April 27, 2024, 06:45:50 PM

Author Topic: Nigerians Detained in T&T Seek Jonathan's Help.  (Read 1521 times)

Nigerians Detained in T&T Seek Jonathan's Help.
« on: August 01, 2012, 05:23:22 AM »
Nigerians Detained in Trinidad and Tobago Seek Jonathan's Help.
By Rhondor Dowlat, 1 August 2012

Port of Spain — At least eight Nigerians are being detained in Trinidad and Tobago over immigration offences and they are now urging visiting President Goodluck Jonathan to intervene.

The eight, who are currently at the Immigration Detention Centre in Aripo, upon hearing of Jonathan's visit to the country, pleaded for his help to have them deported to Nigeria.

The Nigerian inmates have been held waiting for deportation for years, and no date has been mentioned for their repatriation.

Local media, over the years, have reported that the detainees were being ill-treated, which led to them going on hunger strikes, with hope of capturing government's attention.

When news reached them of Jonathan's visit to the country yesterday, they sent out a desperate plea for help.

One of the Nigerian detainees, known simply as Akeem, said most of them came to TT in search for a better standard of living.

He said some of them are married to Trinidadian women and have children for them but were yet unable to obtain citizenship.

He said the Nigerian detainees hope that Jonathan will be able to speak on their behalf to the TT Prime Minister, Kamla Persad Bissessar, and TT President George Maxwell Richards, to have them deported to Nigeria as soon as possible.

There was no immediate comment from the Trinidadian immigration authorities, and an official declined comment when contacted by this reporter yesterday.

In 2009, Ghanaian delegates held back bilateral discussions of energy and gas to negotiate the immediate release and deportation of Ghanaians and a majority of African nationals being held, including Nigerians.

Jonathan is in Trinidad and Tobago to attend the country's Emancipation Celebration, which marks the end of slavery for Africans in the British Caribbean on August 1, 1838.

Re: Nigerians Detained in T&T Seek Jonathan's Help.
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 06:17:47 AM »
Brds ah sorry for you guys if alyuh feel this government will remove visa restrictiong for any african country think again, i hope lucky could help .

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 07:22:15 AM »
So de PNM Gov. woulda do it ?

And how can they stp him if he married to Trinidadian ?

Unless he commits a crime.

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 09:34:52 AM »
I don't favour any change visa requirements from them.

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2012, 11:44:56 AM »
 i think  they been in jail since under the PNM i could remember hearing a talk about that sometime now, i thought this problem was solved .

From what i could remember,  somebody called on the radio askin Cambon and whoever else to do something quickly so these men could go home, or be with their family in Trinbago .

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2012, 07:42:53 PM »
Brds ah sorry for you guys if alyuh feel this government will remove visa restrictiong for any african country think again, i hope lucky could help .

That is not what they asking for.

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2012, 09:24:48 PM »
Ok Bakes take it easy doh hut yuh head .

« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2012, 12:36:24 AM »
Ok Bakes take it easy doh hut yuh head .

I'm not... doh bounce yours though.

The eight, who are currently at the Immigration Detention Centre in Aripo, upon hearing of Jonathan's visit to the country, pleaded for his help to have them deported to Nigeria.

...He said the Nigerian detainees hope that Jonathan will be able to speak on their behalf to the TT Prime Minister, Kamla Persad Bissessar, and TT President George Maxwell Richards, to have them deported to Nigeria as soon as possible.

« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2012, 02:33:22 PM »
Bakes i understand what the people asking for you know ,but Sam the PNM reckless but not that kind of reckless the PP master this kind of reck less ness by farrrrr .