April 18, 2024, 03:07:13 AM

Author Topic: Java 24 error msg  (Read 5118 times)

Offline fari

• Hero Warrior
    • View Profile
Java 24 error msg
« on: July 04, 2012, 07:02:41 PM »
So i find mehself learning Java, mind you i have no background but i am determined to learn at least the basics (job and other reasons).  I started a do it yourself book yesterday but for the first two lessons when i type in the code and hit run i get an error msg:

No build target is associated with Run action. The free-form project requires a target representing the Run action to invoke in your Ant script. Select the target to invoke.

any ideas??

Offline lefty

• Hero Warrior
  • would u like to buy an 'O'.........
    • View Profile
Re: Java 24 error msg
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2012, 09:14:07 AM »
first of what Integrated development environment (IDE) are u using, if any, the build target I am guessing.....is where your classes and or jar files are build to, if u are requirred to use an ant build script then that script must have a build target specified in it......I personally don't know anything about ant scripts beyond running them in IDEs that support them and even then I prefer the the realtime java builder on my IDE which is eclipse than have to mess with build scripts.... atleast until I feel the need to deploy my apps publicly any ways

have u tried compiling and running your code from the command interface on your OS?

I have googled your error though, it seems quite general in nature, so it could be anything from broken code, a missing path or variable in your development environment...in short..... yuh have to give more info :)
« Last Edit: July 05, 2012, 09:17:45 AM by lefty »
I pity the fool....

Offline fari

• Hero Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2012, 11:22:25 AM »