March 28, 2024, 12:19:39 PM

Author Topic: London Olympics Men and Women's 4x100m and 4x400m Relay Thread!  (Read 70861 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: London Olympics Men and Women's 4x100m and 4x400m Relay Thread!
« Reply #300 on: August 11, 2012, 02:15:16 PM »
If we had a better lane we would have beaten Canada outright anyway!  :beermug:

It had nothing to do with the lane. Richard left too early, or else we would have never been in that position.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #301 on: August 11, 2012, 02:15:54 PM »
Anybody know the reason for the DQ?
I think Canada exchanged outside their zone on one of their exachanges or ran into someone else's lane!

Will confirm, later! Canada still suffering from the Ben Johnson curse!  ;)

3rd leg mash the lane for canada

« Reply #302 on: August 11, 2012, 02:16:35 PM »

It had nothing to do with the lane. Richard left too early, or else we would have never been in that position.

I nearly say we make the same mistake in two days yes

Online Peong

« Reply #303 on: August 11, 2012, 02:17:33 PM »
Is this our most successful Olympics ever?  It's our best single day I'm sure.

« Reply #304 on: August 11, 2012, 02:20:50 PM »

I was scared when i saw him take off

I nearly say we make the same mistake in two days yes

ENT

« Reply #305 on: August 11, 2012, 02:21:42 PM »
Is this our most successful Olympics ever?  It's our best single day I'm sure.

You have to ask that  ;D

« Reply #306 on: August 11, 2012, 02:24:47 PM »
The rivalry on the track continue because as of right now

US have won gold in the womens 200m, 400m , 4x100 relay, mens 110 m hurdles

Jamaica have won gold in the mens 100m, 200m and womens 100m

American women just won the 4x400 relay, so add that Gold to the list and rivalry

Jamaica won the 4 x 100..so in terms of track this Olympics will end with US = 5 gold, Jamaica 4 gold...

Kenya also has Two Gold, and Mo Farah bring home two Gold for the British on the track

« Reply #307 on: August 11, 2012, 02:25:19 PM »
Congrats to Walcott on the Javelin

« Reply #308 on: August 11, 2012, 02:26:31 PM »
We are much better than 38.12, but will take the bronze nonetheless, have to brush up on our 4x100s for the future, congrats fellas!!

Offline STMB

« Reply #309 on: August 11, 2012, 02:27:37 PM »
Anybody know the reason for the DQ?
I think Canada exchanged outside their zone on one of their exchanges or ran into someone else's lane!

Will confirm later but I think Canada is still suffering from the Ben Johnson curse!  ;)

Nah man, remember they won gold in the 100m and 4x100m in 1996?

« Reply #310 on: August 11, 2012, 02:28:21 PM »
most successful olympics ever for us...hopefully we can build on it.

« Reply #311 on: August 11, 2012, 02:31:04 PM »
We are much better than 38.12, but will take the bronze nonetheless, have to brush up on our 4x100s for the future, congrats fellas!!

RT take off wayyy to fast

« Reply #312 on: August 11, 2012, 02:31:52 PM »

RT take off wayyy to fast

Watchi is again, Callendar deccelerate too fast, RT take off when EC enter the zone

« Reply #313 on: August 11, 2012, 02:40:07 PM »
ONDON—Canada has been disqualified from the final of the men's 4x100-metre relay at the London Olympics after initially appearing to win the bronze medal.

The team of Gavin Smellie of Brampton, Ont., Ottawa's Oluseyi Smith, Jared Connaughton of New Haven, P.E.I., and anchor Justyn Warner of Markham, Ont., brought out the Maple Leaf to celebrate after posting a time of 38.07 seconds.

But the team was disqualified after it appeared Connaughton stepped out of his lane.

The DQ gave the bronze to Trinidad and Tobago, leaving the Canadians doubled over on the track in tears.

Jamaica won gold in a world-record time of 36.84 seconds. The United States took silver in 37.04.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #314 on: August 11, 2012, 02:40:51 PM »
Correction. world championship

Medal Ceremony for Walcott

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrM7KIQT3bA&feature=youtube_gdata_player
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 02:43:24 PM by TdotTrini »
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #315 on: August 11, 2012, 02:41:50 PM »
I feel RT does prayer a lot yuh know!!
He almost mess up like KAB with almost running out of zone before receiving the baton and had to stop to get the baton before running off again. Canada would not have been in any bronze position if that last exchange had gone how it should have gone.
Well done to RT for still running back for 4th place and still getting T&T a bronze after Canada was DQed.

God has blessed our nation today, Happy 50th Independence T&T; we got a gold and 3 bronze to celebrate.

I still hurting for our Women in the 4x100m relay yesterday as the tally could easily have been 1 gold and 4 bronze but we must congratulate all our athletes on putting out their best and making us all so proud of their performances at this Olympics.
Together We Aspire, Together We Excel & Together We Achieve, ah love-up my country!!  :cheers:

« Reply #316 on: August 11, 2012, 02:45:11 PM »
Correction. world championship

Medal Ceremony for Walcott

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/rrM7KIQT3bA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/rrM7KIQT3bA</a>

Nice one but that is the medal ceremony from World Junior Champs and not this Olympics!
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 02:46:50 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #317 on: August 11, 2012, 02:54:45 PM »
He almost mess up like KAB with almost running out of zone before receiving the baton and had to stop to get the baton before running off again. Canada would not have been in any bronze position if that last exchange had gone how it should have gone.
Well done to RT for still running back for 4th place and still getting T&T a bronze after Canada was DQed.

God has blessed our nation today, Happy 50th Independence T&T; we got a gold and 3 bronze to celebrate.

I still hurting for our Women in the 4x100m relay yesterday as the tally could easily have been 1 gold and 4 bronze but we must congratulate all our athletes on putting out their best and making us all so proud of their performances at this Olympics.
Together We Aspire, Together We Excel & Together We Achieve, ah love-up my country!!  :cheers:

:beermug: Pro and all those celebrating today for a fabulous day in TnT Sports...

Offline STMB

« Reply #318 on: August 11, 2012, 02:55:16 PM »

Ato, convince your boy Drummond to come and coach the T&T relay teams nah?
Obviously the T&T counterpart needs to be put out to pasture.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #319 on: August 11, 2012, 02:59:33 PM »
Keshorn Walcott Olympic medal ceremony.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/xi8ee2tgYdY&amp;feature=channel&amp;list=UL" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/xi8ee2tgYdY&amp;feature=channel&amp;list=UL</a>
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #320 on: August 11, 2012, 03:06:54 PM »
Thanks for sharing :beermug:

« Reply #321 on: August 11, 2012, 03:18:25 PM »
Keshorn Walcott Olympic medal ceremony.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/xi8ee2tgYdY&amp;feature=channel&amp;list=UL" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/xi8ee2tgYdY&amp;feature=channel&amp;list=UL</a>

:applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #322 on: August 11, 2012, 03:50:03 PM »
Somebody say us beating Canada like that was payback for Gibbs and Ewatski... wired868 Lasana site

« Reply #323 on: August 11, 2012, 04:22:12 PM »
Somebody say us beating Canada like that was payback for Gibbs and Ewatski... wired868 Lasana site
We would have finished in 3rd place ahead of Canada anyway if we had had a more efficient baton exchange between Callendar and Thompson.
Thompson went off a bit too early and had to almost stop so he could receive the baton inside the exchange zone before starting off again.

Our relay teams need to work on better more efficient exchanges in real time race situations which mean running relays more regularly at every opportunity they get especially before major championships when we will be competing in the relays.

And glad they changed the order of the relay team back to what they are more familiar with RT on anchor despite RT almost messing up on the final exchange.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 04:25:41 PM by Socapro »

Online gawd on pitch

« Reply #324 on: August 11, 2012, 04:44:08 PM »
We would have finished in 3rd place ahead of Canada anyway if we had had a more efficient baton exchange between Callendar and Thompson.
Thompson went off a bit too early and had to almost stop so he could receive the baton inside the exchange zone before starting off again.

Our relay teams need to work on better more efficient exchanges in real time race situations which mean running relays more regularly at every opportunity they get especially before major championships when we will be competing in the relays.

And glad they changed the order of the relay team back to what they are more familiar with RT on anchor despite RT almost messing up on the final exchange.

This team does not look as if they can even break the NR.

I am not advocating for or insinuating anything... The best team was 2009 with Brown. They ran a smooth 37.62. The exchanges were very smooth. I remember seeing it live.

Offline STMB

« Reply #325 on: August 11, 2012, 04:47:40 PM »
Wow - I have to watch this race again.

USA had taken gold in the women's 4x400m Relay, running the fastest time in the world for 19 years. Led off by DeeDee Trotter (50.5), Olympic 200m champion Allyson Felix produced an astonishing 47.8 split to give her team an unassailable lead. Francena McCorory coasted around her lap in 49.39 before Sanya Richards-Ross brought them home with a 49.10 leg, stopping the clock in 3:16.87 – the fastest time in the world since 1993

« Reply #326 on: August 11, 2012, 06:34:01 PM »

« Reply #327 on: August 11, 2012, 06:39:47 PM »
Did TV6 show their medal ceremony?

« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 08:13:35 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #328 on: August 12, 2012, 09:13:59 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;</a>

« Reply #329 on: August 12, 2012, 09:29:20 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;</a>
Yeah big-up to Bledman for real, running with a bad hip and putting it all on the line to help our team win a medal in the 4x100m relay final.

PS: Bledman has been training with Tyson but it seems that he is starting to emulate Tyson a bit too closely now with this hip injury he is now suffering from? Just joking but hope Bledman's hip can fully recover soon and he can continue giving Tyson and the other top sprinters hell on the track for the rest of the season.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 10:47:51 PM by Socapro »