April 30, 2024, 07:58:10 PM

Author Topic: Large Hadron Collider sets atom-smashing record  (Read 3698 times)

Large Hadron Collider sets atom-smashing record
« on: March 30, 2010, 06:07:48 AM »
Large Hadron Collider sets atom-smashing record

Alexander G. Higgins The Associated Press

GENEVA -The world’s largest atom smasher has set a record for high-energy collisions by crashing two proton beams at three times more force than ever before.

The $10 billion Large Hadron Collider directed the beams into each other Tuesday (March 30, 2010) as part of its ambitious bid to reveal details about theoretical particles and microforces.

The collisions start a new era of science for researchers working on the machine below the Swiss-French border at Geneva.

Scientists at a control room at the European Organization for Nuclear Research, or CERN, broke into applause when the first successful collisions were recorded. Their colleagues from around the world were tuning in by remote links.

edit: added today's date

« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 06:51:28 AM by pecan »

Re: Large Hadron Collider sets atom-smashing record
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2010, 06:24:34 AM »
wasnt that the machine the doom n gloom crowd say was going and to spin the earth into oblivion??

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2010, 06:47:27 AM »
Yeah same one. They going and shut it down next year for repairs they say.

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2010, 06:52:55 AM »
they now have to analayze the data and see if they find new sub-atomic particles.  Maybe, they will find evidence of God.

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2010, 07:12:21 AM »
They gonna create a black hole that will destroy our immediate universe.
Say yuh prayers.

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2010, 11:13:22 AM »
This could be the making of a really good movie  :thumbsup:

« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2010, 12:29:54 PM »
They looking for dark matter

"Some scientists believe the record setting experiment at the Large Hadron Collider could provide insights into the mysterious substance known as dark matter—believed by many to be the foundational fabric of the universe. "
read more http://www.informationweek.com/news/hardware/supercomputers/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=224200897

« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2010, 12:35:52 PM »

with Jeff Goldblum in it.

« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2010, 12:53:12 PM »

... who turns into a fly

« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2010, 12:55:32 PM »

... who turns into a fly
  make the movie real scary, make him turn into a catholic priest in a elementary school

« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2010, 01:16:30 PM »

... who turns into a fly
  make the movie real scary, make him turn into a catholic priest in a elementary school

make the movie real scary, make him turn into a Roman  Catholic priest in a elementary school

who yuh go cast as the students? you or Just Cool?

« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2010, 01:53:28 PM »

... who turns into a fly

make the movie real scary, make him turn into a Roman  Catholic priest in a elementary school

I suggest you and westcoast...sorry, my bad dem priests eh like little girls....again my humblest apologies!

« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2010, 01:56:43 PM »
hahaha

« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2010, 01:59:04 PM »

« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2010, 02:41:36 PM »

... who turns into a fly

I suggest you and westcoast...sorry, my bad dem priests eh like little girls....again my humblest apologies!

« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2010, 03:36:53 PM »

Allyuh like real shit boy, lol

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2010, 08:33:45 PM »

... who turns into a fly

no lie
allya does be REAL insufferable at times :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2012, 05:46:46 PM »
Higgs boson can’t hide: ‘end-game’ approaching in hunt for ‘God particle’

Published On Wed Mar 07 2012

Robert Evans Reuters News Agency

GENEVA- Physicists investigating the make-up of the universe said on Wednesday they were closing in on the long-sought but elusive Higgs boson they believe was key to turning debris from the Big Bang into stars, planets and finally life.

Large Hadron Collider tuns up power

The researchers spoke after the U.S. Fermilab laboratory reported that it had spotted likely signs of the particle. The European CERN research centre saw similar signals late last year.

“The end-game is approaching in the hunt for the Higgs boson,” said Jim Siegrist, Associate Director for High Energy Physics at the Department of Energy in Washington, which oversees Fermilab operations.

“It is good to see all the signs lining up,” said CERN spokesman James Gillies, while Oliver Buechmueller of the centre's CMS experiment said: “It seems we are getting closer and closer ... this summer is going to be very hot.”

But they all insisted it was much too early to claim a formal discovery, which would fill in the last major gap in the so-called Standard Model of particle physics which has underpinned science's view of the cosmos for 40 years.

Existence of the boson, and its linked particle field, was posited in 1964 by Briton Peter Higgs who argued a mechanism must exist that turned matter into mass after the primeval explosion that created the universe 13.7 billion years ago.

The search only began in earnest in the 1980s, first in Fermilab's Tevatron particle collider and later in a similar machine at CERN, but most intensively since 2010 with the start-up of the European centre's Large Hadron Collider (LHC).

In December last year, after only 18 months of operations, CMS and its LHC sister research team ATLAS reported “tantalizing glimpses” of what could well be the Higgs in the product of tens of millions of particle collisions in the collider.

The collisions, at a tiny fraction under the speed of light, recreate in miniature the type of events that occurred immediately after the Big Bang, all monitored and recorded by computers.

The latest turn in the Higgs saga came at an annual scientific gathering, the Moriond Conference, in the Italian Alpine ski resort of La Thuile with scientists from the Tevatron coming up with near-final measurements from their machine.

These, emerging from study of the recordings of the final collisions in the Tevatron before it was closed down last September, showed Higgs-like phenomena in the same energy range as the LHC, 115 to 130 Giga electron-Volts (GeV).

Italian researcher and blogger Tomasso Dorigo, who works with both CERN and Fermilab, said the independent but similar results from differing experiments “does raise the odds to which I am willing to bet that the Higgs is there.”

Pauline Gagnon, a scientist with the ATLAS team at CERN who is attending the Moriond meeting, provided a vivid illustration of what the latest information means.

“This is a bit like seeing the first pimples when a child develops chicken pox. Until she is covered with them, despite some early tell-tale signs, it is too early for a definitive diagnosis,” she wrote on her blog.

Scientists are now looking to the next few months at the subterranean LHC—in which during a winter break engineers have sharply boosted the total collision energy—to come up with conclusive proof that Peter Higgs, now 82, was right.

The giant circular machine, the largest single scientific experiment ever mounted, is expected to start running again in mid-March and stay in operation until November. “The excitement is mounting,” said Buechmueller.

« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2012, 05:48:29 PM »
A Higgs Boson walks into a church. The priest looks up and says "I'm sorry we don't allow your type in here"

The Higgs Boson replies "But without me, how can you have mass?"

« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2012, 02:43:35 PM »
A Higgs Boson walks into a church. The priest looks up and says "I'm sorry we don't allow your type in here"

[/quot

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! ;)

« Reply #20 on: July 04, 2012, 06:07:26 AM »
News today is that they have discovered the God particle.

Higgs boson-like particle discovery claimed at LHC
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-18702455
« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 09:16:17 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #21 on: July 04, 2012, 08:32:37 PM »

milestone event in physics. It is times like this that I wished I had pursued a career in physics.

« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2012, 01:54:38 AM »

milestone event in physics. It is times like this that I wished I had pursued a career in physics.

hahahahahahaha  Science and not religion that makes this world go around.

« Reply #23 on: July 05, 2012, 04:10:07 AM »

haha back.  They are not mutually exclusive   ;)

« Reply #24 on: July 05, 2012, 09:40:05 AM »

To religious crack pots they are...besides the Haldron has not yet proven that insidious theory that a god, God or gods exist.

« Reply #25 on: July 05, 2012, 05:01:30 PM »

To religious crack pots they are...besides the Haldron has not yet proven that insidious theory that a god, God or gods exist.

did the folks at CERN ever set out to prove the existence of God? I though they wanted to validate or invalidate the standard model of physics?

Plus, I read that the term "the God particle' had nothing to do with God.

The draft title of a book by Nobel physicist Leon Lederman was "The Goddamn Particle". This book described the frustration of trying to find Higgs. But the publisher felt it would offend people so they renamed it "The God Particle".  Not a damn thing to do with religion.

« Reply #26 on: July 05, 2012, 09:44:34 PM »
who said any such thing?  I was merely pointing out that religion contributes ziltch to making life better!

« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2012, 06:55:58 AM »
who said any such thing?  I was merely pointing out that religion contributes ziltch to making life better!

I know many people who would dispute your statement. For you and many it may be true but for many others, religion does make life better.

to each his own.