April 27, 2024, 06:52:39 AM

Author Topic: The Sharks: Central FC Thread  (Read 172827 times)

Re: Big up to Central FC
« Reply #810 on: December 24, 2014, 12:14:04 PM »
They can do the reverse stripe. but I like the black :) especially black socks!

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #811 on: December 24, 2014, 03:43:54 PM »
All in all, thank you to Sam and all the others who offer positive feed back and constructive criticisms. Expect a lot more in 2015

« Reply #812 on: December 24, 2014, 03:49:15 PM »
Ah like PUMA de best, because it look fitted and give you a nice body style maing de players look strong, W Connection uniform real nice.

But seeing Central like Adidas. Ah like this style...

Players

Keeper

Names and number

« Reply #813 on: December 24, 2014, 03:50:38 PM »
Big up  amielisadore.

Ah waiting to hear from meh boy FS also.

Let de fans talk for once.

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #814 on: December 24, 2014, 04:25:55 PM »
What about this one?

Offline amielisadore

Re: The Sharks: Central FC Thread
« Reply #815 on: December 31, 2014, 11:53:51 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/WUOx-sDpSnE&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/WUOx-sDpSnE&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

Offline amielisadore

New Years Gift For Vranes - Bentick Signs For Central.
« Reply #816 on: January 05, 2015, 11:06:45 PM »
New Years gift for Vranes - Bentick signs for Central.
Central FC Release.

2015 got off to a positive start for Central F.C. and Head Coach Zoran Vranes as he welcomed former T&T U20 defender, Uriah Bentick to The Sharks squad. 

Bentick, who spent last season with U.S. club Carolina Railhawks, last teamed up with Vranes in 2009, when he was part of the squad that took part in the U-20 World Cup in Egypt. 

“It’s great to be able to bring players of Uriah’s calibre into the Pro League” said Vranes, a former T&T national team coach. “Of course, it’s extra special for me as he was a key element of my Under 20 squad which performed so well in 2009.” 

Bentick, a former St Anthony’s student, who hails from Laventille, spent 6 years in the U.S.A. where he attended Liberty University for 4 years, representing their Liberty Flames team and earning many plaudits including selection for various all-star teams. 

After leaving University, Bentick was drafted by MLS outfit, Philadelphia Union, but failed to earn a contract. Instead, he joined USL team, Wilmington Hammerheads. Quoted on mlssoccer.com as “having the tools to become a good defender” and “he won’t be beaten for strength”, Bentick was signed by Carolina Railhawks for the 2014 season. 

“Uriah is a big, strong, naturally left footed defender” said Central F.C. Managing Director, Brent Sancho.

“Signing him is a continuation of our policy of tracking down excellent T&T footballers who are overseas and have never played in the Pro League.” said the former T&T World Cup defender.

“Just like Yohance Marshall last season, we hope that Stephen Hart will get lots of opportunities to see Uriah play and bring him into the national squad.”

Sancho explained that while Central F.C.’s first intentions when signing players is to increase the standard of the squad and win trophies, there are additional benefits for the club and the national team.

“Obviously, Central F.C. would be happy to find Uriah a club overseas to further develop his career. But also, Stephen Hart does not get the opportunity to see Trini players overseas play week in week out. So by bringing these boys home we can help to increase the talent pool available to Stephen. I am very confident that Uriah will soon be forcing his way into Stephens plans” said Sancho. 

Sancho also admitted that a good performance in the Pro League and the Caribbean Club Championship will add value to Bentick and may attract transfer fees to the club. “Of course, a professional football club must develop an income from player sales.

Youth development is so difficult in T&T with players frequently slowing their development by returning to school football. However, our policy of bringing home players from outside of T&T could reap rewards. Even if we let the player go for free, we are still building the Central F.C. – and T&T – brands overseas.” 

Sancho added that Bentick is only one of several signings The Sharks will make during the January transfer window. “We are constantly working to raise the overall quality of our squad” said Sancho.

“We will see the return of Willis Plaza and Rundell Winchester and we have several foreign internationals on trial with us. It may seem ambitious, but we are building a squad strong enough to compete in the CONCACAF Champions League in August. That’s not to say that we are arrogant or over confident about progressing from the CFU Club Championships, but if we do, we must be prepared for the next challenge.” 

Sancho did go as far as saying that he felt that Central F.C. and W. Connection are strong enough to compete with the best of the Caribbean.

“The Pro League is improving and most teams are very hard to beat. This sometimes gives the impression that the Pro League is not of good quality. But, in fact, it’s the opposite. The competition in T&T is tough and the season is a battle of attrition. This helps to build strong squads which are essential when competing overseas.” 

Central F.C. return to Pro League action on Friday when they take on Point Fortin at Ato Boldon Stadium at 8 p.m. 

http://centralfctt.com/Articles/article.php?r=71

« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 02:53:51 AM by Flex »

Re: New Years Gift For Vranes - Bentick Signs For Central.
« Reply #817 on: January 06, 2015, 04:55:50 AM »
Very good player with a solid left foot, he could work on his speed a little though, but very solid player.

Good signing.

« Reply #818 on: January 06, 2015, 11:26:24 AM »
Bentick signs for Central FC

Bentick, who spent last season with U.S. club Carolina Railhawks, last teamed up with Vranes in 2009, when he was part of the squad that took part in the U-20 World Cup in Egypt. 

“It’s great to be able to bring players of Uriah’s calibre into the Pro League” said Vranes, a former T&T national team coach. “Of course, it’s extra special for me as he was a key element of my Under 20 squad which performed so well in 2009.” 

Bentick, a former St Anthony’s student, who hails from Laventille, spent 6 years in the U.S.A. where he attended Liberty University for 4 years, representing their Liberty Flames team and earning many plaudits including selection for various all-star teams. 

After leaving University, Bentick was drafted by MLS outfit, Philadelphia Union, but failed to earn a contract. Instead, he joined USL team, Wilmington Hammerheads. Quoted on mlssoccer.com as “having the tools to become a good defender” and “he won’t be beaten for strength”, Bentick was signed by Carolina Railhawks for the 2014 season. 

“Uriah is a big, strong, naturally left footed defender” said Central F.C. Managing Director, Brent Sancho.

“Signing him is a continuation of our policy of tracking down excellent T&T footballers who are overseas and have never played in the Pro League.” said the former T&T World Cup defender.

“Just like Yohance Marshall last season, we hope that Stephen Hart will get lots of opportunities to see Uriah play and bring him into the national squad.”

Sancho explained that while Central F.C.’s first intentions when signing players is to increase the standard of the squad and win trophies, there are additional benefits for the club and the national team.

“Obviously, Central F.C. would be happy to find Uriah a club overseas to further develop his career. But also, Stephen Hart does not get the opportunity to see Trini players overseas play week in week out. So by bringing these boys home we can help to increase the talent pool available to Stephen. I am very confident that Uriah will soon be forcing his way into Stephens plans” said Sancho. 

Sancho also admitted that a good performance in the Pro League and the Caribbean Club Championship will add value to Bentick and may attract transfer fees to the club. “Of course, a professional football club must develop an income from player sales.

Youth development is so difficult in T&T with players frequently slowing their development by returning to school football. However, our policy of bringing home players from outside of T&T could reap rewards. Even if we let the player go for free, we are still building the Central F.C. – and T&T – brands overseas.” 

Sancho added that Bentick is only one of several signings The Sharks will make during the January transfer window. “We are constantly working to raise the overall quality of our squad” said Sancho.

“We will see the return of Willis Plaza and Rundell Winchester and we have several foreign internationals on trial with us. It may seem ambitious, but we are building a squad strong enough to compete in the CONCACAF Champions League in August. That’s not to say that we are arrogant or over confident about progressing from the CFU Club Championships, but if we do, we must be prepared for the next challenge.” 

Sancho did go as far as saying that he felt that Central F.C. and W. Connection are strong enough to compete with the best of the Caribbean.

“The Pro League is improving and most teams are very hard to beat. This sometimes gives the impression that the Pro League is not of good quality. But, in fact, it’s the opposite. The competition in T&T is tough and the season is a battle of attrition. This helps to build strong squads which are essential when competing overseas.” 

Central F.C. return to Pro League action on Friday when they take on Point Fortin at Ato Boldon Stadium at 8 p.m.
http://socawarriors.net/tt-pro-league/14970-bentick-signs-for-central-fc.html

‘Sharks’ secure sponsorship deal.
« Reply #819 on: January 17, 2015, 02:46:55 AM »
‘Sharks’ secure sponsorship deal.
By Donstan Bonn (Express).

Central FC, joint leaders of the 2014-2015 Digicel Pro League competition and winners of the 2015 Rawle Fletcher Cup, will be have a new logo on its team’s kit following the brokerage of a new sponsorship with Bankers Insurance.

The team’s new kit bearing the Bankers logo was unveiled during yesterday’s launch of the partnership arrangement between the two entities at the VIP Lounge of the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

Bankers’ chief executive officer Vance Gabriel said that his organisation saw Central FC, nicknamed the Sharks, as a club with a social conscience and thus was quite willing to engage in what was Bankers’ single largest investment in terms of advertising. “Corporate T&T have a duty to assist the youths of the nation and if we don’t, we would really be shooting ourselves in the foot.

Gabriel said that incidents of crime and the need for positive influences among the youths are key factors which would encourage companies such as Bankers to want to spend a significant amount of money to assist a sporting organisation.

“I don’t see Central as only a football club. I think they have demonstrated their willingness to be engaged in community efforts. I believe that in our partnering with Central FC it wouldn’t just be about football. He gave the assurance that Bankers will be with Central FC head and shoulders in every one of their endeavours and called on other corporate bodies to come on board.

Brent Sancho, Central FC’s managing director, said the sponsorship agreement is further proof that corporate T&T is gradually recognising the benefits of investing in local football. “In the words of Dr Martin Luther King, ‘I had a dream’. Kevin Harrison and I have a dream in helping the youths of the nation excel on the national and international stage. “Why join a gang and shoot guns when you can join Central FC and shoot goals,” Sancho said.

He said the players will come to realise that their freedom is intimately bound to the principle and vision of Central FC, adding that the club get all the players involved in community projects so that they can learn the act of giving back to the community.

“We are extremely aware of the impact our endeavours have had, but most important, we are also extremely cognizant of our active role in sculpting the minds of our future, lawyers, doctors, school teachers and of course, football stars in the various communities. This is a game we simply cannot lose.

“We are honoured that Bankers Insurance Group have chosen to partner with Central FC as they exemplify qualities that our club aspires to become; dynamic , innovative, a company that takes the fear and confusion out of their customers’ lives.

Sancho said that Bankers boast a reputation that Central FC is proud to now be a part of. “I want to assure Mr Gabriel and the rest of Bankers Insurance that our players would not only wear the Bankers Insurance Group logo with distinct honour but Central FC new slogan will change from “The Pride of Central” to “The Pride of Bankers”.

Sancho said his organisation intends to protect the image of Bankers Insurance, raise the awareness of the financial entity and demonstrate a commitment to its community.

“We look forward with great anticipation to the success of this dynamics synergy. We intend for the synergy to grow from strength to strength along with the successes of the youths of our nation. Sancho also thanked former main sponsor Super Industrial Services (SIS) for its tremendous support and for its willingness in agreeing to step back and allow the Bankers’ logo to be carried on the team’s uniform.

Central FC has made a tremendous impact on local football since its formation in August 2012 by capturing two First Citizens Cup (2013-2014) and last year’s Lucozade Sport Shield before adding the Rawle Fletcher Cup to its collection last week.

The club made strategic moves to continue its upward progression with the recent addition of several key players such as Willis Plaza and Rundell Winchester from Belgium, Elton John, Kevon Villaroel, Uriah Bentick and Jamaican international Upston Edwards to its roster.

Re: ‘Sharks’ secure sponsorship deal.
« Reply #820 on: January 17, 2015, 04:49:44 AM »
I hope the TTFA taking note, how community service does pay off.

How Sancho hiding de details like Jack so?

FS, give we a little low down on de deal na, how much, for how long etc etc.

« Reply #821 on: January 17, 2015, 11:35:40 AM »
Good job guys

« Reply #822 on: January 17, 2015, 01:41:55 PM »
It's one thing to talk that talk but it's another thing to walk the walk and Central FC is blazing that trail. Keep leading the way, elevate the product and level of play on the field and the people and the game will continue to grow.
Congratulations. This confirms what I had been saying all along "You have to show the Corporate world in Trinidad something for them to hang their hat on and they will get involve. They have to see the benefit to the demographics it is meant to affect and to themselves".

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #823 on: January 17, 2015, 02:16:12 PM »
Sean De Silva collects Rawle Fletcher Trophy

Bankers CEO Vance Gabriel collects jersey from Brent

(left to right) Kevon Villaroel, Keion Goodridge & Elton John modelling the new kits

« Reply #824 on: January 17, 2015, 03:48:33 PM »
I eh trying to be negative eh, because ah glad for meh boy FS and them.

But de shirt went from wost to wosier....

That logo real making de uniform look bad, but hey, they paying de bills.

« Reply #825 on: January 18, 2015, 12:31:01 AM »
FS why not just screen print the sponsor onto the shirt without the white back ground?

« Reply #826 on: January 18, 2015, 05:08:19 AM »
FS why not just screen print the sponsor onto the shirt without the white back ground?

Good idea.

And the shirt collar being thick and white makes it look worst.

« Reply #827 on: January 18, 2015, 09:23:57 AM »
good job Sharks.

I like the uniform

« Reply #828 on: January 18, 2015, 09:50:39 AM »
 Congrats to FS, Brent and Central.

« Reply #829 on: January 18, 2015, 09:57:34 AM »
Congrats and well done Sharks and Bankers Insurance!!! I think the kits are decent and an improvement from the first one.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 10:00:46 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #830 on: January 18, 2015, 10:56:44 AM »
An which way congrats on the hard work and the continued success.

« Reply #831 on: January 18, 2015, 12:28:12 PM »

Good idea.

And the shirt collar being thick and white makes it look worst.

This is their logo. Without the background, their name does not stand out. Ideally, we would have worn white or blue, but they are not our colours and we were not willing to change from black & white and red. I actually like the jerseys, though stripes are still my favourite!!

« Reply #832 on: January 18, 2015, 12:31:19 PM »
From the line up, can you ID the person that robbed you? Was the confetti an attempt to masked their identity or was that a serious blunder? Why would you take a snapshot like that? I just, not too long ago, gave you props for leading the way and then you snapshot this shit and you used it in your promo. Are you serious? Come on.

Yo, a badge would look much better.

This looks ugly, just like the white man in the photo up with Sancho.

The photo was taken during the presentation which had pyrotechnics including dry ice and confetti cannons. It was quite impressive. I guess he posted this photo to give an idea of the display. Studio photos were taken and released to the press (including Tallman & Flex, I believe) who were also invited to send someone to the launch.

« Reply #833 on: January 18, 2015, 01:15:19 PM »
From the line up, can you ID the person that robbed you? Was the confetti an attempt to masked their identity or was that a serious blunder? Why would you take a snapshot like that? I just, not too long ago, gave you props for leading the way and then you snapshot this shit and you used it in your promo. Are you serious? Come on.

Yo, a badge would look much better.

This looks ugly, just like the white man in the photo up with Sancho.

You seriously had to go there man? SMH

« Reply #834 on: January 18, 2015, 05:42:39 PM »
King Deese, your comment (about white man) was deleted and consider this your first warning.

« Reply #835 on: January 18, 2015, 08:39:50 PM »
King Deese, your comment (about white man) was deleted and consider this your first warning.

As long as you are not hypocritical, then I can live with that. Hypocrisy covers a wide spectrum of utterance and occurences. Don't discriminate because I uttered "White Man". One individual talked about me and my family. Yet, you didn't publicly warn that individual. Why is that?

« Reply #836 on: January 19, 2015, 07:27:19 AM »

As long as you are not hypocritical, then I can live with that. Hypocrisy covers a wide spectrum of utterance and occurences. Don't discriminate because I uttered "White Man". One individual talked about me and my family. Yet, you didn't publicly warn that individual. Why is that?

If you point it out I/we would gladly take action.

Dont assume and accuse if you have no idea what goes on.

And we cant see everything, hence the reason we need moderators.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 07:33:06 AM by Flex »

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #838 on: January 20, 2015, 02:54:03 AM »
Vranes proud, but demands improvement.
T&T Guardian Reports.

While the team’s short-term goal is to win domestic titles, the main goals of Central FC are still some distance away according to coach Zoran Vranes, who remains resolute despite early achievements.

Central, under Vranes' reign this season, have already captured the 2014 First Citizens Cup, one of two titles captured last season by former coach, Englishman Terry Fenwick, and most recently, the inaugural Rawle Fletcher Trophy as winners of Round One in the 2014-2015 Digicel Pro League (DPL).

“We were missing six to seven players who were starting players last season and although it was difficult in motivating players we were still able to achieve what we did,” said Vranes, who qualified Trinidad and Tobago to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup 2009 in Egypt.

Although admitting to difficulty in getting his players to approach the game professionally, on and off the field, Vranes said he is proud of recent improvements and accomplishments, but firmly believes Central can become even better towards the club’s ultimate goal to become one of the best teams in the region and Concacaf contender.

Vranes added, “When I came here my goals were to keep Central on top, win some trophies and maybe take second position in the league and look for the opportunity for on top.

“But the major goal is to establish the club as one of the best (in the region) and to be able to compete at the Concacaf level.”

Last season, under the charge of Fenwick, the “Couva Sharks” finished runners-up behind league champions DirecTV W Connection, as both Couva clubs qualified to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championship 2015, set to begin in March, and serves as the qualifying tournament towards the Concacaf Champions League.

“I am not fully satisfied yet because we are still looking for better play,” continued the Central FC coach. “But I expect now we are in a better position for improvement with the addition of some very high quality players. The competition in the team is very high now because they must work hard for starting positions and for places in the 18-man squad.

Central FC adds Jamaican Upston Edwards

Central FC has signed seven players during the January transfer window. The latest addition to the club’s roster defender Upston Edwards, a Jamaican international who is on loan from Jamaican club Portmore United until the end of the season.

The 25-year-old Edwards now joins last season’s top performers Willis Plaza, Rundell Winchester, Jamal Jack, Elton John and defensive duo, Uriah Bentick and Kevon Villaroel as players to come in during the transfer period which began during the first week of the year.

Central also welcomes the return of pre-season signing Michael Yaw Darko. The 24-year-old Ghanaian attacking midfielder returns to Vranes’ squad from a loan stint at Cunupia FC. The new additions joins a roster that already includes the likes of Marvin Oliver, Ataulla Guerra, Jason Marcano, Sean de Silva, Nathaniel Garcia, Akeem Benjamin, goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, Kaydion Gabriel, Darren Mitchell, Jean-Luc Rochford, Dwight Quintero, Leston Paul and Elijah Manners.

But with a loaded roster, Central have resorted to sending young talents Nicholas Dillon, Kevon Gaddard, Seon Thomas and Shaquille Williams on loan at St. Ann’s Rangers, in an effort to give the quartet more playing time than they would have received at the “Couva Sharks” ahead of next season’s Concacaf Champions League. “We’ve actually built a team for Concacaf,” said Central FC operations manager Kevin Harrison. “We have all intentions of qualifying for Concacaf.”

Domestically, Central FC (6-2-1, 20 points) continues to lead the Digicel Pro League standings, three points clear of defending champions and second positioned DirecTV W Connection (5-2-1, 17 points), who they must face in Round Two Match Day on Friday from 8 pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

While admitting that his new additions should give Central an edge over other teams in the DPL, Vranes remains on full guard, especially against Couva-rivals W Connection.

“We should have some advantage now, not a lot, but some advantage. But there are still teams like W Connection firstly, and then teams like North East Stars and Defence Force who are tough teams. We expect every team will play very hard against us, which is normal, so we must be very serious about each game that we play,” ended Vranes.

Round Two Match Day Two will kick off from 6 pm at Couva on Friday when fourth placed North East Stars (4-2-3, 14 points) and fifth placed Point Fortin Civic (3-2-4, 11 points) do battle. The action will continue on Sunday at the very same Couva venue with rock-bottom St Ann’s Rangers (0-1-8, 1 point) up against seventh positioned Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh (2-4-3, 10 points) from 4 pm.

Then from 6 pm, eight placed Police FC (2-4-3, 10 points) and third placed Defence Force (5-1-3, 16 points) will reignite their rivalry in the battle of the armed forces, while sixth placed Caledonia (3-2-4, 11 points) sits out on the bye.

Bentick eyes national call-up
« Reply #839 on: January 22, 2015, 07:52:45 PM »
Bentick eyes national call-up
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

Defender Uriah Bentick has his sights on earning a call-up to the national senior men’s team this year and will be hoping his exploits with his new club Central FC can strengthen his chances of catching the eye of Stephen Hart.

Bentick played in in the 2009 Under-20 World Cup in Egypt where he lined up against the likes of Kevin Molino, Jamal Gay, Khaleem Hyland, Aubrey David and Sheldon Bateau.

Bentick said his ambition to play for the senior team was one of the main reasons behind him returning home to join the professional ranks.

“I am back in Trinidad to play because I have a strong desire to represent the national senior team. I think being in Trinidad for this period will allow me to play in front of the national team staff more regularly and hopefully better my chances for my first call up to the senior team. Secondly, I like the direction coach Vranes and Mr (Brent) Sancho are heading with Central FC, especially pertaining to the CONCACAF champions league qualification,” Bentick said.

He added that his time in the United States was a definite highlight in his career thus far. He played for Liberty University between 2009 to 2012 and then joined pro teams Wilminghton Hammerheads and Carolina RailHawks.

“My experience in the US was quite good. I was exposed to a high level of football and coaching after finishing college. During my two years in North Carolina I learnt a lot from my US and European coaches, personally I believe I improved on the mental part of my game the most during my time there.”

Bentick is expected to be an integral part of Central’s push for a place in the CONCACAF Champions League this season.