Reply #97 on: February 25, 2015, 09:57:15 AM »
Tune in tonight to see Trinidad and Tobago International, MLS newest Star Kevin Molino and his Orlando City Team take on the Charleston Battery Live online from 6 pm EST.

LiveStream

« Reply #98 on: February 25, 2015, 04:28:47 PM »
Now that you have finished watching Arsenal step in it and drag it all over the field, tune-in in 30 minutes (6 pm EST) to supporter Molino as he spear head the Orlando City's attack.

Live Stream

« Reply #99 on: February 25, 2015, 05:10:35 PM »
thanks elan
Real liking Molino role...A general with speed.. if god keeps him healthy, he's gonna be even more amazing
« Last Edit: February 25, 2015, 05:29:09 PM by maxg »

« Reply #100 on: February 25, 2015, 06:28:30 PM »
Ok so game cancelled due to weather. Shea scored in the 10' and Charleston equalized in the 26th right after which Lighting struck and game was suspended. Rain now expected through 9 pm EST so game was called a draw (1-1) and the result stands as such. No replay.

« Reply #101 on: February 27, 2015, 05:32:53 AM »
Meet Orlando City Player Kevin “Hot Boy” Molino.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/bB_XU29HJUo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/bB_XU29HJUo</a>

« Reply #102 on: February 28, 2015, 03:00:04 PM »
NEWCOMER TO WATCH: Kevin Molino. The 24-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international lit up the 2014 USL season, scoring a record 20 goals in leading Orlando City to the club’s third USL regular season championship. Highly regarded as one of Heath’s favorites, his development as a player has come a long way.

After winning USL MVP in 2012 and 2014, Molino went from being a natural attacking midfielder, to a proven goalscorer, which was another reason why he was the first player to sign for Orlando City’s MLS inaugural season after turning down multiple offers from Europe.
http://www.sbisoccer.com/2015/02/season-preview-orlando.html

« Reply #103 on: March 02, 2015, 08:33:17 PM »
Your New Favorite Player: Orlando City Midfielder Kevin Molino
By Wade Williams - TheManeLand.com

If you don't know, now you know: Kevin Molino is absolutely fantastic.

Can you feel it? The electricity in the air, the buzz in the city? We are less than one week away from the Major League Soccer debut of our Orlando City SC Lions, and the entire 407 area code is eagerly waiting their opportunity to #FillTheBowl.

The team is a pretty big mystery, very different from in years past. With new, exciting names in a new, exciting league, it's easy to get wrapped up in all things new to City. One particular USL holdover, however, is not new to this city. He's not new to the staff or the long-term fans. No, Kevin Molino needs no introduction to us.

To the rest of the world, though? Meet Kevin Molino.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9ALEJGqWTrU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9ALEJGqWTrU</a>

Shown above working an absolutely disgusting one-two, before launching a heat seeking missile at the back of the net, Molino has been doing his thing in Orlando since 2011, being groomed by Head Coach Adrian Heath into the devastating assaulter of nets we've come to know and love.

A Trinidad and Tobago international to the tune of 12 goals in 29 appearances, the 24-year-old Molino has captured two USL Pro MVP awards -- 2011 and 2014 -- setting the league scoring record during last season's MVP performance.

Now, I know what you're thinking. "Sure, he's got a titanium boot, but you need more than that at the next level."

Ladies and gentleman, Exhibit B:

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XPveGII4PL8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XPveGII4PL8</a>

Showing precision and touch under pressure in the box, Molino's process is pretty simple here, "Hey, there's the back of the net. I'm going to put this ball there. That's what happens next." Stopping him does not appear to be an option here.

A member of all three Commissioner's Cup teams and both USL Pro Cup-winning squads, Molino signed a two-year extension with Orlando City on Jan. 10, 2014, becoming the team's first MLS player. A favorite of the fans and staff alike, this seemed like a no-brainer even before he went on to score 20 goals last season, breaking the previous league goal record of 15 by a fairly wide margin.

Working with Kaká from the right side is a dream come true for Molino, and one that could lead to more opportunities to make opposing keepers look completely, utterly foolish.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4WDzFqjov94" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4WDzFqjov94</a>

That, ladies and gentleman, is how you break hearts. Shown here approaching from the left side of the box as opposed to the right side in the previous two videos, Molino is keenly aware of the crashing netminder before reminding him that he is, in fact, Kevin effing Molino, and that he should know better than to try to stop him from scoring.

Hype is defined as "promote or publicize (a product or idea) intensively, often exaggerating its importance or benefits." Allow me to be clear; this is no exaggeration. Kevin Molino is the real deal. This Sunday, March 8, Molinomania runs wild, brother.

« Reply #104 on: March 02, 2015, 09:28:46 PM »
Nice!  Good find FF  :thumbsup:

« Reply #105 on: March 03, 2015, 12:11:40 AM »
I goin to Orlando for a few days in April.  I would love to go to a game.

« Reply #106 on: March 05, 2015, 07:02:45 AM »
During Orlando City's media day yesterday:

Both Kaká and Brek Shea said that Kevin Molino and Cristian Higuita were players that have impressed them throughout this preseason.

http://www.themaneland.com/2015/3/4/8150559/orlando-city-media-day-news-and-notes

« Reply #107 on: March 05, 2015, 09:02:44 AM »
They're coming to Montreal at the end of this month. Think I'll check that game out.

Offline socalion

« Reply #108 on: March 05, 2015, 11:24:01 AM »
That's a must  see  game  when orlando come to montreal ......... will be going to see the little man   kevin  molino and kaka...... tnt and brazilian magic !!   

« Reply #109 on: March 06, 2015, 02:36:05 PM »

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Kevin Molino and Brek Shea pictured at a community event in the build up to Orlando City's debut game in MLS this weekend.
Molino will make his MLS debut in front of a confirmed 62,000 sell out crowd at the Citrus Bowl vs New York City FC.

« Reply #110 on: March 06, 2015, 02:39:35 PM »
Orlando City Opening Day Hype Video

(Devon Jorsling with a starring role in the opening seconds)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tc14noqfFJs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tc14noqfFJs</a>

« Reply #111 on: March 06, 2015, 04:19:41 PM »
I'm In. Dun with Impact till they play another Trini. I easy so.with all these foreign leagues

but wait.. how much team ah go follow now..this will have to be my favoritest team..I AM a Molino fan
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 04:23:16 PM by maxg »

« Reply #112 on: March 07, 2015, 06:17:55 PM »
Orlando City Soccer player #18 Kevin Molino talks to FOX 35 before the Lions inaugural MLS match.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/R5ImtpOzaxU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/R5ImtpOzaxU</a>

« Reply #113 on: March 08, 2015, 08:25:25 AM »
Here's what I noticed about Orlando's last preseason game against the Dynamos. If their defensive midfielders play against the rest of the MLS the way they gifted the Dynamos those goals, and I mean unforced errors after unforced errors so near their own goal, that midfield is going to get run over, it's going to be a long miserable losing season for Kaka and the Lions. There are a lot of talented and world class players in this league that will punish the Lions if they make those kinds of mistakes. For the Lions fans, who are use to winning, and the players as well, this will be a rude awakening. Kaka won't be able to win by himself. Also, Molino didn't score any goals during the preseason buildup, so he will have to step his game up if Orlando is going to have any chance of winning enough games to even make the playoffs. I think making the playoffs is going to be sort of a stretch going into this their inaugural season in the MLS.
They have faced NYCFC before so they might be able to come away with a win in this opener but after that the going is going to get tougher, that's when Molino must shine like the star player that he is.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2015, 08:32:21 AM by King Deese »

Sport runs in the blood
« Reply #114 on: March 08, 2015, 10:04:31 AM »
Sport runs in the blood
By Colin Benjamin (T&T Newsday)

Historically, football and cricket, as is the case is in most Caribbean countries, are the most popular sports in Trinidad and Tobago.

Starting from their foundation days at Arima Boys RC primary school, brothers Kevin Molino and Kevon Cooper - national players in football and cricket respectively - have passionately pursued both sports before their undeniable talents forced them to make a choice between the two.

“In primary school, me and Kevon played cricket and football regularly with all the boys,” said Orlando City midfielder Molino, who took the surname of his mother.

“One of the boys was Sunil Narine, who I always thought from our younger days, would have been a cricket star. I particularly enjoyed fielding more than batting and bowling.”

Cooper, over six feet tall, not surprisingly noted that he was a striker during his football days.

“At Arima RC up until age 16 when I joined the Queen’s Park cricket club, football was my game,” Cooper said. “Arima won the school championship twice and when I joined FC Santa Rosa we also won the Milo Cup. Later when I made the Trinidad Under-19 cricket team in 2008, I fully focussed on my cricket career.”

Given the glare the modern media puts on professional athletes, the jovial brothers were quite keen to be interviewed and open about their past and ambitions.

Cooper, skillful with the bat and ball, was a crucial member of the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force that won the 2015 Nagico Super50 Tournament on home soil and was also instrumental with the now disbanded TT Twenty20 team that dominated regional cricket before the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) was introduced. Despite being an IPL regular at the peak of his game, Cooper has never feature for the West Indies but he was unfazed. “At the end of the day, selectors have their job to do (and) I have mine to do. Yes it’s a bit disappointing (not to have played for West Indies) when I was playing well, but I still have to carry on my career in IPL and other T20 leagues, keep performing and everything will take care of itself,” Cooper declared.

“Currently I’m just training hard with my club Queen’s Park, working hard on my batting and bowling with coaches because I want to be a cricketer that plays all formats of the game.”

While Cooper continues his ambition to become an even more successful cricketer, Molino is part of Soca Warriors outfit that is trying to rebuild after plummeting due to well publicised controversies since the zenith of participating in the 2006 World Cup.

One of the darkest on-field moments of this period was on November 11th, 2011, when Guyana toppled them 2-1 in a World Cup qualifier, ending the Soca Warriors dream of reaching the 2014 showpiece in Brazil.

After the 2009 FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Egypt, Molino was always pencilled as a potential key national player for the future alongside teammates from that tournament such as Khaleem Hylaand, Sheldon Bateau, Daniel Cyrus and the late Akeem Adams.

Over the next two years, Molino’s ability saw him go on trials in Belgium, Slovakia and famous Dutch Eredivisie club - PSV Eindhoven. Despite not getting a European club contract , Molino is still grateful for the tough initiation period.

“Belgium, Slovakia and PSV reports (trials) were good but a few reasons prevented me from going all the way but the trials were an invaluable experience,” said Molino.

The 24-year-old, set to play alongside former AC Milan and Real Madrid star Kaka this season in the MLS, is undoubtedly making maximum use of his abilities and showed his class at the 2014 Caribbean Cup where this country lose in the final to hosts Jamaica.

“Scoring and doing well for your country is always a wonderful feeling but I couldn’t do it without the team. It was obviously disappointing not to win Caribbean Cup, but I believe the team is headed in the right direction under coach (Stephen) Hart. Once we take upcoming friendlies very serious, anything is possible with this team who really operate as family on and off the field,” he continued.

The former San Juan Jabloteh player, now sporting a blond mohawk, prefers playing in the “hole” but he credits Hart for his recent comfort playing on the flanks.

“Coach Hart told me that a lot of top international players with much skill and pace attributes like myself get more success playing on the flanks compare to midfield where more space is available,” he explained. Orlando City and Soca Warriors fans expect big things from Molino who cites ex-TT skipper Russell Latapy and Spain’s Andres Iniesta as his favourite players.

“All players aspire to move to a big club. Now that I’m at one, I’m just staying patient and humble and hope to simply improve as a player every game I play for Orlando City.”

« Reply #115 on: March 08, 2015, 10:43:15 AM »
Molino scored in preseason.  @KD

Offline pops

« Reply #116 on: March 08, 2015, 11:59:41 AM »
Here's what I noticed about Orlando's last preseason game against the Dynamos. If their defensive midfielders play against the rest of the MLS the way they gifted the Dynamos those goals, and I mean unforced errors after unforced errors so near their own goal, that midfield is going to get run over, it's going to be a long miserable losing season for Kaka and the Lions. There are a lot of talented and world class players in this league that will punish the Lions if they make those kinds of mistakes. For the Lions fans, who are use to winning, and the players as well, this will be a rude awakening. Kaka won't be able to win by himself. Also, Molino didn't score any goals during the preseason buildup, so he will have to step his game up if Orlando is going to have any chance of winning enough games to even make the playoffs. I think making the playoffs is going to be sort of a stretch going into this their inaugural season in the MLS.
They have faced NYCFC before so they might be able to come away with a win in this opener but after that the going is going to get tougher, that's when Molino must shine like the star player that he is.

Come nah man, what kind of post is this? You clearly never watch a proper MLS season?? Preseason especially in the MLS counts for nothing, absolutely nothing going into the season. I think Orlando has established one of the most competitive squads in the MLS. Rochez who is leading the forward line will take time because of his age. Other than that I think Kevin is more than fine. He had a steller pre season and would start today. Additionally to confirm your whole "lions"(which was said far to repeatedly) post was wild and borderline "fightdown" lol, Kevin did score in preseason and did assist too. So next time you comment, please find out , please know :)

Offline Thomo

« Reply #117 on: March 08, 2015, 03:05:44 PM »
Any links for tonight guys?

Offline toonmili

« Reply #119 on: March 08, 2015, 04:03:53 PM »
Kevin Molino is trending on twitter right now. Comments are all positive.  Good game so far. Orlando looks stronger to me. Really like their style of play. It's going to be hard to stay faithful to Seattle this year.