March 28, 2024, 11:56:33 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad and Tobago Citizenship.  (Read 5754 times)

Trinidad and Tobago Citizenship.
« on: July 11, 2012, 10:03:18 AM »
I just got my US Citizenship, my question is.

1. Do I still have T&T citizenship and rights.

2. What privileges do I lose as a Trinidadian by becoming a US Citizen.

3. Can I return home and live when ever I feel to, can I buy a home etc etc.

« Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 10:07:38 AM by Sam »

Online Tallman

Re: Trinidad and Tobago Citizenship.
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 01:33:24 PM »
1. Yes
2. Yuh cyar become ah government minister
3. Yes

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2012, 09:45:16 AM »
Thanks Tallmna, but I heard differently. I will try and see if I can get back the website...

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2013, 10:57:53 PM »
1. Yes
3. Yes

Strange, I know a Canadian citizen with a Can passport who ran in a bye election a few yrs ago.
Now I guess he have TT citizenship becz he grew up in TT and his father is TT. But perhaps it's different for bye elections.

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2013, 12:04:05 AM »
1. Yes
3. Yes

Strange, I know a Canadian citizen with a Can passport who ran in a bye election a few yrs ago.
Now I guess he have TT citizenship becz he grew up in TT and his father is TT. But perhaps it's different for bye elections.

A bye-election is an election governed by the same prevailing authority. Hello?! The person either didn't make a truthful/complete declaration as to citizenship or relinquished the acquired citizenship. Also, could depend on the basis of the person's acquisition of CAN citizenship. It's not a blanket thing.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 12:09:11 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2013, 07:07:20 AM »
I just got my US Citizenship, my question is.

1. Do I still have T&T citizenship and rights.

2. What privileges do I lose as a Trinidadian by becoming a US Citizen.

3. Can I return home and live when ever I feel to, can I buy a home etc etc.

(1) Yes

(2) As a prior poster said, you may not be able to hold elected office with the T&T Govt.

(3) Yes.

I've been a dual citizen of the US and T&T for years, and I still maintain 2 passports (my T&T passport and my US passport). 

Despite the fact that you swore an oat when you became a US Citizen, one is still considered a citizen of T&T as per T&T's own rules and allowances for duals.  In fact, you could even become a citizen of a few other countries also if you simply invest a nominal sum (even as low as US$25,000) into that country's economy via a real estate purchase etc.  In a case like that you can have tri or quad citizenships, thus still qualifying for certain rights and priviledges of each country. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2013, 12:18:45 PM »
Isn't there a rule where if you leave the country for more than a year then your T&T citizenship/passport may be invalided?