April 23, 2024, 12:50:26 PM

Author Topic: Concacaf Champions League Thread.  (Read 111469 times)

Re: 2015/16 Concacaf Champions League Thread.
« Reply #750 on: August 27, 2015, 08:19:15 PM »
GOAL: Comunicaciones 1-0 Central. A header from a free-kick. The defender did not even challenge for the header.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2015, 08:25:59 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #751 on: August 27, 2015, 08:19:53 PM »
the service was top class also...

« Reply #752 on: August 27, 2015, 08:25:35 PM »
the service was top class also...

Yeh, but de defender closest to de goalscorer eh even contest de header.

« Reply #753 on: August 27, 2015, 08:26:50 PM »
well...what yuh go do ...hahah...the scorer actually had to lean his head back a bit...

great service will leave top defenders dead also...see it on tv all the time...

« Reply #754 on: August 27, 2015, 08:55:58 PM »

« Reply #755 on: August 27, 2015, 08:56:48 PM »
GOAL by Wilson Lalin of Comunicaciones in the 11th minute

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/OkMSk3zLqD8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/OkMSk3zLqD8</a>

« Reply #756 on: August 27, 2015, 09:01:47 PM »
Jan Williams....not fit...too fat. The #15 is not up the level.. #10 playing too deep in the midfield..unless he really playing#8....if that is the case there is no playmaker..The forwards could be dangerous only if they could get one ball going forward.

Overall improvement ..but can't string two passes together and their touch like brick.

Final score...2-0 Guatemala.

« Reply #757 on: August 27, 2015, 09:29:39 PM »
Jan Williams....not fit...too fat. The #15 is not up the level.. #10 playing too deep in the midfield..unless he really playing#8....if that is the case there is no playmaker..The forwards could be dangerous only if they could get one ball going forward.

Overall improvement ..but can't string two passes together and their touch like brick.

Final score...2-0 Guatemala.

Our cupboard for keepers can't be this bare...

« Reply #758 on: August 27, 2015, 09:39:43 PM »
This gives you some stats from the game. Central made more correct passes with greater accuracy.  a good sign for the home game?

http://www.concacaf.com/category/champions-league/game-detail/2377937

« Reply #759 on: August 27, 2015, 09:40:52 PM »
Plaza had at least two clear cut chances in the game so far, but could not make them count.

« Reply #760 on: August 27, 2015, 09:41:51 PM »
Central is actually playing well in this half. Should've scored on at least two occasions.

« Reply #761 on: August 27, 2015, 09:42:24 PM »
Plaza had at least two clear cut chances in the game so far, but could not make them count.
Exactly!

« Reply #762 on: August 27, 2015, 09:47:14 PM »
That was a great tackle!!  WTF? Red card?  :frustrated:

« Reply #763 on: August 27, 2015, 09:57:35 PM »
I doh understand de thinking behind those very, very late substitutions. Ah guess if either of them score it go look brilliant, but ah mean ...

« Reply #764 on: August 27, 2015, 10:03:33 PM »
Tallman we're thinking alike, 2 substitutions near the 90th minute. If we had the lead I can understand that to kill time but that too late to inject some fresh legs into the game.

« Reply #765 on: August 27, 2015, 10:05:11 PM »
Maybe they just run out of gas and, as you say, fresh legs could look good. I'm pleased young Dillon got on the pitch.
I hope we can get 4 or 5,000 to the home game. I think we have a good chance of stealing a win.

« Reply #766 on: August 27, 2015, 10:07:40 PM »
Go back to to practice ground and work on possession in the final third, finishing and pressing.

The keeper should wake up 530 a.m. for one week straight and go jogging for 2miles...cut out all fats and sugar from the diet.

« Reply #767 on: August 27, 2015, 10:10:53 PM »
Maybe they just run out of gas and, as you say, fresh legs could look good. I'm pleased young Dillon got on the pitch.
I hope we can get 4 or 5,000 to the home game. I think we have a good chance of stealing a win.
They definitely have a chance in the return leg. I wasn't trying to criticize the coach but I found it strange he made 2 changes that late being down a goal. They could've been tired but the changes might've been more effective 10-15 mins earlier.

« Reply #768 on: September 15, 2015, 04:20:50 PM »
CONCACAF Champions League do-or-die: Connection, Central host Saprissa and Comunicaciones, respectively
ttproleague.com

W Connection and Central FC are chasing their first points of the 2015/2016 CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) this week in must-win situations to keep alive virtually impossible mathematical chances of advancing out of the group stage.

Connection, coming off last Friday’s 1-0 loss to Central in the Digicel Charity Shield, will seek to avenge a 4-0 defeat at Deportivo Saprissa but knows it would be difficult when they host the Costa Ricans from 8pm on Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the second leg of their Group A fixture.

“We are looking for an upset,” said W Connection assistant coach Earl Jean. “Victory is on our mind because we have our name and Trinidad (and Tobago) to protect.

Jean, a former W Connection CCL striker, added, “It would very difficult because Saprissa are a very good team and very experienced. They have won the CONCACAF tournament a few times. We played them recently and know what they are capable of. We are just finishing off our pre-season but are quite confident at this stage.

Saprissa (6 points, 2-0-0), three-time winners and four-time runners-up in the CCL under its previous name, CONCACAF Champions Cup, climbed to the top of Group A with a 2-1 win over previous leaders Santos Laguna (3 points, 2-0-1) of Mexico at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium on August 25, while Connection occupies bottom of the three-team group without a point after two matches.

A loss or draw for the “Savonetta Boys” this week will end their chances of qualifying for the quarterfinal stage, as only the top team from each of the eight preliminary round groups will advance.

So too will be the case of Central if the “Couva Sharks” were to lose against visiting Comunicaciones of Guatemala on Thursday 17 September at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in their second leg Group D fixture.

“We had a great game against Comunicaciones in the first leg but we were a bit unlucky in not putting away our chances,” said Central FC head coach Ross Russell.

“We are aware that we must win big in our remaining two games if we are to keep our mathematical chance alive because LA Galaxy are at the top with ten goals to their name. Then we have to hope that Comunicaciones get a win against Galaxy in their final game.”

Like Connection, Central are at the bottom of their group without a point after two matches. Major League Soccer (MLS)’s LA Galaxy (6 points, 2-0-0) leads the group while Comunicaciones (3 points, 1-0-1) are second.

Russell continued, “The club (Central) is new to CONCACAF and it’s all about getting our feet wet. We need to win, which will be a good for the tournament. We know that Comunicaciones will not lie down because they too have a mathematical chance. But we are going all out to try and excite the tournament and Trinidad and Tobago.”

Central, suffering the effects off the offseason like Connection against the confederations top teams well into their respective domestic seasons, were flattened 5-1 at Galaxy on August 6 but were only edged 1-0 at Comunicaciones on August 27.

Jean expressed, “It was a difficult ask for us (W Connection) and Central being out of season and against the best teams in CONCACAF but we want to show what it’s really about at Connection in our remaining group matches.”

Both Pro League clubs will wrap up their group stage fixtures at the Hasely Crawford Stadium with Connection, who were defeated 4-0 at two-time CCL runners-up Santos on August 4, hosting the Mexicans on Tuesday 22 September in the second leg, while Central must host Galaxy on Wednesday 23 September.

Santos will welcome Saprissa in the final Group A match on October 20, and a day later, October 21, Comunicaciones will host Galaxy to complete Group D.

CONCACAF Champions League 2015/2016
Hasely Crawford Stadium
Wednesday 16 September 2015

W Connection vs Saprissa—8 pm

Thursday 17 September 2015
Central FC vs Comunicaciones—8 pm

Tuesday 22 September 2015
W Connection vs Santos Laguna—8 pm

Wednesday 23 September 2015
Central FC vs LA Galaxy—8 pm

« Reply #769 on: September 16, 2015, 05:09:35 PM »
CONCACAF Champions League do-or-die: Connection, Central host Saprissa and Comunicaciones, respectively
ttproleague.com

W Connection and Central FC are chasing their first points of the 2015/2016 CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) this week in must-win situations to keep alive virtually impossible mathematical chances of advancing out of the group stage.

Connection, coming off last Friday’s 1-0 loss to Central in the Digicel Charity Shield, will seek to avenge a 4-0 defeat at Deportivo Saprissa but knows it would be difficult when they host the Costa Ricans from 8pm on Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the second leg of their Group A fixture.

“We are looking for an upset,” said W Connection assistant coach Earl Jean. “Victory is on our mind because we have our name and Trinidad (and Tobago) to protect.

Jean, a former W Connection CCL striker, added, “It would very difficult because Saprissa are a very good team and very experienced. They have won the CONCACAF tournament a few times. We played them recently and know what they are capable of. We are just finishing off our pre-season but are quite confident at this stage.

Saprissa (6 points, 2-0-0), three-time winners and four-time runners-up in the CCL under its previous name, CONCACAF Champions Cup, climbed to the top of Group A with a 2-1 win over previous leaders Santos Laguna (3 points, 2-0-1) of Mexico at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium on August 25, while Connection occupies bottom of the three-team group without a point after two matches.

A loss or draw for the “Savonetta Boys” this week will end their chances of qualifying for the quarterfinal stage, as only the top team from each of the eight preliminary round groups will advance.

So too will be the case of Central if the “Couva Sharks” were to lose against visiting Comunicaciones of Guatemala on Thursday 17 September at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in their second leg Group D fixture.

“We had a great game against Comunicaciones in the first leg but we were a bit unlucky in not putting away our chances,” said Central FC head coach Ross Russell.

“We are aware that we must win big in our remaining two games if we are to keep our mathematical chance alive because LA Galaxy are at the top with ten goals to their name. Then we have to hope that Comunicaciones get a win against Galaxy in their final game.”

Like Connection, Central are at the bottom of their group without a point after two matches. Major League Soccer (MLS)’s LA Galaxy (6 points, 2-0-0) leads the group while Comunicaciones (3 points, 1-0-1) are second.

Russell continued, “The club (Central) is new to CONCACAF and it’s all about getting our feet wet. We need to win, which will be a good for the tournament. We know that Comunicaciones will not lie down because they too have a mathematical chance. But we are going all out to try and excite the tournament and Trinidad and Tobago.”

Central, suffering the effects off the offseason like Connection against the confederations top teams well into their respective domestic seasons, were flattened 5-1 at Galaxy on August 6 but were only edged 1-0 at Comunicaciones on August 27.

Jean expressed, “It was a difficult ask for us (W Connection) and Central being out of season and against the best teams in CONCACAF but we want to show what it’s really about at Connection in our remaining group matches.”

Both Pro League clubs will wrap up their group stage fixtures at the Hasely Crawford Stadium with Connection, who were defeated 4-0 at two-time CCL runners-up Santos on August 4, hosting the Mexicans on Tuesday 22 September in the second leg, while Central must host Galaxy on Wednesday 23 September.

Santos will welcome Saprissa in the final Group A match on October 20, and a day later, October 21, Comunicaciones will host Galaxy to complete Group D.

CONCACAF Champions League 2015/2016
Hasely Crawford Stadium
Wednesday 16 September 2015

W Connection vs Saprissa—8 pm

Thursday 17 September 2015
Central FC vs Comunicaciones—8 pm

Tuesday 22 September 2015
W Connection vs Santos Laguna—8 pm

Wednesday 23 September 2015
Central FC vs LA Galaxy—8 pm

Any streaming for this game?

« Reply #770 on: September 16, 2015, 06:11:42 PM »
the link I had on oletv say no game coming becz of technical issues.

anybody have a working link?

« Reply #771 on: September 16, 2015, 06:57:08 PM »
W Connection 1 (Kurt Frederick 34) v Deportivo Saprissa 1 (Daniel Colindres 38) - Half Time

« Last Edit: September 16, 2015, 07:01:45 PM by Flex »

« Reply #772 on: September 16, 2015, 07:44:58 PM »
Score!?

« Reply #773 on: September 16, 2015, 08:00:13 PM »
Score!?

W-Connection 2-1 Saprissa. One minute of regulation time left.

« Reply #774 on: September 16, 2015, 08:04:59 PM »
Final Score?

« Reply #775 on: September 16, 2015, 08:05:53 PM »
FINAL: W-Connection 2-1 Deportivo Saprissa. Goals by Kurt Frederick (34’) and Alvin Jones (82’) give W-Connection their first points in the 2015/16 CONCACAF Champions League. Saprissa’s lone item was scored by Daniel Colindres (38’).

« Reply #776 on: September 16, 2015, 08:06:51 PM »
Nice!

« Reply #777 on: September 16, 2015, 08:23:30 PM »
Glad for Connection. Congrats.

Online Peong

« Reply #778 on: September 16, 2015, 09:06:51 PM »
Wow, 3 points, well done!

« Reply #779 on: September 16, 2015, 09:40:53 PM »
Nah. Wait. Way all dem people come from? This game was played in Costa Rica or what? Nah. WConnection win a flipping game in the CCL? Look it going an snow in hell. What the motherneck I seeing here.