April 26, 2024, 04:52:57 PM

Author Topic: Spalk and the COP  (Read 1019 times)

Spalk and the COP
« on: July 08, 2012, 10:21:47 PM »
No disciplinary action against Anil, says Ramadhar
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/No_disciplinary_action_against_Anil__says_Ramadhar-161747245.html

July 8, 2012
The Congress of the People (COP) has no intention of taking disciplinary action against Minister of Sport and COP member Anil Roberts, for his continued criticism of the party's leadership, Political Leader Prakash Ramadhar said yesterday.

Roberts criticised Ramadhar following the demolition of the Highway Re-Route Movement camp in Debe two weeks ago, saying that the party was being run in an "eccentric" manner and that he (Roberts) may reconsider where he belonged.

Asked whether Roberts' continued digs at him would lead to disciplinary action Ramadhar said: "That member's utterances is subject of national attention and therefore he is defining himself by his actions. The party's position is we have to be disciplined, we have to be conscious of the example we set for children and how we strengthen the respect for leaders and politicians in the society, and let the society ask the questions as to who really deserves to be in political space. So we allow persons to show their true colours at this point in time."

He said although Roberts comments has potential to "temporarily hurt" the party this can only happen if the real vision of the party is not understood.

"We believe in free speech, we believe in democracy and your right to succeed or your right to prove yourself a failure. The COP is here to stay and there are many who will come and go. Sometimes we wish they would go quicker, but we allow that process to take its course," he said.

The party's vice chairman Vernon De Lima said they have not seen Roberts at COP meetings for the past two years.

"When you look for him you can't find him and he's been invited to every meeting we have had."

The COP National Council decided at it's meeting yesterday that elections for their national executive will be held on October 28, Ramadhar said.

—Camille Bethel

Re: Spalk and the COP
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 05:43:22 AM »
I eh know why the COP even bothering to put up appearances any more.  Anybody even have time with dem so??   Steups!!!

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 01:55:13 PM »
BACK TO OUR REGULAR SCHEDULE PROGRAMME.

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2012, 04:27:53 PM »
Anil is UNC all the way. COP eh C that yet?