March 29, 2024, 01:34:55 AM

Author Topic: Concacaf Champions League Thread.  (Read 110498 times)

Re: 2013/14 CONCACAF Champions League Thread
« Reply #420 on: August 29, 2013, 07:23:06 PM »
I have come to the conclusion that Cali does not know how to finish.

« Reply #421 on: August 29, 2013, 07:26:19 PM »
2-0.

That's that.

« Reply #422 on: August 29, 2013, 08:04:03 PM »
Teams

Caledonia AIA: - 33.Glenroy Samuel, 2.Aubrey David, 12.Kareem Joseph, 3.Nuru Muhammad, 14.Jamaal Smith, 7.Stephan David (capt), 27.Nathan Lewis, 21.Densill Theobald, 20.Noel Williams (16.Tyrone Charles 56th), 9.Keyon Edwards (11.Abdallah Phillips 73rd), 23.Jamaal Gay (15.Aaron Lester 81st).

Coach: - Jamaal Shabazz.

Comunicaciones: - 30.Juan Paredes Guzman, 13.Carlos Castrillo Alonzo, 14.Rafael Morales, 28.Joel Benítez (3.Elías Vásquez Prera 17th), 29.Carlos Figueroa Martinez, 22.Rigoberto Gómez, 24.Kendell Herrarte (19.Brayan Ordoñez 58th), 4.Wilson Lalín, 12.Jean Márquez, 8.Rodolfo Suárez Díaz, 70.Carlos Ramirez Silva (18.Minor López 77th).

Coach: - Iván Sopegno.

Referee: - Erick Rigoberto Andino Medina.

Venue: - Hasley Crawford Stadium.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Toluca  2  0  0  5  2  6
Comunicaciones  2  1  0  1  4  2  3
Caledonia  2  0  0  2  1  6  0

Line-up Commentary (concacaf.com).

END OF THE GAME

2H 93'      Comunicaciones converts a goal by Rodolfo Paolo Suárez Díaz
2H 91'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, made by Aubrey David
2H 88'      Aubrey David makes a clearance
2H 87'      Rigoberto Gómez kicks the corner for Comunicaciones
2H 83'      Aubrey David throws in
2H 82'      Rodolfo Paolo Suárez Díaz is found in an offside position
2H 81'      Aaron Lester enters for Caledonia AIA, Jamaal Gay leaves the field
2H 78'      An illicit act by Aubrey David against Jean Márquez! The referee awards a free kick
2H 78'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
2H 77'      A change by Comunicaciones, Minor López comes on for Carlos Ramirez Silva
2H 77'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
2H 77'      Throw-in by Kareem Joseph
2H 77'      Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo fouls Stephan David
2H 76'      Foul committed by Aubrey David on Jean Márquez
2H 75'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, executed by Kareem Joseph
2H 75'      Throw-in by Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo
2H 73'      Abdallah Phillips now enters the field for Caledonia AIA, Keyon Edwards comes off
2H 72'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, made by Aubrey David
2H 70'      Glenroy Samuel makes a clearance
2H 70'      An illicit act by Elías Enoc Vásquez Prera against Keyon Edwards! The ref awards a free kick
2H 69'      Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo throws in
2H 69'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Aubrey David
2H 68'      Foul by Nathan Lewis on Wilson Lalín! The referee awards a free kick
2H 68'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
2H 68'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, made by Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo
2H 67'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
2H 66'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
2H 65'      Aubrey David makes a clearance for Caledonia AIA
2H 63'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
2H 63'      Chance for Caledonia AIA. Kareem Joseph shoots, but it goes wide!
2H 62'      Clearance by Nuru Abdullah Muhammad
2H 61'      Kareem Joseph clears the ball
2H 61'      GOOAAL for Comunicaciones! Rodolfo Paolo Suárez Díaz converts an open play goal
2H 58'      Aubrey David makes a clearance
2H 58'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
2H 58'      A change by Comunicaciones, Brayan Ordoñez comes on for Kendell Herrarte
2H 57'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Aubrey David
2H 57'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, executed by Glenroy Samuel
2H 56'      Caledonia AIA makes a change, Tyrone Charles comes on, Noel Williams comes off
2H 56'      Opportunity for Caledonia AIA. Aubrey David shoots, but the ball misses the target!
2H 54'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, made by Aubrey David
2H 53'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
2H 52'      Throw-in by Rafael Morales
2H 51'      Aubrey David makes a clearance for Caledonia AIA
2H 50'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Glenroy Samuel
2H 49'      An illicit act by Wilson Lalín against Jamaal Gay! The referee awards a free kick
2H 47'      Clearance by Kareem Joseph
2H 47'      Opportunity for Comunicaciones. Jean Márquez shoots but the ball hits the post!
2H 47'      Throw-in for Caledonia AIA, taken by Aubrey David
2H 46'      Jean Márquez takes the penalty, Saved by Glenroy Samuel!
2H 46'      Aubrey David couldn't handle Rodolfo Paolo Suárez Díaz and committed a foul in the penalty area. Penalty!
2H 45'      Kareem Joseph makes a clearance for Caledonia AIA

START OF SECOND HALF

END OF FIRST HALF

1H 47'      Clearance by Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo
1H 46'      Jamaal Gay executes the corner kick for Caledonia AIA
1H 46'      Clearance by Wilson Lalín, resulting in a corner for the opponent
1H 46'      Rafael Morales makes a clearance
1H 45'      Kareem Joseph clears the ball by kicking it out of bounds
1H 45'      Foul by Aubrey David on Carlos Ramirez Silva! The referee gives a free kick
1H 45'      Throw-in for Comunicaciones, taken by Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo
1H 43'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, executed by Glenroy Samuel
1H 43'      Throw-in by Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez
1H 41'      Jamaal Gay fouls Rafael Morales
1H 41'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 41'      Carlos Ramirez Silva trys to shoot on goal, but the attempt goes wide!
1H 40'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 39'      Densill Theobald throws in
1H 39'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Carlos Ramirez Silva
1H 39'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, executed by Elías Enoc Vásquez Prera
1H 38'      Throw-in by Jamaal Smith
1H 37'      An illicit act by Densill Theobald against Rigoberto Gómez! The referee awards a free kick
1H 36'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, made by Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez
1H 36'      Throw-in for Caledonia AIA, done by Nuru Abdullah Muhammad
1H 35'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 35'      Carlos Ramirez Silva lost control over his shot and it goes wide
1H 35'      Stephan David fouls Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez
1H 34'      Throw-in for Caledonia AIA, done by Kareem Joseph
1H 33'      Clearance by Rafael Morales
1H 33'      Rafael Morales clears the ball
1H 32'      Wilson Lalín illegally stopped Noel Williams
1H 31'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 31'      Jamaal Gay attempts to shoot on goal! And the attempt goes wide!
1H 30'      Jean Márquez throws in
1H 30'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Aubrey David
1H 30'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 29'      Jamaal Gay lost control over his shot and it goes wide
1H 29'      Glenroy Samuel clears the ball
1H 28'      An illict act by Kendell Herrarte against Nuru Abdullah Muhammad! The ref gives a free kick
1H 27'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 27'      A shot by Carlos Ramirez Silva, but the attempt goes wide
1H 26'      Aubrey David throws in
1H 26'      Keyon Edwards committed a foul against Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 26'      Corner for Caledonia AIA, taken by Nathan Lewis
1H 25'      Keyon Edwards shoots on goal! But Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman catches the ball!
1H 25'      Foul by Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez on Aubrey David! The referee awards a free kick
1H 24'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, made by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 23'      Throw-in for Caledonia AIA, done by Nuru Abdullah Muhammad
1H 22'      Throw-in by Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez
1H 22'      Aubrey David throws in
1H 21'      Clearance by Caledonia AIA, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Glenroy Samuel
1H 20'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, executed by Carlos Mauricio Castrillo Alonzo
1H 19'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 19'      Kendell Herrarte attempts to shoot on goal! But the attempt goes wide!
1H 18'      Kareem Joseph commits a foul on Carlos Ramirez Silva
1H 17'      Elías Enoc Vásquez Prera now enters the field for Comunicaciones, Joel Francisco Benítez comes off
1H 16'      Throw-in by Keyon Edwards
1H 15'      Foul by Stephan David on Jean Márquez! The referee gives a free kick
1H 13'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 11'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 11'      An illicit act by Rigoberto Gómez against Jamaal Gay! The referee awards a free kick
1H 10'      Rodolfo Paolo Suárez Díaz scores an open play goal for Comunicaciones
1H 7'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 7'      Kareem Joseph makes a clearance
1H 6'      Goal kick by Juan Jóse Paredes Guzman
1H 5'      Jamaal Smith throws in
1H 5'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, the ball was kicked out of bounds by Rigoberto Gómez
1H 5'      Clearance by Comunicaciones, executed by Kendell Herrarte
1H 5'      Throw-in by Aubrey David
1H 4'      Nuru Abdullah Muhammad clears the ball
1H 4'      Throw-in for Caledonia AIA, taken by Aubrey David
1H 3'      Glenroy Samuel makes a clearance
1H 3'      Rafael Morales touched the leather with his hand and the ref gives an indirect free kick
1H 2'      An illicit act by Jamaal Gay against Joel Francisco Benítez! The referee awards a free kick
1H 2'      Goal kick by Glenroy Samuel
1H 1'      Foul by Nathan Lewis on Rigoberto Gómez! The referee awards a free kick
1H 1'      An illicit act by Kendell Herrarte against Jamaal Smith! The referee gives a free kick
1H 0'      Carlos Fernando Figueroa Martinez throws in

START OF THE GAME

« Last Edit: August 29, 2013, 08:16:53 PM by Flex »

« Reply #423 on: August 29, 2013, 08:04:34 PM »
no comments!

« Reply #424 on: August 29, 2013, 08:17:06 PM »
Ent Shabazz is a big coach

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #425 on: August 29, 2013, 08:17:45 PM »
the good news is the player just turn 19 years old, and still has the wherewithal to find those spaces against a top MLS team.

if we lucky he could be the next stern john!

At 19, Stern had already scored six goals for de national senior team, including a hat-trick.

At at 16 Yorke had signed for Aston Villa and Silvio went to Italy at 17.

Flex --- Good points...but Yorke went to Aston Villa around the end of 1989 when he was already 18 (not 16). 

No, he was 17. turned 18 whilst at Villa.

Btw my sister attended his 21st birthday, she say enough Villa and Arsenal men was there. He and Rocastle was padnahs.

vb --- that's kinda' strange, since Dwight Yorke was born on November 3rd 1971...and he joined Aston Villa after the November 19th 1989 T&T match vs the USA, thereby making him 18 years old.  Additionally, he actually debuted for Aston Villa on March 24th 1990 in a match against Crystal Palace while he was still 18 (of course turning 19 on November 3rd later that year).

His 21st Birthday that your sister attended would've been on November 3rd 1992 (a Tuesday...but most likely the party must've been on Sunday November 1st or Saturday October 31st). 

Anyway, he was already 18 when he joined Aston Villa. 

You're welcome.   ;D    :beermug:

If you talking about when he signed the contract. Yes he was 18.

But trial and offer took place before his 17th birthday.
In fact the contract took about a week to suss out because they sent down a Tobago lawyer to iron out the details of the contract and that took a while.

You are welcome.  ;D  :beermug:

vb --- that kinda' flies in the face of the rules of mathemtics. 

Dwight's trials with Aston Villa all took place in 1989 when he was already at least 17, since he turned 17 in 1988...in-fact, those trials with Aston Villa began AFTER the November 19th game in 1989, when Yorke was already 18. 

Under your premise, you're stating that Yorke began his trials with Aston Villa all the way back in 1988 before T&T made the Hex, and were still playing against Canada and Honduras 1988 to try to qualify for the Hex of 1989. 

Again...Yorke's trial with Villa did NOT begin in 1988...it began in December of 1989 --- and mathematically since he was born on November 3rd 1971, he was already 18 when those trials began.

Math always wins, bro!   There's no getting around that.   ;D    :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #426 on: August 29, 2013, 08:20:43 PM »
I'm so glad I missed that game.  Just came from a lil' lime...head real nice, then I have to read this result.  *smh*

More Scotch for me. *hiccup*
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #427 on: August 29, 2013, 09:31:29 PM »
I'm so glad I missed that game.  Just came from a lil' lime...head real nice, then I have to read this result.  *smh*

More Scotch for me. *hiccup*

didn't even know this game was takin place till i read something in the papers this afternoon. Glad i ended up liming after sweat and eh make the game yes

« Reply #428 on: August 30, 2013, 03:13:38 AM »
Our club football is not as good as it was because the minute we unearth a few good players their agents find clubs outside for them.We cant do much about that because people have to live and make a living.Our better players end up In the far east,India,parts of Europe and whereever else you care to name,we dont have what it takes to keep them.You dont mind that they are abroad playing but it is always a problem to get these players back for internationals,most seems afraid to annoy their employers and who can blame them,that is the life of a minnow.

« Reply #429 on: August 30, 2013, 07:27:57 AM »
Our club football is not as good as it was because the minute we unearth a few good players their agents find clubs outside for them.We cant do much about that because people have to live and make a living.Our better players end up In the far east,India,parts of Europe and whereever else you care to name,we dont have what it takes to keep them.You dont mind that they are abroad playing but it is always a problem to get these players back for internationals,most seems afraid to annoy their employers and who can blame them,that is the life of a minnow.
in addition, see this clip..besides they can pull older experienced players from all over the world(Di Vaio and Nesta are both 37), with this level of support, they can afford to get past best. And with a crowd and admin. support like that behind them, these past best are motivated to give their all. Our past best come home to chill, and relax. Hard for TT clubs to compete with that. In addition, although their are only 4 Quebecers on the roster, the youth team is all quebecers, and the exposure they (and young & old fans) are getting to a particular level -even if not top in the world - of play and professionalism, builds a serious foundation for the future. Our past best come to jump & wave, we can't afford them anymore.
http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2013-08-24-mtl-v-hou/highlights

« Reply #430 on: August 30, 2013, 10:51:46 AM »
the good news is the player just turn 19 years old, and still has the wherewithal to find those spaces against a top MLS team.

At 19, Stern had already scored six goals for de national senior team, including a hat-trick.

Flex --- Good points...but Yorke went to Aston Villa around the end of 1989 when he was already 18 (not 16). 

Btw my sister attended his 21st birthday, she say enough Villa and Arsenal men was there. He and Rocastle was padnahs.

vb --- that's kinda' strange, since Dwight Yorke was born on November 3rd 1971...and he joined Aston Villa after the November 19th 1989 T&T match vs the USA, thereby making him 18 years old.  Additionally, he actually debuted for Aston Villa on March 24th 1990 in a match against Crystal Palace while he was still 18 (of course turning 19 on November 3rd later that year).

His 21st Birthday that your sister attended would've been on November 3rd 1992 (a Tuesday...but most likely the party must've been on Sunday November 1st or Saturday October 31st). 

In fact the contract took about a week to suss out because they sent down a Tobago lawyer to iron out the details of the contract and that took a while.

Dwight's trials with Aston Villa all took place in 1989 when he was already at least 17, since he turned 17 in 1988...in-fact, those trials with Aston Villa began AFTER the November 19th game in 1989, when Yorke was already 18. 

Under your premise, you're stating that Yorke began his trials with Aston Villa all the way back in 1988 before T&T made the Hex, and were still playing against Canada and Honduras 1988 to try to qualify for the Hex of 1989. 

Again...Yorke's trial with Villa did NOT begin in 1988...it began in December of 1989 --- and mathematically since he was born on November 3rd 1971, he was already 18 when those trials began.

Typo: I meant before his 18th bd'ay not before his 17th birthday.
Trial and offer was before the Nov. 19th game in 1989.
Now if anybody here remember different feel free to say so.
I talking about trial and offer NOT when the contract was signed.

« Reply #431 on: August 30, 2013, 11:06:03 AM »

That's exactly it. We are like a Div. 2 club in England, unearthing talent and selling them off to more glamorous leagues. WC owner supposed to have money but he sells off his players as fast as he can it's like a vicious cycle.

But with those pathetic crowds, I supposed you can't blame them.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #432 on: August 30, 2013, 01:37:11 PM »

Typo: I meant before his 18th bd'ay not before his 17th birthday.
Trial and offer was before the Nov. 19th game in 1989.
Now if anybody here remember different feel free to say so.
I talking about trial and offer NOT when the contract was signed.

vb --- that makes more sense (I thought you might have made a typo when you stated 'before he was 16'). 

Anyway, if I remember correctly, the trial with Aston Villa began soon after the Nov 19th 1989 game...It was sometime in December, with the offer coming a few months later.  I remember that it was a huge deal for all of us back then, and I was always glued to the sports news around that time as a teen, proud that a young Strike Squad member was heading to England for trials with a big team. 

Regardless of exactly how old he was, that was indeed a proud moment for all of us back then.   

« Reply #433 on: August 30, 2013, 01:55:57 PM »
Outside Man I agree with your last sentence.

I eh too shame to admit if I wrong.
That's why I welcome anyone else on the Forum to contradict me.

I tried to google this on the net but the info was not forthcoming.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #434 on: August 30, 2013, 07:42:56 PM »
Outside Man I agree with your last sentence.

I eh too shame to admit if I wrong.
That's why I welcome anyone else on the Forum to contradict me.

I tried to google this on the net but the info was not forthcoming.

Shabazz: Shake ghetto mentality.
« Reply #435 on: September 13, 2013, 01:54:53 AM »
Shabazz calls on Caledonia players to rise
T&T Express Reports.

Shake ghetto mentality

Live in the ghetto, but don’t necessarily be of the ghetto.

Football coach Jamal Shabazz is hoping for a change from his players. Shabazz acknowledges his 2012 Caribbean champions, Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA, are a ghet­to team but feels some players are not using their ta­lent to elevate themselves from living and other cir­cum­stances.

“We are a ghetto team, but there are still too much guys whose minds have not elevated out of the ghetto and into the thought pattern of becoming an elite athlete, so that we can transform into an entity that can tru­ly inspire ghetto youths. I look at the abilities of Nathan Lewis, Noel Williams and Keyon “Bodom” Edwards...if only these guys could change their lifestyles, rest more, eat better and live for the game. They need to give more.”

Shabazz said a player like striker Jamal Gay should be in Europe, but it is not bothering him (Gay) that he is not even in the national team right now.

“You get a sense that our guys are happy to do well locally and at Ca­rib­bean level, but the failure to make an ultimate sacrifice to become that elite athlete is holding us back.”

Shabazz said a lack of ambition might partially be responsible for Caledo­nia AIA being able to do well at Caribbean level the last two seasons but not win a match in the CONCACAF Champions League.

“The challenge in coaching is not just winning and losing. I think as a staff, we must do more to motivate and inspire the players as individuals and a group to get more ambitious. It really starts with us,” said Sha­bazz, who took Guyana to the semi-final stage of CONCACAF zone FIFA 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

Shabazz is still very enthusiastic ahead of Caledonia’s next two Champions League fixtures, against Toluca FC of Mex­­ico at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Sep­tember 18 and Communications in Guatemala on September 23.

Caledonia will kick off their local Pro League season tomorrow at the Crawford Stadium against North East Stars.

“We are warriors,” Sha­bazz declared. “We owe it to the TT Pro League, our fellow clubs and Caribbean football to be more competitive at CONCACAF level. Two games down, but we not going to bow; we have to fight back. This is how we make our living, and the Champions League is the highest club level a player can ply his trade in the CONCACAF region.”

« Reply #436 on: September 13, 2013, 07:11:06 PM »

steups, allyuh is some real wet blankets  ;D

« Reply #437 on: September 13, 2013, 07:16:31 PM »
"Football coach Jamal Shabazz is hoping for a change from his players. Shabazz acknowledges his 2012 Caribbean champions, Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA, are a ghet­to team but feels some players are not using their ta­lent to elevate themselves from living and other cir­cum­stances..”

I'm sure the players are hoping for a change from Jamal Shabazz!

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #438 on: September 13, 2013, 08:04:00 PM »

Tru' dat!  Oh wait...lol     ;D

« Reply #439 on: September 18, 2013, 03:05:37 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lASEUB_y1OY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lASEUB_y1OY</a>

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #440 on: September 18, 2013, 04:10:43 PM »

Can we get back on topic to how our teams aren't doing ish in Champions League please?  :beermug:  :rotfl: :banginghead:

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #441 on: September 18, 2013, 04:48:16 PM »

Can we get back on topic to how our teams aren't doing ish in Champions League please?  :beermug:  :rotfl: :banginghead:

We like tuh talk chupidness between games.  ;D

« Reply #443 on: September 18, 2013, 06:27:03 PM »
As ah get de link to start streaming ah hear de commentator bawl out....."gooooooooooooooaaaaalllllllllll Toluca!!!"

Ah blight de game....... :(

« Reply #444 on: September 18, 2013, 06:27:35 PM »
GOAL: Toluca take a 1-0 lead over Caledonia in the 17th minute.

« Reply #445 on: September 18, 2013, 06:37:15 PM »
GOAL: Toluca take a 2-0 lead over Caledonia in the 28th minute.

« Reply #446 on: September 18, 2013, 06:44:23 PM »
if I was to judge de pro league from teams like Caledonia heaven help us. look like dis pro league ting taking our football backward. De defending is absolutely atrocious.

2013/14 CONCACAF Champions League Thread
« Reply #447 on: September 18, 2013, 06:49:17 PM »
Caledonia purge

« Reply #448 on: September 18, 2013, 06:50:07 PM »
GOAL: Toluca take a 3-0 lead over Caledonia in the 41st minute.

2013/14 CONCACAF Champions League Thread
« Reply #449 on: September 18, 2013, 06:55:38 PM »
I've had enough, good night