March 29, 2024, 03:43:24 AM

Author Topic: Concacaf Champions League Thread.  (Read 110504 times)

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: 2015/16 Concacaf Champions League Thread.
« Reply #720 on: August 20, 2015, 09:54:26 PM »
Penalty saved by Archibald. Justice because it was a very soft penalty.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #721 on: August 20, 2015, 09:55:41 PM »
4. After all that an own goal in the 94th.

« Reply #722 on: August 21, 2015, 02:13:19 AM »
Saprissa tops W Connection, goes level with Santos.
CONCACAF.COM.

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Three different players scored to help lift Saprissa (1W-0D-1L, 3 points) to a 4-0 win over visiting DirecTV W Connection (0W-0D-2L, 0 points) in the 2015/16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa on Thursday night.

Deyver Vega, David Guzman and David Ramirez struck for the host, which is now level on points and goal difference atop the Group A table with Santos Laguna (1W-0D-0L, 3 points), which also defeated W Connection, 4-0, in the group opener on August 4.

The final goal was an own goal by W Connection defender Maurice Ford in second-half stoppage time.

Vega was a threat throughout the first half and was rewarded for his efforts in the 35th minute. After touching a low cross in stride into the right side of the box, the Costa Rica international maneuvered to the outside of W Connection’s Kurt Frederick, before putting a shot inside the left post past a frozen Julani Archibald.

Five minutes ahead of halftime, the Monstruo Morado doubled its lead. An initial Nestor Monge shot was blocked by a defender at the edge of the six-yard box, but Guzman pounced on the rebound and bounced it past a helpless Archibald from 10-yards out.

In the 70th minute, Archibald extended fully to get a piece of Mynor Escoe’s shot toward the left post, but was only able to get one hand on the ball. The rebound spilled out and moments after stepping onto the field as a substitute, Ramirez made it 3-0, sliding it home from close range.

Twenty minutes later, Canadian referee Drew Fischer pointed to the spot after Alvin Jones was ruled to have tripped up Dylan Flores on a challenge. Ariel Rodriguez, who scored five goals in last year’s SCCL, took the kick only for Archibald parry it with a dive to his left.

Flores was influential shortly afterwards, when he played a dangerous ball in front that Ford inadvertently kicked into his own net in an attempt to clear.

Saprissa, now 7W-1D-1L in its last nine home matches in the SCCL, hosts Santos Laguna on August 25.

Teams

W Connection: 18.Julani Archibald; 21.Shannon Gomez, 4.Maurice Ford, 2.Kurt Frederick, 5.Triston Hodge; 16.Alvin Jones (capt), 3.Gerard Williams, 23.Kevon Goddard (20.Jamal Charles 46th), 17.Aikim Andrews (11.Neil Benjamin Jr 83rd), 9.Shahdon Winchester, 10.Jomal Williams (Yellow 48) (34.Jabari Mitchell 74th).

Unused substitutes: 22.Aquelius Sylvester (GK), 13.Kion Joseph, 35.Keston Julien, 46.Anfernee Frederick.

Coach: Stuart Charles-Fevrier.

Saprissa: 1.Danny Carvajal; 5.Francisco Calvo, 4.Andres Imperial (Yellow 75), 13.Adolfo Machado (27.Dylan Flores 74th), 11.Marvin Borbon, 19.Irving Reid, 8.David Guzman, 20.Nestor Monge (Yellow 45) (30.Ulises Segura (46th), 15.Deyver Vega (24.David Ramirez Ruiz 63rd), 7.Mynor Escoe, 14.Ariel Araya.

Coach: Jaelistin Campos Madriz.

Referee: Drew Fischer (USA).

Video: Saprissa vs WConnection Highlights

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Santos Laguna  1  1  0  0  4  0  3
Saprissa  1  1  0  0  4  0  3
W Connection  2  0  0  2  0  8  0

« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 02:19:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #723 on: August 21, 2015, 07:56:39 AM »
Highlights? What highlights? This was more like target practice for Saprissa. Easy 3 points. Santos and Saprissa look forward to seeing another weakling from the pre leaague next year. Central target you are up next.

But I thought wconnection's head coach was one of the best in the pre league and Jomal Williams was an up and coming talent. What ever happened to the young Woo Ling? What's his address in pergatory? All of these young, talented players with enourmous potential just falling by the way side hopelessly languishing in a hopeless football league calling itself a pro league.
There isn't a huge continental divide here between truth and reality. Truthfully, the reality is that football in Trinidad and Tobago is like a "cheap suit". It crumbles easily.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 08:00:50 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #724 on: August 21, 2015, 08:09:44 AM »
Highlights? What highlights? This was more like target practice for Saprissa. Easy 3 points. Santos and Saprissa look forward to seeing another weakling from the pre leaague next year. Central target you are up next.

But I thought wconnection's head coach was one of the best in the pre league and Jomal Williams was an up and coming talent. What ever happened to the young Woo Ling? What's his address in pergatory? All of these young, talented players with enourmous potential just falling by the way side hopelessly languishing in a hopeless football league calling itself a pro league.
There isn't a huge continental divide here between truth and reality. Truthfully, the reality is that football in Trinidad and Tobago is like a "cheap suit". It crumbles easily.

There is, as you say, a big divide. This group is probably the toughest to get out of.
Say what you want about the Pro League, but until you can find a way of paying 25 players between US$1,500 - US $2,500 per month, it is the best we have. This competition has cost David John-Williams a lot of money.  He never expected to win the Champions League. Perhaps he hoped that just maybe if they got out of the group they could take some scalps. I'm positive that he never expected to lose both games 4-0. Just like Barca didn't expect to lose 4-0 last week.
It is right to criticise these performamces, but when you do, consider the challenge that they took on and maybe ask yourself: Is there anything more that Trini football fans could do to help?
If clubs were getting 2,000 supporters to a game, they could afford a few foreign players to up their quality.
We need to build from home to win away.

« Reply #725 on: August 21, 2015, 09:17:10 AM »
This Championship shows how much our league is not ready for the rest of Concacaf. Exposes the weakness and vulnerability of our best teams in our league. This is why I tell people in here don't get carried away after we win Caribbean tournaments because the region is far behind Central and North America. Also if our local leagues are not competitive and not playing up to a high level then this harms the national team. The core base of the national team will always be locally based players and we need a competitive local league that will benefit the national team.

« Reply #726 on: August 21, 2015, 10:00:35 AM »

There is, as you say, a big divide. This group is probably the toughest to get out of.
Say what you want about the Pro League, but until you can find a way of paying 25 players between US$1,500 - US $2,500 per month, it is the best we have. This competition has cost David John-Williams a lot of money.  He never expected to win the Champions League. Perhaps he hoped that just maybe if they got out of the group they could take some scalps. I'm positive that he never expected to lose both games 4-0. Just like Barca didn't expect to lose 4-0 last week.
It is right to criticise these performamces, but when you do, consider the challenge that they took on and maybe ask yourself: Is there anything more that Trini football fans could do to help?
If clubs were getting 2,000 supporters to a game, they could afford a few foreign players to up their quality.

Have you ever seen La Liga? I ask that question because you are using Barca's 4 - 0 lost as a saving grace for Wconnection's lost. La Liga is not this and this is not that. Nobody expected the Montreal Impact to be in the championship game either. If you know nothing at all about coach Enrique, you should know that he is a task master and at the end of the season Barca will be 1,2,or 3 in the league standings and defending their UEFA title.

You use words like "hope" and "maybe" in the same sentence like it is some kind of redeeming quality for these embarrassing loses, and that's what they are, even if they were poorly coached and equally prepped for this competition, where are the skills and the "warrior" spirit to compete in the face of adversity? Where is the professionalism? Is that void reflective of the pro league?

It is Dexter Skeene's job and the job of the clubs owners to ask about the fans. These are the people that have to help grow the league. Let them ask the question "What more can I do to bring out the fans". Until then and until they find answers to that question and many more, the league is in an abyss, and teams and players will continue to be stagnant and will continue to struggle to make an impression in the CCL and abroad. You cannot continue to "hope" to win.

Winning loves preparation.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 10:12:26 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #727 on: August 21, 2015, 10:34:49 AM »

Have you ever seen La Liga? I ask that question because you are using Barca's 4 - 0 lost as a saving grace for Wconnection's lost. La Liga is not this and this is not that. Nobody expected the Montreal Impact to be in the championship game either. If you know nothing at all about coach Enrique, you should know that he is a task master and at the end of the season Barca will be 1,2,or 3 in the league standings and defending their UEFA title.

You use words like "hope" and "maybe" in the same sentence like it is some kind of redeeming quality for these embarrassing loses, and that's what they are, even if they were poorly coached and equally prepped for this competition, where are the skills and the "warrior" spirit to compete in the face of adversity? Where is the professionalism? Is that void reflective of the pro league?

It is Dexter Skeene's job and the job of the clubs owners to ask about the fans. These are the people that have to help grow the league. Let them ask the question "What more can I do to bring out the fans". Until then and until they find answers to that question and many more, the league is in an abyss, and teams and players will continue to be stagnant and will continue to struggle to make an impression in the CCL and abroad. You cannot continue to "hope" to win.

Winning loves preparation.

The Barca result was just to recognise that all teams suffer bad losses. Difference being that we all know that Pro League clubs are punching way above their weight, while Bilbao hadn't won squat for 30 years yet still thrashed Barca.

We all agree that top Pro League clubs are probably equivalent to, say, English League 1 or 2. So imagine if Walsall (currently 3rd in League One) played LA Galaxy or Saprissa. Tell me honestly that even they would be happy to concede no more than three goals. Make no mistake, some of these clubs in the Champions League could survive in the English Premier League, La Liga or Serie A.

Pro League have tried many initiatives. If you have any realistic workable suggestions, I'm sure they would try those too. But it takes two hands to clap. You ask what do the clubs do for fans. Well they invest a large amount of time and effort (and money) in trying to create a decent football team. Then develop players for the national teams. They provide live football of a decent quality at a stupidly low admission price. They also hold coaching schools and run 3 youth teams. That's what they do.
All they ask in return is for a fragment of the hundreds of thousands of football fans in T&T come out to a game and spend their $30 (US$5) on watching two games featuring current and future national team players.

Even so called non footballing countries get better crowds.

« Reply #728 on: August 21, 2015, 10:45:58 AM »

Some good points FS,,,,,

I dont agree with all though, no excuse for playing poor football and loosing by that margin in both games. I see you making excuse in advance.

T&T went into the Gold Cup with 4 starting players (Guerra, Plaza, Bateau and Joevin) for their clubs and the rest inactive and still did very well.

W Connection sold their good players and is using to competition to expose youths to get them better and then seld them, they in this for de business. Expect to see players like Mitchell and Gomez to fly out soon.

They are not here to win anything, but like you say, they didn't expect to lose either.

Can you blame them for wanting to make some money, no, but dont make excuses for their poor brand and poor coach.

« Reply #729 on: August 21, 2015, 11:41:14 AM »

The Barca result was just to recognise that all teams suffer bad losses. Difference being that we all know that Pro League clubs are punching way above their weight, while Bilbao hadn't won squat for 30 years yet still thrashed Barca.

We all agree that top Pro League clubs are probably equivalent to, say, English League 1 or 2. So imagine if Walsall (currently 3rd in League One) played LA Galaxy or Saprissa. Tell me honestly that even they would be happy to concede no more than three goals. Make no mistake, some of these clubs in the Champions League could survive in the English Premier League, La Liga or Serie A.

Pro League have tried many initiatives. If you have any realistic workable suggestions, I'm sure they would try those too. But it takes two hands to clap. You ask what do the clubs do for fans. Well they invest a large amount of time and effort (and money) in trying to create a decent football team. Then develop players for the national teams. They provide live football of a decent quality at a stupidly low admission price. They also hold coaching schools and run 3 youth teams. That's what they do.
All they ask in return is for a fragment of the hundreds of thousands of football fans in T&T come out to a game and spend their $30 (US$5) on watching two games featuring current and future national team players.

But what the arse is this? So if I open a stand in the market sellin ocro and nobody buyin my ocro, is the people fault for not buyin my ocro?
lemme bite my tongue yes. Anybody from pro league ever take a trip to costa rica and get a tour of what they doing that working (making their top teams able to put an easy 4 on we best team)? They population maybe 2 1/2 times ours. Per capita GDP nearly half ours. Seems like the league running on several small and medium size stadia (maybe school and community ground size?)...Gov't fault for not giving 'football' enough money to buy better players? (save that excuse when u not in gov't). 'Fans' not coming out to support 'decent' product? steups.

« Reply #730 on: August 21, 2015, 12:03:38 PM »

But what the arse is this? So if I open a stand in the market sellin ocro and nobody buyin my ocro, is the people fault for not buyin my ocro?
lemme bite my tongue yes. Anybody from pro league ever take a trip to costa rica and get a tour of what they doing that working (making their top teams able to put an easy 4 on we best team)? They population maybe 2 1/2 times ours. Per capita GDP nearly half ours. Seems like the league running on several small and medium size stadia (maybe school and community ground size?)...Gov't fault for not giving 'football' enough money to buy better players? (save that excuse when u not in gov't). 'Fans' not coming out to support 'decent' product? steups.

I've been to many countries to observe football. And the one underlying constant is that no matter how crap the football is, football fans get off their asses and go to matches.

Yes, we know the stadiums are hard to get to (like nobody has any friends to car share with)
Yes, we know that the clubs have poor links to the community (like Barcelona and Man Utd link with thousands of Trinis)
Yes, we know the standard of football could be much better (like kick and run school football still attracts more supporters)
Yes, we know there are no rising stars in the Pro League (like the Intercol heroes retire from football at 18)

Nobody asked Govt to give anything. I was asking YOU, Kounty, and all local football fans. Why don't you leave your negativity at home and get behind a team? You never know, you might enjoy it. (And I'm not talking about attending the occasional game just to compare with Real Madrid, I'm talking really get behind your team.) Why not give it a try for a season?

As for Ocro, if people keep comparing it to caviar, yuh right, stop selling it. Then there'll be no ocro for the national team. 

« Reply #731 on: August 21, 2015, 05:28:51 PM »

I've been to many countries to observe football. And the one underlying constant is that no matter how crap the football is, football fans get off their asses and go to matches.

Yes, we know the stadiums are hard to get to (like nobody has any friends to car share with)
Yes, we know that the clubs have poor links to the community (like Barcelona and Man Utd link with thousands of Trinis)
Yes, we know the standard of football could be much better (like kick and run school football still attracts more supporters)
Yes, we know there are no rising stars in the Pro League (like the Intercol heroes retire from football at 18)

Nobody asked Govt to give anything. I was asking YOU, Kounty, and all local football fans. Why don't you leave your negativity at home and get behind a team? You never know, you might enjoy it. (And I'm not talking about attending the occasional game just to compare with Real Madrid, I'm talking really get behind your team.) Why not give it a try for a season?

As for Ocro, if people keep comparing it to caviar, yuh right, stop selling it. Then there'll be no ocro for the national team. 
No right thinking Orco vendor would consider either of your options: stop selling, or sitting down and sulking and blaming the public. How to get people to buy your product is YOUR problem. we constantly hearing about players defying their contract and playing for sunday league in carenage. I know the vibes better in eddie hart league where people more attached to the teams. All the things in blue is just an unscientific guess as to why (or maybe what people say is the reason) people not turning out...but is it a business y'all runnin? I dunno, I think if people wasn't buying Walmart stuff they WILL find out why and fix it.

« Reply #732 on: August 21, 2015, 05:31:08 PM »

No right thinking Orco vendor would consider either of your options: stop selling, or sitting down and sulking and blaming the public. How to get people to buy your product is YOUR problem. we constantly hearing about players defying their contract and playing for sunday league in carenage. I know the vibes better in eddie hart league where people more attached to the teams. All the things in blue is just an unscientific guess as to why (or maybe what people say is the reason) people not turning out...but is it a business y'all runnin? I dunno, I think if people wasn't buying Walmart stuff they WILL find out why and fix it.

So whats your solution?

« Reply #733 on: August 21, 2015, 05:55:48 PM »
Me? That is very far from my area of expertise. You would know a million times better and should execute as such, but blaming the fans is definitely not one of them. Starting with the obvious lack of relationship between teams and community though, I see premier league players reading to kids, lil free school visits, lil coachin tips here and there, and we know they don't really need to strengthen their community ties. How much more work can the pro league do? 1000 times this effort? long term community investment (not short sighted money hustle) ...then again I hear central has been trying in this regard, but the whole league have to have this as a standard.  I sure other posters have better ideas...I've seen them post ideas on this forum.

« Reply #734 on: August 21, 2015, 06:02:37 PM »
Me? That is very far from my area of expertise. You would know a million times better and should execute as such, but blaming the fans is definitely not one of them. Starting with the obvious lack of relationship between teams and community though, I see premier league players reading to kids, lil free school visits, lil coachin tips here and there, and we know they don't really need to strengthen their community ties. How much more work can the pro league do? 1000 times this effort? long term community investment (not short sighted money hustle) ...then again I hear central has been trying in this regard, but the whole league have to have this as a standard.  I sure other posters have better ideas...I've seen them post ideas on this forum.

But I don't know! That's the problem. For 5 years I've tried all kinds of programmes and while they get media coverage, they still don't bring the fans.

« Reply #735 on: August 21, 2015, 06:50:19 PM »
We are not a football nation.  We are a land of bandwagonists. Let's be real.  I understand your plight FS. 

Some of the posters in here sit in their sofa and want W Connection to match clubs that play in front of 10-15K fans every week.

They want Central FC to compete with clubs that pay players 10 and 20 times the salary of our players. 

We as a country have an inflated view of ourselves.  We laugh at nations like Vietnam and Uzbekistan, but when i see highlights of our players playing there, i see stadiums with thousands of fans waving flags and beating drums, while some of our biggest proleague match ups struggle to muster 500.

Its not just the fans to blame, its the media, the govt and the corporate world. 

I know the people at Central FC and W Connection are doing alot of hard work, and it is unfair for these sofa dwellers to come on this site and criticize the efforts of these organisations who try their best with their relatively shoe string budgets.

« Reply #736 on: August 21, 2015, 08:59:08 PM »
I really don't know why John Williams put all his faith in Charles ...if I were John Williams I would have brought in a Coach with international experience ..one would a solid track record ..  one who understands youth development.

The way how they operate obviously makes them happy...use a bunch of players as supporting cast for few prospects  ..I don't think it's fair to the players.

The way the players have to play football is so controlled..they play as though they are in a straight jacket..

the coach doesn't allow creativity in the football..the way they have to move the ball is so robotic and when they have to play without the ball ...that's a true reflection of the coach's depth of knowledge or lack thereof ...players do exactly what the coaches ask of them  after all they don't know anything else.

« Reply #737 on: August 21, 2015, 11:04:40 PM »
We are not a football nation.  We are a land of bandwagonists. Let's be real.  I understand your plight FS. 

Some of the posters in here sit in their sofa and want W Connection to match clubs that play in front of 10-15K fans every week.

They want Central FC to compete with clubs that pay players 10 and 20 times the salary of our players

We as a country have an inflated view of ourselves.  We laugh at nations like Vietnam and Uzbekistan, but when i see highlights of our players playing there, i see stadiums with thousands of fans waving flags and beating drums, while some of our biggest proleague match ups struggle to muster 500.

Its not just the fans to blame, its the media, the govt and the corporate world. 

I know the people at Central FC and W Connection are doing alot of hard work, and it is unfair for these sofa dwellers to come on this site and criticize the efforts of these organisations who try their best with their relatively shoe string budgets.
while some of what you saying might hold some truth, in case you were looking in my direction you might have to answer where all them people fittin when they leave saprissa stadium every week and maybe also do a lil research on actual salaries of actual clubs who hittin we 4. No shame, Good job FS! but keep it real and figure out how to improve.

« Reply #738 on: August 22, 2015, 10:39:15 PM »

They want Central FC to compete with clubs that pay players 10 and 20 times the salary of our players

while some of what you saying might hold some truth, in case you were looking in my direction you might have to answer where all them people fittin when they leave saprissa stadium every week and maybe also do a lil research on actual salaries of actual clubs who hittin we 4. No shame, Good job FS! but keep it real and figure out how to improve.

Firstly, i was NOT looking in anyone's direction.

Secondly, if you think that you needed to post an article from March 2011 that speaks about what the minimum wage is in Costa Rican football, then u totally missed the point of my post.

« Reply #739 on: August 23, 2015, 05:02:41 AM »

They want Central FC to compete with clubs that pay players 10 and 20 times the salary of our players. 

We really have a bandwaggon mentality, yuh eh lie, by de way, welcome back, just now Touches, Big Mac and Patriot go come back to.

Allyuh missing de point, nobody expecting T&T clubs to beat these teams up, we just expecting to see better football and to lose less, represent T&T flag and not embarrass us.

If we clubs cannot afford to compete then they should give it to someone else, but ah sick of de silly excuse, 11v11, play de ball man instead of playing to not lose.

When I see Santos play W Connection, in de first half they were no better then W Connection, but then, yuh know de rest.

Of all de Caribbean teams T&T clubs do de best at this level in the past, so doh tell me they not good enough.

W Connection compete at this level every year and you acting like they doh know. I dont rate Stuart Charles, especially at this level, de faster W Connection get rid of him the faster they club will move forward. You cant have a coach there for over 20 years and de club cant move up a level, they stagnant, de team not growing.

So leh me ask allyuh this.

If W Connection and Central win these teams when they come to T&T what allyuh go say?

« Reply #740 on: August 25, 2015, 03:51:20 PM »

We really have a bandwaggon mentality, yuh eh lie, by de way, welcome back, just now Touches, Big Mac and Patriot go come back to.

Allyuh missing de point, nobody expecting T&T clubs to beat these teams up, we just expecting to see better football and to lose less, represent T&T flag and not embarrass us.

If we clubs cannot afford to compete then they should give it to someone else, but ah sick of de silly excuse, 11v11, play de ball man instead of playing to not lose.

When I see Santos play W Connection, in de first half they were no better then W Connection, but then, yuh know de rest.

Of all de Caribbean teams T&T clubs do de best at this level in the past, so doh tell me they not good enough.

W Connection compete at this level every year and you acting like they doh know. I dont rate Stuart Charles, especially at this level, de faster W Connection get rid of him the faster they club will move forward. You cant have a coach there for over 20 years and de club cant move up a level, they stagnant, de team not growing.

So leh me ask allyuh this.

If W Connection and Central win these teams when they come to T&T what allyuh go say?

Fair question.

FS, guys?

« Reply #741 on: August 25, 2015, 05:27:32 PM »
CONCACAF CHAMPIONS LEAGUE PREVIEW: Comunicaciones vs Central FC
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/J6vKe3PNeCw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/J6vKe3PNeCw</a>

Central FC ready to take points off Guatemala’s Comunicaciones
« Reply #742 on: August 26, 2015, 03:03:59 PM »
Central FC ready to take points off Guatemala’s Comunicaciones
ttproleague.com

Central FC, the reigning Caribbean Club champions, are chasing maximum three points when they tackle CSD Comunicaciones from 8 pm (10 pm TT time) on Thursday at the Cementos Progresso Stadium in Guatemala City, Guatemala in Group D action of the 2015/2016 Concacaf Champions League.

Comunicaciones, a 66-year-old club, stands as one of the most popular and successful clubs in Guatemala football, winning 30 national championships, including six consecutive titles, the most of any Guatemala club.

One of the “classical world” clubs according to FIFA, something only six Central American clubs have been, and even the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) recognises Comunicaciones as the second best club in the twentieth century CONCACAF.

“The Creams”, their nickname, stands as the only Guatemalan club to have played against Real Madrid (with Francisco Gento, Ferenc Puskás, Alfredo Di Stéfano), Santos FC (with Pelé), and Boca Juniors (with Diego Maradona), and are currently the Guatemala Major League A Division 2015 Clausura champions.

Meanwhile the highest profile opponents of Central FC, a club that’s just three years old, happens to be the Major League Soccer (MLS)’s LA Galaxy. Galaxy hammered the “Couva Sharks” 5-1 on August 4 at the Stubhub Centre in Los Angeles in their opening group match of the 2015/2016 CCL without the use of Ireland international and captain Robbie Keane and star summer signing Steven Gerrard, a former England and Liverpool captain.

Galaxy, who also defeated Comunicaciones 5-0 on August 18 at the Stubhub Centre, leads Group D of the CCL with 6 points while Central and “The Creams” sit without points on the three-team group.

Central, who must later host Comunicaciones on September 17 and Galaxy on September 23 – both matches at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Trinidad –, won six domestic titles and the Caribbean crown last season, including the 2014/2015 Digicel Pro League championship.

But at present the “Couva Sharks” are out of season for the last three months, while Comunicaciones and Galaxy are well into their respective domestic seasons.

“We had a number of complications in our opening match against Galaxy,” explained Anthony Rogier, Central FC Football Operations Manager.

“We had our new coach Ross Russell coming into the team late because of his duties with the (Trinidad and Tobago) Women’s Team. Goalkeeper Jan (Michael Williams) wasn’t fully fit due to an injury picked up in the (CONCACAF) Gold Cup with the (T&T) national team. Also, we are not in season domestically while Galaxy are full into their season.

“But now we have to say we have a good opportunity to put some pressure on Galaxy by defeating Comunicaciones in the upcoming matches. We had the opportunity to see them (Comunicaciones) play and know what we are against. We had a lot more time to prepare. We are aware that football cannot be predicted but preparation is everything. Our goal is to stay in the competition and on Thursday we are about trying to represent Trinidad and Tobago at best in Guatemala.”

However, Rougier, a former European based footballer and Trinidad and Tobago utility player and captain, knows that although optimisms are high, realistically, the task ahead is no easy one.

“We have a lot of challenges. For instance, the surface (at the Cementos Progresso Stadium) is astro (artificial) turf and we mainly play on grass in Trinidad. Also the match is at the night when it is chilly in Guatemala and Comunicaciones are saying that we can only train at the venue from 4 pm. This time is really humid and nothing to what we are going to experience during the game.”

It will be a cold night for Central with rainfall expected in Guatemala City and temperatures expected between 21-20ºC during match-time. But things can get really chilly for Central if Comunicaciones can fill to near capacity the 17,022-seater Cementos Progresso Stadium.

Central arrived in Guatemala City on Monday afternoon with a 19-man squad that doesn’t include midfielders Jason Marcano and Sean de Silva, who were part of Russell’s team in the defeat to Galaxy.

Marcano is said to be unfit due to recent illness and De Silva, a former T&T Youth World Cup player is out with a level 2 groin tear.

The squad based at the Hilton Garden Inn, Guatemala City, includes Jan-Michael Williams, star veteran midfielder Marvin Oliver, who turned 40 earlier this month, Ataulla Guerra, Willis Plaza, Jamal Jack, Kaydion Gabriel, Darren Mitchell, Marcelle Francois, Nicholas Dillon, Akeem Benjamin, Keion Goodridge, Kevon Villaroel, Elton John, Nathaniel Garcia and Guyana national team goalkeeper Akel Clarke along with new signings Marcus Joseph and Ettienne from Point Fortin Civic, veteran attacker and Kerry Baptiste from San Juan Jabloteh, and ex W Connection and Caledonia forward, Tobagonian, Mickaeel Jem Gordon.

Central FC’s technical and management staff in Guatemala includes head coach Ross Russell, assistant coach Dale Saunders, physiotherapist Sheldon Scipio, equipment manager David Moses, football operations manager Anthony Rogier, assistant football operations manager Kevin Jeffrey, and marketing manager Derick Khan.

« Reply #743 on: August 27, 2015, 07:38:31 PM »
Central FC’s starting XI vs Comunicaciones:
21. Jan-Michael Williams (capt.), 12. Jamal Jack, 2. Elton John, 15. Kaydion Gabriel, 3. Keion Goodridge, 4. Andre Ettienne, 10. Marvin Oliver, 11. Darren Mitchell, 45. Ataulla Guerra, 99. Marcus Joseph, 33. Willis Plaza

Subs:
30. Akel Clarke (GK), 24. Kevon Villaroel, 17. Marcelle Francois, 6. Kerry Baptiste, 19. Nathaniel Garcia, 14. Nicholas Dillon, 26. Jem Gordon

« Reply #744 on: August 27, 2015, 08:07:19 PM »
any links plz

« Reply #745 on: August 27, 2015, 08:08:01 PM »
WATCH LIVE: Comunicaciones vs Central FC. Game started at 10:06pm EST.
https://streamup.com/zrivo24
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/guatecorazon-www-guatedecorazon-com

« Reply #746 on: August 27, 2015, 08:09:17 PM »
danke

« Reply #747 on: August 27, 2015, 08:14:25 PM »
Jan looks over weight

« Reply #748 on: August 27, 2015, 08:17:58 PM »
Jan looks over weight

Off-season business. Then he was injured in de Gold Cup. Either that or de jersey too tight.

« Reply #749 on: August 27, 2015, 08:18:10 PM »
brilliant header...goal for COM