March 28, 2024, 04:12:13 AM

Author Topic: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results  (Read 42852 times)

Re: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
« Reply #120 on: August 07, 2012, 10:00:11 PM »
So why not replace the injured man, not at his best..not doing so is dotish not me....The Olympics is not about fren and team in individual events breds...WHy must a man trian all year to make a team and then give it up?   Running and making it out the rounds can make cash...the man already did not get financial support from the government as the others did...now allyuh want him to give up all his hard work and sacrifice for what again?

And how de hell you or anyone else can guess that he did not perform to his peak in the 200 because he ran the 100?  That is shit talk...in fact it is dotish talk.

His times in the 200 are consiostent with what he has run all year, is not like he was doing anything close to his PB all his races...steups.

Again Marc did not earn his spot, this is not some fan popularity competition is National CHAMPIONSHIPS And he earned his spot!

Talk done
You really like to pretend yuh dumb sometimes just for argument sake eh?!

Sorrillo does not run the 100m seriously and only started running the 100m a bit more this year to help improve his top end speed to help cut down his 200m times. He even mentioned this in one of his interviews during National Trials.

The fact of the matter is that he screwed himself by trying to bite off more than he could chew for the London Olympics as there was no way he was making the 100m final having never run a sub-10 in his life unlike our 3 other top tier 100m sprinters RT, KS and MB.

Some of allyuh fellas really like to try to justify underachievement yuh know.

Regards Bledman he got injured at Crystal Place but they were obviously banking on him getting back to sub-10 shape in time for the 100m rounds at the London Olympics as it wasn’t a serious injury but he obviously was not quite there yet.
However Bledman’s track record of running quite a few sub-10s this year meant that he was always a way better bet than Sorrillo in making the 100m final as was proven by his quicker times than Sorrillo in the 100m rounds despite not being back to the top shape he was in before and up to our National Trials.

I done with this argument as you obviously don’t want to see the logic just for argument sake so take win. :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:12:08 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #121 on: August 07, 2012, 10:13:34 PM »
Yuh talking shit.   SO imagine a man who jes starting running the 100 beating yuh favored specialist and yuh still want to put the loser infront of him to run in the olympics?

Running a sub 10 in the past is no guarantee of making any finals or medaling so try again.  If that was the case we might as well of sent Brown to run too!

And if that is the so-called logic you and anyone else wants to sue justify the times and medal Lalonde won!  nah he never run sub 45 before was not even on allyuh radar yet..Semis fastest time, national record...then bronze in dey pweffen...nah yuh wrong yuh dead wrong!

The logic you seeing is from a fan perspective, not from an athletes's perspective.  I train, I diet, I scarifice I beat you and you want to go in front of me?   And why is Sorillo so different from all the other professional athletes that he cannot double as it taking so much from him?

Underachievement my ass.  The man went to the Championships and won..look at every sport has a championship and the champions are the winners...not so?  Marc did not make the top 3..ergo he did not run..that is fair.  If yuh let the man who finished fourth run ahead of the man who came third that is encouraging underachievement and what incentive do I have to train and run my ass and heart off if you can just put the person I beat ahead of me?

How is that fair?  Imagine a man listed as an elite athlete and getting funding and Sorillo eh get nutten and still beat him when it matters the most!  hahahaha

And if as you say Bledman was injured then he is the one that should have been replaced NOW that is logic...yuh doh agree?

Marc only ran a 10 flat in Lucerne, his best time for three facking years..AFTER the National Championships and after the team was already selected...maybe he shoulda bring that 10 flat in the Sagicor Championships!

You looking at this as medals for T&T...you feel them athletes running for some misguided patriotic reasons?  lol    Breds them fellas and girls running, jumping and throwing for themelves FIRST!  In the relays and in team sports is a different scenario...where they have to depend on each othjer, when yuh in them blocks is everyman for himself..if you want to amke team..perform when it matters or stay home and watch it like me.

Now the talk done!
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 01:33:15 PM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #122 on: August 07, 2012, 10:47:48 PM »
Even from a selfish perspective what Sorrillo did makes little logical sense and was not to his personal benefit!

If I was Sorrillo I was concentrating on the 200m whether or not there was another T&T runner available to take my 100m spot as I stood a decent chance of making the 200m final and making more money as an athlete from Meet invites as I could boast on my CV that I was a London 2012 200m Olympic finalist.

Sorrillo beat Burns once in his life at National Trials so what? Kai also beat Michelle at National Trials in the 100m. However Kai also qualified for the 200m which she specialises in and so did not lose out by allowing Michelle to have her 100m spot.
So all I am saying is that Sorrillo was in a similar position to Kai and could have done the honourable thing especially as it could have benefitted his performance in the 200m where he stood a decent chance of making the 200m final if he did had not waste so much of his energy on trying to double.
Remember Sorrillo made the 200m finals at World's last year so he was somewhat expected to do similar at Olympics and has now lost a lot of stripes as a 200m runner as a consequence of his failure to progress. Where is the selfish logic in that? I could see the dotishness but not the logic!

Anyway as I said take win as you just want to drag out this thing into a long time consuming argument.  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:56:01 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #123 on: August 08, 2012, 07:43:23 AM »
sorrillo ran the 100 in the college but i agree he shouldnt have ran that event in the olympics.  He is not strong enough to do those 2 events.  His focus should have been only the 200.

« Reply #124 on: August 08, 2012, 08:05:41 AM »
sorrillo ran the 100 in the college but i agree he shouldnt have ran that event in the olympics.  He is not strong enough to do those 2 events.  His focus should have been only the 200.

ENT/CO-SIGNNNNN

« Reply #125 on: August 08, 2012, 08:07:22 AM »
So Sorillo shoulda give up his achievement of a 100M Olympic semis, so he could concentrate on the achievement of a semis in 200 instead?

« Reply #126 on: August 08, 2012, 09:25:29 AM »
So Sorillo shoulda give up his achievement of a 100M Olympic semis, so he could concentrate on the achievement of a semis in 200 instead?

Exactly, forget National trials, forget training, forget rewarding excellence, give it to someone else in the name of T&T...the same T&T dat refused to give him financial support.

And the assness that he is not strong enough to run both events, the same both events he ran in Nationals and beat Marc in and everyone else in the 200!

yeah..dats it.

« Reply #127 on: August 08, 2012, 09:56:15 AM »
You are really slow Dinner Mints.

Based upon Sorrillo's SB 20.40 and PB 20.16 he had a great chance of making the 200m semis and final at this Olympics as he did at World Champ's last year.

But he chose to waste vital energy on the 100m and suffered for it when he tackled the 200m.
Doubling at T&T National Trials is not even quarter as difficult as doubling at Olympics unless you are a world class athlete at both events like a Yohan Blake or a Usian Bolt.

Had Sorrillo prioritised and made the 200m semis and final as he was well capable of doing he would have gained more international respect for his consistency as a 200m runner and would be invited to more international Meets to run the 200m and so be able to earn some decent money on the T&F circuit after the Olympics. He basically shot himself in the foot but let’s hope he has learnt his lesson now.

Sorrillo decision to double was not a clever one but it was his choice and he now has to live with his failure to progress in his pet event the 200m at Olympics in which he is the current T&T National Champion.

I don't know about you guys but I expect my National Champion in any T&F event barring injury to at least make the Olympic finals! Maybe my standards are too high for some of allyuh here!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 10:12:46 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #128 on: August 08, 2012, 10:12:21 AM »
Sorillo was not making the 200m finals.

So a man who make the semis in the 200m and the finals in worlds is not a world class athlete?

steups.

His running the 100m is his decision and he deserved the opportunity
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 10:18:43 AM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #129 on: August 08, 2012, 10:16:41 AM »
There was no way Sorillo was making the 200m finals. not a chance.
We can say that with assurance about the 100m but not the 200m.

Sorrillo made 200m finals at Worlds last year and if he was able to run near his SB in his Heat he would have been 2nd and thru to the semis. Then if he was able to run near is PB in the semis he would have been able to make the final.

Sorrillo was well capable of making the 200m final but blew his chance once he tackled the 100m rounds as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. That is the reality but bad athlete management based on his capablities blew his chance.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 10:24:27 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #130 on: August 08, 2012, 10:26:46 AM »
Pro what is de vibes in dem fete and dem in London? 

« Reply #131 on: August 08, 2012, 10:30:08 AM »

So a man who make the semis in the 200m and the finals in worlds is not a world class athlete?

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

It means he is a world class athlete at the 200m, not at the 100m!

So many slow people round here, I hope allyuh wasn't T&T athletes in the past else no wonder we have underperformed!  ::)

« Reply #132 on: August 08, 2012, 10:30:51 AM »
Pro what is de vibes in dem fete and dem in London? 
Really nice, things heating up for Notting Hill!  :beermug:

« Reply #133 on: August 08, 2012, 10:35:51 AM »

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

So many slow people round here, I hope allyuh wasn't T&T athletes in the past else no wonder we have underperformed!  ::)
eh heh well I was..and I was not that slow.  Sorillo making it to the semis and he is not world class is news, thanks for the education

« Reply #134 on: August 08, 2012, 10:55:01 AM »

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

eh heh well I was..and I was not that slow.  Sorillo making it to the semis and he is not world class is news, thanks for the education
If you want to believe that Sorrillo is currently a top tier world class 100m sprinter then you can keep deluding yourself.

I prefer to live in the real world. Do you know what is Sorrillo's current 100m world ranking?

Bet you he is ranked much higher in the 200m than in the 100m but after that performance in the 200m Heats we can expect his 200m ranking to fall drastically after this Olympics.

It's unfortunate because Sorrillo is a nice fella and did try his best in the 200m but his tank ran empty after the first 150m.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 10:59:35 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #135 on: August 08, 2012, 11:00:29 AM »
lol, abd that was due to the 100m right?  lol

« Reply #136 on: August 08, 2012, 11:03:02 AM »
lol, abd that was due to the 100m right?  lol
:idea: Eureka!! Took you a while to switch on the light bulb but glad you finally did!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 11:09:11 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #137 on: August 08, 2012, 02:09:12 PM »
Semoy 8th in de final. 22.87.

« Reply #138 on: August 08, 2012, 07:56:46 PM »
I hope you see how close the Frenchie whose coach made him give up the 100 for only the 200 came to getting the boot eh.  In only as the fastest loser. The Jackasses.

« Reply #139 on: August 08, 2012, 08:11:39 PM »
I hope you see how close the Frenchie whose coach made him give up the 100 for only the 200 came to getting the boot eh.  In only as the fastest loser. The Jackasses.

No his coach made a wise decision as Christophe Lemaitre had a much lower chance of medalling in the 100m than in the 200m.

Christophe Lemaitre may still not medal in the 200m but at least he knows that's his better race where he stands a better chance of medalling so why waste vital energy in the 100m on a lost cause?

Christophe Lemaitre will not run lower than 5th in the final and may even medal if Warren Weir and Wallace Spearmon disappoint.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 08:14:21 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #140 on: August 08, 2012, 08:25:10 PM »
ell looking at Spearmon it looks like he ran in the 100m also becasue he almost get caught by Frenchie....Once you make the finals anything can happen but I doubt he getting a medal although..ALTHOUGH that fella from France have a serious abd mind too.

« Reply #141 on: August 09, 2012, 02:53:54 PM »
congrats to jamaica for their 1-2-3 in the men's 200m. wow.

« Reply #142 on: August 09, 2012, 03:53:46 PM »
Hit by a lightning bolt, attacked by a beast and bitten by a warewolf

« Reply #143 on: August 17, 2012, 12:05:47 PM »

This was an image that flashed up on the screen when Bolt won the 200m. I happened to be recording the event and when I played it back I noticed it and took a picture of the image on the screen. It was on the screen for a fraction of a second.

The colours of the watermelon match the Jamaican colours but I have to conclude that this family did not know the watermelon stereotype.

« Reply #144 on: August 17, 2012, 12:39:48 PM »
dais ah yankee ting oui

island people does eat dey watermelon and fried chicken stigma free

« Reply #145 on: August 17, 2012, 01:40:22 PM »
dais ah yankee ting oui

island people does eat dey watermelon and fried chicken stigma free

oh ho. dat is why the KFC in POS so successful?

« Reply #146 on: August 17, 2012, 01:44:03 PM »
Can I have some corn with that?