April 25, 2024, 10:02:15 AM

Author Topic: The Sharks: Central FC Thread  (Read 172379 times)

Offline JRtheWriter

Re: The Sharks: Central FC Thread
« Reply #390 on: September 13, 2013, 09:49:45 AM »
Let's go Sharks!

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #391 on: September 13, 2013, 08:08:45 PM »
Nice one today, Central.  3-1 win against Defense Force.    :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #392 on: September 29, 2013, 11:43:08 PM »
Just recently, the geniuass over @ Caledonia said they were going to be the best team in the world, then it dawned on me that that would make this idiot the best coach in the world, then the CCL came along and he couldn't even bust ah fart. Thus, ended the charade. But I decided to take a look at the real #1 team in the world to see what made them #1. This is what I found out:

FC Bayern Munich

Bayern is led mostly by former club players. The club President is Uli Hoeneß. He has been in office, formerly as general manager of the club, since 1979. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge is the chairman of the executive board of the AG. The supervisory board of nine consists mostly of managers of big German corporations. They are Herbert Hainer (CEO adidas), Uli Hoeneß, Timotheus Höttges, Helmut Markwort, Dieter Rampl, Fritz Scherer, Rupert Stadler, Edmund Stoiber, and Martin Winterkorn.

Bayern is run like a joint stock company, a company whose stock are not listed on the public stock exchange, but is privately owned. 81.8% of FC Bayern München AG is owned by the club, 9.1% by sports goods manufacturer Adidas and 9.1% by automobile company Audi. Adidas acquired its shares in 2002 for €77m. The money was designated to help finance the Allianz Arena. In 2009 Audi paid €90m for their share. The capital will be used to repay the loan for the Allianz Arena quicker than originally planned.

Bayern's main advertising partner and current holder of the jersey rights is Deutsche Telekom, parent company of T-Mobile.

The main supplier of the club is Adidas. The premium partners include Paulaner Brewery, Audi, Coca-Cola, Lufthansa, Samsung and Yingli Solar. Classic sponsors include Siemens, Burger King, Ebel, Fitness First, The LEGO Group, Schaeffler Group, s.Oliver, Continental, Viagogo, Trentino, Thomas Sabo and Sheraton Hotels and Resorts. Food sponsors include Albi, BiFi, Ehrmann and MF. In previous years the jersey rights were held by Adidas (1974–78), Magirus Deutz and Iveco (trucks / 1978–84), Commodore (computers / 1984–89) and Opel (cars / 1989–2002).

Bayern is an exception in professional, international football, having generated profits in nine of the last ten seasons. Other clubs often report losses, realizing transfers via loans, whereas Bayern always uses current assets. Also Bayern differs from other European top clubs in their income composition. While other clubs derive more than 35% of their revenues from broadcasting right, Bayern earn only 22% of their revenues that way. This is often accounted for by Bayern not marketing their broadcasting right themselves. Instead the Deutsche Fußball Liga negotiates broadcasting rights for the whole Bundesliga.

In 2011–12 Bayern reported revenues of €373.4 million, marking the eighth consecutive time that Bayern has topped their previous record earnings. According to the latest Deloitte's annual Football Money League, Bayern was the fourth richest club in the world in 2012, generating revenues of €368.4 million.

While other European clubs have mainly marketed to international audiences, Bayern has focused on Germany. Forbes ranks Bayern as the world's fifth most valuable football club in their annual list, estimating the club's at value $1.235 billion. [102] As a result of Bayern's finals appearance in the 2012 UEFA Champions League, the club's brand value has reached $786 million USD which is up 59 percent from the previous year. Among European teams this is ahead of Real Madrid's $600 million USD and behind first place Manchester United whose brand is valued at $853 million USD. In 2013, Bayern overtook Manchester United to take first place in brand valuation.

Bayern is a member based club with more than 200,000 members. There are also 3,202 officially-registered fan clubs with 231,197 members. The club has other departments for chess, handball, basketball, gymnastics, bowling, table tennis, referees, and senior football with more than 1,100 active members.

Caledonia, you can't touch that.

Okay, so FS, Central can' t touch that either, but it is not a bad model to emulate, huh.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 11:54:53 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #393 on: September 30, 2013, 01:30:31 AM »
Nice work KD.
Imagine if Central could convince Adidas to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment, we have to purchase our own kits = TT$100k per year minimum!
Imagine if Central could convince Digicel to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment we have to pay all our phone and internet costs.
Imagine if we could get Toyota to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment we have to rent vehicles + TT$6k per month for an old Tuscon and Lancer!
magine if we could convince Coca Cola to pop in $100k (instead of a few cases of drinks), Burger King, Hilton Hotels, Hi-Lo, etc?
Imagine if we received $80k per month govt subvention?
We would be earning around $5 million per year!!!

« Reply #394 on: September 30, 2013, 03:35:49 PM »
Nice work KD.
Imagine if Central could convince Adidas to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment, we have to purchase our own kits = TT$100k per year minimum!
Imagine if Central could convince Digicel to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment we have to pay all our phone and internet costs.
Imagine if we could get Toyota to pop in TT$1 million per year. At the moment we have to rent vehicles + TT$6k per month for an old Tuscon and Lancer!
magine if we could convince Coca Cola to pop in $100k (instead of a few cases of drinks), Burger King, Hilton Hotels, Hi-Lo, etc?
Imagine if we received $80k per month govt subvention?
We would be earning around $5 million per year!!!

Well allyuh ha to be the pioneers and figure out how to and lead the way.  Obviously easier said than done but at least it's something to aspire to.  You guys are on the right track in terms of approach though, so if any team can do it I honestly believe you guys can.

« Reply #395 on: October 03, 2013, 02:47:32 AM »
T&T Guardian 3rd October

T&T Football Association (TTFA) and the T&T Cancer Society (TTCS) along with several sponsors will collaborate with event host Vision Forward International (VFI) in the third annual staging of the Give Breast Cancer the Boot, an all-female football tournament which will be staged at St Mary’s College Ground, Serpentine Road on Sunday, from 10 am.

In attracting partners such as Super Industrial Services (SIS) and Republic Bank, the event promises to be even better than the previous two tournaments, according to former T&T international footballer Brent Sancho, who is the founder of VFI, a women’s football team.

Given the nature of the tournament, the TTFA, which was represented at yesterday’s tournament launch by general secretary Sheldon Phillips as well as national senior men’s team coach Stephen Hart, has given its endorsement. The TTFA has even held discussions with VFI in creating a tournament of international standard in coming years, which may feature women’s teams from North and South America, as well as Europe.

Expanding from eight teams in 2011 to 12 teams this year, the competition will be held in a round-robin to knockout format, with two preliminary groups of six. Among the teams are FVI Ladies FC, Central FC and the national Under-17 women’s national team, which just days ago captured the inaugural CFU U-17 Women’s Championship, held in Haiti.

The other teams are Malick FC, UWI, UWI Alumni, La Brea, Point Fortin FC, Defence Force, Trincity, Real Dimension, Malabar FC and St Augustine. Most of the participating teams are regular participants in the local national women’s football league, known as the Women’s League Football (Wolf). According to Sancho, participants may be viewed under the watchful eyes of national team representatives scouting for talent.

Speaking at the launch, at All Out, Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain, yesterday, Kimlin Harrilal, the TTCS’s education and communications officer said the event is crucial in raising awareness, not only among women in T&T, but in the general public. “This initiative, hosted strategically, I must say, during breast cancer awareness month (October), plays a crucial role not just for us at the TTCS, but for women all over T&T in increasing the public’s awareness and engaging them in a different way- in football.”

“For this initiative The TTCS is urging the public, the participants, everyone here today to go beyond participation, beyond awareness, to go beyond cheering for your favourite team, and actually get screened. That is our message for 2013. We are calling on women to scheduled your mammograms and we are calling on men to get screened for prostate cancer,” said Harrilal.

On Sunday, the TTCS will be equipped with a mobile unit for testing and the public to obtain information on breast cancer. Cancer survivors will also be present to give testimonies.

Launch video https://www.facebook.com/groups/478681882226491/permalink/525088257585853/

« Reply #396 on: October 03, 2013, 06:48:42 AM »

Imagine Sam conceding to do a prostate cancer test.

Dais like bakes conceding on a point of law.

Wait for it.

« Reply #398 on: October 07, 2013, 09:26:05 PM »
All the best Central FC from a diehard Civic fan.

« Reply #399 on: October 08, 2013, 02:18:59 AM »
All the best Central FC from a diehard Civic fan.

:beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #400 on: October 15, 2013, 02:58:07 AM »
Issue 2 of the Central F.C. online magazine, "The Shark"

http://issuu.com/central.fc/docs/the_shark-_volume2

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #401 on: October 15, 2013, 06:48:47 AM »
Once again  :beermug:

« Reply #402 on: October 15, 2013, 09:09:48 AM »
Very nice... Look like the quality and content improve as well!

Good job!

Offline amwood

« Reply #403 on: October 15, 2013, 11:31:56 AM »
Great publication!

« Reply #404 on: October 15, 2013, 01:04:30 PM »
Very very impressive online magazine!! :thumbsup:

« Reply #405 on: November 08, 2013, 01:43:30 PM »
First Citizens Cup winners, Central F.C. have embarked on a tour of local schools to let children take a close up look at the coveted trophy. The ”Sharks” began their tour with a visit to Couva Anglican Primary School, where 200 pupils saw Operations Director, Kevin Harrison and Youth Development Manager, Kevin Jeffrey display the glass trophy as well as distribute some First Citizens goody bags and some Central F.C. players cards.
“As cup winners, we feel we have a duty to support the competition sponsors, First Citizens bank and the organisers, TT ProLeague” said Jeffrey, a former T&T international striker. “We try to give our club sponsors, such as S.I.S., as much exposure as possible. But we believe that we have that same obligation to First Citizens, who have generously sponsored this competition for over a decade, and the TT Pro League who organise the tournament.” added Jeffrey.

“It’s a great honour to be champions and we want to share our pride with the Central community who supported us along the way” said Harrison. “The children gave us a tremendous welcome and I think Kevin and I felt like we had personally won the cup when we heard the cheers and applause!”
TT Pro League CEO, Dexter Skeene said “This initiative will definitely provide First Citizens with additional brand awareness and exposure. In addition Central FC will also build on their community support and develop a loyal fan base”

“We will be trying to reach another 9 schools before Christmas” said Jeffrey “These children are not only the Central F.C. supporters of the future, but also some of them will become our players too. We are still laying down our foundations in the community, but we know these projects are crucial to the clubs development.”

Meanwhile, Central F.C. will begin their challenge for a second trophy this year when they play Joe Public in the opening round of the Toyota Classic at Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya on Saturday at 6pm. However, the club very nearly withdrew from the competition.

“We are completely opposed to playing this fixture at Marvin Lee Stadium” said The Sharks General Manager, Norris Ferguson. “We have nothing against the stadium, nor do we fear Joe Public, but the ethics of the whole competition have been compromised.” Ferguson explained that Julia Baptiste, General Secretary of the TT Pro League wrote to Central F.C. stating that “teams mentioned first (in the draw) are considered the home team for the purpose of any strip change and not necessarily home advantage. This means that playing venues are left to the discretion of the League’s Secretariat”

“With a very limited supply of venues, plus the desire of the league to maximise attendances by playing fixtures in Point Fortin and Guaya, we have no issue with the way fixtures are organised” said Ferguson. “Providing no team has a clear physical advantage or disadvantage. If Point Fortin is seeded as a home team, they should definitely play at the Mahaica Oval. That’s what generates the excitement in cup football.”

But Ferguson said that the Central F.C. management do not approve of playing their fixture at Joe Public’s venue. “It is an artificial surface that Central F.C. has played on maybe half a dozen times in 18 months, while Joe Public train on the surface and play matches there every week. They must have an advantage. And that is where our problem lies.” Ferguson said it would have been logical to switch the W.Connection vs Real Maracas fixture or the Club Sando vs Police fixture, both carded for Ato Boldon on Friday evening, to Marvin Lee Stadium on Saturday. “These teams do not achieve measurably larger gates than Central, and neither team would benefit or be disadvantaged by playing at Marvin Lee.”

Ferguson said that Central would be happy to play Joe Public anywhere other than at their home stadium. “Before any team is drawn from the hat in a cup competition, it must be perceived that every team has an equally fair opportunity to win the trophy. Whatever the rules state, playing as a “home” team at the away team’s stadium is bad enough, but when the surface is undoubtedly advantageous to that team it gives the perception, real or imagined, of unfairness.”

Ferguson said that Central F.C. made a decision to withdraw from the competition. “The management felt that the appeals from Central F.C. had been completely ignored. Although Julia (Baptiste) did reply, she did not address our specific complaint; that playing at Marvin Lee gave Joe Public an unfair advantage.” Ferguson, a FIFA match commissioner, said that the letter to withdraw was being written when Head Coach, Terry Fenwick intervened. “Brent (Sancho) had called Terry to inform him of the club’s decision. But Terry desperately wanted to play the game and so did the players. Terry said that his players were totally against withdrawing and they were determined to overcome any disadvantage. He said that he had set a target of winning three cups this season and, principle or not, the team wanted the chance to try for the Toyota Classic.” 

Central F.C. play Joe Public at 6pm on Saturday 9th November at Marvin Lee Stadium, with Malabar playing San Juan Jabloteh at 8pm

« Reply #406 on: November 08, 2013, 02:23:55 PM »
I agree with Terry Fenwick and the players for wanting to play the game regardless of where it's played etc etc the club just making a big issue about nothing,how many clubs have a home field and who have home field check the condition of those fields,are the surfaces any better than the Marvin Lee Stadium?

Imagine we have a Stadium like Marvin Lee and every time somebody have to play there it always have some problem,we often here complaints from teams when ever they have games at home/abroad they want to get practice at the Stadium when any opportunity they get they should try and take advantage of it.

Advantage is a poor excuse,you never hear clubs like St Anns Rangers with any excuses,they does practice in the Savannah what home ground they have.   

« Reply #407 on: November 08, 2013, 02:29:54 PM »
I agree with Terry Fenwick and the players for wanting to play the game regardless of where it's played etc etc the club just making a big issue about nothing,how many clubs have a home field and who have home field check the condition of those fields,are the surfaces any better than the Marvin Lee Stadium?

Imagine we have a Stadium like Marvin Lee and every time somebody have to play there it always have some problem,we often here complaints from teams when ever they have games at home/abroad they want to get practice at the Stadium when any opportunity they get they should try and take advantage of it.

Advantage is a poor excuse,you never hear clubs like St Anns Rangers with any excuses,they does practice in the Savannah what home ground they have.   

Coops, you completely miss the point. We're happy to play at Marvin Lee. Or anywhere else within reason. But why, out of the 8 matches, should Joe Public (an away team) be playing at their home stadium. You NEVER hear that situation. Imagine, Spurs get drawn to play Man Utd in a semi final and the match is played at Old Trafford. You really think they would be happy? But then, if Old Trafford was a plastic pitch, there would be riots.

« Reply #408 on: November 08, 2013, 02:55:54 PM »

Coops, you completely miss the point. We're happy to play at Marvin Lee. Or anywhere else within reason. But why, out of the 8 matches, should Joe Public (an away team) be playing at their home stadium. You NEVER hear that situation. Imagine, Spurs get drawn to play Man Utd in a semi final and the match is played at Old Trafford. You really think they would be happy? But then, if Old Trafford was a plastic pitch, there would be riots.
     FS this is not Spurs or Man U this is sweet T&T,if you all can just bear with us sometimes and adjust to our situations.You making me feel like you all are scared of Joe Public,this is a Super League team,they i guess practice on artificial turf but where do they play their games,you all may be around just some months but check the success you all are having,you all seem to be the team in T&T Football at the moment come on Breds play the game don't spoil it.

« Reply #409 on: November 08, 2013, 04:35:26 PM »
Invest in a roller and groundsman between the Northern and Central teams to level out teh community fields and bring football to the community :p

« Reply #410 on: November 08, 2013, 05:27:02 PM »
Invest in a roller and groundsman between the Northern and Central teams to level out teh community fields and bring football to the community :p

I have no idea what this is supposed to mean. Sarcasm perhaps?

« Reply #411 on: November 08, 2013, 05:36:55 PM »

FS this is not Spurs or Man U this is sweet T&T,if you all can just bear with us sometimes and adjust to our situations.You making me feel like you all are scared of Joe Public,this is a Super League team,they i guess practice on artificial turf but where do they play their games,you all may be around just some months but check the success you all are having,you all seem to be the team in T&T Football at the moment come on Breds play the game don't spoil it.

Coops, why do you think the concern is just mine? Sancho, Ferguson, Jeffrey all felt that this was so wrong that we should stand our ground. I agree. One minute everybody wants T&T to behave like the big footballing nations, yet you consider this jokey and unimportant. Maybe we all just see issues where there aren't any. Guaya got a home draw, so did Point. Yes, we want to see bigger gates, but does that mean that some teams get advantages while others don't? Central are a home team like Guaya and Point. Ok, not everyone can play at Ato, but W.Connection vs Real Maracas could easily have been played at Marvin Lee, there is no reason not to. Yet we, the home team, have to play Public at Macoya where they play every week.
Artificial turf, especially poorly maintained out of date artificial turf, plays very differently to turf. We play there without complaint against teams, but neither team has an advantage.
No one has, as yet, convinced me that this is fair.

We're doing ok, and Joe Public will be a battle we hope to win, but the issue is about having fair and equitable competitions.

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #412 on: November 09, 2013, 07:56:33 PM »
If anyone is interested in becoming a Central FC Supporter sign up right here -----> https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1e282CrVF4LEOf4xEXRKgcVrHrSq60eFWvtq9e1cAa5s/viewform

You will receive biweekly newsletters, regular email updates, sneak peaks of the upcoming Shark magazine and special discounts on official club merchandise.

« Reply #413 on: November 10, 2013, 11:16:00 AM »
If anyone is interested in becoming a Central FC Supporter sign up right here -----> https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1e282CrVF4LEOf4xEXRKgcVrHrSq60eFWvtq9e1cAa5s/viewform

You will receive biweekly newsletters, regular email updates, sneak peaks of the upcoming Shark magazine and special discounts on official club merchandise.

Interested, but FS is this site ok? (I'm a suspicious browser)

« Reply #414 on: November 10, 2013, 03:31:33 PM »

Interested, but FS is this site ok? (I'm a suspicious browser)

Better to be suspicious than scammed! But, yes, this is our supporter sign up page!

« Reply #415 on: November 10, 2013, 03:46:52 PM »
Signed up :)

« Reply #416 on: November 10, 2013, 05:00:12 PM »

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #417 on: November 17, 2013, 12:54:51 PM »
INVITATION: The Central FC online fanzine; The Shark, would like to invite anyone to send in a Letter to the Editor for the November edition by Friday 22nd November. Feel free to express your opinion about the Sharks' season, your favourite player or favourite match. Simply email the letter to marketing.centralfc@gmail.com

« Reply #418 on: November 22, 2013, 09:09:17 PM »
Central F.C. Media Release

Trinidad & Tobago’s latest teenage football sensation, Rundell Winchester, is certainly enjoying life at the moment. Not only did he win his first major trophy when he scored Central F.C.’s winning goal against Defence Force in the First Citizens Cup, but he also walked away with the M.V.P. award. He then recorded his first hat trick when he netted three goals against Point Fortin. Following on from his first international cap – a cameo appearance vs New Zealand - the 19 year old played a full 90 minutes in Jamaica where T&T recorded their historic 1-0 victory. In the return match at Hasely Crawford, Winchester made a 25th minute appearance, creating havoc with his pace down the flank. His pass led to Guerra’s opening goal and, when he was fouled after exploding into the Jamaican penalty box, Kenwyne Jones converted the penalty.
After so many exciting exploits over the last 3 months, you would expect a touch of arrogance in Winchester, but the quiet spoken Tobagonian has kept his feet on the ground.

As part of the Central F.C. First Citizens Trophy School Tour, Winchester, together with Sharks midfielder, Toric Robinson, visited Esperanza Presbyterian Primary School with the coveted trophy, and was promptly surrounded by excited schoolchildren requesting autographs.
The visit involved the players, together with Youth Development Manager, Kevin Jeffrey and Operations Director, Kevin Harrison, talking to the children about life in professional football and the opportunities that sports can bring.
“The message is very clear” said Jeffrey, a former T&T international striker; “Keep away from negative influences such as gangs, crime and drugs and focus on your school work.”
Jamaican midfielder, Toric Robinson told the child that being good at sports is not enough. He said:”I was a good footballer at school, but if I didn’t study hard, I would still be in Jamaica. I obtained a football scholarship to the U.S.A., but this wasn’t just because of my football ability; I had to have good grades too.” Robinson has played his entire career in the U.S.A. before joining Central F.C. and has followed a similar path to Jeffrey who told the children:
“I too, was fortunate enough to earn a scholarship in the U.S.A., and like Toric, my grades had to be good to be accepted. If you are good at sport, you cannot forget your studies, in fact, if you’re a natural athlete sometimes you have to work harder at your schoolwork than you do at your sport.”
Winchester surprised the children when he told them he was only 19. He explained that it was difficult for him to leave his home, his family and friends back in Tobago to come to Central F.C., but he is thankful that he did.
The players distributed pens and pencils provided by First Citizens Bank to the children and staff.
Central F.C. will be visiting several more schools before Christmas so that more children can see the First Citizens Trophy up close.
“This is an important part of our Football in the Community programme, and something that our sponsors, S.I.S. are very keen to promote” said Jeffrey. “The children were so excited. This is the generation who will rebuild our nation’s football. If we can get them hooked on football now, they will support Central F.C. for life. We need to see thousands, not hundreds at Pro League games if we are to develop the sport to compete with clubs overseas.”
Jeffrey also stated that the Sharks will commence their youth team trials on Sunday 24th November at New Settlement Ground, Caroni Rd, Chaguanas from 9 a.m. “We welcome all boys aged between 10 and 18 to attend with a red or white jersey, black shorts, boots and shin guards. Who knows? We may uncover another Rundell Winchester!!”

« Reply #419 on: November 22, 2013, 09:30:10 PM »
Very nice, check this Winchester interview out.  :beermug:

Rundell Winchester reflects on his appearances vs Jamaica
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EfvPP4IuKLw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EfvPP4IuKLw</a>

Central FC 19-yr-old striker talks about his experience in national colours vs Jamaica - TTFA Media TV