April 24, 2024, 08:42:37 AM

Author Topic: Her Excellency Ambassador Baptiste Cornelis  (Read 20158 times)

Re: Her Excellency Ambassador Baptiste Cornelis
« Reply #60 on: August 05, 2012, 04:38:11 PM »
On a serious note who is the moderator? ah find she looking good....

Tropical Bear or Beer? why didn't she just call herself Carib?

I used to boast about how Trinbagonians are well educated and can hold their own in any forum.....boy what a liar I've become

And on a note so serious note this all pertains to "this is we time and we have to get one of we in there" a quote uttered by a board member of a state run company.

Boss, I notice the Moderator from the get go. I surprised somebody now mention it.

Yummy. Moderate all over me Mamma.  :P :P

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #61 on: August 05, 2012, 05:06:00 PM »
On a serious note who is the moderator? ah find she looking good....

Tropical Bear or Beer? why didn't she just call herself Carib?

I used to boast about how Trinbagonians are well educated and can hold their own in any forum.....boy what a liar I've become

And on a note so serious note this all pertains to "this is we time and we have to get one of we in there" a quote uttered by a board member of a state run company.

Boss, I notice the Moderator from the get go. I surprised somebody now mention it.

Yummy. Moderate all over me Mamma.  :P :P

http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=117432129&authType=NAME_SEARCH&authToken=pBpK&locale=en_US&srchid=a9287e6d-c05b-4188-9fd9-54a06832892d-0&srchindex=1&srchtotal=2&goback=%2Efps_PBCK_*1_Amy_Soar_*1_*1_*1_*1_*2_*1_Y_*1_*1_*1_false_1_R_*1_*51_*1_*51_true_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2&pvs=ps&trk=pp_profile_photo_link

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/amysoar

Painful but precious in its truth
« Reply #62 on: August 05, 2012, 08:21:19 PM »
Painful but precious in its truth
By Sunity Maharaj (T&T Express)

Now that the shock is beginning to subside, we should consider thanking Therese Baptiste-Cornelis for the raw insights she has given us into the insidious nature of maximum power.

In 37 minutes of uninhibited rambling, she blew the cover off our political pretensions, revealing us as a people represented by arbitrary, opportunistic power to which merit and standards are of no particular concern.

We now have new raw data in the form of a first person account of what, under the veneer of democratic political process, our politics really looks like. It ain't pretty but it is ours.

So, despite our huge investment in denial, it would serve us better if, after we're done beating up on the messenger of our mess, we would look into the mirror and ask: "So what are you going to do about it?"

Hopefully the political scientists at UWI already know what they're going to do. The Baptiste-Cornelis experience is rich material for a research project designed to bring greater clarity and understanding of our representation-resistant politics, masquerading as a variant of the Westminster system.

In those 37 minutes, the former lecturer of the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business provided a truly rare and privileged view into the nature of the political beast that we are up against, ripping apart the sham of democratic process and revealing arbitrary power in all its glorious nakedness.

For fifty years we have been knocking our heads, trying to understand why the Westminster system bequeathed to us by the departing British has been failing us so badly; why we remain so powerless and trapped in a dysfunctional relationship with our politics.Why, with all the trappings of democracy—free and fair elections and parliament and all—the will of the people is reduced to the impotence of a dipped index finger once every five years.

Lloyd Best, long ago, gave us a fully explicated theory of how and why, but we have needed learning moments like this one to see in concrete terms what he so easily grasped in the abstract. Having provided such an opportunity, Baptiste-Cornelis should now go on to pen her political memoir of real politik T&T style. Our politics needs to be informed by more than zeppo and grapevine; we need her to break the pact of secrecy that binds the cohorts of power. So Madame, please tell us more!

It is good, too, that in her casual innocence, Baptiste-Cornelis has pushed us to the point of pain. If we could hold on to the hurt and trace it back to its origin, we might find that it leads to a deep, unexpressed love for this place. And because love brings compulsions of its own—often dangerous ones—we have preferred to bury it under a flippant cynicism, afraid that it might ask more of us than we feel able to give. But what if we did allow ourselves to become articulate about our love for this place? And what if we found that, having done so, we could release the energy for its demands on us?

Can we not sense that with every fall down the spiral of possibility, what Trinidad and Tobago is really asking from us is a declaration of love of an order higher than that which we proclaim?

Now that the undiplomatic diplomat has helped us to know better, are we still willing to be counted among the cheering masses, mere grist for the political mill?Will we still pour praise and stain our fingers for now-for-now politicians who got on the ticket because the leader called them to service one mad night? Will we still refuse to scrutinise credentials for cabinet duty and fitness to act on our behalf? Will we demand no guarantees about expertise in dispensing our resources representing us to the world?

This is the culture of collective unresponsibility that has given rise to the political phenomenon of which Baptiste-Cornelis is only an extreme example. She is no aberration; just a logical outcome.

Yes, she scares us, but only because she presents the awfulness of a truth we would wish to deny in our pretence to be a sophisticated electorate in a fully functional democracy, led by real leaders, capable of change and of taking the world by storm.

The truth is that we are a people easily fooled, not because we're not smart, but because of our capacity for self-delusion as a means of escape from the effort required to act on our own behalf.

It is the hallmark of our disempowerment that we are willing to accept that our world is completely beyond our control, rather than exert ourselves to let change in. So much better that we start from early to line up the bobolees to beat when things go wrong. As they surely will.

First we invite them to 'fool me nah!'; then we complain 'they fool we!'

What does it say about the representational aspect of our politics that it repeatedly throws up leaders who know so little about the country and its people? If we think better of ourselves, how then do we explain the crop of leaders we repeatedly end up with as representatives of us?

What does it say about us that having exercised our right to vote, we must stand by powerless,watching government after government become a train wreck?

In our impotence, we resort to the standard weapons of the disempowered: character assassination and personal humiliation. We boo, we spread rake, unable to access institutional tools for initiating change.

Based on the current explosive levels of impotent outrage, the forecast now can only be for plenty more booing. If not worse.

Still, all is not lost.

In our defence, we should admit that, relatively speaking, we are new to the exercise of self-responsibility for which political independence is merely one conducive condition.

We can also admit that our history of material dispossession makes us prime targets for bribery and, therefore, for early compromise and quick surrender.

And we should admit that our willingness to ignore trespasses against our vaunted standards and values stems from a deep sense of insignificance that makes us thankful for the merest touch by the hand of power,

As a catalyst for opening up the conversation, we should now thank Ms Baptiste-Cornelis and wish her well in her return to private life.

« Reply #63 on: August 05, 2012, 08:54:30 PM »
Ah feel ah married to Sunity ...

« Reply #64 on: August 05, 2012, 09:35:31 PM »
Ah feel ah married to Sunity ...

I wonder which party your wife voted for?  Remembering that in our Westminister style, a no vote is really a vote for the incumbent.

Hmmmm?

« Reply #65 on: August 07, 2012, 01:03:35 PM »
Leave wifey alone.

« Reply #66 on: August 07, 2012, 03:39:47 PM »
Leave wifey alone.
She was Llyod best wife and she most inportantly have no Chinee in she..unless you plan to put yuh ming pa ling in she?  lol

« Reply #67 on: August 07, 2012, 04:18:21 PM »
Leave wifey alone.
She was Llyod best wife and she most inportantly have no Chinee in she..unless you plan to put yuh ming pa ling in she?  lol

I will take that under advisement. :)

« Reply #68 on: August 09, 2012, 02:37:58 PM »
Has been recalled d problem is back to POS.

« Reply #69 on: August 09, 2012, 02:42:31 PM »
eh heh...lol   too funny

Baptiste-Cornelis returns to T&T next month
« Reply #70 on: August 09, 2012, 03:18:13 PM »
Baptiste-Cornelis returns to T&T next month
ctntworld.com

T&T's Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva, Mrs. Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, will return to Trinidad and Tobago early next month to meet with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Winston Dookeran.

This was confirmed by the Minister of Communications, Mr. Jamal Mohammed, at Thursday's Post Cabinet News Conference.

In response to a question on whether the Ambassador was recalled, Mr. Mohammed only said she is expected to return on September 3rd for discussions with Minister Dookeran.

The Ambassador has been severely criticised after a YouTube video featuring a lecture on Cultural Diversity as the Fourth Policy Area of Sustainable Development at the International Conference Center of Geneva began circulating last month.

In the video, she said only got appointed as a Minister because she used to teach the Prime Minister. She also said she may face a dilemma in 2015 as she would be unsure to vote herself out of Government, as she traditionally voted against the party in power. In the video, she regularly described her dislike for politics and her reluctance to assume office, even saying she was willing to vacate her position. She also referred to the nation's motto "Together we aspire, Together we achieve" as the closing lines of the national anthem and detailed the role of the internet in meeting her husband.

Prior to her appointment to Geneva, Ms. Baptiste-Cornelis served as a Government Minister for the Ministry of Health from May 2010 to June 2011. She was a lecturer and course coordinator at the University of the West Indies in Trinidad in the field of management and business strategy from October 2003 to May 2010.

She also held the position of Director of Cornelis & Associates Ltd. Trinidad in the West Indies from 2000 to 2010.

« Reply #71 on: August 09, 2012, 03:34:05 PM »
Time 4 her to return to Cornelis and Associates

« Reply #72 on: August 09, 2012, 03:58:14 PM »
Personally, I hope Tropical Bear finds the time to squeeze in one more speech between now and September  :)

« Reply #73 on: August 09, 2012, 04:11:36 PM »
Yuh see allyuh make we ambassador aka tropical bear loss she wuk .

« Reply #74 on: August 10, 2012, 05:27:34 PM »
Time 4 her to return to Cornelis and Associates

Nah  let Geneva keep she....

« Reply #76 on: August 11, 2012, 09:42:55 AM »
Ambassador Baps killing me

« Reply #77 on: August 11, 2012, 11:50:06 AM »

« Reply #78 on: August 11, 2012, 04:42:10 PM »
Share the full transcript, nah.

« Reply #79 on: August 12, 2012, 05:24:48 AM »
Share the full transcript, nah.

Click on her name. When the page opens up, click on her name again.
You'll see her full page.

Now she dissing Anil Roberts. ;-)

« Reply #80 on: August 12, 2012, 07:50:27 AM »
It is merely parody....Relax all

« Reply #81 on: August 12, 2012, 07:51:51 AM »
It is merely parody....Relax all

Spoof... actually.

« Reply #82 on: August 12, 2012, 08:12:07 AM »
Can a parody be a spoof?

Always thought spoof was parody by imitation
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 08:15:50 AM by truetrini SC »

« Reply #83 on: August 12, 2012, 08:33:22 AM »
How did the Minister of Foreign Affairs become embroiled in this mess. Aren't ambassadors selected by the Prime Minister ? The Minister of communication then says it was the MoFA's decision and not a cabinet decision to recall Baps. I hate how Kamla deflects controversy by deferring responsibility to her Ministers. Surely it was her call to make Baps the Minister of Health in the first instance and then the Ambassador to the UN. How then can the Foreign Minister unilaterally recall her. Steups , we that stupid ?
« Last Edit: August 12, 2012, 06:50:24 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #84 on: August 12, 2012, 08:58:40 AM »
Steups , we that stupid ?

not really, but alot of trini does pretend to be stupid depending on which gov't dey support....so it will work every time.......unfortunately >:(

« Reply #85 on: August 12, 2012, 03:23:45 PM »
That Ambassador Baps twitter account is real tears!!!....the goodly Ambassador was cheering for Gabrielle during the Javelin event......oh lawd ah love it.... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #86 on: August 12, 2012, 06:45:26 PM »
Can a parody be a spoof?

Always thought spoof was parody by imitation

Well not to get technical... but in lay man's terms, parody is making fun of something real by incorporating elements of the original and exaggerating it.  Spoof is passing off something as real that isn't real... a fake.

In this case TBC doesn't have a Twitter account (I don't think), so somebody set up a fake account pretending to be her (in jest)... as opposed to making fun of the real TBC account. 

« Reply #87 on: August 12, 2012, 07:02:12 PM »
In her speech, she alluded to having 2 accounts on one of the social media platforms ... one in her public capacity, the other private persona.

Hitler reacts to Therese Cornelis' speech in Geneva
« Reply #88 on: August 27, 2012, 12:36:33 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK3nlI2RNBw

embed this for me somebody thanks

« Reply #89 on: August 28, 2012, 12:02:46 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK3nlI2RNBw

embed this for me somebody thanks

TT nah, yu win for today.  Dem boy in de office want to know wah ah watching so to  :rotfl: and  :'( at the same time.  Fadda put ah hand :rotfl: :rotfl: