March 28, 2024, 04:10:04 AM

Author Topic: Concacaf Champions League Thread.  (Read 110454 times)

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: 2016/17 Concacaf Champions League Thread.
« Reply #960 on: August 25, 2016, 07:17:02 PM »
1-1 now. W Connection in total control then Cyrus make a foolish push in the box, the Honduran player was all to happy to go down and penalty was called.

« Reply #961 on: August 25, 2016, 09:09:58 PM »
u have the link orwa?

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #962 on: August 25, 2016, 09:23:54 PM »
Game ended 1-1

W Connection, Honduras Progreso play to draw
« Reply #963 on: August 26, 2016, 07:06:12 AM »
W Connection, Honduras Progreso play to draw
CONCACAF.com

DirecTV W Connection and visiting Honduras Progreso each earned their first point of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League by playing to a 1-1 Group A draw at Ato Boldon Stadium on Thursday.

St. Lucia international midfielder Malik St. Prix gave W Connection (0W-1D-0L, 1 point) the lead prior to the break with a brilliant strike, while Angel Tejeda's penalty kick equalized for Progreso (0-1-0, 1) early in the second half.

Both teams had lost their first group matches to idle Pumas (2-0-0, 6), which now holds a five-point cushion atop the table.

Enjoying a solid opening half, W Connection drew first blood in the 33rd minute.  A splendid back-heel pass by Dimitrie Apai rolled in the direction of the onrushing St. Prix, who fired a 22-yard shot into the upper left corner of the net for his first-career SCCL goal.

Had it not been for goalkeeper Woodrow West, the host would have gone into the locker room at halftime with a multiple-goal lead.  The Belize international denied Shackiel Henry early on and again with a finger-tip save in the 37th minute.  He also blocked St. Prix's half volley in the 34th minute.

Honduras Progreso knotted the score in the 50th minute with its first-ever SCCL goal.  Shortly after replacing Carlos Sanchez, Franklyn Morales was fouled by Daniel Cyrus in the box to draw a penalty kick.

Tejeda, who has two goals in the current Honduran Apertura season, converted the ensuing penalty, drilling his shot into the lower-right corner as goalkeeper Julani Archibald dove in the opposite direction.

In the 70th minute, Tejeda came within inches of giving Progreso the lead only to hit the left post.

Both goalkeepers stood out in the second half. West parried away Kurt Frederick's left-wing shot in the 60th minute and Archibald saved late efforts by Pedro Mencea and Fredixon Elvir.

After two matches on the road, Progreso returns home to welcome Pumas on September 15 and then W Connection on September 29.

Results

W Connection 1 (Malik St Prix 32), Honduras Progreso 1 (Angel Tejada 59 pen)

Teams

W Connection: 18.Julani Archibald (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 25.Daneil Cyrus (14.Andre Toussaint 73), 27.Jelani Peters, 2.Kurt Frederick; 8.Briel Thomas, 13.Hughtun Hector (captain); 43.Malik St Prix; 11.Neil Benjamin Jr (17.Aikim Andrews 73), 9.Shackiel Henry (4.Maurice Ford 46), 10.Dimitrie Apai,

Unused substitutes: 1.Terrence Lewis (GK), 20.Jamal Charles, 23.Kevon Goddard, 35.Jesus Perez.

Coach: Stuart Charles-Fevrier

Honduras Progreso: 27.Woodrow West (GK); 17.Dilmer Gutierrez, 22.Nixon Duarte, 21.Roy Smith; 1.Pastor Martinez (7.Luis Alvarado 12), 23.Pedro Mencia (12.Mariano Acevedo 65), 6.Juan Delgado (captain), 20.Leonardo Isaula, 31.Carlos Sanchez (15.Franklyn Morales 48); 11.Fredixon Elvir, 13.Angel Tejeda.

Unused substitutes: 29.Kelvin Castillo (GK); 2.Johny Rivera, 9.Darwin Bermudez, 10.Victor Moncado.

Coach: Hector Castellon

Referee: Baldomero Toledo (USA)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MTk--zHJ7Ps" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MTk--zHJ7Ps</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/X9jzw1Aa9sg?start=76" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/X9jzw1Aa9sg?start=76</a>
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 05:24:59 PM by Flex »

« Reply #964 on: September 14, 2016, 04:07:48 PM »
Pachuca 11 (MEX) Police United 0 (BEL). The highlights are scandalous.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2016, 04:09:40 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #965 on: September 14, 2016, 04:22:02 PM »
Pachuca 11 (MEX) Police United 0 (BEL). The highlights are scandalous.

BLM should recruit Pachuca.

Dem real beat up on Police

« Reply #966 on: September 23, 2016, 12:53:17 PM »
WATCH: Honduras Progreso vs W Connection Preview

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ypqBgbHAgQk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ypqBgbHAgQk</a>

WATCH: Vancouver Whitecaps vs Central FC Preview

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/pNV_GDFL7ws" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/pNV_GDFL7ws</a>

Far from home, Central FC looks to future
« Reply #967 on: September 28, 2016, 01:48:22 PM »
Far from home, Central FC looks to future
CONCACAF.com

There is no such thing as a meaningless game for Central FC.

Although the proud Sharks (0W-1D-1L, 1 point) were previously eliminated from contention for a berth in the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League quarterfinals with two Group C games left to play, they are looking to close out their campaign in style.

That means the focus on a trip to Vancouver is only on one thing – getting a win over the first-place Whitecaps (3-0-0, 9) on Wednesday night at BC Place.

“We want to win,” veteran goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams told CONCACAF.com. “Central FC is a team that prides themselves on getting positive results. We lost one game in Champions League so far, to Vancouver (1-0 on August 2) and that was the first time we suffered a defeat at home in Champions League to date.”

Despite the necessity to go through a qualifying process, two-time defending champion Central FC is already looking ahead to competing in next year’s SCCL. It views the game against Vancouver and next month’s finale at Sporting Kansas City (0-1-2, 1) as essential steps to strengthening a foundation for future challenges.

“We’re a young team and we know we have already been eliminated, but in order to be successful in the Champions League, you have to win games away from home,” stressed Williams. “We want to use these last two games to get positive results, to try to win the games, and use it as experience to go on and qualify for Champions League next year and hopefully come out of the group.”

Winning trophies is something Central has done quite well since being founded in 2012 and that is the objective again this season. Earlier this month, it overcame Defence Force to retain the Digicel Charity Shield. Williams made three saves in a penalty shootout in his first match back following shoulder surgery.

“We want to become the first team to win the domestic league title three times in a row,” the 31-year-old custodian finished. “We also want to continue along winning domestic cup trophies and also we want to not only qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League again, but to also win the Caribbean Cup championship.”

The quest for excellence starts once more; 4,400 miles away from home.

Confident W-Connection maintains CONCACAF Champions League dream
« Reply #968 on: September 29, 2016, 03:53:29 PM »
Confident W-Connection maintains CONCACAF Champions League dream
CONCACAF.com

Despite facing an uphill battle to reach the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League quarterfinals, DirecTV W Connection remains optimistic that it can achieve its goal of winning Group A.

The Savonetta Boys (0W-1D-1L, 1 point) will get an opportunity to secure three points Thursday, when it visits Honduras Progreso (1-1-1, 4) in San Pedro Sula.

A win would set up an October 20 confrontation at first-place Pumas (2-0-1, 6) in Mexico City, while a draw would eliminate the Trinidad & Tobago side. Honduras Progreso (1-1-1, 4), however, would assume the group lead with a win of its own.

"The preparation is very good," said captain Hughtun Hector. "We know what they have, what they can do. We have a lot of skill. We are trying to get a win, so we can go to Mexico and do the business to get a result."

Added goalkeeper Julani Archibald: "We're very confident."

W Connection has never reached the SCCL knockout phase.

"It would mean a lot to us," Hector expressed. "I think we can win these two games and create history."

Although W Connection won't start its 2016/17 TT Pro League season until an October 4 visit to fellow SCCL side Central FC, the squad has trained six days a week since its 1-1 home draw against Progreso on August 25.

"It's a good thing and a bad thing," Archibald said in reference to the preseason program. "Good thing [because] it keeps us from injury, but bad thing because we are not getting match games."

Archibald faces a busy schedule in the Caribbean Cup third round when St. Kitts and Nevis visits French Guiana on October 8 and hosts Haiti three days later. The Group 2 winner will qualify for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

"We have good chemistry and have a good understanding," Archibald commented. "So everybody gets along well. That is our strength."

If St. Kitts reaches the Gold Cup for the first time, Archibald remarked that "it would be a huge, huge accomplishment. The whole island would be extremely proud of us."

« Reply #969 on: September 29, 2016, 08:59:38 PM »
Any score so far?

« Reply #970 on: September 29, 2016, 11:50:31 PM »
They beat us 1-0

« Reply #971 on: September 30, 2016, 03:08:47 AM »
Honduras Progreso beats W Connection, takes over Group A lead.
CONCACAF.COM.

Victor Moncada scored his third goal of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League to lift Honduras Progreso (2W-1D-1L, 7 points) to the top of Group A with a 1-0 victory over visiting DirecTV W Connection (0-1-2, 1) on Thursday at the Estadio Francisco Morazan.

Progreso completes their first-ever SCCL group phase with wins in their final two home matches to take a one-point lead over Pumas (2-0-1, 6).

To qualify for the quarterfinals, the Diablos must now hope W Connection can defeat Pumas in Mexico City in the final Group A match on October 20. Pumas would reach the quarters with a victory or a draw, since it currently owns the better goal difference (+3 to 0).

W Connection was officially eliminated from contention, while failing to score for the first time this tournament. The Savonetta Boys could’ve kept hopes of their first knockout phase appearance alive with an away victory, but despite outshooting the host 21-15, they rarely forced goalkeeper Woodrow West into an above-average effort for any of his eight saves.

After posting a brace in Honduras Progreso’s first home SCCL match, a 2-1 win over Pumas, Moncada provided an encore Thursday.

This time, he broke through in the 18th minute after taking Angel Tejada’s pass near the left side of the penalty arc. Moncada then dribbled right toward the top of the arc, then unleashed a shot that dipped and squirmed beneath the dive of goalkeeper Julani Archibald.

After halftime, Dimitrie Apai came closest to equalizing for the visitors, though he couldn’t direct either of his best chances on target.

In the 76th minute, his dipping strike induced a diving stop from West, though replays suggested the effort was heading wide of the left post.

Five minutes later, Apai failed to capitalize on a 3-on-1 break, blasting an effort high and wide of a seemingly open goal.

Between those chances, Progreso’s Mariano Acevedo nearly doubled the lead, with Archibald reacting at the last moment to push the swerving long-range attempt around the left post.

Teams

W Connection: 18.Julani Archibald (GK); 16.Alvin Jones (Yellow 10), 25.Daneil Cyrus, 27.Jelani Peters, 2.Kurt Frederick; 8.Briel Thomas (23.Kevon Goddard 70th), 13.Hughtun Hector (20.Jamal Charles 78th), 3.Gerard Williams; 43.Malik St Prix; 11.Neil Benjamin Jr (17.Aikim Andrews 66th), 10.Dimitrie Apai.

Coach: Stuart Charles-Fevrier

Honduras Progreso: 27.Woodrow West (GK); 22.Nixon Duarte, 21.Roy Smith, 6.Juan Delgado, 7.Luis Alvarado, 8.Jorge Cardona, 10.Victor Moncado (17.Dilmer Gutierrez 84th), 12.Mariano Acevedo, 31.Carlos Sanchez, 11.Fredixon Elvir (15.Franklyn Morales 62nd), 13.Angel Tejeda (Yellow 66) (23.Pedro Mencia 69th).

Coach: Hector Castellon.

« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 03:47:08 AM by Flex »

« Reply #972 on: September 30, 2016, 09:15:05 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of W-Connection’s 1-0 loss to Honduras Progreso

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/eHnWaUOXh6Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/eHnWaUOXh6Q</a>

« Reply #973 on: September 30, 2016, 09:18:20 AM »
Keeper allow that one to slip thru!

« Reply #974 on: September 30, 2016, 09:32:31 AM »
If you have ears then listen up. You cannot plant corn and expect to reap peas. Poor quality football reaps loses. A visionary once said that "football in Trinidad is poor" People laughed at and scorned this man. Well, he ain't so funny now. I mean, c'mon, teams from Trinidad have been trying to win a real tournament, the CFU is not a real tournament, outside of the pro league for years with no success consistently, when is a football team going to get their sh#t together?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 09:36:35 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #975 on: September 30, 2016, 06:20:14 PM »
WATCH: Central FC midfielder Sean de Silva’s exquisite free-kick against Vancouver Whitecaps is adjudged to be the Best Goal of the Week

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/bRtXMcs1kv0?start=90" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/bRtXMcs1kv0?start=90</a>

WATCH: W-Connection goalkeeper Julani Archibald comes in at #3 on the Best Saves of the Week

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/hy4BSYJJvmA?start=43" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/hy4BSYJJvmA?start=43</a>

« Reply #976 on: September 30, 2016, 07:33:09 PM »
If you have ears then listen up. You cannot plant corn and expect to reap peas. Poor quality football reaps loses. A visionary once said that "football in Trinidad is poor" People laughed at and scorned this man. Well, he ain't so funny now. I mean, c'mon, teams from Trinidad have been trying to win a real tournament, the CFU is not a real tournament, outside of the pro league for years with no success consistently, when is a football team going to get their sh#t together?
i agree 100%. these teams do the same thing every year, they lose or draw at home and gets destroyed away from home on the return leg. it's actually insanity to expect anything more from these players knowing they play in a very disorganized low paying league which is inactive for most of the year.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 07:35:14 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #977 on: October 01, 2016, 07:45:33 AM »
The league is not inactive for most of the year. I find it was too long for a ten team league. Too boring. And the issue of home fields not available for the home fans does not cater for areal home and away fixture. Yes the league "eh good" but TT teams does win the CFU champs on a regular basis. So what does that say about Caribbean football.

« Reply #978 on: October 01, 2016, 11:24:19 AM »
The league is not inactive for most of the year. I find it was too long for a ten team league. Too boring. And the issue of home fields not available for the home fans does not cater for areal home and away fixture. Yes the league "eh good" but TT teams does win the CFU champs on a regular basis. So what does that say about Caribbean football.
It ain't worth sh#t. It's just a stepping stone to the CCL. CONCACAF says these CFU teams have to play in a tournament to qualify for the next level and that's the only reason for the CFU tournament, but, and what I am about to say here is gonna hurt some people, any team coming out of the CFU and calling themselves champion is a paper tiger. When the big boys in the CCL see a team from the CFU, they know that 85% of the time that all it is is just a good sweat, and 15% might be giving too much credit to that paper tiger, the big boys know that's 3 points in the bag for them unless they screw up and take them for granted and get slap with an "L".
Real talk. No team coming out of the CFU, and that includes the paper tiger, is gonna scare anybody. It's not like they are blessed with coaches of Pep Guardiola like stature or blessed with Barcelona-esque tactical plans or even players with Messi like technical genius, no none of that, not even close to anything that resembles quality, it's just a f#%king joke.
And another thing about the CFU, nobody wants to watch that shit because of the poor quality of the teams coming out of that tournament, and until you have teams from the CFU that can beat the big boys in the CCL, consistently, it will always be that way, poor, just like the TT Pro Cemetery.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 11:48:54 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #979 on: October 01, 2016, 01:15:20 PM »
Well King, this has been the case from the inception of Concacaf, wether club or country. In th 70s when there was no money in the CCL, Caribbean teams, Robin Hood, Transvaal, TTDF, TTpolice, VioletsHaiti made the semis and final. Then when the US started pumping money into the tournament, things change. We can't compete. Our clubs can't match not even the Central American clubs when it come to getting money to run a pro clubs. People who have money not interested in pro football. If that was the case they would have formed their own team or get behind one of the struggling clubs in the pro league. Arthur Suite was one of the few men who seemed to have the passion, but eventually he bowed out for reasons, I don't know. Right now, DJW, is the man with the passion. I know many of this forum have issue with him. Right or wrong, he has the passion. I think the reason his team has not gone any further, has to do with coaching. connection has an Arsenal-Wenger scenario. I have no issue with the coach, but maybe they need some kind of change. Connection just static. Wonderful organization by TT standards, but like you said, when it come to the next level they not there.

Now, like I does say to all those who know better, that they should either form and enter their own team. Or back one of the other teams. You must have long pocket. If you don't, then don't waste you friggin time. Put up or shut up. The proleague is a de facto govt football league. If they pull the subventions, no pro league. Is back to super league football. Then what?

Offline ffisback

« Reply #980 on: October 02, 2016, 12:49:09 AM »
Well King, this has been the case from the inception of Concacaf, wether club or country. In th 70s when there was no money in the CCL, Caribbean teams, Robin Hood, Transvaal, TTDF, TTpolice, VioletsHaiti made the semis and final. Then when the US started pumping money into the tournament, things change. We can't compete. Our clubs can't match not even the Central American clubs when it come to getting money to run a pro clubs. People who have money not interested in pro football. If that was the case they would have formed their own team or get behind one of the struggling clubs in the pro league. Arthur Suite was one of the few men who seemed to have the passion, but eventually he bowed out for reasons, I don't know. Right now, DJW, is the man with the passion. I know many of this forum have issue with him. Right or wrong, he has the passion. I think the reason his team has not gone any further, has to do with coaching. connection has an Arsenal-Wenger scenario. I have no issue with the coach, but maybe they need some kind of change. Connection just static. Wonderful organization by TT standards, but like you said, when it come to the next level they not there.

Now, like I does say to all those who know better, that they should either form and enter their own team. Or back one of the other teams. You must have long pocket. If you don't, then don't waste you friggin time. Put up or shut up. The proleague is a de facto govt football league. If they pull the subventions, no pro league. Is back to super league football. Then what?
Except for Mexico in the 70s and 80s most leagues in the CONCACAF was basically semi pro leagues in the 90s the leagues in Costa Rica and U S A started turning fully professional and now the rest of leagues in central America are doing the same .

The pro league is just pro by name nothing about it is professional what so ever the coach of W connection is DJW brother in law so he can't get fired I had high hopes for central fc when Sancho hired coach's like T Fennick who proved he knows how to build a club and Z Vanes who proved he can coach on the international level the only 2 good coach's in the country but when he started hiring local coach's he pretty much condemned central fc to mediocracy just like w connection they will just have to settle for Caribbean trophies.   

« Reply #981 on: October 02, 2016, 06:58:15 AM »
Ffsback, I think some of us are being harsh on the local coaches. OK, they are not up to the standards of a foreign coach. But they are the ones doing the initial coaching of our players. We have seen one or two superstars, and recently, a whole lot of "duds". I don't know how to address this issue. One way to resolve the local coaching problem is for TTFA, the proleague, and the govt, thru UTT, to form a coaching curriculum. Hire instructions from overseas to teach classes, coach, have exams for coaching badges. The other part of this equation is for players playing abroad to get their coaching while they playing. The time that they have free should be trying get the certificates. That is if they are serious about coaching. Is KJ doing anything like that. Whether or not allyuh like it, local coaches will always be a fixture in TT football. Nothing is stopping the proleague teams from hiring a foreign coach. But if you taking a govt subvention, how is that possible for you to hire a foreign coach. Vranes and Fenwick are caught in the local syndrome because they live here. They have the expertise which they acquired while playing in their home countries. When they come here, the impediments to full success is the same impediments that is hampering the local coaches. Lack of resources.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 08:24:44 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #982 on: October 02, 2016, 10:09:26 AM »

Deeks, you asked a question, when I answered your question, you tell me to shut up. You say nothing is stopping local teams from hiring foreign coaches but then you so eloquently explained what is stopping local teams from hiring foreign coaches. Then you are wondering if my pockets are long I should put up but if I am poor I should stay in my corner and shut up. That's something Jack Warner would say to people who are not as rich as he is or was. Then you want me to join a team, enter my own team in a dead league, support a team in a dead league or don't waste my time. All because you asked a question and I answered it. I didn't say what you wanted to hear so now you think I should shut up or put up.
Bro man, if you going to ask people a question, don't tell them to shut up or put up when they answer your question, that's like telling someone to call tomorrow today.
Don't ask the question, Deeks, and you won't get an answer.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 10:12:30 AM by King Deese »

« Reply #983 on: October 02, 2016, 10:28:40 AM »
Now , since you seem to be interested in the "if" game, lemme say this to you. If I had long pockets like you so eloquently put it, I would not invest my money in a cemetery, would you? I know it may seem like a brilliant investment to you but I wouldn't invest in the dead. Yes, I know people die every minute of every day, I am just saying, but I wouldn't do it.
I am saying that to say this. The pro league, as you call it, is like a cemetery, it's a dead zone, where the beautiful game is either dying or its dead. You remember why the pro league was started....it was started on the whim of a con man. Looking back, it seemed like a good decision at the time, but fast forward it years later and the league has not grown in so many ways. In fact, it is the worst pro league in the region by pro league standards. To be the best league you have to beat the best teams from the best league, the Mexicans. Currently, the pro league is ranked the 10th best league in the region with no other league behind it. So Deeks, like I said before, if I had long pockets, I would be wrong to invest my hard earned cash money in something I will not benefit from.
P.S. You could start by hiring a full time commissioner for the league and get rid of the zero you currently have as your commissioner.

« Reply #984 on: October 02, 2016, 10:40:32 AM »
King you wouldn't invest in a cemetery but you sure seem to invest a lot of time and energy to thinking about and posting in topics about said cemetery.

All this time and energy you putting, I can't see how you benefiting. So I struggling to understand why a smart fella like yourself wasting all your own time.

« Reply #985 on: October 02, 2016, 05:06:08 PM »
King, TT football has changed. People like football. They don't love it with the passion of the past. People who used to go football in the past for the love of game, old. They hitting 60 and 70. The new generation have other attractions. Plus the demographic that play the most football have serious issues. The communities of east POS and east of POS are dangerous when the night come. Gang, gun, drug culture has split the Black communities. Players from those communities have been attacked. One can't walk from one street to the next. Potential players drink and smoke too much. We have super predators killing we own. The older people from those communities used to flock the Savannah, St. Mary's ground( old  POSFL), Geov(Mandela Park), the Oval, PSA to play and see football. That is no longer the case. what would bring people back to POS to see football? I have a brilliant idea for the Savannah, but the old colonials would go to the Privy Council to stop it.

« Reply #986 on: October 19, 2016, 06:08:34 PM »
WATCH LIVE: Sporting Kansas City vs Central FC

NOTE: Keron Cummings is in the starting lineup.

« Reply #987 on: October 19, 2016, 07:06:50 PM »
WATCH: Mickaeel Jem Gordon's goal gives Central FC a 1-0 half-time lead over Sporting Kansas City. Nice reverse pass by Sean De Silva.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ohqPvgK424c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ohqPvgK424c</a>

« Reply #988 on: October 19, 2016, 07:52:50 PM »
Hard game to watch.

Something is missing from our teams when we compete in Champions League play. Its not fitness, those fellas had to chase the game for most of the 90. Defended doggedly for the most part but were never in the game.

Just a number of poor decisions, poor passing in particular. Coaches like Saunders will win Pro League every year but another poor campaign even with a talented squad.

Btw Cummings was subbed after about 70 minutes, i haven't seen him complete 90 mins in the Champions League, can't say for the Pro League.

Sporting Kansas City earns 3-1 comeback victory over Central FC
« Reply #989 on: October 20, 2016, 07:01:11 AM »
Sporting Kansas City earns 3-1 comeback victory over Central FC
By Sam Kovzan (sportingkc.com)

Cameron Porter, Nansel Selbol and Connor Hallisey scored their first Sporting Kansas City goals on Wednesday to spark a 3-1 comeback victory over Central FC in the 2016-17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League.

Porter restored parity in the 49th minute — cancelling out Jem Gordon’s first-half opener — before Sporting Kansas City Academy product Selbol decided the match in the 55th minute with a superb strike on his senior team debut. Hallisey added a penalty kick in second-half stoppage time to draw the curtains on a comfortable evening at Children’s Mercy Park.

Despite the win, Sporting Kansas City's Champions League run comes to an end after finishing second in Group C behind Vancouver Whitecaps FC, who will advance to next year's knockout rounds with seven other first-place finishers from the group stage.

With a pivotal MLS regular season finale beckoning this weekend, Sporting Kansas City Manager Peter Vermes made wholesale changes to his lineup from Sunday's 0-0 draw at Real Salt Lake. Four players earned their Sporting Kansas City debuts, namely September signing Benji Joya and Swope Park Rangers trio Tomas Granitto, Alex Molano and Selbol, who signed short-term loan agreements earlier this week.

Molano created the first opportunity of the night after just six minutes, squeezing a through ball to Porter on the right side of the box. The 23-year-old forward fired low and on frame, but Trinidad and Tobago international goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams was equal to it.

Three minutes later, Nuno Coelho went agonizingly close to scoring his first goal since the opening day of the 2016 MLS season. The Portuguese center back latched onto Molano’s looping free kick and planted a header that bounced off the post and back into the six-yard area. Hallisey’s rebound effort from point-blank range was cleared off the line, much to the chagrin of the home supporters.

Hallisey asked further questions of the Central defense in the 34th minute, cutting into the middle from the right wing and teeing up a Selbol strike that lacked direction to beat Williams. The Sharks’ goalkeeper thwarted Hallisey shortly thereafter, advancing off his line to smother a shot from a tight angle.

Central FC went ahead in the 43rd minute, firmly against the run of play. Sean De Silva held the ball on the left edge of the box and fed the on-running Jem Gordon, who slotted low past Alec Kann to give the Sharks a shock lead.

Sporting Kansas City’s dominance paid dividends four minutes after the restart. Granitto’s perfectly weighted ball over the top was chested down inside the box by Porter, who struck low across the goalkeeper and into the left corner for his second career goal in the CONCACAF Champions League. Granitto tallied an assist on his Sporting KC debut, his first since joining the Swope Park Rangers at the beginning of 2016.

Selbol translated Sporting Kansas City’s newfound momentum into a brilliant go-ahead goal in the 55th minute. The 19-year-old settled a square pass from Hallisey, took a touch to the middle and rifled low into the right corner with lethal precision from 20 yards.

High on confidence, Selbol almost bagged a stunning second goal four minutes later. His cleanly hit volley from an Ever Alvarado cross beat Williams but struck the post, drawing a collective gasp from the 11,367 in attendance. Selbol was denied by the woodwork a second time in the 77th minute, side-footing between a defender’s legs and onto the face of the right upright.

Hallisey added gloss to the result with an expertly taken penalty kick in the 91st minute after Porter was chopped down inside the box.

Sporting Kansas City: 25. Alec Kann; 24. Ever Alvarado, 12. Nuno Coelho, 3. Ike Opara (C), 94. Jimmy Medranda; 13. Benji Joya, 44. Tomas Granitto (16. Lawrence Olum 70), 92. Alex Molano; 22. Connor Hallisey, 39. Cameron Porter, 31. Nansel Selbol
Subs Not Used: 1. Jon Kempin, 4. Kevin Ellis, 17. Saad Abdul-Salaam, 23. Emmanuel Appiah, 77. Tyler Pasher

Central FC: 21. Jan-Michael Williams; 15. Kaydion Gabriel (11. Darren Mitchell 59), 5. Keston George, 4. Andre Ettienne, 24. Kevon Villaroel; 10. Keron Cummings (99. Marcus Joseph 71), 6. Leston Paul, 19. Nathaniel Garcia, 8. Sean De Silva (7. Jason Marcano 78); 26. Mickaeel Jem Gordon, 17. Johan Peltier
Subs Not Used: 1. Javon Sample

Misconduct Summary:
None

Scoring Summary:
CFC -- Jem Gordon 1 (Sean De Silva 1) 43
SKC -- Cameron Porter 1 (Tomas Granitto 1) 49
SKC -- Nansel Selbol 1 (Connor Hallisey 1) 55
SKC -- Connor Hallisey 1 (penalty kick) 91+

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/RT84BG5XhM4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/RT84BG5XhM4</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2016, 10:09:08 AM by Tallman »