April 23, 2024, 11:18:48 AM

Author Topic: The Sharks: Central FC Thread  (Read 172157 times)

Re: Sancho launches Central FC
« Reply #180 on: August 29, 2012, 02:07:48 PM »

« Reply #181 on: August 29, 2012, 06:42:00 PM »

:beermug: Thanks, Tallman. How many tickets yuh want?  :rotfl:

« Reply #182 on: August 31, 2012, 10:37:35 AM »

Sancho’s ‘Sharks’ go back to school
Trinidad Guardian
Published: Friday, August 31, 2012

Just a week before beginning its first TT ProLeague season, Central FC is making plans off the field with “the Sharks” looking to confirm its commitment to the central region by giving the changing rooms at Presentation College, Chaguanas a facelift. “Presentation College have been really supportive of Central FC,” said Central managing director Brent Sancho. “The principal, Mr Ribeiro has allowed us to use the fields here for our training sessions and his staff have been fantastic.” Although the newly formed club is training at several locations, they consider Presentation College to be the home base. “To be fair, everyone we have approached in the region has been very excited about having a professional team in Central and have been very helpful to us,” said Sancho. “The Sharks” decided that they wanted to show appreciation to the school for hosting the club and decided to refurbish the schools’ changing rooms. “Our players and staff will be repainting the changing rooms in both the colours of Presentation College and Central FC. We have plumbers coming in to put in new shower units and new toilets and we will also be installing an industrial washer and dryer so that the school can wash their uniforms on site, (ultimately) saving them time and money.”

The club will be meeting with the Pro League administrators on Monday to pay their league application fees. “It’s been a long and frustrating process,” said Manager, Norris Ferguson. “But we’re now fully focused on competing in this seasons Pro League.”  Ferguson said that the club has had to delay certain protocols while they have been waiting to join the Pro League. “Until we could actually say that we are officially a Pro League club, we have not been able to write contracts or register players,” said Ferguson, who is also a Concacaf match commissioner and is due to oversee upcoming World Cup qualifying games. “We have held back from formally meeting with Central Zone administrators and have also been unable to meet with sponsors. However, after Monday the whole staff will be working around the clock to make up for lost time.”

The club has already begun to make itself known in the central region, and will be supported the SIS Industrial Football League Finals last night at the Plipdeco Ground, Point Lisas, where several Central players and staff will play an exhibition game before the final. Also in attendance to add some glamour will be the Sharkettes, Central FC’s promotion girls. And on Saturday September 15, the Sharks will launch their first of several fund-raising boat cruises. Leaving Port of Spain at midnight, the Chutney Cruise is bound to be a popular event, giving supporters the chance to lime with the club’s players and staff with tickets costing only $150. “We have much that we want to achieve off the field” said Operations Director, Kevin Harrison. “We have lots of willing volunteers and Point Lisas Industrial Hardware, one of our initial sponsors, has been very supportive. Once we have officially gained Pro League status, we will be able to finalise several other sponsorship deals, including our shirt sponsorship.”

« Reply #183 on: August 31, 2012, 10:44:23 AM »
Good stuff!!  Little things like this can go a long way to building both finacial and crowd support from within the community.

« Reply #184 on: August 31, 2012, 01:09:51 PM »
Nicely. Change them by example Sancho. Show them the template for class management .... even by a newbie.

« Reply #185 on: August 31, 2012, 05:21:47 PM »

Introducing the Central F.C. Sharkettes!!— at Point Lisas.

« Reply #186 on: September 01, 2012, 06:59:13 AM »

Central FC joins the T&T Pro League
« Reply #187 on: September 06, 2012, 12:52:04 PM »
Central FC joins the T&T Pro League
Central FC Media

Central F.C. have become the newest members of the TT Pro League according to the club’s Managing Director, Brent Sancho.

“We received confirmation from Pro League CEO, Dexter Skeene, who called us to welcome us to the league. It was a great moment for all associated with the club”

Sancho said that the phone call was followed up with an official letter of welcome from Mr Skeene. “It’s been very frustrating at times, but now we can focus on competing in the league” said Sancho

The club will now be able to officially register players and offer them contracts. “Obviously, we’ve completed most of the discussions already so it’s just a matter of putting pen to paper.

I’d like to publicly thank the players and staff for their patience. Although we’ve tried to reassure them, the boys have been training for 6 weeks without any guarantee of employment. Their professional attitude is to be applauded” said Sancho.

Head Coach, Graham Rix said “The morale of the guys has been remarkably good, considering the uncertainty. My staff have been superb under stressful circumstances and have worked hard to keep a positive mentality in the squad.”

Rix has been impressed with the performances from the players and the way they have adapted to his coaching style. “I suppose my style is unlike any they have experienced before, but there’s no magic involved, just continually focusing on the basics.

They’re a nice bunch of lads and we do have a laugh in training. It’s important that they enjoy the sessions, and you don’t have to be a drill instructor to get the best from footballers.”

But Rix is certain that the Sharks will be a team that clubs won’t enjoy playing against. “I haven’t really seen much of the opposition. I’ve watched Caledonia and W.Connection in their CONCACAF games, but I’m sure their style will be different in domestic games.

Our aim is to make it difficult for teams to play their own game. This season, for us, is about laying foundations and developing players to their potential.”

Operations Director, Kevin Harrison said “Now we’re over this hurdle, we can push on. We need to organize the players registrations and promote ourselves in the Central Region. We need to formerly introduce the club to the Central F.A. and TTFF and begin to plan for home games and events” 

Harrison said that several companies had approached the club to enquire about sponsorship opportunities. “It’s nice when sponsors approach us” said Harrison “By next week, we should have several deals completed. Some of the brands are new to football, and it’s nice to bring new money into the game.”

Harrison said that there is already great momentum behind the club, with over 4,000 visitors per week to their facebook page. “I think people especially like CENTRAL F.C. TV on You Tube.

For the first time in T&T, people get to see a fly on the wall look at the workings of a professional football team. The language is a little blue at times, but that is the reality. We’re hoping to eventually get a professional film maker to build this into a polished documentary.”

Meanwhile, the club are busy promoting their first fundraising event, a chutney boat cruise on 15th September. “It’s a great chance for supporters to get to know the players and staff and it’s great value at $150” said Sancho.

“We hope to be out and about in Chaguanas and Price Plaza on Friday night with our promotion girls, The Sharkettes to promote the event and sell tickets. Tickets are also available by contacting the club directly.”

To contact Central F.C., email to info.centralfc@gmail.com or call 679 5060

Simba Aberdeen Interview

« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 07:03:14 PM by Flex »

Re: Central FC joins the T&T Pro League
« Reply #188 on: September 06, 2012, 01:16:52 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Qk-IT9qSEyc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Qk-IT9qSEyc</a>

« Reply #189 on: September 06, 2012, 02:43:17 PM »
Great stuff, keep that energy and enthusiasm alive and you will be a big success!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #190 on: September 06, 2012, 04:40:00 PM »
Congrats!

Maybe organize all of this ("Sanch Introduces Central FC", "Frustrations mount for Central FC" etc.) into a "Central FC Forever Thread"... or something of the sort?

« Reply #191 on: September 06, 2012, 08:53:56 PM »
Big up to Dexter Skeene

« Reply #192 on: September 06, 2012, 10:06:01 PM »
congrats ....well done and good luck

« Reply #193 on: September 06, 2012, 10:11:23 PM »
Nice interview..........ah love it!!

I hope all of these players get their registrations issues sorted

« Reply #194 on: September 07, 2012, 09:56:16 AM »
Nice work Skeene...

Cant wait to see Central team.

Sancho could still play ?

Meet Central FC's head coach, Graham Rix
« Reply #195 on: September 07, 2012, 11:10:30 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KE9mFMmbB0E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KE9mFMmbB0E</a>

« Reply #196 on: September 07, 2012, 12:13:06 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KE9mFMmbB0E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KE9mFMmbB0E</a>

Only Tallman would have the nerve to ask the man who missed a penalty in the European Cup Winners Cup Final, if his team is practising penalties  :rotfl:

« Reply #197 on: September 07, 2012, 12:22:48 PM »
Looking good. Thanks for the vids. Wishing Central FC the best.

« Reply #198 on: September 07, 2012, 12:25:25 PM »

« Reply #199 on: September 07, 2012, 07:09:42 PM »
Congrats FS and Brent, your hard work and determination in forming the club and getting into the pro league has paid off...all the best this season :beermug:

P.S. If you want me to come down for a trial just contact my people and we'll talk ;D

« Reply #200 on: September 07, 2012, 09:14:02 PM »
Congrats FS and Brent, your hard work and determination in forming the club and getting into the pro league has paid off...all the best this season :beermug:

P.S. If you want me to come down for a trial just contact my people and we'll talk ;D

:beermug: Come down mate...we're looking for a man to mark out the field  :rotfl:

« Reply #201 on: September 07, 2012, 10:01:26 PM »

:beermug: Come down mate...we're looking for a man to mark out the field  :rotfl:

Dias what I talk bout :wavetowel:

One on one with Kevin Jeffrey
« Reply #202 on: September 07, 2012, 10:31:39 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Q5MMKcTNxRU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Q5MMKcTNxRU</a>

« Reply #203 on: September 08, 2012, 08:26:06 AM »
Skeene welcomes Central FC to Pro League.
T&T Newsday Reports.

DEXTER SKEENE, chief executive officer (CEO) of the TT Pro League, has welcomed Central FC to the fold, ahead of the 2012-2013 season.

“We want to welcome our newest addition, Central FC,” said Skeene, in a story on the Pro League website. “They (Central) have been approved. The Board has looked at all of the different aspects of the application.

“They have passed all the financial and administrative requirements and we are looking forward to have them participate for the 2012-2013 TT Pro League season.”

Central FC, which goes by the nickname ‘The Sharks’, will be coached by former England and Arsenal player Graham Rix, while former TT defender Brent Sancho will serve as the team’s managing director.

Central FC will join reigning champions DIRECTV W Connection, TTEC FC, Caledonia AIA, Defence Force, Police, North East Stars and St Ann’s Rangers as the eight participating team, but four-time League kings San Juan Jabloteh, will be out of the forthcoming season due to financial constraints.

“Jabloteh continue to look at financing opportunities,” stated Skeene. “They are looking for partners. As soon as they have gotten all of the different aspects together, they will rejoin the TT Pro League family and we are looking forward to have them continue for the 2013-2014 season.”

With the season set to begin today at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium with Digicel Pro League Champion, W Connection against last season’s Digicel Pro Bowl winner, Defence Force in the Digicel Charity Shield which kicks off from 5 pm.

“We are very excited,” expressed Skeene over the start of the season. “We are looking forward to an action packed season. We have a lot of new initiatives in store for our fans. It’s strategically on increasing the attendance at the games.

“It’s about improving the game day atmosphere ensuring the people who attend want to come back to the TT Pro League action,” continued Skeene.

“It’s about the communities, it’s about us linking with all of the fans and ensuring that we reach out to our target audiences, and improve, and strive to ensure that the quality of football in Trinidad and Tobago continues to reach to higher heights.”

The 2012-2013 Digicel Pro League Championship kicks off with matches on September 15 and 16.

Anthony Wolfe: From North East to Central
« Reply #204 on: September 08, 2012, 11:43:19 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EtryP09bOl8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EtryP09bOl8</a>

« Reply #205 on: September 08, 2012, 07:47:53 PM »
Ah done like alyuh page on FB....see gyul done begging for players bio.  :devil:

« Reply #206 on: September 08, 2012, 10:16:43 PM »
Ah done like alyuh page on FB....see gyul done begging for players bio.  :devil:

Well, we only signed the players on Friday, so they will be up soon! Hoping to provide video bios.

« Reply #207 on: September 09, 2012, 04:40:11 AM »
Niceness all rong. Good wuk on the vids. Congrats to Central FC!!!! Give thx and do allyuh ting!

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #208 on: September 09, 2012, 06:13:00 AM »
Link me if yall want a Public Relations/ Marketing personnel

« Reply #209 on: September 09, 2012, 07:54:01 AM »
Link me if yall want a Public Relations/ Marketing personnel

Count yourself hired! However, the salary is $0 and the hours long! Unfortunately, as important as we consider marketing and promotion, most of the budget goes on the football side of the operation! We have 3 very experienced volunteers, and you are welcome to join the gang, but there is no short term financial reward, unfortunately. But I guarantee that you will learn more in 3 months than in 12 months at business school!