April 19, 2024, 10:18:26 AM

Author Topic: T&T NY CONSULATE 18 FIRED  (Read 7767 times)

T&T NY CONSULATE 18 FIRED
« on: July 18, 2012, 02:51:50 PM »
Just heard on the news 18 people was fired from the Trinbago consulate in NY.

one of the fired workers was interviewd, she said, they were told that they would be given a exam ttheir job was safe, they took the exam along with members of the public never heard anything untill they was escorted out of the building without an explanation .

This Government iz for real, transperence and new politics, serve the people, serve the people .

« Last Edit: July 18, 2012, 02:53:46 PM by zuluwarrior »

Re: T&T NY CONSULATE 18 FIRED
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 02:57:10 PM »
Just heard on the news 18 people was fired from the Trinbago consulate in NY.

one of the fired workers was interviewd, she said, they were told that they would be given a exam ttheir job was safe, they took the exam along with members of the public never heard anything untill they was escorted out of the building without an explanation .

This Government iz for real, transperence and new politics, serve the people, serve the people .

Dat good... they wotless in dat consulate.

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 03:05:52 PM »
They was not fired because they was wotliss ,this is politics ,new poitics .

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2012, 03:08:05 PM »
A few in Toronto need that exam as well.  bunch ah pompous power-tripping pricks.

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2012, 03:13:56 PM »
I am sure them in Toronto iz brown ,when Sewerage Rambachan visited the NY post he said not enough indians working there.

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2012, 03:54:08 PM »
They was not fired because they was wotliss ,this is politics ,new poitics .

well they take they time... dey clean out DC look how long.

but dey too damn wotless.. so it good

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2012, 03:56:13 PM »
i never had to use any of those...that i could remember...any time i had to deal with the miami consulate i get fix up nice.  sorry for them ppl though, it tuff to be on the breadline in this economy

« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2012, 05:25:17 PM »
round of applause

« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2012, 05:54:29 PM »
A few in Toronto need that exam as well.  bunch ah pompous power-tripping pricks.

my experience as well!

« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2012, 05:56:23 PM »
I went there with my son to renew our passports , the workers was very professional everything they told me to do  i did ,one of the complains of the workers was trinbagonians will come there not follow instructions do what ever they want and expect good results.

« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2012, 06:48:29 PM »
Zulu, happy for your experience, mine was just like FF, imagine, I went to obtain my new passport on the date stated and they told me I came on the wrong date.  Now, the date was some 18 months after I called for the initial appt. and those who know me will know my "anal factor" with matters like this one and so at that very moment I put it in my calendar on my phone.  There was no e-mail or other record for me to prove they were wrong unless I had taped the ph conversation.

I shake meh head and say, well yes, is trini ah dealin wid, next ting yuh know de woman (receptionist) gave me a new appt., I took at look at it and said, "can't make this date, I will be out of the country on business", she steups, lol, she pull up a nex date and sey in a vexish tone, "yuh can make dis one?"

When I came back on that 2nd date the process was actually fairly smooth, but the whole drama described above had me pissed, b/c of: wasted time, day off from work, parking $$, gas $$.

Anyway, not sure what political agenda went down, but there is/was definitely some slackness there from what I can tell

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2012, 09:40:42 AM »
Niceness.. I call sum bitch in dc about 2 years ago trying to get a trini passport for one of my Kids who is born  in  America ..then di bitch teling  me bout, why yu want a passport for him if he born in america.. wey uu want dat for , and bout if I legal or not.. I tell she to haul she mudda then she tell me bout she have me on tape..... Them to freeking wutless  fire all a dem.....

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2012, 01:18:00 PM »
Niceness.. I call sum bitch in dc about 2 years ago trying to get a trini passport for one of my Kids who is born  in  America ..then di bitch teling  me bout, why yu want a passport for him if he born in america.. wey uu want dat for , and bout if I legal or not.. I tell she to haul she mudda then she tell me bout she have me on tape..... Them to freeking wutless  fire all a dem.....

;D :rotfl: :rotfl: I actually have to go there soon to renew my passport. I hope i wont have to deal with any foolishness..

« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2012, 07:19:53 PM »
Nothing will change, is Trinis they replacing Trinis with, so is de same disorginisment one will get.

I hear is 9 get escorted out of the buildings like thieves, these people worked for 20 years plus and got treated like crooks since Mrs. Rudrawatee Nan Gosine-Ramgoolam came and take over de office.

Apparently she have she own people she want in and is one setta money hiding thing going on they now with that new person incharge, who hiring they family and they squandering money together and we government blind to de issue. This man walking around Queens boasting he does make in de thousands every month from de NY Consulate, I hear him talking in a Roti Shop in Queens de other day.

Last year she said it was imperative to increase her staff and develop a system “to easily identify and locate our people for resource needs and even natural disasters.”

She also said additional manpower would expedite, among other things, the processing of passports.

We people need to grow up.

And this woman is a UWI graduate, SHAMELESS !!!! now people on de street for no reason.

Here look they number - (212) 682 7272 allyuh call them and cuss they ass.

Winston Dookeran need to do he blasted homework. They making India shame !!!!!

i95.5fm had a talk show with one of de employees yesterday, ah was listing to it, talking about this.

« Last Edit: July 20, 2012, 07:35:01 PM by Sam »

« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2012, 11:08:55 PM »
First was 18 then ah hear 8 now sam say 9 but ah know is more than 5 so what is the real number iam c**tfuse with this trinibago kank kah lang.

« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2012, 05:30:54 AM »
To the forumites who are happy these folks are gone, I hope you realise that they were not fired because of performance or a lack thereof but an apparent move by the PP to install their people.   It is happening all over.   Who want to bury their heads in the sand and ignore that, good for all yuh......dat doh mean it eh happening.  In fact, it so bold faced it eh funny.....

« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2012, 06:22:05 AM »
To the forumites who are happy these folks are gone, I hope you realise that they were not fired because of performance or a lack thereof but an apparent move by the PP to install their people.   It is happening all over.   Who want to bury their heads in the sand and ignore that, good for all yuh......dat doh mean it eh happening.  In fact, it so bold faced it eh funny.....

This is not no news and nobody burying they head in de sand... DC get clean out almost immediately after PP came in power.

but again dey too damn wotless... and have no performance to cling to... so it good!

« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2012, 04:46:22 PM »
Is 8..

Brownsugar, everybody have they own people, PNM, UNC, PP etc....

Trinis to dam racist for a small country.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2012, 08:16:47 AM by Flex »

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2012, 02:26:00 PM »
 Anybody know if the results of the exam was shown before the people was fired and who was the people was it blacks only or brown indians and black trinibagonians .

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2012, 06:00:31 PM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-07-21/fired-consulate-workers-ambassador-please-help-us-get-our-jobs-back

Eight workers dismissed from the T&T Consulate in New York have written to Ambassador in Washington Neil Parsan and the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) to be reinstated. The T&T Guardian understands that Parsan was compiling a report on the matter. The workers claim a high-ranking official at the consulate in New York “summarily” dismissed them.

“We want our jobs back,” the workers demanded in a letter, dated July 18, to the OWTU. Former security officer Ashton Hosford, in a July 7 letter to Parsan, said he did not feel the official respected him. He said: “There was a post built specifically for security purposes and it was removed when (the official) came...I was given a wooden table and chair.”

He said his life was threatened while on duty at the consulate one day. He recalled: “A national was having a problem with the interviewing officer and wanted to go into the office area that read, ‘No Unauthorised Entry.’ “When I approached him and told him  that area was off limits, the problem escalated. He held on to me and we ended up on the floor of the public area.”

He said when the official arrived at the consulate, staff members were told to take all their vacation. He said he was still owed money for work done, and had felt “stressed and intimidated” since the official began working at the consulate. Hosford said he had many financial commitments to meet. “What should I do now, Mr Ambassador?” he asked.

“I need your help, Sir, and I need my job back.” Clerical officer Susan Butcher-David, in her letter to Parsan, said her service was terminated “abruptly and summarily.” She said while she was clearing out her belongings, an official “hovered about as though I was a felon rather than an employee with 12 years of loyal service.”

Butcher-David added: “The shock and uncertainty created by the awkward manner in which this whole matter has been handled has also led to ugly speculation about the motives for this heartless cleansing,” and referred to “worrisome murmurs in the political arena.”

Another former employee with two years’ service told Parsan: “In the last couple of months, the workplace got very tense and workers felt unsettled. “We were told to be kind to our nationals each and every day, but who was kind to us?” she added.

Michael Brathwaite, who had been employed at the consulate since 1989, in various positions, said in his letter that over the past 23 years, he had worked under “many different regimes and have adjusted to suit, but unfortunately I have been very uneasy since the new regime came in.”

He said after being dismissed, he was escorted out of the building as though he was a criminal. The former workers complain of being dismissed after failing an exam they were not prepared for. Charmaine Anderson-Smith, whose job entailed interviewing nationals, data entry and customs services, also expressed concern about having to write the exam.

Anderson-Smith told Parsan: “This has affected my health due to loss of appetite and I am having day/nightmares not knowing how I am going to support myself and my daughter.” New Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran was unavailable for comment when the T&T Guardian tried to reach him yesterday.

Former Foreign Affairs and Communications minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan said it was not proper for ministers to comment on issues affecting other ministries. Consul General Rudrawatee Nan Ramgoolam said she would comment on the development only after a statement had been issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as it would be a  breach of protocol to comment on the matter at this stage.

The dismissed workers are:
Susan Butcher-David—12 years’ service
Angelina Ramlal—seven years
Judy Greaves—five years
Michael Brathwaite—23 years
Ashton Horsford—18 years
Cherylann Etienne—three years
April Sturgeon—nine months
Charmaine Anderson-Smith—seven months.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2012, 10:43:34 AM »
^^^^

based on the names on that list, i suspect racism at work.

« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2012, 12:24:26 PM »
^^^^

based on the names on that list, i suspect racism at work.

So they put de indian name (Angelina Ramlal) they to look good then ?

Lets look at it in reverse and I am not saying they right to do this, but we to stupid to let race get in the way.

When PNM was there, they had their people too, its was more Afro-Trinis working in the office, no ?

I have been to that office twice, I am am yet to see a indian working there.

So my point is, everybody have they own people there and that is WRONG !!!!!

Stop brining up de Indian vs de Creole thing when BOTH of them just as bad.

« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2012, 01:03:07 PM »
ah bet she is a dougla with a indian name  ;)

« Reply #23 on: July 25, 2012, 11:16:37 AM »
A little birdie was whispering it is aledge Reshmi Ramnarine's is working in the consulate . 

« Reply #24 on: July 25, 2012, 12:47:56 PM »
just now they go move the consulate to liberty ave.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #25 on: July 25, 2012, 05:26:29 PM »
just now they go move the consulate to liberty ave.

grin and bear it buddy, there's NOTHING you can do other than kerry orn with your racist undertones. ASS!
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #26 on: July 25, 2012, 05:58:19 PM »
typical

« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2012, 08:13:04 PM »
It seems as though anytime you say anything about this government political circus it irritate some people .   

You know what funny about it, when the previous government was in power and everybody was blasting them from all sides it was not racist, or nobody was calling anybody racist then.

« Reply #28 on: July 25, 2012, 08:23:27 PM »
It seems as though anytime you say anything about this government political circus it irritate some people .   

You know what funny about it, when the previous government was in power and everybody was blasting them from all sides it was not racist, or nobody was calling anybody racist then.

doh study it dem so is why d country d way it is

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #29 on: July 25, 2012, 09:07:39 PM »

zulu do I assume you're commenting on what I said? Have you taken the time to read what this fella goes on this forum? It's funny he point out the "indaness" about the firing and not the fact that many here fedup with the f**kery at the consulate.

Personally I would fire all dem fackers. Too long they've treated their own people like trash.

Lefty the country the way is it because the "people" make it so. Think what you want as I doh give ah f**k.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"