March 29, 2024, 07:06:15 AM

Author Topic: London Olympics Men and Women's 4x100m and 4x400m Relay Thread!  (Read 70870 times)

Re: London Olympics Men and Women's 4x100m and 4x400m Relay Thread!
« Reply #330 on: August 12, 2012, 09:47:24 PM »
See B
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;</a>
Yeah big-up to Bledman for real, running with a bad hip and putting it all on the line to help our team win a medal in the 4x100m relay final.

PS: Bledman has been training with Tyson but it seems that he is starting to emulate Tyson a bit too closely now with this hip injury he is now suffering from? Just joking but hope Bledman's hip can fully recover soon and he can be continue giving Tyson and the other top sprinters hell on the track for the rest of the season.
ledman should have given up his place for Marc.

« Reply #331 on: August 12, 2012, 10:00:40 PM »
Somebody say us beating Canada like that was payback for Gibbs and Ewatski... wired868 Lasana site
We would have finished in 3rd place ahead of Canada anyway if we had had a more efficient baton exchange between Callendar and Thompson.
Thompson went off a bit too early and had to almost stop so he could receive the baton inside the exchange zone before starting off again.

Our relay teams need to work on better more efficient exchanges in real time race situations which mean running relays more regularly at every opportunity they get especially before major championships when we will be competing in the relays.

And glad they changed the order of the relay team back to what they are more familiar with RT on anchor despite RT almost messing up on the final exchange.

This team does not look as if they can even break the NR.

I am not advocating for or insinuating anything... The best team was 2009 with Brown. They ran a smooth 37.62. The exchanges were very smooth. I remember seeing it live.

Yes you insinuating plenty..doh try that!   You started off by saying this team cannot even break the national record.  And then,,, YOU SAY that the BEST team was 2009 with Brown...lol

Brown cannot make any damn T&T team now, leave he out the discussion!   If we have a fully fit team, and the exchanges are smooth we beating that record abd.  We have faster men now and Brown is a has been.

Talk done.

« Reply #332 on: August 12, 2012, 10:58:11 PM »
See B
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5BmkzbG0eGI&amp;</a>
Yeah big-up to Bledman for real, running with a bad hip and putting it all on the line to help our team win a medal in the 4x100m relay final.

PS: Bledman has been training with Tyson but it seems that he is starting to emulate Tyson a bit too closely now with this hip injury he is now suffering from? Just joking but hope Bledman's hip can fully recover soon and he can continue giving Tyson and the other top sprinters hell on the track for the rest of the season.
ledman should have given up his place for Marc.
You are confused TT! Marc was on the team!
The order of our 4x100m relay team in the final was Bledman > Burns >> Callendar >>> Thompson.
The last exchange was very sloppy with RT leaving out slightly too early then having to slow down to collect baton in the zone (RT's fault).
We would have beaten Canada outright for the bronze and would have run near to our NR if that last exchange was done more efficiently.
When Bledman is back to 100% fitness that same team that ran in the final will easily lower our current 4x100m relay national record.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 11:00:34 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #333 on: August 13, 2012, 06:00:04 AM »
You are confused.  I meant in the individuals 100m   the man clearly wed unfit

« Reply #334 on: August 13, 2012, 07:34:51 AM »
Somebody say us beating Canada like that was payback for Gibbs and Ewatski... wired868 Lasana site
We would have finished in 3rd place ahead of Canada anyway if we had had a more efficient baton exchange between Callendar and Thompson.
Thompson went off a bit too early and had to almost stop so he could receive the baton inside the exchange zone before starting off again.

Our relay teams need to work on better more efficient exchanges in real time race situations which mean running relays more regularly at every opportunity they get especially before major championships when we will be competing in the relays.

And glad they changed the order of the relay team back to what they are more familiar with RT on anchor despite RT almost messing up on the final exchange.

calender got the baton in first place i believe ... he was slow on the curve ....... we need a new curve runner now

« Reply #335 on: August 13, 2012, 07:46:03 AM »
You are confused.  I meant in the individuals 100m   the man clearly wed unfit
Yeah but who knows what happened?

It's quite possible that Bledman was declared fully fit after getting treatment for the hip injury he sustained at Crystal Palace Meet and ended up aggravating the injury again during his runs of the Heats and Semis of the 100m at the London Olympics.
If that was the case then it would have been too late to submit Burns in place of Bledman for the 100m as the event would have already started.

At any rate big up to Bledman, Burns, Callendar and Thompson for still bringing us home an Olympic bronze medal despite all the hurdles they had to overcome!

« Reply #336 on: August 13, 2012, 08:01:43 AM »

calender got the baton in first place i believe ... he was slow on the curve ....... we need a new curve runner now

We already have Sorrillo as a good alternative to Callender if Callender is not handling the curve quick enough on the 3rd leg.
Sorrillo should be a good curve runner being our current national 200m champion and having beaten Callendar and the rest of T&T sprinters soundly at the 200m in the process.

Here are three good alternative 4x100m relay line-ups that I believe we can go with and achieve times near to our national record or better:-

Bledman > Burns >> Callender >>> Thompson

Bledman > Burns >> Sorrillo >>> Thompson

Sorrillo > Burns >> Callender >>> Thompson

And if Brown makes his comeback and becomes national 100m champ once again then
Bledman > Burns >> Thompson >>>  Brown

In fact I feel this last line up once Brown makes his comeback will smash the new JA World record!  ;)
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 08:08:22 AM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

« Reply #337 on: August 13, 2012, 11:04:57 AM »
Splits by my watch:
Lalonde-44.65
Jarrin- 44.37
Ade-45.63
Lendore-44.66

So Ade improved just enough from yesterday but now I know with a healthy Quow, this team could run a second faster.

Anyways bigups once more fellas :beermug: :beermug:
Nice one!  :beermug:

Splits In The Olympic Men's 4x4 Final
Olympic men's 4x4 splits compiled from the best avaiable sources by Mark Butler:

1, 2:56.72  BAH  Chris Brown 45.2, Demetrius Pinder 43.3, Michael Mathieu 44.25, Ramon Miller 44.01
2, 2:57.05  USA  Bryshon Nellum 45.1, Josh Mance 43.7, Tony McQuay 43.41, Angelo Taylor 44.85
3, 2:59.40  TRI   L. Gordon 44.6, Jarrin Solomon 44.6, Ade Alleyne-Forte 45.51, Deon Lendore 44.73
4, 2:59.53  GBR  Conrad Williams 45.1, Jack Green 45.9, David Greene 45.53, Martyn Rooney 44.09
5, 3:00.09  RUS  Maksim Dyldin 45.3, Denis Alekseyev 45.3, ladimir Krasnov 44.69, Pavel Trenikhin 44.83
6, 3:01.83  BEL   Kevin Borlée 45.3, Antoine Gillet 45.7, Jonathan Borlée 44.55, Michael Bultheel 46.31
7, 3:02.18  VEN   Arturo Ramirez 46.0, Alberto Aguilar 45.6, Albert Bravo 45.11, Omar Longart 45.76
8, 3:03.46  RSA   Shaun de Jager 46.3, Willem de Beer 45.2, LJ van Zyl 46.27, Oscar Pistorius 45.69
                CUB   W. Collazo 45.3 (estimate), Raidel Acea 44.3 (estimate), Noel Ruíz dnf, Omar Cisneros dns
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 11:08:11 AM by STMB »

« Reply #338 on: August 13, 2012, 11:25:48 AM »
Splits by my watch:
Lalonde-44.65
Jarrin- 44.37
Ade-45.63
Lendore-44.66

So Ade improved just enough from yesterday but now I know with a healthy Quow, this team could run a second faster.

Anyways bigups once more fellas :beermug: :beermug:
Nice one!  :beermug:

Splits In The Olympic Men's 4x4 Final
Olympic men's 4x4 splits compiled from the best avaiable sources by Mark Butler:

1, 2:56.72  BAH  Chris Brown 45.2, Demetrius Pinder 43.3, Michael Mathieu 44.25, Ramon Miller 44.01
2, 2:57.05  USA  Bryshon Nellum 45.1, Josh Mance 43.7, Tony McQuay 43.41, Angelo Taylor 44.85
3, 2:59.40  TRI   L. Gordon 44.6, Jarrin Solomon 44.6, Ade Alleyne-Forte 45.51, Deon Lendore 44.73
4, 2:59.53  GBR  Conrad Williams 45.1, Jack Green 45.9, David Greene 45.53, Martyn Rooney 44.09
5, 3:00.09  RUS  Maksim Dyldin 45.3, Denis Alekseyev 45.3, ladimir Krasnov 44.69, Pavel Trenikhin 44.83
6, 3:01.83  BEL   Kevin Borlée 45.3, Antoine Gillet 45.7, Jonathan Borlée 44.55, Michael Bultheel 46.31
7, 3:02.18  VEN   Arturo Ramirez 46.0, Alberto Aguilar 45.6, Albert Bravo 45.11, Omar Longart 45.76
8, 3:03.46  RSA   Shaun de Jager 46.3, Willem de Beer 45.2, LJ van Zyl 46.27, Oscar Pistorius 45.69
                CUB   W. Collazo 45.3 (estimate), Raidel Acea 44.3 (estimate), Noel Ruíz dnf, Omar Cisneros dns
Good stuff! Aviator wasn't too far off!  :beermug:

Offline STMB

« Reply #339 on: August 14, 2012, 08:04:44 AM »
LONDON (GBR) - Track and Field News published following splits for men 4x100 m relay. 

In first leg Nesta Carter 10.1 and Trell Kimmons 10.2, in second Michael Frater and Justin Gatlin both same 8.9, in third leg Yohan Blake and Tyson Gay identical 9.0 and anchors Usain Bolt 8.8 with Ryan Bailey 8.9.

Jamaica      USA
Carter 10.1  Kimmons 10.2
Frater 8.9    Gatlin 8.9
Blake 9.0     Gay 9.0
Bolt 8.8       Bailey 8.9

Given that Bailey and Bolt were dead even as they received the baton and JA ended up winning by 0.2, I find it hard to believe the anchor splits; I think Bolt may have run 8.7

« Reply #340 on: August 16, 2012, 06:00:13 AM »
Youtube video of Olympic Men's 4x100m Relay Final!

Men's 4 x 100m Relay Final Full Replay -- London 2012 Olympic Games - World Record
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uwLDpcye-VM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uwLDpcye-VM</a>